Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Providing quality end-of-life care

Originally published September 2011 / Revised June 2016
P1103-4-E

Physicians and patients alike find treatment decisions can become particularly difficult in end-of-life care. Ethical factors and clinical judgments can collide with beliefs, values, and hopes.

While it is undisputed that a physician must respect a capable patient's known wishes not to receive a particular procedure or treatment, it is less clear whether a patient (or the family or substitute decision-maker) has the right to demand a specific treatment. Indeed, disagreements can arise when physicians believe a certain treatment should be withheld or withdrawn because it will not provide any medical benefit, but patients, families, or substitute decision-makers want it.

Medical assistance in dying (MAID) is now legal in Canada, provided certain conditions are met as outlined in the Criminal Code, and in Québec, pursuant to provincial legislation. Physicians may face medical-legal and ethical challenges in responding to requests from patients for MAID.

A substitute decision-maker is a person who is legally authorized to make decisions on behalf of the patient. This authority may be granted through a legal document such as an advance directive, by legislation, or by the courts.

Do-not-resuscitate orders

In all Canadian jurisdictions, treatment decisions are based on the patient's known wishes, best interests, or both. This applies to do-not-resuscitate (DNR) orders, which may be considered for patients at the end of life. Doctors considering a DNR order should discuss the implications with the patient or the patient's substitute decision-maker if the patient is not mentally capable (competent). The discussion should be captured in the patient's medical records.

A physician's recommendation for a DNR order should be well-thought-out. The reasoning and criteria used to reach the recommendation should be clear and supported by a substantial body of opinion in the medical profession. Physicians considering a DNR order may wish to consult with physician colleagues to determine the level of support for the recommendation.

The Canadian Medical Association has issued a policy statement providing healthcare professionals with guiding principles for life-saving and -sustaining interventions.1 As well, the ethics committee in the institution may be able to assist the team and the patient or family in these circumstances.

It is important to note that some regulatory authorities (Colleges) and many hospitals have issued guidance on how to manage DNRs. Physicians are expected to follow their College and hospital directives.

Case examples

Case 1: DNR order requires consultation

A 41-year-old woman who is mentally challenged is diagnosed with stage IV breast cancer. The patient has extensive metastases in the bone, spine, and lung. After 2 years of aggressive therapy, she is admitted to hospital for pain management.

Her family physician unilaterally decides that resuscitation would be medically futile and writes a do-not-resuscitate order in her medical record. Ten days later the patient dies. Her sister, who is the substitute decision-maker, is upset because she was not consulted about the DNR order. She complains to the medical regulatory authority (College).

Although the College agrees that resuscitation would have been medically futile, it cautions the physician to speak with the patient's substitute decision-maker about why he would place a DNR order in the medical record. The College further states that the physician's reply to the College's letter reflects his perspective that he did not need to consult with the family, ". . . and (this) does not meet the policy of the hospital nor the standard expected by the College."

Case 2: DNR order too widely interpreted

A 73-year-old woman with insulin dependent diabetes mellitus has a myocardial infarction. After discharge from the coronary care unit she re-infarcts while on the ward and goes into cardiogenic shock. Her physician discusses resuscitation with the family members and they agree there should be no CPR in the event of an arrest. The doctor writes a DNR order in the medical record and discontinues her insulin. She slips into a coma as a result of hyperglycemia. Once this is recognized, insulin is restarted and she regains consciousness. Unfortunately, she dies several days later. The family complains to the College and begins a legal action.

The College determines that the physician interpreted the meaning of DNR too widely and cautions him. "Do-not-resuscitate" does not mean withholding all treatment. In the legal action, expert support cannot be found for the physician's care and a settlement is paid to the patient's estate by the CMPA, on behalf of the physician.

Withdrawal of medical treatment

When determining the goals of continued treatments and what is likely to be achieved, physicians should try to reach a consensus with the patient, substitute decision-maker, or appropriate family members. When consensus cannot be achieved, physicians, the healthcare facility, or both, may need to initiate an application to the court (or an administrative body) or seek intervention from the local public guardian's office.

