Workshops


Is no news good news? Build a more reliable follow-up system for test results

An interactive, hands-on workshop designed to help physicians who are looking to build a reliable follow-up system for test results in their practice.


In this 3-hour workshop, you will:

  • Describe your responsibilities for following up on test results
  • Identify potential system failures in your practice
  • Plan a safer system for managing your test results

Watch the video to learn more.

Dates and locations

Date
Language
Location
Venue
(12 - 4pm)
(5 - 9pm)
Sep 25, 2018
English
Halifax, NS
Pier 21
Oct 17, 2018
French
Montreal, QC
Sofitel Montréal Golden Mile
Registration Full
Registration Full
Oct 18, 2018
English
Vaudreuil, QC
Château Vaudreuil Hôtel & Suites

Questions? Contact events@cmpa.org

  • To be added to the waiting list
  • If a registration link is not yet available
  • To register as a non-member (include the event type, date, and city.)

Price

The cost to attend this session is $40, plus applicable taxes, for all CMPA members. There is no cost for resident physicians.

Program

Afternoon
Evening
12:15 p.m.
Registration and buffet lunch (included)
1:00 p.m.
Workshop
Learning objectives:
  • Describe physician responsibilities for follow-up of test results
  • Define what constitutes a reasonable effort for follow-up on test results
  • Review your current system for recording and tracking test results to identify potential opportunities for improvement
2:15 p.m
Health break
2:30 p.m.
Workshop
Learning objectives:
  • Identify potential solutions to improve the management of test results in your practice
  • Formulate a plan to implement a reliable test results management system in your practice
3:45 p.m
Summary and closing remarks
5:15 p.m.
Registration and buffet dinner (included)
6:00 p.m.
Workshop
Learning objectives:
  • Describe physician responsibilities for follow-up of test results
  • Define what constitutes a reasonable effort for follow-up on test results
  • Review your current system for recording and tracking test results to identify potential opportunities for improvement
7:15 p.m
Health break
7:30 p.m.
Workshop
Learning objectives:
  • Identify potential solutions to improve the management of test results in your practice
  • Formulate a plan to implement a reliable test results management system in your practice
8:45 p.m
Summary and closing remarks

Credits

This Group Learning program has been certified by the College of Family Physicians of Canada for up to 3 Mainpro+ credits.

This event is an Accredited Group Learning Activity (Section 1) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification program of The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, and approved by the CMPA for up to 3 MOC credits.

Additional resources

CMPA podcast: Creating a reliable system for the follow-up of test results

Moderator: You are listening to the CMPA Educational Podcast Network. These learning materials are for general educational purposes only and are not intended to provide professional, medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a standard of care for Canadian health providers.

Dr. Steven Bellemare: Welcome to the CMPA’s podcast on the follow-up of test results. I’m Dr. Steven Bellemare, Senior Physician Advisor in Practice Improvement. This podcast will provide a detailed discussion of your professional and medical-legal responsibilities with regards to the follow-up of test results.Joining me today in studio is Dr. Marie-Pierre Carpentier, an Emergency Physician and a colleague of mine at the CMPA. Welcome Marie-Pierre.

Dr. Marie-Pierre Carpentier: Hi Steven, it’s a pleasure to be here today.

Dr. Steven Bellemare: Now Marie-Pierre, I understand that as a physician advisor at the CMPA, you’re often asked about issues regarding the follow-up of test results. Am I right?

Dr. Marie-Pierre Carpentier: Yeah, we do get many questions on that topic.

Dr. Steven Bellemare: So you must have had the opportunity to discuss that matter with the CMPA’s legal counsel?

Dr. Marie-Pierre Carpentier: Yeah, for sure. I spoke with Ms. Adriana Cargnello, who’s a partner at Gowling WLG. She’s been involved in many CMPA cases involving the follow-up of test results. She had a lot of great information about professional and legal responsibilities regarding this process.

Dr. Steven Bellemare: And so what did Ms. Cargnello have to say?

Dr. Marie-Pierre Carpentier: I asked her what the key messages our members should be focused on regarding the follow-up of test results are. Here’s what she had to say:

Adriana Cargnello: To follow up on test results, they need to have a system in place. To help them do that, the systems should be clear and simple and easy to follow. They need to document, while any efforts made to communicate with patients, and good and clear communication with patients, is always key.

