Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

A matter of records: An overview of the retention, access, security, storage, disposal, and transfer of clinical records

Originally published March 2003 / Revised October 2019
IS0334-E

Some of the most common questions asked by CMPA members relate to their clinical record, including how long should it be kept, who should have access to it, how it can be kept secure, how to properly store and dispose of it, and under what circumstances it should be shared or transferred.

Retention of records

Generally, provincial or territorial legislation and regulatory authority (College) policies specify the period of time that you, as a physician, are required to keep your clinical records. The chart below lists retention requirements or recommendations for each province and territory

The CMPA generally recommends that you retain medical records for at least 10 years (16 years in British Columbia) from the date of last entry or, in the case of minors, 10 years (16 years in British Columbia) from the time the patient would have reached the age of majority (either age 18 or 19 years).

There are important reasons why the CMPA recommends these retention periods. A principal reason is that the records may be needed to assist in the defence of physicians, or their estates, if medical-legal difficulty should arise. For example, if your estate is sued in connection with professional work you performed, the records often contain the best evidence of your interaction with the patient.

If you are defending yourself against allegations of professional fault or negligence, and the patient’s medical record has been disposed, you will be left to rely primarily on memory, which may be affected by the passage of time.

While legislation in each province or territory imposes limits as to when a legal action can be commenced, these limits can be quite flexible. In some circumstances, the courts may be reluctant to deprive an individual of the right to have an issue adjudicated despite the apparent expiry of the limitation period. Accordingly, although provincial and territorial differences in limitation periods vary, the CMPA generally advises that you retain your clinical records for at least 10 years (16 years in British Columbia) from the date of last entry or 10 years (16 years in British Columbia) from the age of majority in the case of minors.

Access to records

The 1992 Supreme Court of Canada decision in McInerney v MacDonald1 represented a significant departure from the previously-held view that the patient's right to information in the medical record was limited to a summary report of the care and management afforded the patient by the physician. In this decision, the Supreme Court stated the following:

  • The physical medical records are the property of the physician.
  • A patient is entitled to examine and receive a copy of the complete medical records compiled by the physician in administering advice or treatment to the patient, including records prepared by other doctors that the physician may have received.
  • The patient is not entitled to examine or receive copies of any information or material received or compiled by the doctor outside of the physician-patient relationship.
  • A patient's general right of access to medical records is not absolute. The court stated that patients should have access to the medical records in all but a few circumstances. The physician may use discretion not to disclose information the physician reasonably believes is likely to cause a substantial adverse effect on the physical, mental, or emotional health of the patient or harm to another person.
  • A patient should have access to the medical record unless there are compelling reasons to not disclose. The onus is on the physician to justify denying access.

Since this decision, many jurisdictions have enacted privacy legislation that governs the collection, use, and disclosure of personal health information.

As a general rule, information about a patient should be disclosed only in one of the following scenarios:

  • on the written authority of the patient
  • on the written authority of the patient's authorized legal representative
  • on receipt of a court order compelling disclosure
  • when the request comes from an agency or individual expressly entitled by legislation to a copy of the records

Security of records

Clinical records must be properly secured and protected, either physically or electronically. For example, paper records should be kept in restricted access areas or in locked cabinets with limited access.

Patient information that is stored electronically is likely accessible to a greater number of people than a paper record, and the protection of the information is therefore more complex.

Security features and policies should ensure information maintained in an electronic records system is accessible only to those within the patient's circle of care (i.e. the healthcare providers treating a patient who need information to provide that care), or for other purposes authorized by law or with express patient consent. This can be achieved through the use of user identification and passwords for logging on.

Electronic records systems should also include controls that restrict access based on the user's role and responsibilities. Encryption technology on all computer systems and portable electronic devices (e.g. laptops, memory sticks, etc.) containing patient information is recommended.

Storage and disposal

You must ensure that records are stored in a safe and secure place. If you have hired a service provider to manage medical records, you continue to be responsible for maintaining the security of the records in accordance with applicable privacy legislation and College requirements. If the records are retained by a commercial storage provider, some jurisdictions that have enacted health-specific privacy legislation require that you enter into a written agreement with the storage provider. While this may not be a requirement in every jurisdiction, it is a recommended practice. Patients should also be notified about the location of their records and how they may be accessed. You must also confirm how you can access the records and make copies of any records for the purpose of preparing medical-legal reports, defending legal actions, or participating in a complaint investigation.

Once the retention period has expired, records should be destroyed in a way that maintains confidentiality. Destruction should ensure that the record cannot be reconstructed in any way. For example, it is recommended that paper records be either shredded, pulverized, or incinerated. Effective destruction of electronic records requires that the records be permanently deleted or irreversibly erased. When destroying information, you must consider whether it is necessary to destroy not only the original records, but also any copies, including back-up files. You should be aware of any specific obligations imposed on you by your College or relevant privacy legislation when destroying clinical records.

