Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Team debriefs: Participate and minimize your medical-legal risks

Originally published December 2019
19-20-E

Debriefs can improve patient care, but need to be properly structured and focused on learning to reduce medical-legal risks for participants.

When leading CMPA workshops for physicians and their teams, Dr. Guylaine Lefebvre asks participants to describe how debriefs have improved their workplace culture and patient care. Some physicians recount their experiences, but others tell the director of CMPA’s Practice Improvement department they are reluctant to take part in debriefs because they worry the information shared may be used in a legal proceeding.

“They collectively recognize that if you can learn from cases, that’s good,” says Dr. Lefebvre. "However, they also worry about the legal implications.” Although these concerns are understandable, she says, they shouldn’t stop physicians from participating in debriefs.

In most instances, says Dr. Lefebvre, structured debriefs that focus on learning and improvement will help teams adapt, learn from each other, and improve communication. The resulting advantages for patient care should outweigh the risk of the information being misused or disclosed in legal proceedings.

In one instance, a physician told Dr. Lefebvre she had instituted routine debriefs after every delivery in the birthing unit. “This physician noticed an improvement in communication as people gained trust and confidence with each other,” says Dr. Lefebvre. “As the communication became routine, it became easier to talk about improvements when things didn’t go as smoothly as they’d wished.”

Patient safety incidents and debriefs

If a patient safety incident occurs, you should always discuss the incident with patients to inform them of the facts. Debriefs should never interfere with or replace these discussions. As a physician, you have an ethical, professional, and legal obligation to disclose patient safety incidents to your patients. The CMPA’s handbook, Disclosing harm from healthcare delivery: Open and honest communication with patients,1 provides guidance and good practices about physician communications with patients regarding the disclosure of harm.

What are debriefs?

Many in healthcare, including physicians, recognize debriefs as a valuable tool in improving the quality of patient care.2,3 These discussions are conducted by the involved healthcare professionals after critical clinical events or routinely after certain treatments and allow providers to analyze and learn from what occurred during care delivery. One author describes them as “opportunities for exploring and making sense of what happened during an event or experience, discussing what went well, and identifying what could be done to change, improve and do better next time.”2

Debriefs differ from morbidity and mortality (M&M) rounds. M&M rounds are structured events where members of a department review cases more generically.4,5 Debriefs generally happen immediately after care delivery and include the providers directly involved in the care of the patient.

Two ways debrief information may be protected

Depending on how debriefs are set up and conducted, it is possible that some information shared during discussions may be protected from disclosure by quality assurance (QA) legislation or common law privilege.

While the criteria to qualify for quality assurance legislation is expressly set out in legislation, it must be emphasized that common law privilege is applied on a case-by-case basis with no advance guarantee of protection. Since common law protection is uncertain, it is important to know ahead what safeguards may be available and to consider whether it is necessary to structure and conduct debriefs to potentially benefit from the protection offered by quality assurance legislation or common law privilege.

How courts may consider requests to protect debrief information

In civil litigation, the general rule is that all relevant information is admissible as evidence, but a court may rule that information shared during a debrief is protected from disclosure. The following scenario illustrates how a court may approach a request to protect such information.

An individual launches a legal action alleging he was harmed by the delivery of healthcare. During legal proceedings, the defendant healthcare providers and hospitals are asked to produce information about discussions or reviews they conducted after the care was provided. The defendants are giving evidence under oath and they acknowledge a debrief was held. The court is then asked to rule on whether the defendants have to disclose information discussed and any conclusions reached during the debrief.

In making its decision, the court may look at protection offered by quality assurance legislation. If this protection applies, the information covered by the protection does not have to be disclosed in the proceedings. If the protection does not apply, the court may look to common law privilege. This protection may be available for communications in certain relationships that are based on an expectation of confidentiality, among other things. The courts have ruled previously that the confidentiality of these communications should be respected when the relationship is one that society wants to foster.

When a court considers whether a debrief meets the criteria for protection under quality assurance legislation, it will likely look at factors such as how the debrief was structured and what was discussed.

