Public policy

Joint Statement on Liability Protection for Midwives and Physicians

Introduction

New and evolving models for health-care delivery have increased the opportunity for physicians, midwives and other health-care providers to all be involved in the treatment of the same patient. This inevitably reinforces the need for health-care professionals to ensure they individually have adequate personal professional liability protection and that the other health-care professionals who are part of the health-care team are also adequately protected so that one is not held financially responsible for the acts or omissions of another. The Canadian Medical Protective Association (CMPA) and the Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada (HIROC) have developed this document to respond to questions from midwives and physicians who may treat the same patient during the course of pregnancy, birth and the post-partum period.

Liability risk

When a patient commences a legal action regarding health-care treatment, it is common that all healthcare professionals who were involved in the treatment, as well as the institution or facility where that treatment was rendered, will be named as defendants. A finding of negligence by the court may have a financial impact on the defendant(s) in three ways:

1. Direct Liability

Each health-care professional, both individually and as a member of the health-care team, is accountable for his or her own professional practice. Therefore, if a physician or midwife is found negligent, a court may award damages to the plaintiff that are to be paid by the individual defendant. This form of liability is called direct liability. CMPA and HIROC professional liability protection is designed to assist physicians and midwives respectively with this kind of damage award.

Apart from the liability exposure of midwives and physicians, a facility such as a hospital or birthing centre may also be named as a defendant. If found negligent, such a facility may be held directly liable for breaching duties it owed separately to the mother or baby. These could include, for example, the duty to: select professional staff using reasonable care; review staff performance on a regular basis; have and enforce appropriate policies and procedures; provide reasonable supervision of staff; and provide adequate staffing, equipment and resources.

2. Vicarious Liability

The facility could also be held vicariously liable for the negligent acts of its employees, such as nursing staff or technicians. If an employee is found negligent, the court may order that damages be paid by the employer pursuant to the doctrine of vicarious liability. This legal doctrine provides that an employer, which may be an individual or a facility, can be held financially responsible for the negligence of its employees. An employment relationship must have existed at the time of the incident and the defendant employee must have been sued for work done within the scope of his or her employment. It will be up to the court to determine in each case if an employer/employee relationship existed and therefore whether vicarious liability would apply. Some of the factors the court would consider in determining if an employment relationship existed are the level of control the employer has over the employee's activities, any agreements which describe the relationship and requirements to follow the employer's policies or procedures.

3. Joint and Several Liability

When a court finds more than one defendant negligent, the court will assess the amount of damages (often expressed as a percentage of the total damage award) to be paid by each defendant. Defendants can be jointly and severally liable for the damages awarded. This means the plaintiff may recover full compensation from any one of the negligent defendants, even though that defendant may then be paying for more than his/her share of the damages. That defendant may then seek contribution from the other negligent defendant(s) involved.

For this reason, physicians and midwives should verify that each member of the health care team and the facility or institution have adequate professional liability protection in place at the beginning of the working relationship and on an ongoing basis.

Liability protection

Because of the potential liability risks, all members of the health-care team and the institution or facility must have appropriate and adequate professional liability protection or coverage to protect both themselves and the patients they treat.

When a CMPA member is sued by a patient regarding medical treatment, that member is generally eligible for assistance from the CMPA. This protection is occurrence-based, which means the eligible professional's protection extends from the date the incident occurred regardless of when the claim was made. CMPA members who have been granted assistance are eligible for legal assistance and payment of damages. In some circumstances, clinics and other practice arrangements may be eligible for assistance. However, physicians should separately purchase clinic insurance for general liability protection.

Insurance arrangements for midwives vary from jurisdiction to jurisdiction. The financial limit of protection may vary slightly with jurisdiction. Hospitals that offer privileges to midwives scrutinize their professional liability coverage to ensure that coverage is sufficient from the point of view of the hospital. Most provinces/territories have legislation governing the minimum professional liability insurance that a midwife must carry to protect the public. Midwives in Alberta, Manitoba, and Ontario have protection through HIROC, the same group that provides protection for many of Canada's hospitals. Midwives' coverage normally extends to claims which include his/her clinic and other working circumstances. Midwives should separately purchase clinic insurance for liability protection.