Dr. Steven Bellemare: Well that seems manageable enough. I would think most members would follow these principles.

Dr. Marie-Pierre Carpentier: Yeah, I agree, but many physicians are often overwhelmed or discouraged and they don’t know where to start.

Adriana Cargnello: Well, one place to start is to know all the policies and guidelines. You can start by Colleges, professional associations, and also, if you’re working in a hospital setting, know the hospital policies. It’s also important to communicate well and clearly with patients. They need to understand what test is being ordered, why it’s important, and what steps they may need to take afterwards. It’s important to have a system. The system must allow the physician to ensure that test results are received, are reviewed, and acted upon in a timely and appropriate way for the issue at hand. Keep the system clear and simple. Build in redundancies, if possible. “No news is good news” is not a system. And it should only be used if the physician is confident that the test management system in place is robust so that no news really does mean good news.

Dr. Steven Bellemare: Well that’s very interesting. So if I can summarize what I think I heard her say, it’s essentially that having a “no news is good news” approach isn’t actually a follow-up system at all.

Dr. Marie-Pierre Carpentier: You’re right, Steven. That approach does not promote safe medical care. Let’s hear a bit more on that subject.

Adriana Cargnello: Document. Document that something has been read and by whom. Document attempts to contact the patient, document all communications and discussions with the patient. Train your staff. Make expectations clear. They need to know that the system is there, that they need to understand the system and why it is important. It’s not just an administrative task without consequences. And finally, if there is a problem with the system, don’t ignore it. Fix it. And if you’re working in a hospital setting, work with hospital staff and your colleagues to improve the system.

Dr. Marie-Pierre Carpentier: So being proactive and making sure your system is simple and effective is the best solution to improve patient safety and for your own peace of mind as a doctor.

Dr. Steven Bellemare: Marie-Pierre, you mentioned patient safety and that makes me wonder, do patients have a role or any responsibilities in following up their own test results?

Dr. Marie-Pierre Carpentier: In fact, Steven, I asked Ms. Cargnello that very question.

Adriana Cargnello: It’s quite clear that patients do not generally have a responsibility to actively follow up on test results. In other words, they don’t have a responsibility to track down their own test results. It can be that a patient may hold some responsibility and even some shared liability, but usually this does not exonerate the physician from his or her own duty to ensure follow-up of test results. It has to be made clear to a patient what the nature of the test is, its importance and what steps the patient needs to take. And in that case when it’s quite clear, it may be that the patient who chooses not to follow those steps may share in some liability. Communication with the patient is key, and documenting all discussions and attempts to contact the patient are also key.

Dr. Marie-Pierre Carpentier: You know, as a physician advisor at the CMPA, I’m often asked by our members what is considered a reasonable effort. The Colleges have clear guidelines concerning the follow-up of test results, but what is a reasonable effort? On that subject, let’s listen to Ms. Cargnello.

Adriana Cargnello: Well, when looking at what a reasonable effort is in a given situation, the courts and Colleges will look at the specific patient and that particular patient’s circumstances. The efforts will depend on the urgency of the situation and the risks and potential consequences.

Dr. Steven Bellemare: That makes a lot of sense, Marie-Pierre. But what if a patient misses their follow-up appointment, even on multiple occasions?

Dr. Marie-Pierre Carpentier: Yeah, Steven, the situation can be difficult, but the physician still has a responsibility. When we spoke, this is what Ms. Cargnello had to say on this issue.

Adriana Cargnello: Just because a patient is a no-show doesn’t mean the physician’s duty ends. There are reasonable efforts that need to be made to contact the patient and reschedule an appointment. And what is a reasonable effort will depend on the circumstances, specifically the urgency and risk to the patient. Reasonable efforts may extend to attempts to reschedule, even if the patient has cancelled more than one appointment. It is key to communicate well with the patient from the outset on the significance of the test and why it is being ordered. It is important to document all communications and efforts to contact the patient.

Dr. Steven Bellemare: Marie-Pierre, can you tell me what happens when there are multiple healthcare professionals involved in a patient’s care?