When a court considers whether the debrief information is protected by common law privilege, it likely looks to a now widely-recognized test established by the Supreme Court of Canada.6,7 The test, which applies across the country including Québec, considers the following: Was the communication or document created with the understanding it would be kept confidential? Is confidentiality essential to maintaining the relationship between those communicating? Does society benefit from this relationship and want to foster the relationship? Is the injury to the relationship caused by disclosure greater than the benefit of having the information available in the litigation?

Again, it is important to realize common law privilege is applied only on a case-by-case basis. There is no advance guarantee of protection.

Structuring debriefs to improve the likelihood of protection

To improve the chances that information discussed during debriefs may be protected, you should consider working with your colleagues and facility to implement steps such as the following:

  • Develop terms of reference and protocols for debriefing. Within these documents, clearly state that the debrief process is for quality improvement purposes and participants must keep all information discussed confidential.
  • Conduct debriefs in a setting that allows all information to be kept private.
  • Routine debriefs after each care episode are not usually documented. In those cases where information is collected, it should be gathered and compiled under confidential cover for purposes of quality improvement and access should be limited to those listed in the terms of reference and protocols under protection of quality assurance legislation.
  • Seek advice from hospital legal counsel, the CMPA, or both before disclosing or discussing any feedback on the care provided by individual healthcare practitioners to third parties, for example patients or their families.
  • Encourage hospital leadership or management to start a quality assurance review if a debrief identifies issues requiring significant changes to systems or processes. A quality assurance committee can examine the issues to identify areas for improvement and share its recommendations with leadership so appropriate changes can be made.

Although written reports are not typically generated from a debrief, any treatment recommendations made during the debrief about the patient’s ongoing care should be documented in the patient’s medical record. Such information about patient care will generally not be protected in this context.

An important part of the debrief is allowing participants to voice their emotions and reactions. A safe, respectful atmosphere is essential.2 In encouraging physicians and healthcare providers to speak openly and honestly, participants should also be reminded that debrief objectives do not include criticizing the care of any team member or assigning blame.

Critical, blaming comments set the wrong tone for the discussion and can potentially have significant negative consequences for the defence in a legal proceeding if the debrief does not qualify for common law privilege.

Debrief facilitator training can help encourage best practices.

Participating in Continuous Quality Improvement activities

The CMPA encourages physicians to participate in quality improvement activities that are created according to legislation protecting quality assurance records and information from disclosure. The Association understands that it is not always possible to have all quality assurance (QA) activities conducted by a formal and properly constituted quality assurance committee. The benefits often associated with participating in quality improvement activities focused on learning and improving systems outweigh the possible risks the information could be used or disclosed in subsequent legal proceedings.

The bottom line

  • Participate in debriefs that keep the medical-legal risks to a minimum by being properly structured and focused on learning.
  • If interested in establishing debriefs, talk with your colleagues, facility administration, and/or facility legal counsel about how to properly structure the process.
  • For questions about participating in debriefs, contact the CMPA.

 


 

References

  1. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Ottawa (CA):CMPA; 2003.Disclosing harm from healthcare delivery: Open and honest communication with patients [cited 2019 April 29]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/advice-publications/browse-articles/2015/disclosing-harm-from-healthcare-delivery-open-and-honest-communication-with-patients
  2. Gardner R. Introduction to debriefing. Semin Perinatol [Internet]. 2013 June [cited on 2019 April 29];37(3):166-74. Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23721773 doi: 10.1053/j.semperi.2013.02.008
  3. Arriaga AF, Sweeney RE, Clapp JT, et al. Failure to debrief after critical events in anesthesia is associated with failures in communication during the event [Internet]. Online first - Anesthesiology. 2019 March 1. Available from: https://anesthesiology.pubs.asahq.org/article.aspx?articleid=2727515 doi:10.1097/ALN.0000000000002649
  4. Aeby TC. Medical School Hotline, The Role of Morbidity and Mortality (M&M) Conferences in Medical Education. Hawaii Med J [Internet]. 2011 Feb [cited 2019 June 27];70(2):39-40. Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3071215/
  5. Calder LA, Edmund SH, Kwok MD, et al. Enhancing the Quality of Morbidity and Mortality Rounds: The Ottawa M&M Model. Acad Em Med [Internet]. 2014 [cited 2019 June 27]; 21:314-321. Available from: https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/pdf/10.1111/acem.12330
  6. Slavutych v Baker et al., [1976] 1 S.C.R. 254
  7. For example, see Steep v Scott, [2002]OJ No 4546 (SCJ)

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Débreffage de l’équipe : Y participer, c’est réduire vos risques médico-légaux

Publié initialement en décembre 2019
19-20-F

Les séances de débreffage peuvent améliorer les soins aux patients, mais elles doivent être bien structurées et centrées sur l’apprentissage pour réduire les risques médico-légaux chez les participants.