Risk management

Physicians and midwives share an interest in reducing liability risks when treating the same patient. Taking the following steps will help to decrease potential risks:

  • have appropriate and adequate professional liability protection and/or insurance coverage;
  • confirm the continuing appropriate and adequate professional liability protection and/or insurance coverage of the other members of the health care team;
  • be familiar with the scope of practice of each team member (e.g., midwife, family physician, obstetrician) in the jurisdiction and institution in which they work;
  • have an agreement about who is the most responsible care provider at any given time and what the division of responsibilities is at any given time;
  • physicians should contact the CMPA and midwives should contact their professional association or HIROC to discuss issues related to being part of a health-care team or the extent of assistance for clinics and other practice arrangements (contact information provided below);
  • if you have or require commercial insurance covering matters that lie outside the scope of protection provided by the CMPA and HIROC, you should consult a business lawyer or insurance professional about how to identify your business insurance needs and protect your individual and business interests. Consider scheduling a periodic review of these issues;
  • if commercial insurance is purchased, abide by the terms of any policy and report any potential or actual claim to the insurer while the policy is still in effect; and
  • if you change insurers or do not renew a claims-made insurance policy, purchasing tail coverage is recommended.1

Contact Information:
CMPA
      1 800 267- 6522
HIROC
      Heather Galli
      Insurance Operations
      HIROC
      Telephone: 416 730-3069
      Fax: 416 733-2438
      Email: hgalli@hiroc.com


1 A "claims-made" policy requires reporting a potential or actual claim to the insurer before the policy's expiry date. Only incidents that have occurred after the "retroactive date," if there is one in the policy, and that are reported during the policy period are covered. If there is no retroactive date in the policy, incidents that occurred before the policy came into effect are covered if they are reported during the policy period and you were unaware of the claims at the time you purchased the policy. "Tail coverage" may also be called an "extended reporting clause" or "discovery clause." Tail coverage is only applicable to claims-made policies, and it extends the reporting period in which a claim can be made. When a claims-made policy is not renewed the purchase of tail coverage is recommended.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Politique publique

Énoncé commun sur la protection en matière de responsabilité professionnelle des sages-femmes et des médecins

Introduction

Les nouveaux modèles de prestation des soins de santé, en constante évolution, ont accru les occasions où les médecins, les sages-femmes et les autres professionnels de la santé prodiguent des soins au même patient. Cette situation renforce inévitablement la nécessité pour les professionnels de la santé d'avoir une protection individuelle adéquate en matière de responsabilité professionnelle, et de veiller à ce que les autres professionnels de la santé faisant partie de l'équipe de soins soient aussi adéquatement protégés, afin que nul d'entre eux ne soit tenu financièrement responsable des actes ou des omissions d'autrui. L'Association canadienne de protection médicale (ACPM) et la Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada (HIROC) ont élaboré cet énoncé dans le but de répondre aux questions soulevées par les sages-femmes et les médecins qui sont appelés à prodiguer des soins à la même patiente pendant la grossesse, l'accouchement et la période post-partum.

Risques liés à la responsabilité

Lorsqu'un patient intente une action en justice à la suite d'un traitement de soins de santé, il est probable que tous les professionnels de la santé ayant participé au traitement, ainsi que l'établissement où ce traitement a été donné, soient nommés à titre de défendeurs. Si le tribunal conclut qu'il y a eu négligence, la responsabilité du ou des défendeurs pourrait être engagée et avoir des répercussions financières sur ceux-ci. Cette responsabilité est de trois ordres :

1. Responsabilité directe

Chaque professionnel de la santé est responsable de sa propre pratique professionnelle à titre individuel et en tant que membre d'une équipe de soins de santé. Par conséquent, si une sage-femme ou un médecin est tenu responsable de négligence, le tribunal peut octroyer des dommages-intérêts au demandeur et ordonner que ceux-ci soient versés par le défendeur à titre individuel. Cette forme de responsabilité est qualifiée de responsabilité directe. La protection en matière de responsabilité professionnelle offerte par l'ACPM et la HIROC est conçue en vue de prêter assistance respectivement aux médecins et aux sages-femmes faisant face à ce type de jugement.

