Committees

Much of the CMPA Council's work is delegated to the various committees. In addition, sub-committees or working groups are sometimes created to deal with issues of concern.

The Bylaw requires the following four committees:

  • Audit Committee
  • Executive Committee
  • Case Review Committee
  • Nominating Committee

The Bylaw authorizes council to constitute and dissolve additional committees as required.

The current CMPA governance model is depicted below. Revisions to this model, primarily associated with the number and type of working groups, occur as required.

The model does not reflect working groups constituted by council for assignments of relatively short duration (e.g. less than 12 months).

Flowchart showing the CMPA governance model and reporting structure. Full description follows.

The flow chart shows the President at the top. Council reports to the President. The CEO reports to Council, while management and staff report to the CEO. There are four by-law required committees under Council: Executive, Audit, Case Review, and Nominating. There are seven additional committees under Council: Investment, Governance, Human Resources and Compensation, Pension, Safe Medical Care, Extent of Assistance, and Member and Stakeholder Relations.

Composition of committees

Council establishes the membership of committees annually. Each committee is governed by terms of reference that outline its mandate, composition, duties and responsibilities, accountability, procedures, meetings, and activities.

Members of Council and external members both serve on the following committees: Audit Committee; Investment Committee; Nominating Committee; and Pension Committee. External members are selected for their expertise and knowledge relevant to the specific mandate of the committee on which they serve.

As part of its sound governance practices, Council conducts a committee structure and effectiveness review on a biennial basis.

Committees and Sub-committees 2021 – 2022

The mandate and membership of each of the existing committees are described below.

Members may wish to contact the CMPA President to discuss governance issues. Inquiries regarding operational or case-specific matters should be directed to 1-800-267-6522.

Executive Committee

Mandate—The Executive Committee meets monthly between meetings of Council and acts on the Council's behalf. The committee considers and determines issues of strategy, policy, risk governance and other matters requiring action. Council may delegate to the Executive Committee all or part of its powers, except the power to appoint councillors, committees, and the executive director. The Executive Committee generally meets seven to eight times per year.

Dr. Cohen, Michael (Chair)
Dr. Bergin, Patrick
Dr. Bouchard, Jacques
Dr. Brossard, Jean-Hugues
Dr. Chafe, Susan
Dr. Craigen, Gerard
Dr. Farnan, Paul
Dr. Johnson, Darcy
Dr. Shufelt, Katy
Dr. Singh, Birinder

Audit Committee

Mandate—The Audit Committee assists council in fulfilling its oversight role with respect to financial management and controls across the CMPA. The committee’s financial oversight role extends to all financial matters (policies, procedures, and risks) including those that might also be under the purview of other governance bodies. The Audit Committee generally meets at least four times each year.

Dr. Johnson, Darcy (Chair)
Dr. Barron, Alexander
Dr. Craigen, Gerard
Dr. Curry, Michael
Dr. Saoud, Fahimy
Ms. Pratt, Lynn (external)
Mr. Roberts, Jeremy (external)
Dr. Cohen, Michael (ex officio)

Case Review Committee

Mandate—The Case Review Committee considers the conduct or defence of matters or proceedings, by action or complaint, against active, former, and deceased members. This includes the authority to determine the nature and extent of assistance to a member. The committee also provides strategic guidance to, and governance oversight of, the CMPA’s medical-legal case management control system, including the provision of legal services. The Case Review Committee generally meets at least twice a month.

Dr. Brossard, Jean-Hugues (Chair)
Dr. Barron, Alexander
Dr. Healey, Paul
Dr. Mela, Mansfield
Dr. Rosen, Wayne
Dr. Sullivan, Michael
Dr. Tang, Jennifer
Dr. Wallace, Christopher
Dr. Cohen, Michael (ex officio)

Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) Sub-committee

Mandate—The Council Sub-committee on EDI provides oversight of, and input into, the development of the CMPA’s organizational EDI strategy focused on membership, governance, learning, people strategy, and advocacy. The EDI Sub-committee generally meets four to six times per year.

Dr. Cohen, Michael (Chair)
Dr. Chafe, Susan
Dr. Craigen, Gerard
Dr. Farnan, Paul
Dr. Mela, Mansfield
Dr. Saoud, Fahimy
Dr. Shufelt, Katy
Dr. Singh, Birinder

Extent of Assistance Committee

Mandate—The Extent of Assistance Committee reviews issues surrounding requests for assistance by CMPA members and develops the philosophy and principles to guide the CMPA’s extension of discretionary assistance to members, for consideration by council. The committee provides guidance on strategic initiatives impacting members, member service and CMPA programs related to the mutuality obligations of members. It identifies and considers organizational risks related to the protection of members. The Extent of Assistance Committee generally meets two to three times each year.