Lorsqu’elle anime des ateliers de l’ACPM pour les médecins et les membres de leurs équipes, la Dre Guylaine Lefebvre demande aux participants de décrire comment les séances de débreffage ont amélioré la culture organisationnelle, ainsi que les soins aux patients. Certains médecins font part de leurs expériences, alors que d’autres affirment être réticents à participer aux débreffages parce qu’ils s’inquiètent que les faits relatés puissent être utilisés lors d’actions judiciaires, explique la directrice de la section Amélioration de la pratique à l’ACPM.

« Ils reconnaissent collectivement que, s’ils peuvent retirer des leçons de ces dossiers, alors c’est valable », explique la Dre Lefebvre. « Les médecins s’inquiètent cependant des conséquences juridiques. Même si ces inquiétudes sont compréhensibles, elles ne devraient pas les empêcher de participer à ces séances », précise t-elle.

« Dans la plupart des dossiers, des séances de débreffage structurées, et axées sur l’apprentissage et l’amélioration, peuvent aider les membres de l’équipe à s’adapter, à apprendre les uns des autres et à améliorer la communication », ajoute la Dre Lefebvre. Les avantages pour les soins aux patients devraient l’emporter sur le risque que des renseignements soient divulgués ou utilisés à mauvais escient lors d’actions judiciaires.

Dans un cas, une médecin a raconté qu’elle avait instauré des débreffages systématiques après chaque accouchement dans l’unité des naissances. « Cette médecin a remarqué qu’une meilleure communication s’établissait à mesure que les participants se faisaient mutuellement confiance », précise la Dre Lefebvre. « La communication devenant chose courante, il était plus facile de discuter d’améliorations à apporter quand les choses ne se passaient pas comme souhaité. »

Incidents liés à la sécurité du patient et débreffages

Quand un incident lié à la sécurité du patient survient, vous devriez toujours en parler avec le patient pour l’informer des faits. Les débreffages ne devraient jamais interférer dans ces discussions ni les remplacer. À titre de médecin, vous avez une obligation légale, professionnelle et déontologique de divulguer à tout patient les incidents liés à sa sécurité. Le guide de l’ACPM, Divulgation d’un préjudice résultant de la prestation des soins : Pour une communication ouverte et honnête avec les patients,1 présente des conseils et des bonnes pratiques aux médecins qui doivent communiquer avec des patients dans le cadre de la divulgation d’un préjudice.

Qu’est-ce qu’un débreffage?

De nombreux professionnels de la santé, y compris des médecins, reconnaissent l’utilité du débreffage dans l’amélioration de la qualité des soins prodigués aux patients.2,3 Ces discussions sont menées ponctuellement par les professionnels de la santé impliqués dans des événements cliniques critiques, ou systématiquement après certains traitements, ce qui leur permet d’analyser ce qui s’est passé pendant la prestation des soins et d’en tirer des enseignements. Gardner les décrit comme étant des « occasions d’explorer et de comprendre ce qui s’est passé lors d’un événement ou d’une expérience, de souligner ce qui a bien fonctionné et de déterminer ce qui pourrait être fait pour changer et faire mieux la prochaine fois. »2

Les débreffages diffèrent des revues de mortalité et de morbidité. Ces dernières sont en effet des événements structurés où les membres d’un département analysent les dossiers de façon plus générique.4,5 Les débreffages, par contre, ont généralement lieu immédiatement après la prestation des soins et font intervenir les professionnels de la santé ayant participé directement aux soins du patient.

Deux façons de protéger les renseignements

Selon la façon dont les débreffages sont organisés et menés, il se peut que certains renseignements communiqués pendant les discussions soient protégés de la divulgation en vertu des lois sur l’assurance de la qualité ou du privilège jurisprudentiel.

