Effective Team Interactions

Overview: interactive multi-session course

The Effective Team Interactions (ETI) course provides practical strategies for effective communication in a team environment. Participants will be equipped with skills that ensure clearer interactions between healthcare colleagues to reduce risk and improve patient safety.

Key program elements

  • Taught by experienced faculty
  • Evidence-based
  • Highly interactive and practical

Topics covered

  • Team communication in the context of safe patient care
  • Psychological safety
  • Active listening and assertive communication skills
  • Situational awareness

Learning objectives

  • Identify opportunities for teams to implement psychological safety
  • Demonstrate effective use of one structured communication tool to share information accurately, clearly, and efficiently within a healthcare team
  • Demonstrate assertive communication approaches for addressing healthcare safety concerns
  • Develop a clear and actionable change plan to improve team communication

Credits

College of Family Physicians of Canada

This 3-credit-per-hour Group Learning program has been certified by the College of Family Physicians of Canada for up to 36 Mainpro+ credits.

Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada

This activity is an Accredited Simulation Activity (Section 3) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification Program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, and approved by CMPA. You may claim a maximum of 12 hours (credits are automatically calculated).

Fédération des médecins omnipraticiens du Québec

Ce programme se qualifie pour une demande d’accréditation à la FMOQ pour 12 heures de formation reconnues.

Duration

Three 2-hour online sessions and one 1-hour session delivered over the course of four weeks.

Note: In addition to this virtual open enrollment workshop, CMPA can offer the Effective Team Interactions course to your organization. You may request a session now.

Scheduled workshops

  • Date
  • Time (2 hr workshop)
  • Location
  • Language
  • Registration
  • Feb 7 (Tue) – Feb 28 (Tue), 2023
  • 3pm ET (12pm PT, 1pm MT, 2pm CT, 4pm AT, 4:30pm NT)
  • Virtual
  • English
  • Register now
  • March 23 (Thu) – Apr 13 (Thu), 2023
  • 3pm ET (12pm PT, 1pm MT, 2pm CT, 4pm AT, 4:30pm NT)
  • Virtual
  • French
  • Register now
  • April 19 (Wed) – May 10 (Wed), 2023
  • 5pm ET (2pm PT, 3pm MT, 4pm CT, 6pm AT, 6:30pm NT)
  • Virtual
  • English
  • Register now
 

Note: Spots are limited. Please only register for one date.

Questions? Contact us at [email protected]