Dr. Farnan, Paul (Chair)
Dr. Halparin, Elliot
Dr. Mercier, François
Dr. Rosen, Wayne
Dr. Tang, Jennifer
Dr. Trudeau, Patrick
Dr. Cohen, Michael (ex officio)

Governance Committee

Mandate—The Governance Committee strengthens and enhances the Association’s governance performance by overseeing and advancing sound and effective corporate governance principles and practices designed to aid the long-term success and governance integrity of the Association and its council. The committee provides oversight and direction of specific governance projects and activities approved by council. The Governance Committee generally meets three to five times each year.

Dr. Chafe, Susan (Chair)
Dr. Brossard, Jean-Hugues
Dr. Halparin, Elliot
Dr. Hemans, Clover
Dr. Huckell, Victor
Dr. Leung, Fay
Dr. Cohen, Michael (ex officio)

Human Resources and Compensation Committee

Mandate—The Human Resources and Compensation Committee provides strategic guidance to, and governance oversight of, the CMPA’s human resource functions. The Human Resources and Compensation Committee generally meets three to four times each year.

Dr. Wallace, Christopher (Chair)
Dr. Brossard, Jean-Hugues
Dr. Craigen, Gerard
Dr. Gillis-Doyle, Jennifer
Dr. Healey, Paul
Dr. Mela, Mansfield
Dr. Saoud, Fahimy
Dr. Cohen, Michael (ex officio)

Investment Committee

Mandate—The Investment Committee establishes the CMPA’s investment policy, and reviews the results in comparison to the approved investment strategy. The committee establishes the strategic asset allocation strategy intended to deliver the required investment returns within the risk budget approved by council and advises council as to the long-term expected return on the CMPA’s investment portfolio. The Investment Committee generally meets at least four times each year.

Dr. Singh, Birinder (Chair)
Dr. Bergin, Patrick
Dr. Curry, Michael
Dr. Lalonde, Geneviève
Dr. Mercier, Claude
Dr. Sullivan, Michael
Dr. Trudeau, Patrick
Ms. Brodkin, Wendy (external)
Mr. Cotsman, Stephen (external)
Ms. Lachance, Stéphanie (external)
Mr. Murray, John (external)
Dr. Cohen, Michael (ex officio)

Member and Stakeholder Relations Committee

Mandate—The Member and Stakeholder Relations Committee provides strategic guidance to, and oversight of, the CMPA’s communications and stakeholder engagement activities, including the understanding and managing of relevant and emerging issues in the external environment. The Member and Stakeholder Relations Committee generally meets three to four times each year.

Dr. Shufelt, Katy (Chair)
Dr. Bent, Alfred
Dr. Brossard, Jean-Hugues
Dr. Craigen, Gerard
Dr. Januszkiewicz, Victoria
Dr. Leung, Fay
Dr. Mercier, François
Dr. Cohen, Michael (ex officio)

Nominating Committee

Mandate—The Nominating Committee identifies and proposes council candidates to the membership for election. The Nominating Committee generally meets three to four times each year.

Dr. Cohen, Michael (Chair)
Dr. Brossard, Jean-Hugues
Dr. Curry, Michael
Dr. Hemans, Clover
Dr. Lalonde, Geneviève
Dr. Boyce, Debra (external)
Dr. Condé, Jean-Joseph (external)

Pension Committee

Mandate—The Pension Committee provides oversight on matters affecting the policy and administration of the CMPA’s pension plan. The committee safeguards the plan assets, monitors the fund investments, ensures compliance with applicable legislation and regulation, and acts in accordance with the best interests of the plan beneficiaries. The Pension Committee generally meets quarterly.

Dr. Wallace, Christopher (Chair)
Dr. Brossard, Jean-Hugues
Dr. Craigen, Gerard
Dr. Gillis-Doyle, Jennifer
Dr. Healey, Paul
Dr. Mela, Mansfield
Dr. Saoud, Fahimy
Mr. Cotsman, Stephen (external)
Mrs. Pratt, Lynn (external)
Dr. Cohen, Michael (ex officio)

Safe Medical Care Committee

Mandate—The Safe Medical Care Committee supports and provides strategic guidance to the CMPA’s efforts in safe medical care, including research and analytics, safe medical care stakeholder collaboration, and practice improvement and risk management. The Committee generally meets up to three times per year.

