From the CEO

Technology and innovation are transforming the practice of medicine. Within my specialty of surgery, there have been dramatic, technology-driven changes that have improved both quality and safety. An open colon resection in my early practice required five days of convalescence. Today, with minimally invasive surgery techniques and early feeding protocols, patients are safely home after 18-24 hours. Similar examples can be found in every area of practice.

While there has already been marked progress, I believe we are on the cusp of even greater advances that will significantly improve our ability to deliver care. Individualized gene therapy, robotic surgery, advanced decision support tools such as Watson, and new data collection and analysis capabilities are just a few of the technologies that will transform how we practise. All of this bodes well for physicians and our patients.

At the CMPA, we are embracing new technologies and innovations that can enhance the services we deliver to our members. We also recognize that change brings uncertainty and, for all the positive potential offered by new technology, many of our members may be concerned about unintended consequences, including those in the medical-legal domain.

We are responding to the rapidly changing practice environment of our members in a number of ways:

  • First, we are very active with governments, medical regulatory authorities, hospitals, and others in advocating for clear, workable policies to guide the use of new technologies. We believe that if the expectations of physicians are reasonable and clearly articulated, medical-legal issues will be greatly reduced.
  • Second, we continue to adapt the advice we offer to members—through our educational programs and in one-on-one calls—so that it reflects the realities of emerging technologies. Our physician advisors answer thousands of calls each year on issues such as electronic records and other innovations, and in this way help members navigate their way through an evolving environment.
  • Finally, in the event that a medical-legal difficulty does arise, we are here to provide assistance to members, including the provision of legal counsel if necessary. As a result of CMPA assistance, Canadian physicians can feel confident that their professional integrity will be protected.

Notwithstanding the challenges that many physicians face in their practices, I believe the long-term prospect for medicine and physicians is very bright. I am even somewhat envious of young residents and early career doctors who will have access to technologies and approaches to patient care that were never available to me. However, I am also realistic enough to recognize that medicine’s adoption of innovative technologies will not be without setbacks. This is why reliable, physician-oriented medical liability protection is so important. As Canadian physicians navigate the technology-enabled future, the CMPA stands ready to provide the assistance you need.

Hartley Stern
MD, FRCSC, FACS

Le mot du directeur général

La technologie et l’innovation ont révolutionné la médecine. D’impressionnants changements technologiques sont survenus dans ma spécialité, permettant d’améliorer tant la qualité que la sécurité des soins. Lorsque j’étais jeune chirurgien, une colectomie par laparotomie exigeait cinq jours de convalescence; de nos jours, les patients peuvent retourner chez eux en toute sécurité dans les 18 à 24 heures grâce à la chirurgie minimalement effractive et aux protocoles de reprise plus rapide de l’alimentation. Je pourrais vous citer d’autres exemples dans tous les domaines de la médecine.

Nous avons réalisé de grands progrès et je suis convaincu que des avancées encore plus importantes nous permettront d’améliorer la prestation des soins de façon notable. La thérapie génique personnalisée, la chirurgie robotisée, les outils d’aide à la décision perfectionnés tel le robot Watson, ainsi que de nouveaux moyens de collecte et d’analyse des données ne représentent que quelques-unes des technologies qui transformeront notre pratique, ce qui est de bon augure pour les médecins et leurs patients.

À l’ACPM, nous nous tournons vers l’innovation pour améliorer les services aux membres. Nous reconnaissons toutefois que le changement engendre l’incertitude et que nos membres peuvent s’inquiéter des conséquences inattendues des nouvelles technologies, y compris dans le domaine médico-légal, en dépit du potentiel que représentent ces nouveautés.

Le milieu dans lequel nos membres exercent ne cesse de changer et nous y répondons de plusieurs façons :

  • D’abord, nous faisons valoir, auprès des gouvernements, des Collèges, des hôpitaux et d’autres autorités, des politiques claires et réalistes pour guider l’utilisation de nouvelles technologies. Nous estimons que si les médecins expriment leurs attentes de façon claire et raisonnable, nous pourrions minimiser les problèmes médico-légaux.
  • Puis, nous adaptons les conseils prodigués aux membres – que ce soit dans le cadre de nos programmes éducatifs ou dans les communications personnelles – pour mieux refléter les réalités des nouvelles technologies. Nos médecins-conseils répondent à des milliers d’appels chaque année, au sujet des dossiers électroniques et d’autres innovations, aidant ainsi les membres à s’adapter à un milieu en constante évolution.
  • Et enfin, nous sommes à la disposition des membres dans l’éventualité d’un problème médico-légal, afin de leur offrir une assistance, y compris les services d’un avocat le cas échéant. Avec l’aide de l’ACPM, les médecins canadiens peuvent exercer avec confiance, sachant que leur intégrité professionnelle sera protégée.

Malgré les défis que nombre de médecins relèvent dans leur travail, je crois en un avenir prometteur pour la profession. J’envie un peu les jeunes résidents et les médecins en début de carrière qui auront accès à des technologies et des approches de soins que je n’ai pas eues. Je suis suffisamment réaliste pour reconnaître que l’adoption de technologies innovantes en médecine ne se fera pas sans revers. C’est pourquoi une protection fiable en matière de responsabilité médicale, axée sur le médecin, a tant d’importance. Alors que les médecins canadiens se tournent vers un avenir qui fait appel à de nouvelles technologies, l’ACPM demeure à votre disposition pour vous offrir l’assistance qu’il vous faut.

Hartley Stern
MD, FRCSC, FACS