Recently when Canadian courts have ruled on cases concerning end-of-life decisions, the trend has been to give increased consideration to the views of the patient and the substitute decision-maker. For example, the family's culture and religion may affect the type of treatment and when it is provided.  Treatment discussions can often include spiritual and other family advisors, as well as physician colleagues.

In 2013, the Supreme Court of Canada made a ruling in the case of Cuthbertson v. Rasouli that clarified some aspects of end-of-life care in Ontario. The Court said that under Ontario's consent and capacity legislation, physicians must obtain consent from the patient or the patient's substitute decision-maker before life support can be withdrawn. In its decision the Court also clarified that when the substitute decision-maker and the physician(s) disagree on whether life support should be discontinued, the appropriate course for physician(s) is to apply to the Consent and Capacity Board. The board is a decision-making body for such disputes and currently exists in Ontario and the Yukon.

Medical assistance in dying

On June 17, 2016, amendments to the Criminal Code came into force rendering medical assistance in dying (MAID) legal everywhere in Canada provided certain conditions are met.2 The Criminal Code now provides an exception to the criminal prohibition against assistance in dying for individuals who are eligible for health services funded by a government in Canada, who are at least 18 years of age and capable of making decisions about their health, have a grievous and irremediable medical condition, have made a voluntary request for MAID, and who provide informed consent. Individuals have a “grievous and irremediable medical condition” if they have a serious and incurable illness, disease or disability, are in an advanced state of irreversible decline in capability, and if their condition causes them enduring physical or psychological suffering that is intolerable to them and that cannot be relieved under conditions they consider acceptable. In addition, the medical condition must be such that the patient’s natural death has become reasonably foreseeable, taking into account all of their medical circumstances, without a prognosis necessarily having been made as to the specific length of time they have remaining. In those circumstances, only a medical practitioner or nurse practitioner can provide assistance in dying.

The Criminal Code also provides for a number of safeguards, including the requirement that the request be made in writing, signed and dated by the patient before two independent witnesses, that another independent medical or nurse practitioner has provided a written opinion confirming that the patient meets all of the eligibility criteria, that the patient has been given the opportunity to withdraw the request and that the patient benefited from a reflection period of 10 clear days between the day the request was made and the day assistance in dying is provided. Further safeguards have also been adopted in the form of reporting obligations. Provincial legislation, and regulatory authorities (Colleges) and hospital policies may supplement the safeguards provided in the Criminal Code.

In Québec, legislation addressing end-of-life care, including MAID in specific circumstances, came into effect on December 10, 2015.3 The Québec end-of-life legislation provides for its own eligibility criteria and safeguards that are similar to those set out in the Criminal Code. One notable difference is that under the Québec legislation, only physicians can administer aid in dying; it is not possible for a physician to prescribe the medication to be self-administered by the patient and nurse practitioners could not administer aid in dying. Helpful guidelines on end-of-life care were also issued by the College in Québec.4

Advance directives

In most provinces and territories, patients can provide direction for their future care if they become incapacitated or are unable to communicate their wishes. Known as advance directives (including living wills), these may give explicit instructions on consent or refusal of treatment in specified circumstances. They may also be used to appoint or designate an individual to make substitute decisions about consent or refusal of treatment in the event the patient becomes incapacitated.

Advance directives are to be interpreted by the patient's substitute decision-maker. Substitute decision-makers are generally obligated to follow these directions, unless they know of other wishes expressed by the patient.

In some provinces and territories, advance directives may be contained in powers of attorney for personal care. Physicians should be familiar with any applicable legislation in their jurisdiction.

Physicians should note that MAID cannot be requested by way of advance directives.

Communication

When providing end-of-life care, communicating early and effectively is the best approach. In addition to communicating with the family and substitute decision-maker, it is equally important for physicians to communicate with the rest of the care team. Discussions with the care team, substitute decision-maker, and family members should be documented in the medical record.

