Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

How to reduce the risks of dental injury

An article for physicians by physicians
Originally published May 2010
W10-002-E

Abstract

Any medical procedure where instruments are inserted into the mouth may result in dental injury, despite appropriate care. This article provides advice about obtaining and documenting consent for such procedures, and what to do should a patient allege wrongful damage to the teeth.

Despite the progress in the practice of medicine, dental injuries continue to trouble physicians and their patients. There have been significant advances in the practice of anesthesia, and many improvements in the equipment used for intubation, for example laryngeal masks, fibre optic scopes and other devices. At the same time, an increasing number of endoscopic and other procedures are now performed through the oral opening. Dental injury can arise from any of these, as the following cases illustrate. But there are steps you can take to reduce the risk to you and your patients.  

Capped tooth displaced

A patient reported a capped upper middle incisor on the preoperative questionnaire. Following surgery under general anesthesia, the capped tooth was found to be displaced. A small claims court action was initiated, claiming the costs for dental repair. The anesthesiologist admitted that he had not discussed the risks of dental injury with the patient. A settlement was paid to the patient by the CMPA on behalf of the anesthesiologist.

Incisor lost

A patient with poor dentition underwent general anesthesia for a basket extraction of stones in the ureter. In the recovery area, the patient spat his incisor out. He sued the anesthesiologist, claiming the loss of the tooth was due to negligence.

The anesthesiologist's documentation did not demonstrate an adequate discussion of the risks of dental injury, especially in light of the patient's known dental problems. A settlement was paid to the patient by the CMPA on behalf of the anesthesiologist.

Upper incisor chipped

An anesthesiologist assessed the airway of a patient before surgery. The patient was classified one on the Mallampati scale and was noted to have good dentition. The anesthesiologist explained the need for endotracheal intubation and the risk of dental damage.

The patient was induced and intubation attempted. Unexpected difficulty was experienced. After a second attempt at intubation, the surgeon stated he heard a cracking sound. The anesthesiologist examined the teeth and noted a chip of the left upper incisor. After the surgery, he appropriately disclosed this injury to the patient.

The patient commenced a small claims court action for damages. The judge ruled the anesthesiologist had informed the patient of the possibility of tooth damage, the patient had given informed consent and the anesthesiologist was not negligent.

Tooth, bridge missing

A gastroenterologist performed an endoscopic retrograde cholangiopancreatography. The patient was asked about dental work and possible problems, and a mouth guard was inserted to protect the teeth. The procedure report noted difficulty in sedating the patient. After the procedure, the patient was missing a tooth and alleged a bridge was also damaged. A peer medical expert reviewed the matter and supported the care given. The patient discontinued the action.

Risk management considerations

An analysis of CMPA cases reveals most medico-legal claims involving dental injury had pre-existing dental conditions including bridges, capped teeth, dentures, poor dentition or periodontal disease.

The review identifies the following risk management considerations:

  • Have you done or reviewed the pre-anesthetic history and examination?
  • Have you done an appropriate airway assessment and documented it?
  • Is it likely to be a difficult intubation?
  • Have you identified vulnerable teeth?
  • Have you or another health care provider discussed the risk of dental injury with the patient?
  • Have you or another health care provider documented the consent discussion?

If a dental injury occurs

If damage to teeth occurs, this needs to be disclosed to the patient. Items to be considered in the discussion could include the following: damage to teeth is considered an inherent risk of the procedure, any difficulty encountered during the procedure, as well as any precautions that were taken to avoid this complication.

If immediate dental treatment is required and is arranged by the treating physician, care should be taken to avoid allowing any inference the costs will be borne by the physician. 

If a patient does allege her/his teeth were damaged during a procedure despite reasonable care by the physician, the physician should not offer or promise financial help but should contact the Association immediately for advice.

The bottom line

Dental damage is a risk of any procedure where instruments are inserted into the mouth. As the urgency of the situation permits, you can take several steps to reduce the risks to patients and yourself:

  • examine the oral opening before airway management
  • document any conditions that would increase the risk of dental injury
  • discuss these conditions and risks with the patients
  • document not only the findings and the procedure, but also the discussion with the patients

Talking with your patients

The CMPA publication, Disclosing harm from healthcare delivery: Open and honest communication with patients, may assist physicians in discussions with patients.

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Comment réduire les risques de traumatisme dentaire

Un article écrit par des médecins, pour des médecins
Publié initialement en mai 2010
W10-002-F

Résumé

Un traumatisme dentaire peut survenir lors de toute intervention médicale où des instruments sont insérés dans la bouche, malgré des soins appropriés. Cet article fournit des conseils sur l'obtention et la documentation du consentement pour de telles procédures, et ce qu'un médecin doit faire si un patient allègue des dommages dentaires injustifiés.

Malgré les progrès dans l'exercice de la médecine, les traumatismes dentaires continuent de préoccuper les médecins et leurs patients. Il y a eu des percées importantes en anesthésie et de nombreuses améliorations de l'équipement utilisé lors d'une intubation; par exemple, les masques laryngés, les endoscopes à fibre optique et d'autres dispositifs. Au même moment, davantage d'interventions endoscopiques et d'autres interventions sont maintenant effectuées par la cavité buccale. Comme les cas suivants le démontrent, des traumatismes dentaires peuvent survenir; toutefois, il y a des étapes à respecter pour réduire le risque pour le médecin et pour les patients.

