Kathryn Anne Shufelt

Katy Shufelt

BSc Hon, MD, FRCPC

[email protected]

Interventional cardiology

Area 5, Division B
(ONTARIO)

Dr. Katy Shufelt is an interventional cardiologist practising in Peterborough, Ontario. She is an alumnus of University of Ottawa medical school, University of Toronto Internal Medicine and Cardiology residency programs and McMaster University Interventional Cardiology fellowship. She is part of a dedicated team of four interventional cardiologists who provide services to the large geographical area served by Peterborough Regional Health Centre. She has special interests in complex coronary angioplasty, safe medical care, physician wellness, and corporate governance.

Dr. Shufelt supervises residents as an adjunct assistant professor in the Department of Family Medicine at Queen’s University, and is an honorary associate professor in the Department of Biology at Trent University.

Dr. Shufelt is proud to have the trust of Ontario physicians in her second term as a CMPA Councillor and as the CMPA 2nd vice-president. This work allows her to extend her interests in a leadership role to ensure Canadian physicians have a strong organization to support their medico-legal needs and ability to provide safe medical care. She is deepening her knowledge about Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) and how to address inequities in Canadian health care delivery and leadership.

CMPA Appointments

2nd Vice-President
2022-
Pension Committee
2022-
Legal Services Oversight Committee (Chair 2022 - )
2022-
Case Review Committee
2022-
Executive Committee
2021-
Member and Stakeholder Relations Committee (Chair 2019 - 2022)
2018-
Council
2017-
Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Sub-committee
2020-2022
Investment Committee
2020-2021
Governance Committee
2020-2021
Safe Medical Care Committee
2017-2020

Kathryn Anne Shufelt

Katy Shufelt

BSc Hon, MD, FRCPC

[email protected]

Cardiologie interventionnelle

Région 5, Division B
(ONTARIO)

La Dre Katy Shufelt est cardiologue interventionnelle à Peterborough (Ontario). Diplômée en médecine à l’Université d’Ottawa, elle a effectué sa résidence à l’Université de Toronto (programmes de médecine interne et de cardiologie) et un stage en cardiologie interventionnelle à l’Université McMaster. Elle fait partie des quatre cardiologues interventionnels affectés à la vaste zone de desserte du Centre régional de santé de Peterborough. L’angioplastie coronaire complexe, les soins médicaux sécuritaires, le bien-être des médecins et les enjeux liés à la gouvernance l’intéressent particulièrement.

La Dre Shufelt est professeure adjointe en médecine familiale à l’Université Queen’s, où elle supervise des résidents, et est professeure agrégée honoraire au département de biologie de l’Université Trent.

Elle est fière d’avoir la confiance des médecins ontariens pour son deuxième mandat comme conseillère de l’ACPM et comme 2e vice-présidente du Conseil : elle étend ainsi ses intérêts à un rôle de leadership et contribue à ce que l’ACPM soit une organisation solide qui répond aux besoins médico-légaux des médecins et les aide à prodiguer des soins sécuritaires. Elle approfondit sa connaissance de l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion (EDI) et des moyens de combattre les inégalités dans le domaine de la santé, notamment en ce qui a trait au leadership et à la prestation de soins.

Fonctions à l'ACPM

2e vice-présidente
2022-
Comité de révision des dossiers
2022-
Comité de retraite
2022-
Comité de supervision des services juridiques (présidente 2022 - )
2022-
Comité directeur
2021-
Comité des relations avec les membres et les partenaires (présidente 2019 - 2022)
2018-
Conseil
2017-
Sous-comité pour l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion
2020-2022
Comité des placements
2020-2021
Comité de gouvernance
2020-2021
Comité des soins médicaux sécuritaires
2017-2020