Assessment of the goals of care should be compassionate and patient-centred, and performed routinely and repeatedly. Physicians should carefully choose the words they use to convey the seriousness of the illness and the options for care. A number of publications provide suggestions for wording that may help to avoid a feeling of abandonment or a tug-of-war with patients and their families.5

Advance care planning, which is an organized approach to communication, allows individuals and families to understand, reflect upon, and discuss the goals, values, and beliefs for future healthcare decisions, particularly in the event of the patient being unable to communicate in the future.6

Key concepts

When end-of-life issues arise, physicians should remember:

  • The best interests of the patient are paramount.
  • The capable patient has the right to consent to or refuse medical treatment, including life-sustaining treatment.
  • Thoughtful and timely advance care planning, discussion, and documentation of a patient's wishes and healthcare goals can help avoid misunderstandings.
  • Physicians should be familiar with any relevant laws and regulatory authority (College) policies concerning end-of-life care, and the withholding or withdrawing of life-sustaining treatment, and medical assistance in dying.
  • When considering placing a do-not-resuscitate order in the medical record, or acting upon a do-not-resuscitate order, consent from the patient or substitute decision-maker is advisable. It may also be helpful and appropriate to consult with physician colleagues and the patient's family to determine support for the order.
  • Decisions about withholding or withdrawing life-sustaining treatment that is considered futile or not medically indicated should be discussed with the patient, or the substitute decision-maker on behalf of an incapable patient. When consensus is not achieved despite discussions with the substitute decision-maker, the family, and others such as ethics consultants, patient advocates, and spiritual advisors, it may be necessary to make an application to the court (or an administrative body) or seek intervention from the local public guardian's office.
  • Physicians considering a request for medical assistance in dying should be familiar with the eligibility criteria set out in the Criminal Code, with applicable provincial legislation, and with applicable regulatory authority (College) guidelines.
  • Physicians should be familiar with the role of advance directives (including living wills).
  • End-of-life decisions should be carefully documented in the patient's medical record.

Physicians are encouraged to contact the Association for advice on issues pertaining to end-of life care. The CMPA should be contacted when there is a disagreement on recommended treatment decisions for end-of-life care and when a physician receives a request for medical assistance in dying.


References

  1. Canadian Medical Association, "CMA Statement on Life-Saving and -Sustaining Interventions." Retrieved on February 19 2014 from: http://policybase.cma.ca/dbtw-wpd/Policypdf/PD14-01.pdf
  2. An Act to amend the Criminal Code and to make related amendments to other Acts (medical assistance in dying) (formerly Bill C-14), 1st Sess, 42nd Leg, Canada, 2016 (assented to June 17, 2016).
  3. An Act Respecting End-of-Life Care, RSQ 2014, c S-32.0001.
  4. Collège des médecins du Québec. Practice Guide: Medical aid in dying [Internet]. Montréal (QC): le Collège; September 2015 [cited 2015 Dec 24]. Available from: http://www.cmq.org/publications-pdf/p-1-2015-09-10-en-aide-medicale-a-mourir.pdf?t=1450967914917. Please note that this guide is only available in the secured website of the CMQ
  5. See: Pantilat, S., "Communicating with Seriously Ill Patients: Better Words to Say," Journal of the American Medical Association (2009) Vol. 301, no.12 p1279-1281; Also see: Workman, S., "A communication model for encouraging optimal care at the end of life for hospitalized patients, Quarterly Journal of Medicine (2007) Vol. 100 p791-797
  6. Cook, D., Rocker, G., Hayland, D., ‘Enhancing the quality of end-of-life care in Canada," Canadian Medical Journal 2013 Vol. 185, no.16

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Prodiguer des soins de fin de vie de qualité

Publié initialement en septembre 2011 / révisé en juin 2016
P1103-4-F

Les médecins, tout comme les patients, trouvent qu'il peut être particulièrement difficile de prendre des décisions en matière de soins de fin de vie. Des facteurs déontologiques et le jugement clinique peuvent entrer en conflit avec les croyances, les valeurs et les espoirs des patients.

