CMPA website - Terms of use agreement

The following terms of use agreement sets out your rights and obligations in respect of your use of the CMPA website.

Acceptance

It is important that you read the following terms and conditions carefully. This terms of use agreement ("Agreement") is a legal agreement between you and the Canadian Medical Protective Association (the "CMPA"), the owner and operator of this website (the "Website"). It states the terms and conditions under which you may access and use the Website and all written and other materials displayed or made available through the Website, including, without limitation, text, images, computer software and code (the "Content"). By accessing and using the Website, you are indicating your acceptance to be bound by the terms and conditions of this Agreement, including without limitation the Privacy Notice set out below. If you do not accept these terms and conditions, you must not access or use the Website. The CMPA may revise this Agreement at any time by updating this posting. Use of the Website after such changes are posted will signify your acceptance of these revised terms. You should visit this page periodically to review this Agreement.

Not medical-legal advice

The information on the Website is for informational purposes only; it is not intended as an interactive forum and it is not professional legal or medical-legal advice nor is it intended to be a substitute therefore. You should not use any information contained on the Website as a substitute for consultation with legal professionals or other professional advisors. You should not act or abstain from acting based upon information obtained from the Website without first consulting appropriate professional advisors.

Notice to the public

The CMPA does not wish to use this Website as an interactive forum of exchange with the public with regard to questions or issues of a medical-legal nature. Unsolicited e-mail communications regarding such matters will not be responded to and will be discarded unread. If you wish to contact the CMPA, please do so by telephone, fax or regular mail in the manner set out on the Website. Media and other inquiries of a general nature may be forwarded to the appropriate email address listed on the Contact Us page.

Disclaimer of warranties

The Website and the Content is provided "AS IS" and "AS AVAILABLE" without representation, warranty, condition or covenant of any kind, expressed or implied. While the CMPA tries to provide information that is correct, accurate, complete, current, reliable, and timely, the CMPA makes no representations, warranties, conditions, or covenants, express or implied, regarding the Website and the Content including, without limitation, no representation, warranty, condition, or covenant that (i) the Website or Content will always be correct, accurate, complete, current, reliable, or timely, (ii) that the operation of the Website will always be uninterrupted or error-free, (iii) that defects or errors in the Website or the Content, be it human or computer errors, will be corrected, (iv) that the Website will be free from viruses or harmful components, and (v) that communications to or from the Website will be secure and/or not intercepted. The Website and Content DO NOT represent "the standard of care" for Canadian health care professionals - standards of medical care are specific to the facts and circumstances of each individual case, and may be subject to change as scientific knowledge and technology advance and as practice patterns evolve. To the maximum extent permitted by law, the CMPA disclaims all representations, warranties, conditions, and covenants, express or implied, or arising by course of action.

Limitation of liability

While the CMPA endeavours to provide accurate and current information on its website, in no event shall the CMPA, its officers, Council members, employees, agents, licensors, suppliers and their respective successors and assigns be liable for damages of any kind, including, without limitation, any direct, special, indirect, punitive, incidental or consequential damages incurred in connection with your use, misuse or reliance upon the Website or Content, or your inability to use the Website, regardless of the cause and whether arising in contract (including fundamental breach), tort (including negligence), or otherwise. The foregoing limitation shall apply even if the CMPA knew of or ought to have known of the possibility of such damages. You acknowledge and agree that your access to and use of the Website and the Content is entirely at your own risk and liability.

Use of the website

The CMPA authorizes you to access and use the Website for your personal non-commercial use in Canada in accordance with the terms and conditions of this Agreement.

Copyright

The Website and the Content are protected by copyright and other intellectual property laws and is owned by the CMPA and its licensors, or the party accredited as the provider of the Content. Except as granted in the limited license herein, any use of the Website or its Content, including modification, transmission, publication, distribution, republication, or other exploitation of the Website or of its Content, whether in whole or in part, is prohibited without the express prior written consent of the CMPA.

Limited license

Subject to the terms and conditions of this Agreement, you are hereby granted a limited, non-transferable and non-exclusive license to access, view and use the Website and the Content for your personal, non-commercial use. You are granted the right to download, store and/or print single copies of items comprising the Content for your personal, non-commercial use, provided that you maintain all copyright and other notices contained in such Content. You must also abide by any additional requirements governing the use of any specific Content that may be set out in the Website. In the event of a conflict between the terms of a specific license governing specific Content and this Agreement, the terms of the specific license shall govern.