Dr. Marie-Pierre Carpentier: Well, Steven, more often than not, several players are involved in the follow-up of test results and sometimes this leads to multiple gaps in the process. The question is where does the responsibility lie?

Adriana Cargnello: Often, there are various healthcare professionals who can be involved in the collection and execution and reporting of test results. For example, we’ll have an ordering or referring physician, a reporting physician if that’s the case, depending on the test result, the lab and its staff, the hospital and its staff, a nurse, and even sometimes but more rarely, the patient. This can lead to situations of potential shared liability and shared responsibility between each of these parties and providers. But generally, the ordering physician is very rarely relieved of his or her personal duty to follow up. An example of perhaps where there may be a transfer of that duty to another healthcare provider would be, for instance, in the emergency room, an emergency room physician requests a scan. The patient is admitted, and the ER physician asks that the hospitalist follow up on the result. The hospital agrees to follow up on the results. There is a clear discussion between the two physicians and that discussion is charted clearly. Then in that case, there might be a situation where the duty transfers from the emergency physician to the hospitalist.

Dr. Marie-Pierre Carpentier: As you heard, there are many factors that come into play.

Dr. Steven Bellemare: So in a nutshell, Marie-Pierre, what would you say are the professional and legal obligations of a physician to follow up on test results?

Dr. Marie-Pierre Carpentier: Well, Steven, I suggest we listen to this very good summary from Ms. Cargnello.

Adriana Cargnello: The courts have long recognized the physician’s ethical and legal duty to follow up on test results. Colleges also expect physicians to follow up on test results and investigations. Some Colleges have issued specific policies and guidelines on the issue. In order to determine the nature and extent of the duty in a particular circumstance, the courts will look to College guidelines and policies, professional associations’ guidelines, hospital policies, and even expert opinion.

Dr. Marie-Pierre Carpentier: We also know that over 90 percent of College complaints have an unfavourable outcome for the physicians when it comes to the follow-up of test results. Also, it is important to remember the impact that a lack of follow-up may have on the patient. So it’s important for all of us as physicians to make sure that the follow-up of test results is a priority.

Dr. Steven Bellemare: Well thanks very much, Marie-Pierre. The good news, it seems, is that physicians do have control over this process. Making simple changes to our everyday practice can in fact improve our follow-up strategies and therefore improve patient safety. So if I can summarize, the courts and Colleges have clear expectations on our duty to follow-up test results, and so it’s up to us as physicians to make sure that we’re aware of our professional standards.

Dr. Marie-Pierre Carpentier: Exactly, Steven. It’s important to remember that teamwork and communication are key. It’s also very clear that you should have a system in place for the follow-up of test results. I’d like to reassure listeners that their system does not have to be perfect from the get-go. When I talked to doctors, most of them already know what the problem is with regards to the follow-up of their test results. Start with the issues that keep you up at night, fix them, and grow your system from there.

Dr. Steven Bellemare: That sounds like excellent advice. One thing that I might add is to make sure that your patients understand why you’re asking for a specific test, and that they also understand the importance of showing up for that test and ensuring that they receive the results.

Dr. Marie-Pierre Carpentier: I agree, Steven. And lastly, I just want to remind you to document clearly, all the efforts that you’ve made to research the patient and to follow-up on that test result.

Dr. Steven Bellemare: Well, Marie-Pierre, thank you very much for joining us today. Unfortunately, this is all the time we have for this podcast. So on behalf of the CMPA, I would like to thank you, our listeners, for being here today. And until next time, I remain your host, Dr. Steven Bellemare.

Moderator: You are listening to the CMPA Education Podcast Network. These learning materials are for general educational purposes only and are not intended to provide professional, medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a standard of care for Canadian healthcare providers. The CMPA offers a series of workshops on following-up on test results. Visit our website, www.cmpa-acpm.ca, to register for the next one near you. Thank you for listening to the CMPA Education Podcast Network. These learning materials are for general educational purposes only and are not intended to provide professional, medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a standard of care for Canadian healthcare providers.

You may also be interested in ...

Safe medical care — It’s your move!