Dr. Gillis-Doyle, Jennifer (Chair)
Dr. Bent, Alfred
Dr. Bouchard, Jacques
Dr. Hemans, Clover
Dr. Huckell, Victor
Dr. Januszkiewicz, Victoria
Dr. Lalonde, Geneviève
Dr. Mercier, Claude
Dr. Cohen, Michael (ex officio)

Comité sur la responsabilité professionnelle des médecins

Dr. Brossard, Jean-Hugues


Canadian Patient Safety Institute

Voting representative

Dr. Cohen, Michael


Canadian Medical Association

Representative

Dr. Cohen, Michael


Saegis Board of Directors

CMPA Councillors

Dr. Gillis-Doyle, Jennifer
Dr. Singh, Birinder


Salus Global Board of Directors

Representative

Dr. Boyce, Debra

Comités

Une grande partie du travail du Conseil de l’ACPM est effectuée par divers comités; des sous-comités ou des groupes de travail peuvent parfois être créés pour traiter de sujets d'intérêt particulier.

Le Règlement exige la mise en place des quatre comités suivants :

  • Comité d’audit
  • Comité directeur
  • Comité de révision des dossiers
  • Comité des candidatures

Le Règlement autorise également le Conseil à constituer d'autres comités au besoin ou à les supprimer.

Le modèle de gouvernance actuelle de l’ACPM est illustré ci-dessous. Il est révisé au besoin, principalement pour ce qui a trait au nombre et au genre de groupes de travail.

Le modèle ne reflète pas les groupes de travail constitués par le Conseil pour des mandats d’une durée relativement courte (p. ex. moins de 12 mois).

Organigramme montrant le modèle de gouvernance et la structure hiérarchique de l’ACPM. Une description complète suit.

L’organigramme montre le président au sommet. Le Conseil relève du président. La directrice générale relève du Conseil, alors que la direction et le personnel relèvent de la directrice générale. Quatre comités du Conseil sont requis en vertu du Règlement : le Comité directeur, le Comité d’audit, le Comité de révision des dossiers et le Comité des candidatures. Il y a huit autres comités qui relèvent du Conseil : le Comité de gouvernance, le Comité de supervision des services juridiques, le Comité des placements, le Comité des régimes de retraite, le Comité des relations avec les membres et les partenaires, le Comité des ressources humaines et de la rémunération, le Comité des soins médicaux sécuritaires et le Comité sur l’étendue de l’assistance.

Composition des comités

Chaque année, le Conseil détermine la composition des comités. Chaque comité est régi en fonction d’un cadre qui précise son mandat, sa composition, ses obligations et responsabilités, sa responsabilisation, ses processus, ses réunions et ses activités.

Les membres du Conseil et les membres consultants siègent aux comités suivants : Comité d’audit, Comité des placements, Comité des candidatures et Comité des régimes de retraite. Les consultants sont choisis en fonction de leur expertise et de leurs connaissances relatives au mandat précis du comité auquel ils siègent.

Dans le cadre de saines pratiques de gouvernance, le Conseil effectue une évaluation de la structure et de l’efficacité des comités sur une base biennale.

Comités et sous-comités 2022-2023

Le mandat de chacun des comités et le nom des membres qui en font partie figurent ci-dessous.

Les membres peuvent communiquer avec le président de l'ACPM pour discuter de questions de gouvernance. Veuillez composer le 1-800-267-6522 pour les demandes concernant les questions opérationnelles ou se rapportant à un cas particulier.

Comité directeur

Mandat – Le Comité directeur se réunit chaque mois et agit au nom du Conseil entre les réunions du Conseil. Le Comité étudie les questions de stratégie, de politique, de gouvernance en matière de risque et toute autre question exigeant une action. Le Conseil peut déléguer ses pouvoirs ou une partie de ceux-ci au Comité directeur, sauf celui de nommer des conseillers ou le directeur général, et de constituer les comités. Le Comité directeur se réunit généralement entre sept et huit fois par année.