Good Practices Guide

Subject to the terms and conditions of this Agreement, students, trainees, professors and support staff at the faculties of medicine in Canada and at health professional training programs at post-secondary institutions in Canada are hereby granted a limited, non-transferable and non-exclusive license to access, view and use the CMPA's Good Practices Guide for personal study, teaching and non-commercial use in Canada, and are granted the right to download, store, print and distribute copies of the CMPA's Good Practices Guide, for personal study, teaching and non-commercial use in Canada, provided that all copyright and other notices contained in the CMPA's Good Practices Guide are maintained. Health professional training programs outside of Canada are encouraged to contact the CMPA to seek a license to use the CMPA's Good Practices Guide for personal study, teaching and non-commercial use outside of Canada.

Trademarks

CMPA, ACPM, the CMPA logo, THE CANADIAN MEDICAL PROTECTIVE ASSOCIATION and L'ASSOCIATION CANADIENNE DE PROTECTION MÉDICALE are trade-marks of the CMPA. Other names, words, titles, phrases, logos, designs, graphics, icons and trade-marks displayed on the Website may constitute registered or unregistered trade-marks of the CMPA or third parties. While certain trade-marks of third parties may be used by the CMPA under license, the display of third-party trade-marks on the Website should not be taken to imply any relationship or license between the CMPA and the owner of the trade-mark or to imply that the CMPA endorses the products, services, procedures, business, or other information of the owner of the said trade-mark.

Linking

The Website may contain links to third-party websites. These links are provided solely as a convenience to you and not as an endorsement by the CMPA of any third-party website or the content thereof. The CMPA does not operate any third-party website and is not responsible for the content of any third-party website, nor does it make any representation, warranty, condition, or covenant of any kind regarding any third-party website including, without limitation, any representation, warranty, condition, or covenant regarding (i) the legality, accuracy, reliability, completeness, timeliness or suitability of any content on such third-party websites, (ii) the merchantability and/or fitness for a particular purpose of any third-party websites or material, content, software, goods, or services located at or made available through such third-party websites, or (iii) that the operation of such third-party websites will be uninterrupted or error free, that defects or errors in such third-party Websites will be corrected, or that such third-party websites will be free from viruses or other harmful components. While the CMPA encourages links to the Website, it does not wish to be linked to or from any third-party website which contains, posts or transmits any unlawful or indecent information of any kind, including, without limitation (i) any content constituting or encouraging conduct that would constitute a criminal offence, give rise to civil liability or otherwise violate any local, state, provincial, national, international law or regulation which may be damaging or detrimental to the activities, operations, credibility or integrity of the CMPA, or (ii) any Website which contains, posts or transmits any material or information of any kind which violates or infringes upon the rights of others, including material which is an invasion of privacy or publicity rights, or which is protected by copyright, trade-mark or other proprietary rights. The CMPA reserves the right to prohibit or refuse to accept any link to the website, including, without limitation, any link which contains or makes available any content or information of the foregoing nature, at any time. You agree to remove any link you may have to the Website upon the request of the CMPA.

Modification to the website

CMPA reserves the right at any time and from time to time to modify or discontinue, temporarily or permanently, the Website (or any part thereof) with or without written notice. You agree that the CMPA shall not be liable to you or any third party for any modifications, suspension or discontinuance of the Website or any part thereof.

Downtime

You acknowledge that the Website and any part thereof may be periodically unavailable in order to allow for maintenance.

Unauthorized use

Unauthorized attempts to defeat or circumvent security features, to use the CMPA system for other than intended purposes, to deny service to authorized users, to access, obtain, alter, damage, or destroy information, or otherwise to interfere with the system or its operation are not permitted. Evidence of such acts may also be disclosed to law enforcement authorities and result in criminal prosecution under the laws of Canada or such other jurisdictions as may apply.

Waiver

Any consent by the CMPA to, or waiver of, a breach of this Agreement which you have committed, whether express or implied, shall not constitute a consent to, or waiver of, any other, different or subsequent breach.

