CMPA podcasts

Listen to expert CMPA physician advisors discuss a variety of topics affecting Canadian physicians and their practice. Covering a range of topics - from reducing risk and enhancing safe medical care, to physician wellness and how the CMPA supports its members in a changing healthcare environment - these podcasts will cover what you need to know, when you need it most.

Hosts: Dr. Steven Bellemare, CMPA Director of Practice Improvement, and Dr. Yolanda Madarnas, CMPA Physician Advisor

COVID-19: Virtual care

As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, physicians have had to rapidly pivot their practices to include virtual care provision. This episode covers how to include considerations around clinical judgment, standard of care, informed consent and privacy to provide the best virtual care you can.
May 2020 | 19 minutes

Listen now

COVID-19: Advance care directives

During the COVID-19 pandemic, physicians may be deployed to unfamiliar clinical units and may need to have difficult discussions around goals of care that they are not used to having, perhaps even with patients they don’t know. This episode covers key messages that may help you effectively support patients and families who need to make plan of care choices as a result of a COVID-19-related critical illness.
May 2020 | 18 minutes

Listen now

COVID-19: Physician moral distress

Physicians routinely face challenging situations and difficult decisions. This episode covers why it is important to recognize and manage moral distress and explore various coping strategies that physicians can adopt to stay well.
May 2020 | 18 minutes

Listen now

COVID-19: Reasonable care

A public health emergency may force a shift away from the usual patient-first ethics, to a public-first approach. This episode covers the concept of reasonable care and patient’s best interests to help you make sense of the unusual demands the COVID-19 pandemic may place on you.
April 2020 | 15 minutes

Listen now

Disclaimer

This podcast if for general educational purposes only, and is not intended to provide professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a standard of care for Canadian health care providers. If you’re a CMPA member and need medical-legal advice or assistance, please contact us at 1-800-267-6522.

Balados de l’ACPM

Écoutez des médecins-conseils experts de l’ACPM discuter d’une vaste gamme de sujets affectant les médecins canadiens et l’exercice de la profession. Ces balados traiteront de ce que vous souhaitez savoir (de la réduction des risques à l’amélioration de la sécurité des soins médicaux, en passant par le bien-être des médecins et la façon dont l’ACPM soutient ses membres face à l’évolution rapide du milieu des soins de santé), au moment où vous en avez le plus besoin.

Animateurs : Dr Steven Bellemare, directeur de l’Amélioration de la pratique à l’ACPM, et Dre Yolanda Madarnas, médecin-conseil à l’ACPM

COVID-19 : Soins virtuels

En raison de la pandémie de COVID-19, les médecins ont dû rapidement adapter leur pratique à la prestation de soins virtuels. Cet épisode aborde la façon de tenir compte de facteurs tels que le jugement clinique, la norme de pratique, le consentement éclairé et la protection des renseignements personnels pour pouvoir prodiguer les meilleurs soins virtuels possible.
mai 2020 | 19 minutes

Écoutez-la maintenant

COVID-19 : Directives préalables

Pendant la pandémie de COVID-19, certains médecins pourraient être affectés à des unités cliniques qui ne leur sont pas familières et être tenus d’avoir des discussions difficiles sur les objectifs thérapeutiques auxquelles ils n’ont pas l’habitude de participer, peut-être même avec des patients qu’ils ne connaissent pas. Cet épisode aborde les messages clés qui pourraient vous aider à offrir un soutien efficace aux patients et à leur famille qui doivent prendre des décisions en matière de plan de traitement en raison d’une maladie grave liée à la COVID-19.
mai 2020 | 20 minutes

Écoutez-la maintenant

COVID-19 : Détresse morale chez les médecins

Les médecins sont régulièrement confrontés à des situations et des décisions difficiles. Cet épisode aborde les raisons pour lesquelles il importe de reconnaître et de gérer la détresse morale, ainsi que les diverses stratégies d’adaptation que les médecins peuvent adopter pour rester en bonne santé.
mai 2020 | 19 minutes

Écoutez-la maintenant

COVID-19: Soins raisonnables

Lorsque se manifeste une urgence de santé publique, vous pourriez devoir délaisser l’approche du « patient d’abord » au profit de celle du « public d’abord ». Cet épisode aborde le concept de soins raisonnables et la question de l’intérêt des patients pour vous aider à comprendre les demandes inhabituelles que vous pourriez recevoir en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19.
avril 2020 | 15 minutes

Écoutez-la maintenant

Clause de non-responsabilité

Cette balado est offerte uniquement à des fins éducatives générales; elle ne prétend pas fournir des conseils professionnels de nature juridique ou médicale, ni une norme de pratique pour les professionnels de la santé canadiens. Si vous êtes membre de l’ACPM et souhaitez obtenir des conseils ou une assistance médico-légale, communiquez avec nous au 1-800-267-6522.