Dr Brossard, Jean-Hugues (président du Comité)
Dr Bouchard, Jacques
Dre Chafe, Susan
Dr Curry, Michael
Dre Gillis-Doyle, Jennifer
Dr Healey, Paul
Dr Mela, Mansfield
Dre Shufelt, Katy
Dr Singh, Birinder
Dre Tang, Jennifer

Comité d’audit

Mandat – Le Comité d’audit assiste le Conseil dans sa responsabilité de surveillance de la gestion financière et des systèmes de contrôle de l’ACPM. Son rôle s’étend à toutes les questions financières (principes, procédures et risques) au sein de l’organisation, y compris celles qui pourraient être du ressort d’autres entités de gouvernance. Le Comité d’audit se réunit généralement au moins quatre fois par année.

Dr Curry, Michael (président du Comité)
Dr Barron, Alexander
Dr Bent, Alfred
Dre Lalonde, Geneviève
Dr Mercier, François
Mme Pratt, Lynn  (consultante)
M. Roberts, Jeremy (consultant)
Dr Brossard, Jean-Hugues (membre d’office)

Comité de révision des dossiers

Mandat – Le Comité de révision des dossiers examine la conduite à adopter ou la réponse à une requête dans les dossiers ou procédures découlant d’actions en justice ou de plaintes contre des membres actuels, d’anciens membres et des membres décédés. Il a également l’autorité de déterminer la nature et l’étendue de l’assistance pouvant être accordée à un membre. Le Comité assure également la surveillance et la gouvernance du système de gestion des dossiers médico-légaux, y compris la prestation de services juridiques. Le Comité de révision des dossiers se réunit généralement au moins deux fois par mois.

Dre Tang, Jennifer (présidente du Comité)
Dr Halparin, Elliot
Dr Johnson, Darcy
Dr Mercier, Claude
Dr Rosen, Wayne
Dre Ross, Tracey
Dre Shufelt, Katy
Dr Brossard, Jean-Hugues (membre d’office)

Comité sur l’étendue de l’assistance

Mandat – Le Comité sur l’étendue de l’assistance examine les questions ayant trait aux demandes d’assistance des membres de l’ACPM. Il élabore le fondement théorique et les principes directeurs à l’intention du Conseil pour l’aider à déterminer comment l’ACPM doit exercer son pouvoir discrétionnaire en matière d’assistance. Le Comité assure une orientation sur les initiatives stratégiques qui ont une incidence sur les membres, les services aux membres et les programmes de l’ACPM associés aux obligations des membres découlant du caractère mutuel de la protection. Il analyse les risques organisationnels liés à la protection des membres. Le Comité sur l’étendue de l’assistance se réunit généralement de deux à trois fois par année.

Dr Rosen, Wayne (président du Comité)
Dr Cohen, Michael
Dr Halparin, Elliot
Dre Leung, Fay
Dre Saoud, Fahimy
Dr Trudeau, Patrick 
Dr Brossard, Jean-Hugues (membre d’office)

Comité de gouvernance

Mandat – Le Comité de gouvernance renforce le rendement de l’Association en ce qui concerne sa gouvernance en assurant la surveillance et la promotion de pratiques et de principes rigoureux et efficaces en matière de gouvernance organisationnelle, conçus de façon à favoriser le succès à long terme, ainsi que l’intégrité de la gouvernance de l’Association et de son Conseil. Il surveille les projets et les activités spécifiques à la gouvernance, approuvés par le Conseil, puis en assure la gestion. Le Comité de gouvernance se réunit généralement de trois à cinq fois par année.

Dre Hemans, Clover (présidente du Comité)
Dr Bergin, Patrick
Dr Johnson, Darcy
Dr Mercier, François
Dre Saoud, Fahimy
Dr Sockanathan, Sanjeeve
Dr Brossard, Jean-Hugues (membre d’office)

Comité des ressources humaines et de la rémunération

Mandat – Le Comité des ressources humaines et de la rémunération assure l’orientation et la surveillance de la gouvernance en ce qui a trait aux fonctions des ressources humaines de l’ACPM. Le Comité des ressources humaines et de la rémunération se réunit généralement de trois à quatre fois par année.

Dr Mela, Mansfield (président du comité)
Dr Bent, Alfred
Dr Craigen, Gerard
Dr Huckell, Victor
Dre Lalonde, Geneviève
Dr Brossard, Jean-Hugues (membre d’office)

Comité des placements

Mandat – Le Comité des placements détermine les principes de placement de l’ACPM et compare les résultats obtenus à ceux visés par une stratégie de placement approuvée. Il établit la stratégie d’affectation des actifs destinée à obtenir les rendements requis des placements dans le cadre du budget de risque approuvé par le Conseil. Il informe le Conseil des rendements attendus à long terme de son portefeuille de placements. Le Comité des placements se réunit généralement au moins quatre fois par année.