Severability

The invalidity or unenforceability of any provision of this Agreement or any covenant contained herein shall not affect the validity or enforceability of any other provision or covenant contained herein and any such invalid provision or covenant shall be deemed severable from the rest of this Agreement.

Termination

The CMPA may, in its sole discretion, terminate or suspend your right to use the Website, or any part of the Website, at any time without notice. In the event of such termination, or suspension, you are no longer authorized to access, view or use the Website, or the part of the Website affected by such termination or suspension. The restrictions imposed on you with respect to material downloaded from the Website, the disclaimers and the limitation of liability set forth in this Agreement, shall survive termination or suspension of this Agreement for any cause. The CMPA shall not be liable to you or any other party for such termination or suspension.

Entire agreement

This Agreement, which includes a Privacy Statement, is the entire Agreement between you and the CMPA relating to your access and use of the Website.

Members-only area

The Terms of use agreement for members sets out your rights and obligations as a CMPA member in respect of your use of the CMPA website and certain access controlled portions of the website, the "members-only area".

Governing law and jurisdiction

The Website is operated by the CMPA from its offices within the province of Ontario, Canada. You agree that all matters relating to your access, or use of the Website and its Content shall be governed by the laws of the province of Ontario and the laws of Canada applicable therein, without regard to conflict of laws principles. You agree and hereby submit to the exclusive and preferential jurisdiction of the courts of the province of Ontario with respect to all matters relating to your access and use of the Website and the Content as well as any dispute that may arise therefrom.

Notice

Questions or comments regarding the Website, arising from the media or of a general information nature may be directed by e-mail to inquiries@cmpa.org.

Language

Ce Contrat est également disponible en français.

Contrat d'utilisation du site web de l'ACPM

Le présent contrat d'utilisation énonce vos droits et obligations concernant l'utilisation du site web de l'ACPM.

Acceptation

Il est important de lire attentivement les modalités et conditions suivantes. Le présent contrat d'utilisation (« le contrat ») est un contrat légal entre vous et l'Association canadienne de protection médicale (« l'ACPM »), qui détient et exploite le site web (« le site web »). Il énonce les modalités et conditions en vertu desquelles vous pouvez visiter et utiliser le site web et consulter tout document écrit et autre qui y sont présentés ou accessibles par son entremise, notamment des textes, des images, des logiciels informatiques et des codes (« le contenu »). Lorsque vous accédez au site web et l'utilisez, vous indiquez que vous acceptez d'être lié par les modalités et conditions du présent contrat, notamment par l'avis en matière de confidentialité énoncé ci-dessous. Si vous n'acceptez pas ces modalités et conditions, vous ne devez pas accéder au site web ni l'utiliser. L'ACPM peut modifier le présent contrat en tout temps en mettant à jour cet affichage. L'utilisation du site web après l'affichage de ces modifications indiquera votre acceptation des conditions révisées. Vous devriez consulter cette page périodiquement afin de revoir le présent contrat.

Aucun conseil médico-légal

Les renseignements que contient le site web sont d'intérêt général seulement, ne font pas partie d'un forum interactif et ne constituent pas non plus des conseils professionnels de nature juridique ou médico-légale ni ne sont censés s'y substituer. Vous ne devez pas utiliser les renseignements contenus dans le site en substitut d'une consultation avec des conseillers juridiques ou d'autres conseillers professionnels. Vous ne devez pas agir, ni vous abstenir d'agir, sur la foi des renseignements obtenus sur le site sans avoir au préalable consulté des conseillers professionnels compétents.

Avis au public

L'ACPM ne souhaite pas que son site web serve de forum pour les échanges interactifs avec le public quant à des questions ou des préoccupations de nature médico-légale. L'ACPM ne donnera pas suite aux courriels non sollicités qui abordent les sujets susmentionnés et les effacera sans les lire. Si vous souhaitez communiquer avec l'ACPM, vous êtes priés de le faire par le téléphone, par télécopieur ou par la poste de la manière indiquée dans le site web. Les questions des médias et les autres questions de nature générale peuvent être transmises à l'adresse électronique appropriée indiquée sur la page Communiquer avec nous.

