Advanced Diagnostic Reasoning

Am I missing something? Shift your mindset to optimize your diagnostic approach

Designed for physicians looking to sharpen their diagnostic approach, this workshop explores skills and behaviours to help you identify situations associated with a higher incidence of diagnostic decision-making errors and act to prevent them.

The strategies covered in this workshop will help participants:

  • identify and address information gaps;
  • raise and maintain situational awareness; and
  • enhance decision-making and safety of care.

Learning objectives:

By the end of this workshop, participants will be able to:

  1. Identify information gaps in diagnostic case scenarios.
  2. Explain the importance of clinical documentation as evidence of sound diagnostic decision-making.
  3. Define situational awareness and its role in diagnostic decision-making.
  4. Discuss strategies to safeguard diagnostic decision-making and raise situational awareness.
  5. Evaluate use of a diagnostic reasoning tool in their clinical environment.

Credits

This 2-credit-per-hour Assessment program has been certified by the College of Family Physicians of Canada for up to 8.50 Mainpro+ credits.

This activity is an Accredited Self-Assessment Program (Section 3) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification Program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, and approved by the CMPA. You may claim a maximum of 4.25 hour (credits are automatically calculated).

Scheduled events

NOTE: This is a two-part workshop. Participants must be available on both dates to complete the workshop.

  • Date
  • Time (2 hr sessions)
  • Location
  • Language
  • Registration
  • Sept 8 (Thu) & Sept 22 (Thu), 2022
  • 1 pm ET (10am PT, 11am MT, 12pm CT, 2pm AT, 2:30pm NT)
  • Virtual
  • French
  • Registration Closed
  • Oct 26 (Wed) & Nov 9 (Wed), 2022
  • 1 pm ET (10am PT, 11am MT, 12pm CT, 2pm AT, 2:30pm NT)
  • Virtual
  • English
  • Registration Closed
  • Nov 22 (Tue) & Dec 6 (Tue), 2022
  • 1 pm ET (10am PT, 11am MT, 12pm CT, 2pm AT, 2:30pm NT)
  • Virtual
  • English
  • Registration Closed
 

Dates and times subject to change. More dates to be added throughout 2022.

Technological requirements

Questions? Contact us at [email protected]