Sanjeeve Sockanathan

MD, BMedSci (hons), CCFP, PGCMDE, DRCOG, DFSRH, MRCGP

Sanjeeve Sockanathan

Calgary, Alberta
Family medicine

Area 2, Division A
(ALBERTA)

Key skills and experience

Governance
Leadership
World of medicine

Dr. Sanjeeve Sockanathan is a family medicine physician and clinical assistant professor at the University of Calgary, Alberta. Having completed his medical training in the U.K., he has been in practice for more than 17 years.

He brings a wealth of healthcare system and governance experience having been a clinical director for Virgin Health, a board member for the Foothills Primary Care Network, and the medical director for Satori Health. As a preceptor for the residency program in Calgary, he teaches medical students in clinic and on site at the university. His experience in organizational governance and strategic planning has afforded him a clear and visible understanding of the intricacies of governance at varying degrees of organizations.

He is an advocate for equity, diversity and inclusion and is part of a team of physicians supporting and organizing healthcare for the LGBTQ2S+ community, as well as ethnic minority and disadvantaged populations community medicine.

The CMPA Nominating Committee values Dr. Sockanathan’s international perspective, diverse professional background, and his governance and leadership experience.

Relevant experience

Practice Appointments

University of Calgary School of Medicine

Clinical Assistant Professor
2020-

Satori Health

Medical Director
2019-

CMPA Physician Expert for Gowlings LLP

Physician Expert - Family Medicine
2018-

College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta (CPSA)

Complaints Reviewer - Department of Professional Conduct
2018-

Humana Medical Clinic - Dalhousie

Family Physician
2014-

Professional Appointments

Satori Health

Medical Director
2019-

Director, Foothills Primary Care Network, Physicians Board

Board Director
2016-2020

Sanjeeve Sockanathan

MD, BMedSci (hons), CCFP, PGCMDE, DRCOG, DFSRH, MRCGP

Sanjeeve Sockanathan

Calgary (Alberta)
Médecine familiale

Région 2, Division A
(ALBERTA)

Compétences et expérience déterminantes

Gouvernance
Leadership
Monde de la médecine

Le Dr Sanjeeve Sockanathan est médecin de famille et professeur adjoint de clinique à l’Université de Calgary, en Alberta. Il a suivi sa formation en médecine au Royaume-Uni et pratique depuis plus de 17 ans.

Il a été directeur clinique de Virgin Health, membre du conseil du Foothills Primary Care Network et directeur médical de Satori Health, parcours qui lui a permis d’acquérir une connaissance approfondie du système de santé et de la gouvernance. Ses fonctions de précepteur du programme de résidence de l’Université de Calgary l’amènent à enseigner aux étudiants en médecine, que ce soit en clinique ou à l’université même. Son expérience en gouvernance organisationnelle et en planification stratégique lui confère de toute évidence une fine compréhension des subtilités de la gouvernance, et ce, à divers niveaux d’une organisation.

Le Dr Sockanathan a à cœur l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion : il fait d’ailleurs partie d’une équipe de médecins qui s’emploient à soutenir et à organiser la prestation de soins de santé dans la communauté LGBTQ2S+, ainsi que de soins en médecine communautaire auprès des populations défavorisées et de minorités ethniques.

Le Comité des candidatures de l'ACPM tient en estime l’ouverture sur le monde du Dr Sockanathan, son cheminement professionnel diversifié ainsi que son expérience sur le plan de la gouvernance et du leadership.

Expérience pertinente

Fonctions

Faculté de médecine de l’Université de Calgary

Professeur adjoint de clinique
2020-

Satori Health

Directeur médical
2019-

Médecin expert de l’ACPM pour Gowlings, S.E.N.C.R.L., s.r.l.

Médecin expert – Médecine familiale
2018-

Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Alberta (CPSA)

Examinateur des plaintes – Service de la conduite professionnelle
2018-

Clinique médicale Humana – Dalhousie

Médecin de famille
2014-

Engagements professionnels

Satori Health

Directeur médical
2019-

Directeur, Foothills Primary Care Network, conseil des médecins

Administrateur du conseil
2016-2020