From the CEO

In many ways, I believe there has never been a better time to be practising medicine. Canadians are living longer and enjoying a better quality of life than ever before, due in large part to scientific progress and technological innovations in medicine. Every day, physicians make decisions that benefit patients and their families, while new clinical breakthroughs promise further improvements to health outcomes. While providing high quality care remains a source of satisfaction, the demands placed on many physicians are on the rise—frequently resulting in excessive stress and burnout. Indeed, the need to support our colleagues as they face challenges in their professional lives has never been greater.

The CMPA has a 115-year track record of supporting Canadian physicians by providing quality medical liability protection and proven risk management advice. We have earned the trust of our members through our understanding of physicians’ liability protection needs and by providing services that enable the delivery of safe medical care. As healthcare evolves, those needs are not the same as they once were, and our approach to meeting your needs is also evolving. We want to ensure that our support continues to align with the challenges you face in practice and reflects the values of our profession.

The CMPA’s member support program offers tailored support to members whose medical-legal experiences are greater than those of their peers. The program is aimed at improving safety, easing stress, and ultimately returning the satisfaction of medical practice—the opportunity for our members to continue to have a meaningful practice and to deliver quality care.

The recently launched CMPA subsidiary, Saegis, further extends the range of services available to our members. Saegis offers specialized safety programs, services, and practice management solutions that extend beyond the CMPA’s current offerings. Saegis’ solutions will be tailored to the needs of physicians, other healthcare professionals and institutions—all aimed at improving patient care and contributing to a safe and sustainable healthcare system.

It is exciting to look ahead to how Saegis will make a real difference for physicians and the broader healthcare community. With Saegis, we now offer a wider spectrum of services and solutions that meet today’s complex needs, while we remain committed to delivering our current liability protection services and education offerings. Significantly, as we welcome Saegis to the CMPA family, we further solidify the CMPA as an essential component of Canada’s healthcare system. You can learn more about Saegis programs and services by visiting www.saegis.solutions

While I feel confident about the future of medicine in Canada, I recognize that its potential cannot simply be assumed. The CMPA stands steadfastly with Canada’s doctors and we are here to help you, our members, throughout your professional careers. That commitment has not changed for over a century and it continues to guide all of our actions today.

Hartley Stern, MD, FRCSC, FACS

Le mot du directeur général

Je suis convaincu, pour de nombreuses raisons, qu’il n’y a jamais eu de meilleur moment pour exercer la médecine. Les Canadiens vivent plus longtemps et bénéficient d’une meilleure qualité de vie, en grande partie grâce aux progrès scientifiques et aux innovations technologiques réalisés en médecine. Chaque jour, les médecins prennent des décisions dans l’intérêt des patients et de leurs familles, alors que des avancées cliniques promettent toujours de meilleurs résultats pour la santé. La prestation de soins de grande qualité demeure certes une source de satisfaction, mais les exigences imposées aux médecins ne cessent de s’amplifier, ce qui entraîne fréquemment chez eux un stress excessif et un épuisement professionnel. Plus que jamais, il s’impose de soutenir nos collègues qui sont aux prises avec des problèmes dans leur vie professionnelle.

Depuis 115 ans, l’ACPM accompagne les médecins canadiens, leur offrant une protection de qualité en matière de responsabilité médicale ainsi que des conseils éprouvés en gestion des risques. Elle s’est méritée leur confiance en comprenant leurs besoins de protection en matière de responsabilité et en leur offrant des services qui leur permettent de prodiguer des soins médicaux sécuritaires. Les soins de santé évoluent, tout comme les besoins des médecins. L’Association s’adapte donc pour s’assurer que ses services s’harmonisent avec ces nouvelles exigences et reflètent les valeurs de la profession.

Le Programme de soutien aux membres offre des services ciblés aux médecins dont l’expérience médico-légale est plus fréquente que celle de leurs pairs. Il a pour but d’améliorer la sécurité des soins, d’atténuer le stress et de permettre aux membres de retrouver le plaisir et la satisfaction d’exercer la médecine – en d’autres mots de leur donner l’occasion de poursuivre une pratique riche en sens et de prodiguer des soins de qualité.

La nouvelle filiale de l’ACPM, Saegis, lancée récemment, vient enrichir la gamme de services offerts aux membres. Saegis propose en effet des programmes, services et solutions de gestion de la pratique spécialisés en sécurité, allant au-delà de ce qu’offre actuellement l’ACPM. Les solutions de Saegis seront personnalisées en fonction des besoins des médecins, des autres professionnels de la santé et des établissements – et toutes auront pour but d’améliorer les soins aux patients et de contribuer à un système de santé sécuritaire et durable.

Il sera intéressant de suivre l’évolution de Saegis et de constater la véritable différence qu’elle apportera aux médecins et à la grande communauté des soins de santé. Saegis propose une plus grande gamme de services et de solutions qui répondent aux besoins complexes actuels, pendant que l’ACPM continue de se concentrer sur ses services d’éducation et de protection en matière de responsabilité. Il importe de souligner qu’en accueillant Saegis dans la famille de l’ACPM, l’Association consolide sa position en tant qu’élément essentiel du système de santé du Canada. Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur les programmes et services de Saegis en consultant le site www.saegis.solutions

J’entrevois l’avenir de la médecine au Canada avec confiance, tout en reconnaissant que nous devons nous garder de tenir son potentiel pour acquis. L’ACPM soutient résolument les médecins canadiens et est là pour leur prêter assistance tout au long de leur carrière. Cet engagement demeure depuis plus d’un siècle et continue de guider toutes nos actions aujourd’hui.

Hartley Stern, MD, FRCSC, FACS