An interactive day for resident physicians to focus on patient safety and reducing medical-legal risks.

Your patients, your practice: Practical tips for safe care

An evening to help physicians improve diagnostic errors, medication-related harm, and EMR documentation.

Ateliers


Pas de nouvelles, bonnes nouvelles? Créez un système plus fiable pour le suivi des résultats d’examen

Un atelier interactif de formation pratique conçu pour aider les médecins à implanter dans leur pratique un système de suivi fiable pour les résultats d’examen.

Pendant cet atelier de trois heures, vous devrez :

  • Décrire vos responsabilités en ce qui a trait au suivi des résultats d’examen.
  • Cerner les défaillances possibles du système dans votre pratique.
  • Planifier la mise en œuvre d’un système plus sécuritaire pour gérer les résultats d’examen.

Pour en savoir plus, regardez la vidéo.

Dates et lieux

Date
Langue
Ville
Lieu
(12 h – 16 h)
(17 h – 21 h)
25 sept. 2018
Anglais
Halifax, N-É.
Pier 21
17 oct. 2018
Franςais
Montréal, Qc
Sofitel Montréal Golden Mile
Complet
Complet
18 oct. 2018
Anglais
Vaudreuil, Qc
Château Vaudreuil Hôtel & Suites
Complet

Questions? Contactez events@cmpa.org

  • Pour ajouter votre nom à une liste d’attente si une activité affiche complet
  • S’il n’y a pas encore de lien pour l’inscription
  • Si vous n’êtes pas membre de l’ACPM. Veuillez indiquer l’activité à laquelle vous aimeriez assister (préciser le type d’activité, la date et la ville)

Prix

Les frais d’inscription à cette séance sont de 40 $, plus les taxes applicables, pour tous les membres de l’ACPM. Il n’y a pas de frais pour les médecins résidents.

Programme

Après-midi
Soirée
12 h 15
Inscription et dîner-buffet (inclus)
13 h
Atelier
Objectifs d'apprentissage :
  • Décrire vos responsabilités en ce qui a trait au suivi des résultats d’examen.
  • Définir ce qui constitue un effort raisonnable d’assurer le suivi des résultats d’examen.
  • Passer en revue le système que vous utilisez pour enregistrer et retracer les résultats d’examen; déterminer les pistes d’amélioration possibles.
14 h 15
Pause
14 h 30
Atelier
Objectifs d'apprentissage :
  • Identifier des solutions pour mieux gérer les résultats d’examen dans votre pratique.
  • Élaborer un plan afin d’établir un système fiable de gestion des résultats d’examen dans votre pratique.
15 h 45
Résumé et fin de l’atelier
17 h 15
Inscription et souper-buffet (inclus)
18 h
Atelier
Objectifs d'apprentissage :
  • Décrire vos responsabilités en ce qui a trait au suivi des résultats d’examen.
  • Définir ce qui constitue un effort raisonnable d’assurer le suivi des résultats d’examen.
  • Passer en revue le système que vous utilisez pour enregistrer et retracer les résultats d’examen; déterminer les pistes d’amélioration possibles.
19 h 15
Pause
19 h 30
Atelier
Objectifs d'apprentissage :
  • Identifier des solutions pour mieux gérer les résultats d’examen dans votre pratique.
  • Élaborer un plan afin d’établir un système fiable de gestion des résultats d’examen dans votre pratique.
20 h 45
Résumé et fin de l’atelier

Crédits

Ce programme d'apprentissage en groupe a reçu la certification du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada et donne droit jusqu'à 3 crédits Mainpro+.

La présente activité est une activité d’apprentissage collectif agréée (section 1) au sens que lui donne le programme de Maintien du certificat du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada, approuvée par l’ACPM. Vous pouvez réclamer un maximum de 3,0 heures pour cette activité. 

Ressources supplémentaires

Baladodiffusion: Créez un système plus fiable pour le suivi des résultats d’examen

Narratrice: Vous écoutez la station éducative de baladodiffusion de l’ACPM. Ce matériel éducatif est fourni uniquement à des fins éducatives générales. Il ne constitue pas des conseils professionnels de nature juridique ou médicale, ni une norme de pratique pour les professionnels de la santé canadiens.