Même s'il est incontestable qu'un médecin doit respecter les volontés connues d'un patient apte qui ne veut pas recevoir un traitement ou une intervention en particulier, la question de savoir si un patient, un membre de sa famille ou un décideur remplaçant a le droit d'exiger un traitement en particulier est moins claire. En effet, des divergences peuvent surgir lorsqu'un médecin estime qu'un traitement souhaité par le patient, sa famille ou le décideur remplaçant devrait être refusé ou retiré car il n'apportera au patient aucun effet bénéfique sur le plan médical.

L’aide médicale à mourir a maintenant été légalisée au Canada, pourvu que certaines conditions soient satisfaites (comme le prévoit le Code criminel); au Québec, l’aide médicale à mourir doit être offerte conformément à la législation provinciale. Les médecins pourraient devoir faire face à des défis médico-légaux et déontologiques au moment de répondre aux demandes de leurs patients en matière d’aide médicale à mourir.

Un décideur remplaçant est une personne légalement autorisée à prendre des décisions pour le compte du patient. Ce pouvoir peut être accordé par un document juridique comme une directive préalable, par la loi ou par les tribunaux.

Ordonnances de non-réanimation

Partout au Canada, les décisions thérapeutiques s'appuient sur les volontés connues ou l'intérêt fondamental du patient, voire les deux. Ceci s'applique aux ordonnances de non-réanimation qui peuvent être prises en considération pour les patients en fin de vie. Les médecins qui envisagent une ordonnance de non-réanimation doivent discuter des conséquences avec le patient ou le décideur remplaçant du patient si ce dernier n'est pas mentalement apte. Cette discussion doit être consignée au dossier médical du patient. 

Le médecin doit prendre un temps de réflexion adéquat avant de recommander une ordonnance de non-réanimation. Les arguments et les critères conduisant à cette recommandation doivent être clairs et étayés par l'opinion d'un nombre important de membres de la profession. Il est suggéré aux médecins qui envisagent de rédiger une ordonnance de non-réanimation de consulter leurs collègues afin de déterminer l'appui dont cette recommandation pourrait bénéficier.

L'Association médicale canadienne a publié un énoncé de politique qui fournit aux professionnels de la santé des principes directeurs en matière d'interventions visant à sauver ou maintenir la vie.1 Le comité d'éthique de l'établissement peut également être en mesure d'aider l'équipe de soins et le patient ou sa famille dans ces circonstances.

Il est important de noter que certains organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) et de nombreux hôpitaux ont publié des directives sur la gestion des ordonnances de non-réanimation. Les médecins doivent suivre les directives du Collège ou de l'hôpital.

Exemples de cas

Cas 1 : Une ordonnance de non-réanimation nécessite une consultation

On diagnostique un cancer du sein au stade IV chez une femme de 41 ans atteinte d'une déficience intellectuelle. La patiente a de nombreuses métastases osseuses, vertébrales et pulmonaires. Après deux ans de traitement intensif, elle est hospitalisée en vue de la gestion de sa douleur.

Son omnipraticien décide unilatéralement que la réanimation serait futile sur le plan médical et verse donc une ordonnance de non-réanimation au dossier médical de la patiente. Cette dernière décède dix jours plus tard. Sa sœur, qui est également le décideur remplaçant, est bouleversée de ne pas avoir été consultée au sujet de l'ordonnance de non-réanimation.  Elle dépose plainte auprès de l'organisme de réglementation (Collège).

Le Collège reconnaît que la réanimation aurait été futile sur le plan médical, mais il recommande au médecin de discuter avec le décideur remplaçant des raisons pour lesquelles il souhaite inscrire une ordonnance de non-réanimation dans le dossier médical. Le Collège ajoute ensuite que la réponse du médecin à sa lettre reflète son point de vue, à savoir qu'il n'avait pas l'obligation de consulter la famille, ce qui « … n'est pas conforme à la politique de l'hôpital, ni à la norme attendue par le Collège ».