Dr Singh, Birinder (président du Comité)
Dr Cohen, Michael
Dre Januszkiewicz, Victoria
Dr Oyelese, Olutoyese
Dr Sullivan, Michael
Dr Trudeau, Patrick
Mme Brodkin, Wendy (consultante)
M. Cotsman, Stephen (consultant)
Mme Lachance, Stéphanie (consultante)
M. Murray, John (consultant)
Dr Brossard, Jean-Hugues (membre d’office)

Comité de supervision des services juridiques

Mandat – Le Comité de supervision des services juridiques a pour mandat d’évaluer le maintien et la prestation des services juridiques dont bénéficient les membres et de formuler des recommandations à cet égard; il est aussi responsable d’orienter la relation de travail qu’entretient l’Association avec ses cabinets d’avocats partenaires. Le Comité de supervision des services juridiques se réunit généralement au moins trois fois par année.

Dre Shufelt, Katy (présidente du Comité)
Dr Barron, Alexander
Dr Bergin, Patrick
Dre Chafe, Susan
Dr Singh, Birinder
Dr Brossard, Jean-Hugues (membre d’office)

Comité des relations avec les membres et les partenaires

Mandat – Le Comité des relations avec les membres et les partenaires assure l’orientation stratégique et la surveillance des communications et des activités d’engagement des partenaires, y compris en ce qui a trait à la compréhension et à la gestion des enjeux pertinents et nouveaux du milieu externe. Le Comité des relations avec les membres et les partenaires se réunit généralement de trois à quatre fois par année.

Dre Januszkiewicz, Victoria (présidente du Comité)
Dr Craigen, Gerard
Dre Gillis-Doyle, Jennifer
Dre Leung, Fay
Dre Ross, Tracey
Dre Shufelt, Katy
Dr Singh, Birinder
Dr Brossard, Jean-Hugues (membre d’office)

Comité des candidatures

Mandat – Le Comité des candidatures recommande aux membres les candidats qu’il a sélectionnés pour pourvoir des postes au Conseil. Le Comité des candidatures se réunit généralement de trois à quatre fois par année.

Dr Brossard, Jean-Hugues (président du Comité)
Dre Chafe, Susan
Dre Hemans, Clover
Dre Lalonde, Geneviève
Dr Oyelese, Olutoyese
Dre Boyce, Debra (consultante)
Dr Condé, Jean-Joseph (consultant)

Comité des régimes de retraite

Mandat – Le Comité des régimes de retraite assure la surveillance des enjeux influant sur la politique et l’administration des régimes de retraite des employés de l’ACPM. Le Comité protège les actifs des régimes, surveille les placements des fonds, veille à ce que les régimes soient conformes à la législation et à la réglementation applicables tout en agissant dans l’intérêt des bénéficiaires des régimes. Le Comité des régimes de retraite se réunit généralement une fois par trimestre.

Dr Healey, Paul (président du Comité)
Dr Craigen, Gerard
Dr Mela, Mansfield
Dre Shufelt, Katy
Dr Trudeau, Patrick
M. Cotsman, Stephen (consultant)
Mme Pratt, Lynn (consultante)
Dr Brossard, Jean-Hugues (membre d’office)

Comité des soins médicaux sécuritaires

Mandat – Le Comité des soins médicaux sécuritaires assure l’orientation stratégique et appuie les efforts de l’ACPM en matière de soins médicaux sécuritaires; entre autres, la recherche et l’analytique, la collaboration avec des partenaires en soins médicaux sécuritaires, ainsi que l’amélioration de la pratique et la gestion des risques. Le Comité des soins médicaux sécuritaires se réunit généralement jusqu’à trois fois par année.

Dr Mercier, Claude (président du Comité)
Dr Bouchard, Jacques
Dr Cohen, Michael
Dre Hemans, Clover
Dr Huckell, Victor
Dr Sockanathan, Sanjeeve
Dr Brossard, Jean-Hugues (membre d’office)

Comité sur la responsabilité professionnelle des médecins

Dr Bouchard, Jacques


Association médicale canadienne

Représentant

Dr Brossard, Jean-Hugues


Conseil d’administration de Saegis

Conseillers de l’ACPM

Dr Healey, Paul
Dre Tang, Jennifer

Conseil d’administration de Salus Global

Représentante

Dre Boyce, Debra