Member Support Program

Our goal

Our goal is to help members practice safely and in a manner that contributes to their professional integrity and satisfaction.

The program benefits all CMPA members by promoting safe medical care and a sustainable medical liability system in Canada.

Watch the video Introduction to the Member Support Program to learn more.

Who will benefit from the program?

The CMPA Member Support Program was developed to assist members whose medical-legal experience is greater than their peers.

What the program does

The Member Support Program works with members to:

  • recognize factors that may be contributing to their medical-legal risk
  • identify strategies to decrease the likelihood of future medical-legal events

How the program helps members

By providing personalized support and educational advice, the program contributes to improving the safety of medical care and helps CMPA members by easing stress, foster self-confidence, and return satisfaction to the practice of medicine.

How does the program work?

We recognize that each member and practice is unique. We seek to work with members to discuss and truly understand the circumstances and factors that have contributed to their medical-legal experience.

There are four steps to the program:

  1. Identification: The CMPA reviews medical-legal case histories to identify members who may benefit from proactive support and assistance. Our physician advisors also help identify members who may have underlying issues in their practice that contribute to an increased level of medical-legal risk.
  2. Assessment: The Member Support Program team’s assessment includes reviewing up to the last 10 years of a member’s medical-legal history with the CMPA and obtaining the member’s perspective regarding their practice and past medical-legal events.
  3. Development of an education plan: Following our review, we work with each member to develop an individualized education and support plan to address the factors that may be contributing to their medical-legal risk.
  4. Ongoing support: The Member Support Program team provides follow-up and support to help the member take an active role to decrease the likelihood of future medical-legal events.

Learn more or join the program

For more information about the Member Support Program, or to request personalized advice and support to reduce your medical-legal risk, please email MemberSupportProgram@cmpa.org.

If you require medical-legal assistance or have a membership-related inquiry, consult the Contact us page for further details.

Frequently Asked Questions

How does the Member Support Program benefit the CMPA?

Building on our role as a mutual defence organization, the CMPA developed the Member Support Program to benefit all CMPA members.

The Member Support Program team works with individual members and helps them proactively reduce their risk of future medical-legal events in order to benefit the membership as a whole. Members who have participated in the program are grateful for the opportunity to ease stress and improve their practice.

Our members believe the program supports the CMPA’s broader commitment to safe medical care and a sustainable medical liability system in Canada.

How does mutuality fit with the Member Support Program?

Mutuality is a core principle of the CMPA. As part of a “mutual,” the CMPA and its members collectively share the costs, risks, and benefits associated with membership. The CMPA provides medical liability protection to members, and in turn, members are required to meet certain reasonable expectations.

These expectations include practising in a manner that aligns with the ethics and general expectations of the profession and supports the values of the Association (or mutual) as a whole.

As part of their mutuality obligations, members participating in the program are expected to take an active role to improve the quality of their care and help prevent future medical-legal events.

Are there additional membership fees for members referred to the Member Support Program?

No. The Member Support Program is intended to benefit all members and its assessment and support services are included as part of CMPA membership. The costs associated with any recommended educational programs will be at each member’s expense.

Will member data or assessments be shared outside of the CMPA?

The CMPA understands the importance of privacy and the protection of personal health information. The Member Support Program team will not share any information regarding members participating in the program with individuals or parties outside the CMPA, including CMPA legal counsel.

Our privacy policy governs personal information collected by the CMPA from or about individuals. For more information about the privacy of information at the CMPA, please contact the Privacy Officer at privacyofficer@cmpa.org.

Programme de soutien aux membres

Notre objectif

Nous avons pour objectif d’aider les membres à exercer leur profession en toute sécurité et d’une façon qui contribue à leur intégrité et à leur satisfaction professionnelles.

Le programme confère des avantages à tous les membres de l’ACPM en faisant la promotion de soins sécuritaires et d’un système durable de responsabilité médicale au Canada.

Regardez la vidéo Introduction au Programme de soutien aux membres pour en savoir plus.

Qui pourrait bénéficier de ce programme?

Le Programme de soutien aux membres a été conçu pour aider les médecins dont l’expérience médico-légale est plus importante que celle de leurs pairs.

Que fait ce programme?

Le Programme de soutien aux membres aide les membres à :

  • reconnaître les facteurs pouvant contribuer à leur risque médico-légal
  • établir des stratégies visant à réduire la probabilité d’événements médico-légaux

Comment le programme aide-t-il les membres?

En offrant un soutien personnalisé et des conseils éducatifs, le programme contribue à améliorer la sécurité des soins médicaux et aide les membres de l’ACPM en atténuant le stress, en favorisant la confiance en soi et en ramenant la satisfaction à l’exercice de la médecine.

