Member Support Program

At the CMPA we’re physicians too, and we know that sometimes we all need a little extra help in our practice. That’s why we offer the Member Support Program (MSP).

The program offers targeted support services for members whose medical-legal experiences are greater than their peers in the same type of work.

The MSP seeks to help members:

  • recognize and reduce medical-legal risk
  • decrease the likelihood of facing future medical-legal matters

By providing customized advice, assistance, and education, the program contributes to improving the safety of medical care by helping CMPA members recognize and address factors that may contribute to a higher-than-average rate of medical-legal experience, returning confidence and satisfaction to the practice of medicine.

  • Planning for the MSP is underway, and we anticipate program activities will begin in late 2017.

Video: Introduction to the Member Support Program

The Member Support Program aims to assist members whose medical-legal experiences are higher than those of their peers in the same type of work.

Watch the video to learn more.

How does the program work?

The program benefits all members by promoting safe care and a sustainable medical-liability system in Canada. Our goal is to help members practice safely and in a manner that contributes to their professional standing and satisfaction.

There are four main steps to the program: 1) identification, 2) assessment, 3) development of an education plan, and 4) ongoing support.

  1. Identification: To better understand our members’ needs, the CMPA reviews medical-legal case histories to identify opportunities for proactive support and assistance. Our physician advisors are also trained to recognize trends which indicate an increasing level of medical-legal risk. When a member’s medical-legal experience is greater than his/her peers in the same type of work, or the member demonstrates increased medical-legal risk, we refer the member to the MSP for an assessment.

  2. Assessment: The assessment looks at the member’s medical-legal history with the CMPA over the past 10 years; and is intended to help us identify any factors, if they exist, which may be contributing to the member’s increased rate of medical-legal experience.
    • Every situation is unique. We work with each member to discuss and truly understand the circumstances and factors contributing to his/her medical-legal experience.
    • The program is aimed at members who can genuinely benefit from additional support through MSP activities.
  3. Development of an education plan: Following the assessment and member input, we work with each member to develop a tailored education and support plan to help address the factors that are causing difficulties.

  4. Ongoing support: The final step of the program is follow-up and ongoing support. The MSP team regularly confers with the member, provides advice and helps the member take an active role to decrease the likelihood of new matters arising in practice.

For more information, please contact MemberSupportProgram@cmpa.org.

Additional information

Programme de soutien aux membres

Étant nous-mêmes médecins, nous savons que nous avons tous parfois besoin d’un petit coup de main dans nos pratiques. Voilà pourquoi nous vous offrons le Programme de soutien aux membres (PSM).

Ce programme offre des services ciblés de soutien aux membres ayant eu davantage de problèmes médico-légaux que leurs pairs du même domaine.

Le PSM vise à aider les membres à :

  • reconnaître leurs risques médico-légaux et à les réduire;
  • atténuer la probabilité de nouveaux problèmes médical-légaux.

En offrant des conseils, une assistance et des services éducatifs personnalisés, ce programme contribue à l’amélioration de la sécurité des soins médicaux en aidant les membres de l’ACPM à reconnaître les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à une expérience médico-légale supérieure à la moyenne et à les contrer, ce qui leur permettra de retrouver la confiance et la satisfaction dans l’exercice de la médecine.

  • La planification du Programme de soutien aux membres est en cours et nous prévoyons entreprendre les activités du programme d’ici la fin de 2017.

Vidéo : Introduction au Programme de soutien aux membres

Le Programme de soutien aux membres vise à porter assistance aux membres dont l’expérience médico-légale est supérieure à celle de leurs pairs du même domaine.

Visionnez la vidéo pour en apprendre davantage.

Comment le programme fonctionne-t-il?

Le programme confère des avantages à tous les membres en faisant la promotion de soins sécuritaires et d’un système durable de responsabilité médicale au Canada. Nous avons pour objectif d’aider les membres à exercer leur profession en toute sécurité et d’une façon qui contribue à leur statut professionnel et à leur satisfaction.

Le programme compte quatre étapes principales : 1) identification, 2) évaluation, 3) conception d’un plan d’éducation et 4) soutien continu.

  1. Identification : Pour mieux comprendre les besoins de ses membres, l’ACPM analyse ses dossiers médico-légaux pour y cerner des occasions d’offrir une assistance et du soutien de façon préventive. Les médecins-conseils de l’Association sont également formés pour reconnaître les tendances qui indiquent un risque médico-légal accru. Lorsque l’expérience médico-légale d’un membre est plus importante que celle de ses pairs du même domaine d’exercice, ou lorsqu’un membre est manifestement exposé à des risques médico-légaux accrus, le membre en question est dirigé vers le PSM en vue d’une évaluation.

  2. Évaluation : L’évaluation se penche sur les antécédents médico-légaux du membre au cours des 10 dernières années et a pour but de nous aider à cerner les causes sous-jacentes qui, le cas échéant, pourraient contribuer à la plus grande fréquence de problèmes médico-légaux d’un membre.
    • Chaque situation est unique. Nous travaillons et discutons avec chacun des membres visés pour bien comprendre les circonstances et les facteurs qui contribuent à leur expérience médico-légale.
    • Ce programme vise les membres qui peuvent véritablement tirer profit du soutien additionnel qu’offre la participation aux activités du PSM.
  3. Conception d’un plan éducatif : À la suite de l’évaluation et de l’obtention des commentaires du membre visé, nous collaborerons avec lui pour concevoir un plan personnalisé de soutien et d’éducation qui l’aidera à contrer les facteurs à l’origine des difficultés vécues.

  4. Soutien continu : Le suivi et le soutien continu constituent la dernière étape du programme. L’équipe du PSM communique régulièrement avec le membre, lui offre des conseils et l’aide à participer activement à la réduction de la probabilité de connaître de nouveaux problèmes.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec Soutienauxmembres@cmpa.org.

Renseignements supplémentaires