Stipulation d'exonération de garanties

Le site web et le contenu sont fournis « TELS QUELS » et « EN FONCTION DE LEUR DISPONIBILITÉ », sans déclaration, garantie, condition ou engagement quelconque exprès ou tacite. Bien que l'ACPM s'efforce de fournir des renseignements exacts, précis, complets, à jour, fiables et opportuns, elle ne fait aucune déclaration, ne donne aucune garantie ni condition, ni ne prend d'engagement, exprès ou tacite, concernant le site web et son contenu, et notamment, ne fait aucune déclaration, ne donne aucune garantie ni condition, ni ne prend aucun engagement concernant le fait que (i) le site web ou son contenu seront toujours exacts, précis, complets, à jour, fiables et opportuns, (ii) l'exploitation du site web sera continue ou exempte d'erreurs, (iii) les défauts ou les erreurs dans le site web ou son contenu, qu'ils soient attribuables à une erreur humaine ou informatique, seront corrigés, (iv) le site web sera exempt de virus ou d'éléments nuisibles, et (v) les communications à destination ou en provenance du site web seront inaccessibles aux tiers et(ou) ne seront pas interceptées. Le site web et le contenu NE représentent PAS « la norme de soins » des professionnels canadiens de la santé - les normes des soins médicaux sont particulières aux faits et circonstances de chaque cas individuel et peuvent être modifiées au fil de l'avancement des connaissances scientifiques et de la technologie et de l'évolution des modèles d'exercice. Dans la pleine mesure permise par la loi, l'ACPM renonce à toute déclaration, garantie, condition ou engagement exprès ou tacite, découlant de toute ligne de conduite.

Limites quant à la responsabilité

Bien que l'ACPM s'applique à fournir des renseignements précis et valides sur son site web, l'Association, ses dirigeants, les membres de son conseil, ses employés, ses mandataires, ses concédants de licences et ses fournisseurs, ainsi que leurs successeurs et ayants droit respectifs, ne sauraient en aucune circonstance être tenus responsables de quelques dommages-intérêts que ce soit, notamment, de dommages-intérêts directs, spéciaux, indirects, punitifs ou exemplaires, accessoires, ou consécutifs subis en rapport avec votre utilisation ou mauvaise utilisation du site web, avec la confiance que vous y accordez ou votre incapacité de l'utiliser, peu importe la cause de ce dommage et peu importe s'il découle d'une responsabilité contractuelle (y compris une inexécution fondamentale), d'une responsabilité civile délictuelle (y compris la négligence), ou autrement. La présente limitation s'applique même si l'ACPM connaissait ou aurait dû entrevoir la possibilité de tels dommages-intérêts. Vous reconnaissez et acceptez que votre accès au site web et à son contenu et votre utilisation de ceux-ci se font entièrement à vos propres risques et vous en assumez l'entière responsabilité.

Utilisation du site Web

L'ACPM vous permet de consulter et d'utiliser le site web pour votre utilisation personnelle et non commerciale au Canada conformément aux modalités et conditions du présent contrat.

Droit d'auteur

Le site web et le contenu sont protégés par les lois sur le droit d'auteur et la propriété intellectuelle, et appartiennent à l'ACPM et à ses concédants de licences, ou à la partie accréditée en tant que fournisseur du contenu. Toute utilisation du contenu, y compris la modification, la transmission, la publication, la distribution, la nouvelle publication ou toute autre exploitation du site web ou de son contenu, en totalité ou en partie, est interdite sans le consentement préalable exprès écrit de l'ACPM, sauf dans la mesure où elle est expressément autorisée par la licence restreinte que renferme les présentes.

Licence restreinte

Sous réserve des modalités et conditions du présent contrat, une licence restreinte non transférable et non exclusive vous permettant d'accéder au site web et au contenu, de les voir et de les utiliser à des fins personnelles et non commerciales vous est accordée par le présent contrat. Vous êtes autorisé à télécharger, conserver et(ou) imprimer des copies uniques d'articles compris dans le contenu pour votre utilisation personnelle et non commerciale, à condition que vous conserviez tous les avis de droits d'auteur et autres figurant dans ce contenu. Vous devez également vous conformer à toute exigence supplémentaire régissant l'utilisation de tout contenu spécifique apparaissant sur le site web. En cas de conflit entre les modalités d'une licence régissant un contenu spécifique et le présent contrat, les modalités de la licence spécifique prévaudront.

