Susan M.J. Chafe

Susan M.J. Chafe, MD, LLB, FRCPC

Edmonton, Alberta
Radiation Oncology

Area 2, Division B — Specialists

Practice Appointments
Radiation Oncology, Cross Cancer Institute, University of Alberta
• Professor, Radiation oncologist 2000-
Radiation Oncology, Shands Cancer Center, University of Florida
• Assistant residency program director, Radiation oncologist 1998-2000
Radiation Oncology, University of Texas Health Sciences Center at San Antonio
• Assistant professor, Residency program director, Radiation oncologist 1997-1998
Radiation Oncology, Tom Baker Cancer Center, University of Calgary
• Locum tenens, Radiation oncologist 1996
Edmonton, Alberta
• General practitioner 1991-1996
Hay River/Inuvik, Northwest Territories
• General practitioner, Locum tenens 1987-1996
Professional Appointments
NRG Oncology/Radiation Therapy Oncology Group, Clinical Trials Group
• Principal investigator 2009-
Health Research Ethics Board Alberta: Cancer Control
• Committee member 2013-
Canadian Cancer Trials Group (formerly the National Cancer Institute of Canada or NCIC)
• Principal investigator, Clinical trials group MA20 2003-
University of Alberta, Department of Radiation Oncology
• Member, Residency training committee 2000-2006
Cross Cancer Institute
• Lead, Radiation medicine research 2012-
• Member, Clinical trials executive committee 2012-
Children’s Oncology Group
• Chairperson, Quality assurance committee 2003-2009
• Principal investigator, Radiation oncology 2003-
Canadian Association of Radiation Oncologists
• Western Canadian representative 2003-2006
Cross Cancer Institute, Alberta Health Services
• Member, Alberta cancer research ethics committee 2004-2013
Ontario Clinical Oncology Group
• Co-principal investigator, RAPID trial (Canadian trial of accelerated partial breast irradiation) 2005-
Medical Council of Canada
• Member, Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) test committee, Medical Council of Canada Qualifying Examination (MCCQE) Part II 2010-2012
CMPA Appointments
• Council 2004-
• Executive Committee 2010-
• Extent of Assistance Committee 2009-2013
• Human Resources and Compensation Committee 2005-2008
• Legal Services Committee 2005-2006
• Research, Education and Risk Management Committee 2004-2010
• Safe Medical Care Committee 2015-
• Tort Reform Working Group 2007-2009