D r Bellemare: Bonjour et bienvenue à cette baladodiffusion de l’ACPM sur le suivi des résultats d’examens. Je m’appelle Dr Steven Bellemare et je suis le médecin-conseil senior en gestion des risques en Amélioration de la pratique. Au cours de cette émission, nous réviserons en détail les responsabilités professionnelles et médico-légales des médecins face au suivi des résultats d’examen. J’ai en studio avec moi aujourd'hui la Dre Marie-Pierre Carpentier, urgentologue et médecin-conseil à l’ACPM. Bienvenue, Marie-Pierre.

D re Carpentier: Bonjour. Ça me fait plaisir d’être ici avec vous aujourd'hui.

D r Bellemare: Marie-Pierre, en tant que médecin-conseil, vous êtes souvent sollicitée à donner des conseils concernant les problématiques des suivis de résultats d’examens, n’est-ce pas?

D re Carpentier: Oui, effectivement.

D r Bellemare: Et j’imagine que vous avez sans doute eu la chance de discuter de ce sujet-là avec les avocats de l’ACPM?

D re Carpentier: Oui, tout à fait. En fait, j’ai eu la chance de discuter avec Me Adriana Cargnello qui est une associée à Gowling WLG. Me Cargnello a été impliquée dans plusieurs cas médico-légaux concernant le suivi des résultats d’examens et elle avait plusieurs informations à partager concernant le processus de suivi des résultats d’examens.

D r Bellemare: Et qu’est-ce qu’elle avait à dire, justement, à ce sujet-là?

D re Carpentier: Je lui ai demandé quels sont les messages à retenir concernant le suivi des résultats d’examens et voici un extrait de ce qu’elle avait à nous dire.

M e Cargnello: Les médecins ont une obligation de faire le suivi des examens et investigations qu’ils ordonnent. Ils devraient avoir un système en place qui est clair et facile à suivre et ils doivent bien documenter tous leurs efforts et bien communiquer avec leurs patients.

D r Bellemare: En effet, ça me semble raisonnable comme conseil. Je pense que la plupart de nos membres seraient d'accord avec ces principes-là.

D re Carpentier: Oui, je suis d'accord. Mais en fait, plusieurs médecins sont souvent découragés ou se sentent dépassés par la tâche et ne savent pas par où commencer. Je vous propose d’écouter encore une fois Me Cargnello.

M e Cargnello: D’abord, il faudrait commencer par connaître les politiques, les lignes directrices applicables, donc on peut se tourner vers les Collèges et les associations professionnelles. S’il y a des politiques en centre hospitalier, il faut bien les connaître aussi. Il faut bien communiquer avec ses patients pour qu’ils comprennent la nature et l’importance de l’investigation de l’examen. Il faut avoir un système en place. Ce système doit permettre la vérification de la réception des résultats, la lecture des résultats et un suivi en temps opportun. Le système devrait être clair et relativement simple avec de préférence des redondances. « Pas de nouvelles, bonnes nouvelles » n’est pas un système. C’est à éviter, à moins d’avoir un système robuste en place pour gérer les résultats d’examens.

D r Bellemare: C’est intéressant, ça. Je suis certain qu’il y a plusieurs de nos auditeurs qui sont probablement convaincus qu’en fait, le système « pas de nouvelles, bonnes nouvelles », c’est raisonnable.

D re Carpentier: Bien, en fait, Steven, le système « pas de nouvelles, bonnes nouvelles », ce n’est pas vraiment un système. Justement, en voici un petit peu plus sur le sujet.

M e Cargnello: Il faut indiquer très clairement au dossier du patient les tentatives de suivi : les appels, les rendez-vous et les conversations avec le patient, et cetera. Il faut bien former ses employés. Ils doivent comprendre le système et savoir que c’est important et pas seulement une tâche administrative sans importance ou conséquences. Et en bout de ligne, il ne faut pas faire l’autruche. S’il y a un problème avec un système, il faut le régler. Si c’est en milieu hospitalier, il faut travailler avec l’hôpital et ses collègues pour l’améliorer.

