Workshop: Theatre Arts


Theatre Arts — The CMPA surgical safety course

Identifying solutions
Promoting improvement
Making a difference

Note: Both Theatre Arts courses to be held in 2020 are now full. Applications for future events will be available later in the year. For additional information and inquiries, please email education@cmpa.org.

Theatre Arts is a three-day intensive course developed by the CMPA, designed to empower physicians and their perioperative teams to improve their OR environment and foster safe surgical care.

This course is open to Canadian perioperative teams of two to four individuals. At least one individual from each team must be a CMPA member who is a surgeon, anesthesiologist, or obstetrician/gynecologist. We encourage teams to include one member who has a nursing or administrative role in the perioperative environment.

Over the course of three days, you and your team will:

  • Identify factors that affect team performance and how they contribute to adverse events
  • Identify strategies to improve safe surgical care
  • Develop a plan to implement change
  • Identify measures to evaluate success

Application process

Each participating team must submit an idea for a practice improvement project upon which they will anchor their learning. During the course, teams will work on their submitted project and will have the opportunity to transform their project idea into an actionable plan with the goal of promoting safe surgical care.

Examples of safe surgical care projects include:

  • adopting Enhanced Recovery After Surgery for a hospital
  • standardizing a perioperative process
  • optimizing communication
  • implementing multidisciplinary quality improvement rounds
  • improving the reliability of pre-operative checklist use

Program

The three-day Theatre Arts program aims to foster collegial bonds among team participants. The collaborative approach will allow participants to build their personal network and encourage mutual support when implementing their projects.

Highly skilled faculty members, including physician advisors and national opinion leaders in surgical safety, will be delivering this evidence-based program. Using a combination of journal clubs, didactic plenaries, experiential sessions and small group work, participants will explore the human, organizational, and cultural themes that contribute to surgical harm.

Participants will learn how these themes apply to their work environment and will work in teams to generate actionable interventions.

Each team will develop:

  • a strategy to engage other colleagues and stakeholders
  • a process to implement their project
  • indicators to measure the success of their project

Credits

This event is an Accredited Group Learning Activity (Section 1) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification Program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, and approved by the CMPA. You may claim a maximum of 19.25 hours (credits are automatically calculated).

The simulation component of this activity is an Accredited Simulation (Section 3) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification Program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, and approved by the CMPA. You may claim a maximum of 1.75 hours (credits are automatically calculated).

Price

This program is offered as a privilege of CMPA membership. There is no cost for CMPA members and their teams (includes both non-physicians and non-member physicians).

Scheduled events

Wednesday, April 29 to Friday, May 1, 2020 | FULL

Wednesday, October 28 to Friday, October 30, 2020 | FULL

Dates for 2021 to be announced later in 2020

The Canadian Medical Protective Association
875 Carling Ave.
Ottawa, Ontario

Travel and accommodations

Participants are responsible for booking and covering the cost of their travel to Ottawa. Details regarding preferred hotel rates will be available once applicants receive their confirmation of participation. 

Contact

For additional information and inquiries, please email education@cmpa.org

Atelier: En salle… de concert


En salle… de concert – le cours de l’ACPM sur la sécurité chirurgicale

Trouver des solutions
Promouvoir l’amélioration
Faire une différence

En salle… de concert se veut un cours intensif de trois jours élaboré par l’ACPM, conçu pour inspirer les médecins et leurs équipes de soins périopératoires à optimiser l’environnement de travail au bloc opératoire et à favoriser des soins chirurgicaux sécuritaires.

Ce cours est proposé à des équipes de soins périopératoires qui se composent de deux à quatre personnes. Chaque équipe doit compter au moins un chirurgien, anesthésiologiste ou obstétricien-gynécologue membre de l’ACPM. Nous encourageons les équipes à inclure une infirmière ou une personne ayant un rôle administratif dans un contexte de soins périopératoires.

Sur une période de trois jours, vous et votre équipe devrez :

  • Déterminer quels sont les facteurs qui touchent le rendement de l’équipe et la façon dont ils risquent de contribuer à des incidents liés à la sécurité des patients
  • Établir des stratégies visant à améliorer la sécurité des soins chirurgicaux
  • Élaborer un plan pour la mise en œuvre des améliorations proposées
  • Établir des mesures pour évaluer la réussite

Processus de demande

Chaque équipe participante doit soumettre une idée de projet d’amélioration de la pratique sur laquelle elle ancrera son apprentissage. Pendant le cours, les équipes travailleront sur le projet et auront l’occasion de concrétiser leur idée en un plan d’action pour favoriser des soins chirurgicaux sécuritaires.

Voici des exemples de projets sur la sécurité des soins chirurgicaux :

  • adoption du programme de récupération améliorée après la chirurgie (Enhanced Recovery After Surgery) dans un hôpital
  • normalisation d’un processus périopératoire
  • optimisation de la communication
  • mise en œuvre de visites multidisciplinaires visant l’amélioration de la qualité
  • systématisation du recours aux listes de vérification préopératoire.

Ce cours est présenté en anglais seulement.

Formulaire de demande

Programme

Ce programme de trois jours vise à favoriser un esprit d’équipe chez les participants. L’approche collaborative permettra aux participants de se créer un réseau personnel et d’encourager le soutien mutuel lors de la mise en œuvre de leurs projets.

Des professeurs hautement qualifiés, y compris des médecins-conseils et des leaders d’opinion nationaux en matière de sécurité chirurgicale, présenteront ce programme fondé sur des données probantes. Au moyen d’une combinaison de clubs de lecture, de séances plénières didactiques, de séances expérientielles et de travaux en petits groupes, les participants exploreront les thèmes des facteurs humains, organisationnels et culturels qui contribuent au préjudice en chirurgie. 

Les participants apprendront comment ces facteurs influencent leur milieu de travail et travailleront en équipe pour concevoir des interventions réalisables.

Chaque équipe devra élaborer :

  • une stratégie visant l’engagement des collègues et autres intervenants
  • un processus de mise en œuvre de leur projet
  • des indicateurs pour mesurer la réussite de leur projet

Dates et lieu

Du 29 avril au 1er mai 2020 - Le nombre de places est limité

Du 28 au 30 octobre 2020

L’Association canadienne de protection médicale
875, avenue Carling
Ottawa (Ontario)

Coût

Ce programme constitue l’un des privilèges que confère l’adhésion à l’ACPM. Il est offert à titre gracieux aux membres de l’Association ainsi qu’à leurs équipes (incluant les non-médecins et les non-membres).

Déplacement et hébergement

Les participants sont tenus d’effectuer leurs propres réservations de voyage et d’hébergement et de prendre en charge les frais qui s’y rattachent. Les détails concernant les tarifs préférentiels seront disponibles lorsque les candidats recevront leur confirmation de participation.

Renseignements

Pour obtenir plus de précisions, écrivez à education@cmpa.org