Comment le programme fonctionne-t-il?

Nous reconnaissons que chaque membre et chaque pratique sont uniques. Nous tenons à travailler et à discuter avec chacun des membres pour bien comprendre les circonstances et les facteurs qui contribuent à leur expérience médico-légale.

Le programme se compose de quatre étapes :

  1. Identification : L’ACPM examine les antécédents médico-légaux afin d’identifier les membres qui pourraient bénéficier d’une assistance et d’un soutien proactifs. Nos médecins-conseils aident également à identifier les membres qui peuvent avoir des problèmes sous-jacents contribuant à un niveau accru de risque médico-légal dans leur pratique.
  2. Évaluation : L’évaluation de l’équipe du Programme de soutien aux membres comprend l’examen des antécédents médico-légaux à l’ACPM d’un membre au cours des dix dernières années, et l’obtention du point de vue du membre concernant sa pratique et ses problèmes médico-légaux.
  3. Conception d’un plan éducatif : À la suite de notre évaluation, nous travaillons avec chaque membre pour élaborer un plan personnalisé d’éducation et de soutien, afin d’aborder les facteurs qui pourraient contribuer à son risque médico-légal.
  4. Soutien continu : L’équipe du Programme de soutien aux membres assure un suivi et un soutien afin d’aider le membre à jouer un rôle actif dans la réduction de la probabilité d’événements médico-légaux.

Apprenez-en plus ou participez au programme

Pour en savoir plus sur le Programme de soutien aux membres, ou pour demander des conseils personnalisés et un soutien visant à réduire vos risques médico-légaux, écrivez à Soutienauxmembres@cmpa.org.

Si vous avez besoin d’une assistance médico-légale ou si vous avez une question relative à l’adhésion, consultez la page Communiquer avec nous pour obtenir plus de détails.

Foire aux questions

Quel est l’avantage du Programme de soutien aux membres pour l’ACPM?

En nous appuyant sur notre rôle d’organisme à caractère mutuel voué à la défense des médecins, l'ACPM a mis sur pied le Programme de soutien aux membres pour le bénéfice de tous les membres de l’ACPM.

L’équipe du Programme de soutien aux membres travaille avec certains de nos membres individuels et les aide à réduire préventivement leur risque d’événements médico-légaux, et ce, pour le bénéfice de l’Association dans son ensemble. Les membres qui ont participé au programme sont reconnaissants d’avoir eu la possibilité d’atténuer leur stress et d’améliorer leur pratique.

Nos membres estiment que le programme appuie l’engagement plus général de l’ACPM envers des soins médicaux sécuritaires et un système de responsabilité médicale durable au Canada.

Comment la mutualité s’inscrit-elle dans le cadre du Programme de soutien aux membres?

La mutualité est l’un des principes de base de l’ACPM. Dans le cadre d’une approche « mutuelle », l’ACPM et ses membres partagent collectivement les coûts, les risques et les avantages associés à l’adhésion. L’ACPM fournit aux membres une protection en matière de responsabilité médicale. En contrepartie, les membres sont tenus de répondre à certaines attentes raisonnables.

Ces attentes comprennent l’obligation d’exercer et d’agir de manière conforme à l’éthique et aux attentes générales de notre profession, de façon à appuyer les valeurs de l’Association dans son ensemble.

Dans le cadre de leurs obligations liées au principe de la mutualité, les membres dirigés vers le programme sont invités à y participer activement pour améliorer la qualité des soins qu’ils prodiguent et prévenir les problèmes médico-légaux.

Les membres dirigés vers le Programme de soutien aux membres ont-ils une cotisation supplémentaire à payer?

Non. Le Programme de soutien aux membres a pour but de profiter à tous les membres, et ses services d’évaluation et de soutien font partie de l’adhésion à l’ACPM. Les membres devront toutefois assumer les frais associés aux programmes éducatifs qui leur seront recommandés.

Les données ou les résultats d’évaluation des membres seront-ils divulgués en dehors de l’ACPM?

Pour l’ACPM, la protection de la vie privée et des renseignements personnels revêt un caractère primordial. L'équipe du Programme de soutien aux membres ne communiquera aucun renseignement concernant les membres participant au programme à des personnes ou des parties à l'extérieur de l'ACPM, y compris les conseillers juridiques de l'ACPM.

La politique sur la protection de la vie privée régit les renseignements personnels recueillis auprès ou au sujet de toute personne, y compris les membres de l’ACPM. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la protection des renseignements personnels à l’ACPM, veuillez communiquer avec l’agent à la protection des renseignements personnels à privacyofficer@cmpa.org.