Public policy

Disclosing harm from a healthcare delivery event

Background

Healthcare providers seek the best possible clinical outcomes for their patients. However, even with the best medical care, a patient's outcome may not be what was originally desired or anticipated. Unexpected changes in a patient's clinical condition most often reflect the worsening of the disease. Harm can also occur through the delivery of care itself, usually from the inherent risks of investigations and treatments. Sometimes, however, an event or circumstance results in unnecessary harm to the patient – this is called a harmful patient safety incident. Patient safety incidents result from system failures or issues in the performance of individual healthcare providers.

Patients expect to be informed about harm they have experienced, whatever the reason for it, and this information needs to be delivered in a caring manner. Effective communication with patients and the healthcare team can improve patient outcomes and satisfaction. Conversely, failures in communication may lead to patient harm, misunderstandings, complaints, and lawsuits.

Issues

Healthcare providers have an ethical, professional, and legal obligation to disclose harm from healthcare delivery to patients. The Canadian Medical Association’s Code of Ethics states physicians must "take all reasonable steps to prevent harm to patients; should harm occur, disclose it to the patient."1 In Québec, the Code of Ethics of Physicians states the doctor must "inform his patient or the latter’s representative of any incident, accident, or complication which is likely to have or has had a significant impact on his state of health or personal integrity."2

While advances have been made in training physicians on how to disclose patient safety incidents to patients, ongoing support and guidance is needed. The Canadian Medical Protective Association (CMPA) has published information guiding physicians on how to meet the clinical, emotional, and information needs of patients if an unanticipated poor clinical outcome or patient safety incident has occurred. The CMPA offers practical suggestions to help communicate with patients and the patient's family in these circumstances. Physicians should also be familiar with and follow any relevant guidelines or standards regarding disclosure set out by their medical regulatory authority (College) or their healthcare institution.

Recommendations

The CMPA encourages members to disclose all patient safety incidents to patients and families. Patients should be informed about harm they have experienced, whatever the reason for it, and this information should be delivered in an effective and caring manner.

The CMPA has published the following resources on disclosure:

 


 

  1. Canadian Medical Association [Internet]. Code of Ethics, 2004. [cited 2016 Feb 8]. Available from https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/en/advocacy/policy-research/CMA_Policy_Code_of_ethics_of_the_Canadian_Medical_Association_Update_2004_PD04-06-e.pdf
  2. Collège des médecins du Québec [Internet]. “Code of ethics of physicians,” Article 56. [cited 2016 Feb 8]. Available from http://aldo.cmq.org/en/Partie%201/AspecDeonto/DevoirObligations/~/media/Files/ReglementsANG/cmqcodedeontoan.pdf

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Politique publique

Divulgation d’un préjudice résultant de la prestation des soins

Contexte

Les professionnels de la santé cherchent à obtenir les meilleurs résultats cliniques pour leurs patients. Toutefois, malgré la prestation des meilleurs soins médicaux possibles, le résultat pour le patient pourrait ne pas être celui qui était souhaité ou prévu. Certains changements imprévus dans l’état clinique d’un patient reflètent le plus souvent une aggravation de la maladie. Un préjudice peut aussi découler de la prestation de soins, habituellement des risques inhérents aux investigations et aux traitements. Parfois, un événement ou une circonstance entraîne un préjudice superflu chez un patient, ce que l’on appelle un incident préjudiciable lié à la sécurité des patients. Les incidents liés à la sécurité des patients résultent de failles dans le système ou de problèmes liés au rendement d’un professionnel de la santé en particulier.

Les patients s’attendent à être informés sur le préjudice qu’ils ont subi, peu importe la source de ce préjudice. De plus, cette information doit leur être fournie avec empathie. Une communication efficace avec les patients et l’équipe soignante peut améliorer les résultats et la satisfaction du patient. Par contre, le manque de communication peut entraîner un préjudice pour le patient, des malentendus, des plaintes et des actions en justice.

Problèmes

Les professionnels de la santé ont une obligation déontologique, professionnelle et légale de divulguer aux patients les préjudices résultant de la prestation des soins. Le Code de déontologie de l’Association médicale canadienne stipule que les médecins doivent « prendre toutes les mesures raisonnables pour éviter de causer un préjudice aux patients; si le patient subit un préjudice, lui révéler. »1 Au Québec, le Code de déontologie des médecins stipule que le médecin doit divulguer au patient ou à son représentant « tout incident, accident ou complication susceptible d’entraîner ou ayant entraîné des conséquences significatives sur l’état de santé du patient ou son intégrité physique » .2

Même si des avancées ont été faites sur la formation des médecins en matière de divulgation aux patients d’incidents liés à la sécurité de ces derniers, un soutien et des conseils permanents sont nécessaires. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale (ACPM) a publié des documents d’information pour guider les médecins sur la manière de satisfaire les besoins cliniques, informationnels et émotionnels des patients en cas de résultat clinique défavorable et imprévu ou d’un incident lié à la sécurité des patients. L’ACPM offre des suggestions pratiques pour aider les médecins à communiquer avec les patients et les membres de leur famille dans de telles situations. Par ailleurs, les médecins doivent connaître et respecter toute ligne directrice ou norme pertinente d’un organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) ou de leur établissement de soins de santé.

Recommandations

L’ACPM encourage les membres à divulguer tout incident lié à la sécurité des patients aux patients et à leur famille. Les patients doivent être informés du préjudice qu’ils ont subi, peu importe sa source. De plus, cette information doit leur être fournie avec empathie.

L’ACPM a publié la documentation suivante sur la question de la divulgation :

 


 

  1. Association médicale canadienne [Internet]. Code de déontologie, 2004. [cité le 8 février 2016]. https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/fr/advocacy/policy-research/CMA_Policy_Code_of_ethics_of_the_Canadian_Medical_Association_Update_2004_PD04-06-f.pdf
  2. Collège des médecins du Québec [Internet]. « Code de déontologie des médecins » Article 56. [cité le 8 février 2016]. [http://aldo.cmq.org/fr-CA/Partie%201/AspecDeonto/DevoirObligations/CodeDeonto.aspx

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.