D re Carpentier: Alors, être proactif et s’assurer d’avoir en place un système simple et efficace, c’est une excellente solution pour améliorer la sécurité des patients, mais aussi pour avoir la paix d’esprit comme médecin.

D r Bellemare: Marie-Pierre, vous mentionnez justement la sécurité des patients. Parlons donc un petit peu des rôles et responsabilités des patients face au suivi des résultats pour leurs propres investigations.

D re Carpentier: En effet, c’est une question qu’on se fait poser souvent par des médecins. Voici ce que Me Cargnello nous dit au sujet du rôle du patient.

M e Cargnello: Il est très clair que le patient n’a pas une responsabilité personnelle de faire le suivi de son propre examen. Il est possible parfois qu’un patient puisse avoir une certaine responsabilité, mais c’est assez rare. En général, il faut bien expliquer au patient la nature de l’examen, son importance et les étapes que le patient doit suivre. Ensuite, si le patient ne suit pas ces conseils, il pourrait aussi avoir une certaine part de responsabilité, par exemple s’il refuse de se présenter à certains rendez-vous. Par contre, il est rarissime que ceci exonère le médecin. Plus souvent, la responsabilité sera partagée. Donc, il est important de bien communiquer avec le patient et ensuite, de bien documenter au dossier toutes ces communications.

D re Carpentier: Steven, le concept de l’effort raisonnable soulève habituellement plusieurs questions. Les Collèges ont des lignes directrices claires concernant le suivi des résultats d’examen. Alors, en fait, on peut se poser la question : qu’est-ce qui constitue vraiment un effort raisonnable? J’ai justement posé cette question-là à Me Cargnello.

M e Cargnello: L’effort à déployer pour le suivi des examens doit être spécifique au patient, aux circonstances et dépendra de l’urgence de la situation. Il faut pouvoir démontrer que le médecin a un système raisonnable en place pour faire le suivi qui est d’application uniforme. Et évidemment, il est toujours important de bien documenter au dossier tous les efforts faits pour communiquer avec le patient.

D r Bellemare: Mais qu’est-ce qui se passe si un patient ne se présente pas à son rendez-vous de suivi, même à plusieurs reprises par exemple?

D re Carpentier: Oui, en effet, Steven, cette situation-là peut être difficile. Par contre, le médecin a toujours une part de responsabilité.

M e Cargnello: Donc, même si un patient ne se présente pas à son rendez-vous, ceci n’élimine pas l’obligation qu’a le médecin de faire un suivi. Le médecin doit faire un effort raisonnable pour communiquer avec le patient pour reprendre le rendez-vous. L’étendue des efforts à déployer dépendra du risque, des conséquences et de l’urgence. Ces efforts pourraient s’avérer nécessaires à plusieurs reprises si le patient rate plusieurs rendez-vous. Il est très important de bien communiquer au patient dès le début la nature et l’importance de l’examen et il est important de bien documenter tous les efforts déployés pour communiquer avec le patient.

D r Bellemare: Marie-Pierre, expliquez-nous donc un petit peu qu’est-ce qui se passe quand plusieurs professionnels de la santé sont impliqués dans les soins d’un même patient?

D re Carpentier: En fait, la plupart du temps, plusieurs joueurs sont impliqués dans le suivi des résultats d’examen, puis ça, ça augmente les risques qu’il y ait des failles dans le processus. Donc, quand plusieurs joueurs sont impliqués, c’est normal de se poser la question : où se situe la responsabilité? Là-dessus, voici Me Cargnello.

M e Cargnello: Comme on sait, parfois, il y a plusieurs personnes qui peuvent être impliquées dans l’ordonnance, la collecte et le suivi d’examens. Par exemple, le médecin prescripteur, le médecin qui lit les résultats s’il y a eu, le laboratoire et son personnel, une infirmière, l’hôpital et son personnel, voire même parfois le patient. Alors, bien que parfois, il pourrait y avoir une responsabilité partagée entre ces joueurs, le médecin prescripteur n’est que très rarement relevé de sa responsabilité personnelle de faire le suivi.

D re Carpentier: Donc, tel que mentionné par Me Cargnello, plusieurs facteurs influencent le suivi des résultats d’examen.