Alors que les critères d’admissibilité sont mentionnés expressément dans la législation sur l’assurance de la qualité, il faut préciser qu’un privilège jurisprudentiel est appliqué au cas par cas sans garantie préalable d’une protection. Puisqu’il est incertain qu’une protection sera conférée par la common law, il importe de savoir à l’avance quelles sont les mesures de protection à notre disposition, et d’examiner s’il y a lieu de structurer et de mener les débreffages de façon à pouvoir éventuellement bénéficier de la protection de la législation sur l’assurance de la qualité ou du privilège jurisprudentiel.

Comment les tribunaux pourraient-ils envisager les demandes de protection des renseignements

Dans les actions civiles, en général, tout renseignement pertinent est admissible comme preuve; cependant, un tribunal peut décider que les renseignements communiqués lors d’un débreffage seront protégés de la divulgation. Le scénario suivant illustre comment un tribunal peut donner suite à une demande de protection de tels renseignements.

Un homme intente une action en justice alléguant qu’il a subi un préjudice lors de la prestation de soins de santé. Pendant l’action judiciaire, on demande aux professionnels de la santé et à l’hôpital (les défendeurs) de fournir les renseignements au sujet des discussions ou des évaluations tenues à la suite de la prestation des soins. Les défendeurs ont fait état de la preuve sous serment et ont reconnu qu’un débreffage a eu lieu. Le tribunal doit ensuite déterminer si les défendeurs doivent divulguer les renseignements discutés et toute conclusion établie lors du débreffage.

Pour rendre sa décision, le tribunal peut tenir compte de la protection offerte par la législation sur l’assurance de la qualité. Si cette protection s’applique, les renseignements visés par celle-ci n’ont pas à être divulgués au cours de la procédure. Si la protection ne s’applique pas, le tribunal peut invoquer le privilège jurisprudentiel. Ce dernier peut s’appliquer aux communications dans certaines relations fondées, entre autres, sur des attentes de confidentialité. Les tribunaux ont déjà conclu que la confidentialité de ces renseignements devait être respectée quand la relation en est une que la société veut favoriser.

Pour déterminer si un débreffage répond aux critères de protection établis par la législation sur l’assurance de la qualité, le tribunal tiendra compte de facteurs tels que la structure du débreffage et le contenu des discussions.

Pour déterminer si un débreffage est protégé par le privilège jurisprudentiel, le tribunal se réfèrera probablement à un critère maintenant largement reconnu, établi par la Cour suprême du Canada.6,7 Ce critère, qui s’applique d’un bout à l’autre du Canada, y compris au Québec, prend en compte les éléments suivants : Les renseignements ou les documents ont-ils été rédigés avec l’assurance qu’ils demeureraient confidentiels? Le caractère confidentiel est-il essentiel au maintien de la relation entre les personnes s’étant communiquées les renseignements? La société bénéficie-t-elle de cette relation et souhaite-t-elle la favoriser? Le préjudice causé à la relation par la divulgation est-il plus grand que l’avantage d’obtenir l’information dans le cadre du litige?

Il importe de réaliser que le privilège jurisprudentiel ne s’applique qu’au cas par cas. Il n’y a aucune garantie préalable de protection.

Comment structurer les débreffages pour accroître la probabilité d’être protégé

Pour accroître la probabilité que l’information communiquée lors des débreffages soit protégée, vous devriez envisager de travailler avec vos collègues ainsi que la direction de l’établissement pour mettre en œuvre les mesures suivantes, entre autres :

  • Élaborez un mandat et des protocoles pour les séances de débreffage. Dans ces documents, énoncez clairement que le débreffage est un mécanisme d’amélioration de la qualité et que les participants doivent respecter le caractère confidentiel des discussions.
  • Faites le débreffage dans un endroit privé.
  • Les débreffages après chaque période de traitement ne sont généralement pas consignés. Lorsque des renseignements sont recueillis, ils doivent être conservés sous pli confidentiel à des fins d’amélioration de la qualité et leur accès doit être restreint aux personnes nommées dans le mandat et les protocoles de protection en vertu de la législation en matière d’assurance de la qualité.
  • Demandez conseil à l’avocat de votre établissement, à l’ACPM ou aux deux avant de discuter des soins prodigués par un professionnel de la santé avec un tiers (p. ex. le patient ou un membre de sa famille) ou de lui divulguer toute rétroaction à cet égard.
  • Encouragez les chefs de file ou la direction de l’hôpital à mettre sur pied des évaluations en matière d’amélioration de la qualité si un débreffage détermine des problèmes exigeant des modifications importantes aux systèmes ou aux procédés. Un comité d’assurance de la qualité peut examiner les problèmes et déterminer ce qui peut être amélioré, ainsi que transmettre ses recommandations aux chefs de file pour que des changements appropriés soient mis en place.