Guide des bonnes pratiques

Sous réserve des modalités et conditions du présent contrat, les étudiants, les résidents, les professeurs et le personnel de soutien des facultés de médecine et des programmes de formation de professionnels de la santé offerts par des établissements post-secondaires au Canada se voient accordés une licence restreinte non transférable et non exclusive leur permettant d'accéder au Guide des bonnes pratiques de l'ACPM, de le voir et de s'en servir à des fins d'étude personnelle, d'enseignement et d'utilisation non commerciale au Canada, ainsi que le droit de télécharger, conserver, reproduire et diffuser des copies du Guide des bonnes pratiques de l'ACPM à des fins d'étude personnelle, d'enseignement et d'utilisation non commerciale au Canada, à condition de conserver tous les avis de droits d'auteur et autres figurant dans son contenu. Les responsables de programmes de formation de professionnels de la santé à l'extérieur du Canada sont invités à communiquer avec l'ACPM pour obtenir une licence leur permettant d'accéder au Guide des bonnes pratiques de l'ACPM à des fins d'étude personnelle, d'enseignement et d'utilisation non commerciale à l'étranger.

Marques de commerce

CMPA, ACPM, le logo de l'ACPM, THE CANADIAN MEDICAL PROTECTIVE ASSOCIATION et L'ASSOCIATION CANADIENNE DE PROTECTION MÉDICALE sont des marques de commerce de l'ACPM. Les autres noms, mots, titres, locutions, logos, dessins, graphiques, icônes et marques de commerce affichés sur le site web peuvent constituer des marques de commerce déposées ou non de l'ACPM ou de tiers. Même si certaines marques de commerce de tiers peuvent être utilisées par l'ACPM conformément à une licence, l'affichage de marques de commerce de tiers sur le site web ne saurait sous-entendre quelque relation ou licence entre l'ACPM et le propriétaire de ces marques de commerce, ni supposer que l'ACPM recommande ou fait la promotion des marchandises, des services, des procédés, de l'entreprise ou d'autres informations du propriétaire desdites marques de commerce.

Liens

Le site web peut contenir des liens vers des sites web de tiers. Ces liens sont prévus seulement pour votre commodité et ne représentent pas une recommandation ou une promotion, par l'ACPM, de quelque site web de tiers ou de son contenu. L'ACPM n'exploite aucun site web de tiers, n'est pas responsable du contenu d'un tel site, et ne fait aucune déclaration, ne donne aucune garantie ni condition, ni ne prend d'engagement de quelque nature que ce soit concernant tout site web de tiers, notamment, toute déclaration, garantie, condition ou tout engagement (i) au sujet de la légalité, de l'exactitude, de la fiabilité, de l'exhaustivité, de la mise à jour ou de la pertinence de tout contenu d'un tel site web de tiers, (ii) concernant la qualité marchande et(ou) la convenance à une fin particulière de tout site web de tiers ou des documents, du contenu, du logiciel, des produits ou des services situés sur ces sites web de tiers ou disponibles grâce à ceux-ci, ou (iii) indiquant que l'exploitation de ces sites web de tiers sera continue et exempte d'erreur, que les défauts ou les erreurs dans ces sites web de tiers seront corrigés ou que ces sites web de tiers seront exempts de virus ou de tout autre élément nuisible. Même si l'ACPM encourage les liens avec le site web, elle ne souhaite pas être liée à quelque site web de tiers qui contient, affiche ou transmet tout renseignement illégal ou indécent de quelque nature que ce soit, notamment, (i) tout contenu représentant ou encourageant une conduite qui constituerait une infraction criminelle, qui engagerait la responsabilité civile ou qui violerait autrement quelque loi ou règlement local, étatique, provincial, national ou international qui pourrait être dommageable ou préjudiciable aux activités, à l'exploitation, à la crédibilité ou à l'intégrité de l'ACPM, ou (ii) tout site web contenant, affichant ou transmettant tout document ou renseignement de quelque nature que ce soit qui viole ou enfreint les droits d'autrui, y compris le matériel constituant une atteinte à la vie privée ou aux droits publicitaires, ou encore qui est protégé par des droits d'auteur, des marques de commerce ou d'autres droits d'exclusivité. L'ACPM se réserve le droit d'interdire ou de refuser en tout temps l'établissement d'un lien avec son site web, notamment un lien qui renferme ou met à disposition tout contenu ou renseignement de la nature susmentionnée, à toute époque donnée. Sur demande de l'ACPM, vous convenez de retirer tout lien que vous pouvez avoir avec le site web.

