From the CEO

Collaborating and innovating to promote safe care

It seems that every day the media is reporting on another established business or organization experiencing serious difficulties; many of these organizations appear destined to fail.  A common theme is that they failed to adapt to a changing environment and became prisoners of their previous success. At the CMPA, we recognize that, to avoid this fate, we must continue to evolve our services to meet the changing needs of our 100,000 physician members.

We know that successful organizations continue to innovate and look for new opportunities and partnerships to add value to their members. Our members expect the CMPA to work collaboratively with others to improve the environment in which physicians practise, protect their medical liability interests, and improve the safety of care. I am pleased to report on three examples of innovative collaboration that will advance the safety of care in Canada. 

  • The CMPA has joined HIROC (Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada) and the SOGC (Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada) as an equal partner in Salus Global, the provider of the MOREOB program. By significantly improving teamwork and communication across all disciplines involved in obstetrical and perinatal care, the MOREOB program has a long track record of improving clinical outcomes and reducing harm. This partnership among HIROC, SOGC, and the CMPA builds on many years of collaborative efforts to improve the safety of care and demonstrates a collective commitment to improving safety.
  • In collaboration with the Resident Doctors of Canada and with the support of Canada’s 17 medical schools, we are delivering the Resident Symposia Series to residents across the country, providing early career physicians with risk reduction knowledge that will be of benefit throughout their careers.
  • Through our subsidiary, Saegis, the CMPA is fielding the SafeOR program, aimed at enhancing safety and improving teamwork in surgical units. By partnering with Surgical Safety Technologies, the SafeOR program combines the groundbreaking technology and analysis of the Operating Room Black Box® with years of quality improvement expertise provided by the CMPA. The SafeOR program will make a measurable improvement in the safety of surgical care, benefiting physicians and their patients. 

At the CMPA, we are proud of our demonstrated ability to maintain the continuity of services that members value, while adapting to change with new offerings. Our new, collaborative programs will enhance the safety of care in Canada and we look forward to introducing more initiatives in the future.

Hartley Stern
MD, FRCSC, FACS, ICD.D

Le mot du directeur general

Collaborer et innover pour favoriser des soins sécuritaires

Il semble que chaque jour, les médias signalent qu’une nouvelle entreprise ou organisation bien établie est confrontée à de graves problèmes. Nombre de ces organisations paraissent vouées à l’échec. Leur point commun? Elles n’ont pas su s’adapter à un environnement changeant et sont devenues victimes de leur succès antérieur. À l’ACPM, nous reconnaissons que, pour éviter de subir le même sort, nous devons continuer à adapter nos services aux nouveaux besoins de nos 100 000 médecins membres.

Nous savons que les organisations performantes sont celles qui continuent d’innover, de chercher de nouvelles possibilités et de conclure de nouveaux partenariats en vue de conférer une valeur ajoutée à leurs services. Nos membres s’attendent à ce que l’ACPM travaille en collaboration avec d’autres pour améliorer l’environnement dans lequel exercent les médecins, protéger leurs intérêts en matière de responsabilité médicale et accroître la sécurité des soins. J’ai le plaisir de vous présenter trois exemples de collaboration novatrice qui feront progresser la sécurité des soins au Canada.

  • L’ACPM s’est jointe à la Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada (HIROC) et à la Société des obstétriciens et gynécologues du Canada (SOGC) à titre d’associée à parts égales de Salus Global, fournisseur du programme AMPROOB. En favorisant le travail d’équipe et la communication entre toutes les disciplines participant aux soins obstétricaux et périnatals, le programme AMPROOB mise sur sa longue tradition d’avancement des résultats cliniques et de réduction des préjudices. Ce partenariat entre l’HIROC, la SOGC et l’ACPM s’appuie sur de nombreuses années de collaboration pour favoriser la sécurité des soins et démontre un engagement collectif envers cette amélioration.
  • En collaboration avec Médecins résidents du Canada et avec l’appui des 17 facultés de médecine du pays, nous offrons une série de symposiums aux résidents de partout au pays, ce qui permet aux médecins en début de carrière d’acquérir des connaissances sur la réduction des risques qui leur seront utiles tout au long de leur cheminement professionnel.
  • Par l’entremise de sa filiale Saegis, l’ACPM met en œuvre le programme Salle d’op sécuritaire, qui vise à accroître la sécurité et le travail d’équipe dans les unités de chirurgie. Grâce au partenariat avec la société Surgical Safety Technologies, ce programme a pu conjuguer la technologie révolutionnaire et les fonctions d’analyse de la boîte noire en salle d’opération (Operating Room Black BoxMD) avec les années d’expertise de l’ACPM en amélioration de la qualité. Le programme Salle d’op sécuritaire fera avancer de façon mesurable la sécurité des soins chirurgicaux, ce qui sera tout à l’avantage des médecins et de leurs patients.

À l’ACPM, nous sommes fiers de notre capacité démontrée d’assurer la continuité des services que les membres apprécient, ainsi que de notre facilité à nous adapter au changement en proposant de nouvelles initiatives. Les nouveaux programmes offerts en collaboration rehausseront la sécurité des soins au Canada, et nous nous réjouissons à la perspective de lancer d’autres services à l’avenir.

Hartley Stern
MD, FRCSC, FACS, IAS.A