Outre le risque de responsabilité professionnelle à laquelle sont exposés les médecins et les sages-femmes, un établissement, tel un hôpital ou un centre de naissance, peut être nommé à titre de défendeur. S'il est tenu responsable de négligence, l'établissement peut être tenu directement responsable du manquement à ses devoirs distincts envers la mère ou le bébé. Ces devoirs peuvent consister à faire preuve de diligence raisonnable dans la sélection du personnel professionnel; à évaluer régulièrement le rendement du personnel; à établir et à appliquer des politiques et des procédures appropriées; à faire une supervision raisonnable du personnel; à assurer une dotation adéquate en personnel et à fournir de l'équipement et des ressources appropriés.

2. Responsabilité du fait d'autrui

L'établissement peut également être tenu responsable du fait d'autrui pour les actes négligents de ses employés, tel le personnel infirmier ou les techniciens. Lorsqu'un employé est tenu responsable de négligence, le tribunal peut ordonner à l'employeur de verser des dommages-intérêts en vertu de la doctrine juridique sur la responsabilité du fait d'autrui. Cette doctrine stipule qu'un employeur, qu'il s'agisse d'une personne ou d'un établissement, peut être tenu financièrement responsable de la négligence de ses employés. Il faut à cette fin qu'une relation d'emploi ait existé au moment de l'incident et que l'employé défendeur ait été poursuivi pour un travail effectué dans le cadre de son emploi. Il incombe au tribunal de déterminer dans chaque cas s'il existait une relation employeur-employé et si, par conséquent, la responsabilité du fait d'autrui peut s'appliquer. Certains facteurs dont le tribunal pourrait tenir compte pour déterminer s'il existait une relation d'emploi sont le niveau de contrôle de l'employeur sur les activités de l'employé, toute entente décrivant la relation d'emploi, et l'exigence du respect des politiques ou procédures de l'employeur.

3. Responsabilité conjointe et individuelle

Lorsque plus d'un défendeur est tenu responsable de négligence, le tribunal évalue le montant des dommages-intérêts (souvent exprimé en pourcentage du montant total des dommages-intérêts octroyés) devant être payé par chacun des défendeurs. Les défendeurs peuvent être conjointement et individuellement responsables des dommages-intérêts octroyés. Cela signifie que le demandeur peut obtenir une indemnisation complète de tout défendeur négligent, même si ce défendeur risque alors de payer une quote-part plus élevée des dommages-intérêts. Ce défendeur peut ensuite chercher à obtenir une contribution de la part des autres défendeurs tenus responsables de négligence.

Pour cette raison, il est essentiel que les médecins et les sages-femmes s'assurent que tous les membres de l'équipe de soins, ainsi que l'établissement où ils travaillent, aient une protection adéquate en matière de responsabilité professionnelle, que cette protection soit en vigueur dès le début de la relation d'emploi, et qu'elle se poursuive tout au long de cette relation.

Protection en matière de responsabilité professionnelle

En raison des risques potentiels liés à la responsabilité professionnelle, tous les membres d'une équipe de soins, ainsi que l'établissement où ils travaillent, doivent avoir une protection ou une assurance appropriée et adéquate en matière de responsabilité professionnelle, tant pour eux-mêmes que pour leurs patients.

Le membre de l'ACPM qui fait l'objet d'une poursuite par un patient à la suite d'un traitement médical est généralement admissible à l'assistance de l'ACPM. Cette protection est fondée sur la survenance de l'événement, ce qui signifie que la protection du professionnel admissible est en vigueur à partir de la date de la survenance de l'événement, quelle que soit la date à laquelle la réclamation est effectuée. Tout membre qui se voit accordé l'assistance de l'ACPM est admissible à une assistance juridique et au paiement des dommages-intérêts. Dans certaines circonstances, il est possible que des cliniques ou d'autres types de pratique soient admissibles à l'assistance. Toutefois, les médecins devraient souscrire une assurance-clinique distincte aux fins de protection générale en matière de responsabilité civile.