Bien qu’un débreffage ne donne généralement pas lieu à un rapport écrit, toute recommandation de traitement faite pendant le débreffage concernant les soins continus du patient doit être consignée dans le dossier médical. De façon générale, ce genre d’information concernant les soins d’un patient ne serait pas protégé dans ce contexte.

Un élément important du débreffage est de permettre aux participants d’exprimer leurs émotions et leurs réactions. Un contexte respectueux et sécuritaire est pour cela essentiel.2 En incitant les médecins et les professionnels de la santé à parler librement et en toute franchise, il est bon de leur rappeler que la critique des soins prodigués et le blâme de tout membre de l’équipe n’entrent pas dans les objectifs d’un débreffage.

Le fait de blâmer et de critiquer donne en effet le mauvais ton à la discussion et peut même avoir des conséquences négatives importantes pour la défense dans le cadre d’une action judiciaire si le débreffage n’est pas admissible au privilège jurisprudentiel.

La formation des animateurs de séances de débreffage peut permettre d’établir des pratiques exemplaires.

Participation à des activités d’amélioration continue de la qualité

L’ACPM encourage les médecins à participer aux activités d’amélioration de la qualité conçues conformément à la législation protégeant les renseignements et les dossiers d’assurance de la qualité de la divulgation. L’Association sait qu’il n’est pas toujours possible que toutes les activités d’assurance de la qualité soient menées par un comité d’assurance de la qualité officiel et dûment constitué. Les avantages, souvent associés à la participation à ces activités qui sont centrées sur l’apprentissage et les améliorations systémiques, l’emportent sur les risques possibles que l’information puisse être utilisée ou divulguée lors d’actions judiciaires subséquentes.

En bref

  • Participez aux débreffages qui, parce qu’ils sont correctement structurés et axés sur l’apprentissage, réduisent les risques médico-légaux.
  • Si vous souhaitez mettre en place des débreffages, parlez à vos collègues, à la direction et à l’avocat de votre établissement pour savoir comment structurer correctement la démarche.
  • Pour en savoir davantage au sujet des débreffages, communiquez avec l’ACPM.

 


 

Références

  1. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Ottawa (CA):ACPM; 2003. Divulgation d’un préjudice résultant de la prestation des soins : Pour une communication ouverte et honnête avec les patients [cité le 29 avril 2019]. Disponible: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/browse-articles/2015/disclosing-harm-from-healthcare-delivery-open-and-honest-communication-with-patients
  2. Gardner R. Introduction to debriefing. Semin Perinatol [En ligne]. 2013 June [cité le 29 avril 2019];37(3):166-74. Disponible : https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23721773 doi: 10.1053/j.semperi.2013.02.008
  3. Arriaga AF, Sweeney RE, Clapp JT, et al. Failure to debrief after critical events in anesthesia is associated with failures in communication during the event [En ligne]. Online first - Anesthesiology. 2019 March 1. Disponible: https://anesthesiology.pubs.asahq.org/article.aspx?articleid=2727515 doi:10.1097/ALN.0000000000002649
  4. Aeby TC. Medical School Hotline, The Role of Morbidity and Mortality (M&M) Conferences in Medical Education. Hawaii Med J [En ligne]. 2011 Feb [cité le 27 juin 2019];70(2):39-40. Disponible: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3071215/
  5. Calder LA, Edmund SH, Kwok MD, et al. Enhancing the Quality of Morbidity and Mortality Rounds: The Ottawa M&M Model. Acad Em Med [En ligne]. 2014 [cité le 27 juin 2019]; 21:314-321. Disponible: https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full/10.1111/acem.12330
  6. Slavutych c Baker et al., [1976] 1 RCS 254
  7. Pour un exemple, consultez Steep v Scott, [2002]OJ No 4546 (SCJ)

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.