D r Bellemare: Finalement, Marie-Pierre, comment pourrait-on résumer les obligations professionnelles et médico-légales des médecins face au suivi des résultats d’examen?

D re Carpentier: Bien, en fait, j’ai posé la question à Me Cargnello et elle nous a fait un très bon résumé. Je vous propose de l’écouter à nouveau.

M e Cargnello: L’obligation de suivi est une obligation juridique et déontologique. Les tribunaux et les Collèges ont depuis longtemps reconnu l’obligation du médecin de faire le suivi des examens et des investigations. Les Collèges ont aussi souvent des politiques à ce sujet. Afin de déterminer la nature et l’étendue de cette obligation, les tribunaux considèrent les politiques des Collèges, les codes de déontologie, les lignes directrices d’associations professionnelles plus spécialisées et même la preuve d’experts.

D re Carpentier: En plus de tout ça, on sait que plus de 90 pour cent des plaintes aux Collèges en lien avec le manque de suivi des résultats d’examen ont un résultat défavorable pour le médecin. Puis, il faut aussi se rappeler l’impact qu’un manque de suivi des résultats d’examen peut avoir sur la sécurité des patients. Il est donc très important pour nous, comme médecins, de porter une attention toute particulière à ce sujet.

D r Bellemare: Merci beaucoup, Marie-Pierre. Je pense que la bonne nouvelle là-dedans, c’est que les médecins ont un certain contrôle sur le processus de suivi des résultats qu’ils mettent en place dans leur pratique. Les changements sains dans leur pratique de tous les jours peuvent en effet affecter le suivi des résultats d’examen et améliorer la sécurité des patients. Donc, si je peux me permettre de commencer un résumé : les tribunaux et les Collèges ont des attentes qui sont très claires quant au suivi des résultats d’examen et c’est aux médecins de s’assurer de bien connaître les lignes directrices de leur Collège.

D re Carpentier: Exactement, Steven. Puis, la clé du succès, c’est le travail d’équipe et la communication. C’est clair qu’il faut avoir un système de suivi en place. Mais je voudrais rassurer les auditeurs que ça n’a pas besoin d’être parfait du premier coup. Commencez petit avec les choses qui vous dérangent vraiment, puis améliorez votre système au fil du temps.

D r Bellemare: Il y a aussi un dernier point, Marie-Pierre, que je voulais souligner et ça, c’est l’importance de s’assurer que nos patients comprennent pourquoi on demande un examen, qu’ils comprennent que c’est important de se présenter pour l’examen et aussi de s’assurer d’en recevoir le résultat.

D re Carpentier: Tout à fait, Steven. J’aimerais terminer en rappelant aux médecins l’importance de documenter clairement les efforts déployés pour faire le suivi des résultats d’examen, donc vraiment s’assurer que les efforts pour rejoindre le patient puis organiser un suivi soient bien consignés au dossier.

D r Bellemare: Eh bien, merci beaucoup, Marie-Pierre. C’est malheureusement tout le temps qu’on a pour cette baladodiffusion. Donc, au nom de l’ACPM, je suis Dr Steven Bellemare et je vous remercie, chers auditeurs, d’avoir été à l’écoute aujourd'hui. À la prochaine.

Narratrice: L’ACPM offre une série d’ateliers sur le suivi des résultats d’investigation. Consultez notre site Web au www.cmpa-acpm.ca pour vous inscrire au prochain atelier près de chez vous. Merci d’avoir écouté la station éducative de baladodiffusion de l’ACPM. Ce matériel éducatif est fourni uniquement à des fins éducatives générales. Il ne constitue pas des conseils professionnels de nature juridique ou médicale, ni une norme de pratique pour les professionnels de la santé canadiens.

Nous vous invitons également à vous renseigner sur ...

Soins médicaux sécuritaires, à vous d’agir!

Journée interactive pour les médecins résidents axée sur la sécurité des patients et la réduction des risques médico-légaux.

Vos patients, votre pratique : Conseils pour des soins sécuritaires

Soirée visant à aider les médecins à éviter les erreurs dans le diagnostic, les préjudices liés aux médicaments et les écueils associés à la documentation au dossier médical électronique.