Tracey Lee Ross

Tracey L. Ross

BAHons, LLB, MD, FRCSC

Ottawa, Ontario
Otolaryngology

Area 5, Division B
(ONTARIO)

The CMPA does not edit or make changes to photos or to information provided by candidates in the submission form or candidate statement. Candidates are responsible for the spelling and accuracy of the information provided in writing and for their photo composition, format, and resolution.

Candidate statement

I first became familiar with the CMPA's mandate while working as a corporate lawyer in Ottawa. I always perceived CMPA’s legal representatives as balanced and supportive of physicians, reflecting CMPA’s innate philosophy.

I am a community otolaryngologist. My main office is based in a Manotick, a small town outside of Ottawa. My practice environments include both urban and smaller, more rural locales. I was born and raised in Northern Ontario and completed medical school at NOSM. I completed both law school and my residency in Ottawa. I continue to remain actively involved in both academic and community hospital environments. I feel that my diversified experience allows me to understand the nuanced challenges that physicians face whether practicing in larger or more regional settings.

I also understand, from both a medical and legal perspective, the critical function that the CMPA serves in our lives as Canadian physicians. It endeavors to provide physicians with clarity about their roles and responsibilities and it does so through education, counselling, and the provision of resources. This also allows the public to maintain confidence in us as physicians, and conversely ensures that we are protected from frivolous claims that lack merit. Equally important is knowing that claims with merit will be treated fairly on our behalf.

As a lawyer, I have had extensive training in advocacy, mediation, and dispute resolution. I support mechanisms of intervention and remediation that emphasize de-escalation of conflict and promote education.

I have many years of experience sitting on various boards and councils of governance. I understand the mechanics of board and committee structure. I understand the importance of administrative procedure. I believe I am able to assess an issue from a reasoned perspective. I am also formally trained to create constructive and innovative solutions to resolve issues of conflict.

I believe that as the acuity of the pandemic wanes, we will continue to be faced with novel legal questions arising from this unprecedented time in our professional lives. The practice of medicine has changed in ways we could not fathom prior to the start of the pandemic and those changes have bred uncertainty. I wish to support my colleagues by working as a member of CMPA council as it continues to navigate its way through these challenges.

Relevant skills and experience

Practice Appointments

Arnprior Regional Hospital

Medical Staff
2018-

Carleton Place District and Memorial Hospital

Medical Staff
2018-

Winchester District Memorial Hospital

Medical Staff
2016-

Qikiqtani General Hospital

Medical Staff
2014-

Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario

Medical Staff
2014-

The Ottawa Hospital

Medical Staff
2014-

Hawkesbury & District General Hospital

Medical Staff
2017-2019

Pembroke Regional Hospital

Medical Staff
2014-2019

Professional Appointments

Northern Ontario School of Medicine

Board Member
2005-2011

Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario Foundation

Board Member
2004-2006

Success by SIx

Member of Council of Partners
2002-2005




Election contact information

Email: [email protected]
Phone: 613 301 4565

Tracey Lee Ross

Tracey L Ross

BAHons, LLB, MD, FRCSC

Ottawa (Ontario)
Otorhinolaryngologie

Région 5, Division B
(ONTARIO)

L’ACPM ne corrige pas et ne modifie ni l’information fournie par les candidates et les candidats dans le formulaire de présentation de candidature et la déclaration de candidature, ni leurs photographies. Les candidates et les candidats sont responsables de l’orthographe et de l’exactitude de l’information fournie, ainsi que de la composition, du format et de la résolution de leur photographie.

Déclaration de candidature

C’est en travaillant comme avocate d’entreprise à Ottawa que je me suis familiarisée avec le mandat de l’ACPM. J’ai toujours perçu les représentants légaux de l’ACPM comme des personnes pondérées, qui soutiennent les médecins et qui incarnent de ce fait la philosophie de l’Association.

Je suis otorhinolaryngologiste communautaire. Le principal cabinet où j’exerce se trouve à Manotick, une petite ville en banlieue d’Ottawa. Ma pratique est à la fois basée en milieu urbain et dans de petites localités rurales. Je suis née et j’ai grandi dans le Nord de l’Ontario, et j’ai fait mes études de médecine à l’EMNO. J’ai fait mon droit et ma résidence à Ottawa. Je continue de jouer un rôle actif dans les milieux hospitaliers universitaire et communautaire. J’estime que la diversité de mon expérience m’aide à saisir les subtilités des défis auxquels sont confrontés les médecins, qu’ils exercent leur profession dans de grandes agglomérations ou en région.

Je suis aussi à même de comprendre le rôle incontournable joué par l’ACPM dans la vie des médecins canadiens, tant sur le plan médical que juridique. En misant sur l’éducation et sur la prestation de conseils et de ressources, l’Association s’emploie à les aider à mieux connaître leurs rôles et responsabilités. Elle favorise ainsi le maintien de la confiance du public envers les médecins, en les protégeant par le fait même des réclamations frivoles et sans fondement. Ces derniers ont en outre la certitude que les réclamations fondées seront traitées de manière équitable en leur nom, ce qui est tout aussi important.

En tant qu’avocate, j’ai une formation poussée en promotion et défense des intérêts de mes clients, en médiation et en règlement de litiges. J’appuie les mécanismes d’intervention et de remédiation qui contribuent à désamorcer les conflits et à promouvoir l’éducation.

J’ai de nombreuses années d’expérience à titre de membre de divers conseils d’administration et conseils de gouvernance. Je comprends bien les rouages d’un conseil d’administration et d’un comité. Je suis aussi consciente de l’importance des procédures administratives. Je m’estime capable d’aborder un problème de manière réfléchie. J’ai par ailleurs été formée à mettre au point des solutions constructives et novatrices pour dénouer des conflits.

Selon moi, même si la pandémie perd en intensité, nous continuerons de faire face à des enjeux juridiques inédits découlant de cette période sans précédent dans notre vie professionnelle. La pratique de la médecine a changé d’une manière que nous n’aurions pu envisager avant le début de la pandémie, et ces changements génèrent de l’incertitude. Je souhaite soutenir mes collègues en devenant membre du Conseil de l’ACPM et aider celui-ci à surmonter ces obstacles.

Compétences et expérience pertinentes

Fonctions

Hôpital régional d’Arnprior

Membre du personnel médical
2018-

Hôpital Memorial et du district de Carleton Place

Membre du personnel médical
2018-

Hôpital Memorial du district de Winchester

Membre du personnel médical
2016-

Hôpital général de Qikiqtani

Membre du personnel médical
2014-

Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l’est de l’Ontario

Membre du personnel médical
2014-

L’Hôpital d’Ottawa

Membre du personnel médical
2014-

Hôpital général de Hawkesbury et district

Membre du personnel médical
2017-2019

Hôpital régional de Pembroke

Membre du personnel médical
2014-2019

Engagements professionnels

École de médecine du Nord de l’Ontario

Membre du Conseil
2005-2011

Fondation du Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l’est de l’Ontario

Membre du Conseil
2004-2006

Success by Six

Membre du Conseil des partenaires
2002-2005




Coordonnées aux fins des élections

Courriel : [email protected]
Numéro de téléphone : 613 301 4565