Modification du site Web

L'ACPM se réserve le droit, à l'occasion et en tout temps, de modifier le site web (ou toute partie de celui-ci), ou de discontinuer l'accès au site web (ou à toute partie de celui-ci), temporairement ou en permanence, avec ou sans préavis écrit. Vous reconnaissez que l'ACPM ne saurait engager sa responsabilité envers vous ou quiconque par suite de la modification, de l'interruption ou de l'annulation du site web ou de toute partie de celui-ci.

Temps d'arrêt

Vous reconnaissez que le site web et toute partie de celui-ci pourrait ne pas être disponible périodiquement afin d'exécuter des services d'entretien.

Utilisation non autorisée

Les tentatives non autorisées de faire échec aux dispositifs de sécurité ou de les contourner, d'utiliser le système de l'ACPM à des fins autres que celles auxquelles il est destiné, de priver de service les utilisateurs autorisés, d'accéder à des renseignements ou d'obtenir, de modifier ou de détruire ces renseignements ou d'en compromettre l'intégrité, ou de perturber le système ou son exploitation par quelque autre moyen, ne sont pas permises. La preuve que de tels gestes ont été commis peut également être divulguée aux forces de l'ordre et donner lieu à une poursuite criminelle en vertu des lois du Canada ou des autres juridictions concernées.

Renonciation

Tout consentement de l'ACPM à une infraction de votre part au présent contrat, exprès ou tacite, ou toute renonciation par l'ACPM à une telle infraction ne constitue pas un consentement ou une renonciation à une infraction différente ou subséquente.

Divisibilité

L'invalidité ou l'inopposabilité de toute disposition du présent contrat ou de tout engagement contenu dans les présentes n'affecte pas la validité ou l'opposabilité de toute autre disposition ou de tout autre engagement contenu dans les présentes, et l'ensemble des dispositions ou engagements invalides est réputé divisible du reste du présent contrat.

Résiliation

L'ACPM peut, à son entière discrétion, résilier ou suspendre, à tout moment et sans préavis, votre droit d'utiliser le site web ou n'importe quelle partie de celui-ci. En cas de résiliation ou de suspension tel que prévu ci-dessus, vous n'êtes plus autorisé à accéder au site web ou à la partie du site web qui est touchée par cette résiliation ou suspension, ni à l'utiliser. Les restrictions qui vous sont imposées à l'égard de tout document téléchargé à partir du site web et les avis de non-responsabilité, ainsi que la limitation de responsabilité prévue dans le présent contrat, survivront à la résiliation ou à la suspension du présent contrat pour quelque motif que ce soit. L'ACPM n'est pas responsable envers vous ni envers nulle autre partie de cette résiliation ou suspension.

Entente entière

Le présent contrat, qui inclut une déclaration en matière de confidentialité, constitue l'entente entière entre vous et l'ACPM concernant votre accès et votre utilisation du site web.

Section réservée aux membres

Le Contrat d'utilisation pour les membres énonce vos droits et obligations à titre de membre de l'ACPM concernant l'utilisation de son site web et de certaines parties à accès limité du site, la « section réservée aux membres ».

Convention relative aux lois d'application et à la compétence judiciaire

Le site web est exploité par l'ACPM à partir de ses bureaux situés dans la province de l'Ontario, au Canada. Vous convenez du fait que toutes les questions concernant votre accès au site web et à son contenu ou votre utilisation de ceux-ci sont régies par les lois de la province de l'Ontario et par les lois du Canada s'y appliquant, sans égard aux règles de conflit de lois. Vous convenez de vous soumettre par les présentes à la compétence exclusive et prioritaire des tribunaux de la province de l'Ontario en ce qui a trait à toutes les questions portant sur votre accès et votre utilisation du site web et du contenu, ainsi que dans le cadre de tout différend pouvant survenir à l'égard de ces questions.

Avis

Les questions ou les commentaires au sujet du site web, qui sont adressés par les médias ou qui concernent une information de nature générale, peuvent être transmis par courriel à l'adresse suivante : renseignements@cmpa.org.

Langue

This Agreement is also available in English.