Cas 2 : Une ordonnance de non-réanimation trop largement interprétée

Une femme de 73 ans, atteinte d'un diabète insulinodépendant (Type I), est victime d'un infarctus du myocarde. Après avoir reçu son congé de l'unité des soins coronariens, elle subit un nouvel infarctus dans sa chambre d'hôpital, suivi d'un choc cardiogénique. Le médecin discute de la réanimation avec les membres de la famille, qui conviennent qu'il ne devrait pas y avoir de RCR en cas d'arrêt cardiaque. Le médecin consigne l'ordonnance de non-réanimation dans le dossier médical et interrompt l'administration d'insuline à la patiente. Celle-ci tombe dans le coma à la suite d'une hyperglycémie. Lorsqu'on se rend compte du problème, on recommence à lui administrer de l'insuline et elle reprend conscience. Malheureusement, elle décède plusieurs jours plus tard. Les membres de sa famille déposent une plainte au Collège et intentent une poursuite en justice.

Le Collège admoneste le médecin, lui expliquant qu'il avait interprété de façon trop large la signification de l'ordonnance de non-réanimation. «  Ne pas réanimer  » ne signifie pas cesser tout traitement. N'ayant pu trouver d'experts pour appuyer les soins prodigués par le médecin, l'ACPM a choisi de conclure ce dossier en réglant une transaction avec la succession de la patiente au nom du médecin.

Retrait d'un traitement médical

Les médecins doivent essayer de s'entendre avec le patient, les membres appropriés de sa famille ou son décideur remplaçant au moment de déterminer les buts de la poursuite du traitement et les résultats escomptés. En l'absence de consensus, le médecin ou l'établissement de santé, voire les deux, peuvent présenter une demande auprès d'un tribunal (ou d'une entité administrative) ou requérir l'intervention des services du curateur public.

La jurisprudence récente en matière de décisions de fin de vie indique une tendance à accorder plus de poids à l'opinion d'un patient ou de son décideur remplaçant. Ainsi, la culture et la religion de la famille peuvent très bien influencer la nature du traitement et le moment où celui-ci est prodigué.  Il est fréquent que des conseillers spirituels, ainsi que d'autres conseillers de la famille, participent aux discussions sur le traitement avec le médecin traitant et des consultants.

En 2013, un jugement de la Cour suprême du Canada dans l'affaire Cuthbertson c. Rasouli a précisé certains aspects des soins de fin de vie en Ontario. Le jugement de la Cour a confirmé que, selon les textes de loi sur le consentement et la capacité en Ontario, les médecins doivent obtenir, auprès du patient ou du décideur remplaçant, le consentement au retrait d'un traitement de maintien de la vie. Dans son jugement, la Cour a également précisé qu'en cas de désaccord entre le décideur remplaçant et le médecin sur le retrait d'un traitement de maintien de la vie, il convient pour le médecin de saisir la Commission du consentement et de la capacité. Cette Commission, qui existe actuellement en Ontario et au Yukon, est un organisme décisionnel qui traite ce type de litige.

Aide médicale à mourir

Des modifications au Code criminel sont entrées en vigueur le 17 juin 2016, ce qui a eu pour effet de légaliser l’aide médicale à mourir partout au Canada pourvu que certaines conditions soient satisfaites.2 Le Code criminel prévoit maintenant une exception à l’interdiction pénale frappant l’aide à mourir pour les personnes qui sont admissibles à des soins de santé financés par l’État au Canada, qui sont âgées d’au moins dix-huit ans et capables de prendre des décisions en ce qui concerne leur santé, qui sont affectées de problèmes de santé graves et irrémédiables, qui ont fait une demande d’aide médicale à mourir de manière volontaire et qui ont accordé leur consentement éclairé. Une personne est affectée de « problèmes de santé graves et irrémédiables » lorsqu’elle est atteinte d’une maladie, d’une affection ou d’un handicap graves et incurables, que sa situation médicale se caractérise par un déclin avancé et irréversible de ses capacités, et que ses problèmes de santé lui causent des souffrances physiques ou psychologiques persistantes qui lui sont intolérables et qui ne peuvent être apaisées dans des conditions qu’elle juge acceptables. De surcroît, les problèmes de santé en question doivent être tels que la mort naturelle du patient est devenue raisonnablement prévisible compte tenu de l’ensemble de sa situation médicale, sans pour autant qu’un pronostic ait été établi quant à son espérance de vie. Dans une telle situation, seul un médecin ou une infirmière praticienne peut fournir l’aide médicale à mourir.