Déplacement d'une couronne sur une dent

Dans le questionnaire préopératoire, un patient avait signalé une couronne sur une incisive supérieure. À la suite d'une intervention chirurgicale sous anesthésie générale, sa couronne a été déplacée. Une action en justice a été déposée à la Cour des petites créances pour réclamer les coûts de la réparation dentaire. L'anesthésiologiste a avoué qu'il n'avait pas expliqué au patient les risques de traumatisme dentaire. Un règlement a donc été versé au patient par l'ACPM au nom de l'anesthésiologiste.

Perte d'une incisive

Un patient ayant une pauvre dentition subit une urétéroscopie sous anesthésie générale pour extraire des lithiases urétérales à l'aide d'un « panier ». Dans la salle de réveil, le patient remarque l'absence d'une dent. Il dépose une action en justice contre l'anesthésiologiste stipulant que la perte de sa dent était causée par une faute professionnelle.

La documentation de l'anesthésiologiste n'a pas démontré une discussion adéquate des risques de traumatisme dentaire, et ce, malgré les problèmes dentaires connus du patient. Un règlement a été versé au patient par l'ACPM au nom de l'anesthésiologiste.

Une incisive supérieure ébréchée

Un anesthésiologiste évalue les voies respiratoires d'un patient avant une intervention chirurgicale et détermine une classe 1 selon la classification de Mallampati. Il note aussi que le patient a une bonne dentition. L'anesthésiologiste explique la nécessité d'une intubation endotrachéale ainsi que les risques de dommages dentaires.

L'anesthésiologiste procède à l'induction et essaie d'intuber le patient. Des problèmes inattendus surgissent. Après une seconde tentative d'intubation, le chirurgien déclare qu'il a entendu un craquement. L'anesthésiologiste examine les dents et observe que la l'incisive supérieure est ébréchée. Après l'intervention, il divulgue le traumatisme au patient de façon appropriée.

Le patient dépose une action en justice à la Cour des petites créances en regard des dommages. Le juge statue sur le fait que l'anesthésiologiste a informé le patient de la possibilité de dommage dentaire, le patient a donné son consentement éclairé et l'anesthésiologiste n'a pas commis de faute professionnelle.

Dent et pont égarés

Un gastroentérologue effectue une cholangio-pancréatographie rétrograde endoscopique. Il demande au patient s'il a eu des traitements dentaires et si des problèmes peuvent se présenter. Un protecteur buccal est ensuite inséré pour protéger les dents. Le rapport de l'examen révèle des difficultés en lien avec la sédation du patient. Après l'intervention, le patient a une dent en moins et il allègue qu'un pont a aussi été endommagé. Un expert médical pair a revu le dossier et a accordé son appui en regard des soins prodigués. Le patient a interrompu l'action en justice.

Considérations en matière de gestion des risques

Une analyse des dossiers de l'ACPM révèle que la plupart des réclamations médico-légales impliquant des traumatismes dentaires mentionnait des problèmes dentaires préexistants dont entre autres des ponts, des couronnes, une pauvre dentition ou une maladie parodontale. La revue des dossiers a déterminé les considérations suivantes en matière de gestion des risques :

  • Le médecin a-t-il fait ou revu l'anamnèse et l'examen pré-anesthésique?
  • Le médecin a-t-il évalué de façon appropriée les voies respiratoires et documenté ses observations?
  • L'intubation sera-t-elle probablement difficile?
  • Le médecin a-t-il identifié les dents vulnérables?
  • Le médecin ou un autre professionnel de la santé a-t-il parlé des risques de traumatismes dentaires avec le patient?
  • Le médecin ou un autre professionnel de la santé a-t-il documenté la discussion au sujet du consentement?

Si un traumatisme dentaire survient

Si des dommages dentaires surviennent, ils doivent être divulgués aux patients. Les éléments à prendre en compte lors de la discussion comprennent entre autres : les dommages aux dents sont considérés un risque inhérent à l'intervention, toute difficulté rencontrée pendant l'intervention de même que toutes les mesures prises pour prévenir cette complication.

Si un traitement dentaire immédiat est requis et que le médecin traitant prend les dispositions nécessaires pour qu'il soit effectué, il faut prendre garde d'inférer que les coûts seront assumés par le médecin.

Si un patient allègue que sa dent a été endommagée au cours d'une intervention, malgré des soins raisonnables, le médecin ne devrait pas offrir ou promettre d'aide financière, mais il devrait plutôt communiquer immédiatement avec l'ACPM pour obtenir des conseils.

En bref

Le dommage dentaire est un risque pouvant survenir au cours d'une intervention où des instruments sont insérés dans la bouche. Lorsque la situation le permet, les médecins peuvent prendre des précautions pour réduire les risques pour les patients, mais également pour eux :

  • examiner la cavité buccale avant de procéder à une assistance respiratoire
  • documenter toute situation qui augmenterait le risque de traumatisme dentaire
  • parler de ces situations et des risques avec le patient
  • documenter non seulement les résultats et l'intervention, mais également la discussion avec les patients

 

Parlez avec les patients

La publication de l'ACPM, Divulgation d’un préjudice résultant de la prestation des soins : Pour une communication ouverte et honnête avec les patients pourrait aider les médecins lors de discussion avec les patients.

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.