Les modalités d'assurance pour les sages-femmes varient d'une province/d'un territoire à l'autre. Le plafond financier auquel la protection est assujettie peut varier selon la province/le territoire. Les hôpitaux qui accordent des privilèges aux sages-femmes examinent soigneusement leur couverture en matière de responsabilité professionnelle afin de s'assurer qu'elle est suffisante du point de vue de l'hôpital. Aux fins de protection du public, la plupart des provinces/territoires disposent de lois régissant l'assurance responsabilité professionnelle minimale qu'une sage-femme doit avoir. Les sages-femmes en Alberta, au Manitoba et en Ontario sont protégées par la HIROC, la même entité qui fournit la protection à plusieurs hôpitaux canadiens. La couverture de la sage-femme englobe généralement les réclamations qui incluent sa clinique et les autres types de pratique. Les sages-femmes devraient souscrire une assurance-clinique distincte aux fins de protection générale en matière de responsabilité civile.

Gestion des risques

Les médecins et les sages-femmes qui prodiguent des soins au même patient partagent l'intérêt de réduire les risques de responsabilité professionnelle. Les mesures suivantes pourront vous aider à réduire les risques potentiels :

  • obtenir une protection et/ou une assurance appropriée et adéquate en matière de responsabilité professionnelle;
  • obtenir des autres membres de l'équipe de soins la confirmation d'une protection et/ou d'une assurance responsabilité professionnelle continue, appropriée et adéquate;
  • se familiariser avec le champ d'exercice de chaque membre de l'équipe (c.-à-d. la sage-femme, le médecin de famille, l'obstétricien) dans la province/le territoire et dans l'établissement où ils travaillent;
  • avoir une entente qui précise lequel des fournisseurs de soins est responsable à n'importe quel moment et la division des responsabilités à n'importe quel moment;
  • les médecins devraient communiquer avec l'ACPM et les sages-femmes devraient communiquer avec leur association professionnelle ou la HIROC pour discuter de questions liées à la pratique en équipe ou de l'étendue de l'assistance aux cliniques et aux autres types de pratique (vous référer aux coordonnées ci-dessous);
  • si vous avez une assurance commerciale qui couvre les situations ne relevant pas de l'étendue de la protection offerte par l'ACPM et la HIROC, ou vous désirez en obtenir une, consultez un avocat spécialisé en droit des affaires ou un assureur professionnel pour cerner vos besoins en la matière et protéger vos intérêts individuels et commerciaux. Une revue périodique de ces besoins devrait également être considérée;
  • si vous souscrivez une assurance commerciale, vous devez vous conformer aux modalités de toute police et signaler à l'assureur toute réclamation potentielle ou réelle au moment où la police est encore en vigueur; et
  • si vous changez d'assureur ou si vous ne renouvelez pas une police sur la base de réclamation présentée, il est recommandé que vous achetiez une protection pour actes antérieurs.1

Coordonnées :
ACPM
      1 800 267-6522
HIROC
      Heather Galli
      Opérations d'assurance
      HIROC
      Tél. : 416 730-3069
      Télécopieur : 416 733-2438
      Courriel : hgalli@hiroc.com


1Une police « sur la base de réclamation présentée » exige que toute réclamation potentielle ou réelle soit signalée à l'assureur avant la date d'échéance de la police. Seuls les incidents survenus après la « date rétroactive », s'il est fait mention de cette date dans la police, et signalés pendant la durée de la police, sont couverts. Lorsque aucune date rétroactive n'est stipulée dans la police, les incidents survenus avant l'entrée en vigueur de la police sont couverts s'ils sont signalés pendant la durée de la police, et si l'assuré ignorait les réclamations au moment de l'achat de la police. Une protection pour « actes antérieurs » (aussi appelée « clause de garantie prolongée » ou « clause de reprise du passé »), ne s'applique qu'aux polices sur la base de réclamation présentée et sert à prolonger la période d'assurance pendant laquelle une réclamation peut être présentée. Advenant qu'une police sur la base de réclamation présentée n'est pas renouvelée, l'achat d'une protection pour actes antérieurs est recommandé.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.