Le Code criminel prévoit également un certain nombre de mesures de sauvegarde, y compris l’exigence de s’assurer que la demande a été faite par écrit et que celle-ci a été datée et signée par le patient devant deux témoins indépendants, qu’un avis écrit d’un autre médecin ou d’une infirmière praticienne indépendante confirmant le respect de tous les critères d’admissibilité pour le patient en question a été obtenu, que le patient s’est vu donner la possibilité de retirer sa demande, et qu’une période de réflexion de dix jours francs a été accordée au patient entre le jour où il a signé sa demande et celui où l’aide médicale à mourir lui est fournie. D’autres mesures de sauvegarde, sous la forme d’obligations en matière de signalement, ont également été adoptées. Les lois provinciales et les politiques formulées par les Collèges et les hôpitaux pourraient mettre en œuvre des mesures de sauvegarde s’ajoutant à celles qui sont prévues dans le Code criminel.

Au Québec, une loi traitant des soins de fin de vie, y compris l’aide médicale à mourir dans certaines circonstances, est entrée en vigueur le 10 décembre 2015.3 La loi québécoise concernant les soins de fin de vie établit ses propres critères d’admissibilité et mesures de sauvegarde, lesquels sont semblables à ceux qui ont été établis dans le Code criminel. Toutefois, la loi québécoise s’éloigne de façon notable de ce dernier en stipulant que seuls les médecins peuvent administrer l’aide à mourir, que les médecins ne peuvent prescrire des médicaments devant être auto-administrés par le patient aux fins de l’aide à mourir, et que les infirmières praticiennes ne peuvent administrer l’aide à mourir. Le Collège des médecins du Québec a également émis des lignes directrices utiles sur les soins de fin de vie.4

Directives préalables

Dans la plupart des provinces et territoires, les patients peuvent fournir des directives quant aux soins qu'ils veulent recevoir s'ils deviennent inaptes ou incapables de communiquer leurs volontés. Connues sous le nom de directives préalables, ou testaments de vie, ces directives peuvent contenir des instructions claires sur le consentement ou le refus de traitement dans des circonstances précises. Elles peuvent également servir à nommer ou désigner une personne qui prendra, comme décideur remplaçant, des décisions sur le consentement ou le refus de traitement si le patient devient inapte.

C'est au décideur remplaçant du patient que revient l'interprétation des directives préalables. Il est en général tenu de les suivre, sauf s'il connaît d'autres volontés exprimées par le patient.

Dans certaines provinces et certains territoires, les directives préalables peuvent être contenues dans la procuration portant sur les soins personnels. Les médecins doivent en général bien connaître les lois qui s'appliquent dans leur province ou territoire.

Les médecins devraient prendre note que l’aide médicale à mourir ne peut être demandée par l’intermédiaire de directives préalables.

Communication

L'établissement d'un dialogue efficace dès le début constitue la meilleure approche lorsque des soins de fin de vie doivent être prodigués. En plus de communiquer avec la famille et le décideur remplaçant du patient, il est tout aussi important pour les médecins de communiquer avec le reste de l'équipe soignante. Toute discussion avec l'équipe soignante, le décideur remplaçant et les membres de la famille doit être documentée dans le dossier médical.

