The Canadian Medical Protective Association at a glance

About the CMPA

The Canadian Medical Protective Association (CMPA) is a not-for-profit organization that has delivered medical liability protection in a cost-effective and ethical manner since 1901.

CMPA medical-legal protection enables physicians to practise confidently and to make decisions that result in better patient care and a more efficient healthcare system. The CMPA supports physicians by providing access to sound medical-legal advice and evidence-based education. Where eligible, the Association assists members who face medical-legal difficulties arising from the professional practice of medicine. In turn, members are expected to practise in a manner consistent with the values of the medical profession and act in accordance with the existing obligations of the CMPA By-law and other expectations of the CMPA membership as a whole, as reflected in the decisions of the Association's member-elected council.

Mission and vision

The CMPA’s mission is to protect the professional integrity of physicians and promote safe medical care in Canada. Our vision is to be valued as an essential component of the Canadian healthcare system.

CMPA services

The CMPA provides professional liability protection for Canadian physicians, where eligible, in the form of medical-legal advice and assistance for matters arising from a member's professional work. This includes advice and assistance with general medical-legal questions, regulatory authority (College) complaints, hospital privilege matters, civil actions, and many other types of medical-legal difficulties.

Physicians pay fees to be members of the Association. CMPA fees reflect the cost of medical liability protection.

Assistance

Unlike an insurance company, the CMPA employs a discretionary approach in its assistance to members. This enables the Association to consider whether or not members are eligible for assistance and the scope of such assistance on a case-by-case basis, tailored to meet the needs of individual member physicians and their specific circumstances, rather than through defined policies or protocols. In addition, the CMPA provides, on behalf of its members, appropriate compensation to patients proven to have been harmed through the negligent medical care of a member.

Research and education

The CMPA contributes to high quality healthcare through its research and education services. It shares its extensive knowledge of risk management and safe medical care practices for the benefit of physicians, patients, and Canada’s healthcare system. Member physicians benefit from our risk management publications (print and online), e-Learning activities, and educational presentations. Resources include articles and handbooks on various aspects of medical-legal risk, the CMPA Good Practices Guide, and the official magazine of the CMPA titled CMPA Perspective.

Sustainable medical liability system

An effective and efficient medical system is an essential component of a well-functioning healthcare system. The CMPA is committed to working with its members, medical and healthcare organizations, and governments to enhance the fairness and effectiveness of the medical liability system.

Website

The CMPA continually adds new medical-legal resources and provides updates about emerging issues on its website. This is also where you can find our 2015-2019 Strategic Plan. Visit www.cmpa-acpm.ca to keep up to date.

L’Association canadienne de protection médicale en bref

À propos de l’ACPM

L’Association canadienne de protection médicale (ACPM) est un organisme sans but lucratif qui offre à ses membres depuis 1901 une protection en matière de responsabilité médicale fondée sur l’éthique, à un bon rapport coût-efficacité.

La protection médico-légale de l’ACPM permet aux médecins d’exercer leur profession en toute confiance et de prendre des décisions menant à de meilleurs soins pour les patients et à une plus grande efficacité et efficience du système de santé. L’ACPM appuie les médecins en leur donnant accès à des conseils médico-légaux avisés et à des activités éducatives fondées sur des données probantes. L’Association aide les membres admissibles qui sont aux prises avec des problèmes médico-légaux découlant de l’exercice de la médecine. En retour, les membres doivent exercer de manière conforme aux valeurs de la profession médicale, respecter leurs obligations telles que définies dans le Règlement de l’ACPM et répondre aux autres attentes de l’ACPM en général, qui se reflètent dans les décisions du Conseil de l’Association élu par les membres.

Mission et vision

L’ACPM a pour mission de protéger l’intégrité professionnelle des médecins et de promouvoir des soins médicaux sécuritaires au Canada. Sa vision est d’être considérée comme un élément essentiel du système de soins de santé du Canada.

Services

L’ACPM offre une protection en matière de responsabilité professionnelle aux médecins canadiens admissibles, sous forme de conseils médico-légaux et d’assistance lors de problèmes découlant de l’exercice de la profession. Ceci comprend les conseils et l’assistance à l’égard de questions médico-légales de nature générale, les plaintes déposées auprès des organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges), les privilèges hospitaliers, les actions civiles, et de nombreux autres types de situations médico-légales.

Les médecins versent une cotisation pour être membres de l’Association. Cette cotisation correspond aux coûts de la protection en matière de responsabilité médicale.

Assistance

À la différence des compagnies d’assurance, l’ACPM emploie une approche discrétionnaire à l’assistance offerte aux membres. Cela lui permet de déterminer, au cas par cas, si les membres sont admissibles à une assistance ainsi que la portée de cette assistance, selon les besoins de chaque médecin membre et ses circonstances particulières, plutôt qu’en fonction de politiques ou de protocoles définis. De plus, l’ACPM verse, au nom de ses membres, une compensation financière appropriée aux patients, lorsqu’il est démontré qu’ils ont subi un préjudice à la suite de soins médicaux négligents ou d’une faute professionnelle.

Recherche et formation

L’ACPM contribue à la grande qualité des soins de santé grâce à ses services de recherche et d’éducation. Elle fait part de ses connaissances approfondies de la gestion des risques et des pratiques de soins médicaux sécuritaires dans l’intérêt des médecins, des patients et du système de soins de santé du Canada. Les médecins membres profitent de ses publications sur la gestion des risques (imprimées et en ligne), de ses ateliers d’apprentissage en ligne et de ses séances éducatives. Les ressources comprennent des articles et des guides sur divers aspects des risques médico-légaux, le Guide des bonnes pratiques de l’ACPM, et la revue officielle de l’Association intitulée Perspective ACPM.

Régime de responsabilité médicale durable

Un régime de protection efficace et efficient en matière de responsabilité médicale constitue une composante essentielle d’un système de soins de santé performant. L’ACPM s’engage à collaborer avec les membres, les associations et fédérations médicales et les organismes de soins de santé, sans oublier les gouvernements, pour améliorer l’équité et l’efficacité du régime de responsabilité médicale.

Site web

L’ACPM ajoute continuellement de nouvelles ressources médico-légales sur son site web, ainsi que des mises à jour sur les nouveaux enjeux. C’est aussi là que vous trouverez son plan stratégique 2015-2019. Consultez le www.cmpa-acpm.ca pour vous tenir au fait des nouveautés.