L'évaluation des buts visés par les soins doit être régulière, répétée, axée sur le patient et empreinte d'empathie.  Les médecins doivent choisir avec soin les mots qu'ils utilisent pour faire connaître la gravité de la maladie et les traitements possibles. De nombreuses publications suggèrent des formulations pour éviter que le patient se sente abandonné ou qu'un bras de fer ne s'engage avec les patients et les membres de leur famille.5

La planification préalable des soins, qui est une approche organisée à la communication, permet aux patients et à leur famille de comprendre leurs objectifs, valeurs et croyances, d'y réfléchir et d'en discuter en vue de futures décisions concernant leurs soins, en particulier si le patient devient inapte à communiquer.6

Concepts fondamentaux

Lorsque surgissent des problèmes liés aux soins de fin de vie, les médecins doivent garder à l'esprit que :

  • l'intérêt fondamental du patient est primordial;
  • le patient apte a le droit de consentir à un traitement médical, y compris un traitement de maintien de la vie, ou de le refuser;
  • les malentendus peuvent être évités grâce à une réflexion et une planification préalables des soins en temps opportun, ainsi qu'à une discussion et une documentation des volontés et des objectifs thérapeutiques du patient;
  • les médecins doivent connaître les règlements et les politiques de leur organisme de réglementation (Collège) en matière de soins de fin de vie, de refus ou de retrait d’un traitement de maintien de la vie et d’aide médicale à mourir;
  • l'obtention du consentement du patient, ou de son décideur remplaçant, est recommandée lorsqu'un médecin envisage d'inscrire une ordonnance de non-réanimation dans le dossier médical ou d'exécuter une telle ordonnance. Consulter des collègues et la famille du patient peut également être utile et pertinent pour déterminer l'appui dont bénéficierait cette ordonnance;
  • il convient de discuter avec le patient, ou avec le décideur remplaçant d'un patient inapte, du refus ou du retrait de traitements de maintien de la vie jugés futiles ou non indiqués sur le plan médical; en l'absence de consensus et malgré des discussions avec le décideur remplaçant, la famille ou d'autres personnes, telles des conseillers en éthique et en spiritualité, et des défendeurs des droits des patients, il peut être nécessaire de déposer une requête auprès d'un tribunal (ou d'une entité administrative) ou de requérir l'intervention des services du curateur public;
  • Les médecins qui se penchent sur une demande d’aide médicale à mourir doivent bien connaître les critères d’admissibilité établis dans le Code criminel, la législation provinciale applicable et les lignes directrices applicables des organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges);
  • les médecins doivent connaître le but des directives préalables (y compris les testaments biologiques);
  • il faut documenter avec précision les décisions de fin de vie dans le dossier médical du patient.

L'ACPM encourage ses membres à communiquer avec elle pour obtenir des conseils sur les problèmes liés aux soins de fin de vie, pour de l’aide en cas de désaccord sur les décisions thérapeutiques recommandées pour les soins de fin de vie, ainsi qu’en présence d’une demande d’aide médicale à mourir.


Références

  1. Association médicale canadienne, « Énoncé de position de l'AMC concernant les interventions de sauvegarde et de maintien de la vie ». Consulté le 19 février 2014 à l'adresse suivante : http://policybase.cma.ca/dbtw-wpd/Policypdf/PD14-01F.pdf
  2. Loi modifiant le Code criminel et apportant des modifications connexes à d’autres lois (aide médicale à mourir) (anciennement projet de loi C-14), 1re sess, 42e lég, Canada, 2016 (sanctionnée le 17 juin 2016).
  3. Loi concernant les soins de fin de vie, RLRQ 2014, c S-32.0001.
  4. Collège des médecins du Québec. Pratique médicale :  L’aide médicale à mourir [En ligne]. Montréal (QC) : le Collège; septembre 2015 [cité le 24 décembre 2015]. http://www.cmq.org/publications-pdf/p-1-2015-09-10-en-aide-medicale-a-mourir.pdf?t=1450967914917. Veuillez noter que ce guide n’est accessible que dans le site sécurisé du CMQ.
  5. Voir : Pantilat, S., « Communicating with Seriously Ill Patients: Better Words to Say », Journal of the American Medical Association (2009), vol. 301, no 12 : p. 1279-1281; voir aussi : Workman, S., « A communication model for encouraging optimal care at the end of life for hospitalized patients », Quarterly Journal of Medicine (2007), vol. 100 : p. 791-797.
  6. Cook, D., G. Rocker, D. Hayland, « Enhancing the quality of end-of-life care in Canada », Canadian Medical Journal (2013), vol. 185, no 16.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.