Before destroying records, it is recommended that you make a list of the names of the patients whose records are to be destroyed, and that this list be kept permanently in a secure location. This is to be able to later determine at-a-glance that a medical record has been destroyed and not simply been lost or misplaced.

Transfer of records

It is not uncommon that a former physician is asked by a new physician to provide patient information or even to hand over the record. Occasionally, a patient will ask that the file be sent to the new physician or that it be given to the patient who can in turn take it to the new physician. However, an office clinical record made by you is your property and you may need it later if your professional work or care for the patient is called into question.

As a general practice, the CMPA advises that you not let the original files out of your control.

There are other reasonable means of providing information about a physician's role in a patient's case (with the patient's consent) without handing over the original file, including:

  • a report or letter summarizing the relevant entries in the file
  • a copy of the file may generally be provided if specifically requested

You must ensure that the medical records are transferred to another physician in a manner that protects the confidentiality of the information. When you are transferring patient information contained in an electronic record, you should use a secure means such as fax, email, or another electronic record. You should be aware of applicable College policies and guidelines and privacy legislation governing the transfer of personal health information via email or fax.

If you are working in partnership with others or in a clinic, you should have an agreement in place to deal with issues related to the transfer of and access to records in the event you leave the partnership or clinic.

The bottom line

  • Despite different legislative requirements and College guidelines across the country setting out variable limitation periods, the CMPA generally advises that for medical-legal purposes you retain your medical records for at least 10 years (16 years in British Columbia) from the date of last entry or, in the case of minors, 10 years (16 years in British Columbia) from when the patient reaches the age of majority.
  • Patients have a general right to receive copies of their medical records arising out of the doctor-patient relationship, including consultant reports, and subject to some exceptions. You should ensure that appropriate written authorization is received from the patient or their legal representative before transfer occurs.
  • Whether in paper or electronic format, you must properly secure and protect clinical records.
  • Once the retention period has expired, you should destroy records in a manner that maintains confidentiality.
  • When transferring records to another physician, you may charge patients a reasonable fee for copying and reviewing the record. Some privacy statutes address the issue of fees that are permitted to be charged to patients for access to their personal health information, and some Colleges and medical associations also have guidelines in this area, including what constitutes appropriate fees.

CMPA members may contact the CMPA for individual advice concerning the management of medical records.

Retention of clinical records by physicians in Canada

  • Province
    or territory
  • Minimum requirement
    / recommendation
  • Age of
    majority
  • British Columbia
  • 16 years from the date of last entry or 16 years from when the patient reaches the age of majority, whichever is later 2
  • 19
  • Alberta
  • 10 years from date of last entry or 2 years from when the patient reaches the age of majority, whichever is longer 3
  • 18
  • Saskatchewan
  • 6 years from the date of last entry or 2 years from when the patient reaches the age of majority, whichever is later 4
  • 18
  • Manitoba
  • 10 years from date of last entry or 10 years past the age of majority for minor patients 5
  • 18
  • Ontario
  • 10 years from the date of last entry or 10 years from when the patient reaches the age of majority or until the physician ceases to practice if some conditions are met.6 CPSO recommends retaining records for a minimum of 15 years. 7
  • 18
  • Québec
  • 5 years from date of last entry or longer for certain documents 8
  • 18
  • New Brunswick
  • 10 years after the patient was last seen or until age 21, whichever is longest 9
  • 19
  • Nova Scotia
  • 10 years after date of last entry or 10 years after the patient reaches the age of majority 10
  • 19
  • Prince Edward Island
  • 10 years after date of last entry or 10 years after the patient reaches the age of majority 11
  • 18
  • Newfoundland & Labrador
  • 10 years after last provision of service or until age 21 for patients last seen when a minor, whichever is longer 12
  • 19
  • Yukon
  • 6 years from date of last service or 2 years after the patient reaches the age of majority, whichever is longer 13, 14
  • 19
  • Northwest Territories
  • 10 years from date of last entry or 2 years after the patient reaches the age of majority, whichever is longer (adopts CPSA Standard of Practice, Patient Record Retention) 4
  • 19
  • Nunavut
  • 10 years from date of last entry or 2 years after the patient reaches the age of majority, whichever is longer (adopts CPSA Standard of Practice, Patient Record Retention) 4
  • 19




References

  1. McInerney v MacDonald, [1992] 2 SCR 138
  2. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia [Internet]. Vancouver (CA):CPSBC; issued 2009 Jun 1; revised 2019 May 3. Bylaws, Part 3 – Records, s 3-6 [cited 2019 July 12]. Available from: https://www.cpsbc.ca/files/pdf/HPA-Bylaws.pdf
  3. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta [Internet]. Edmonton (CA):CPSA; reissued 2016 Jan. Patient Standard of Practice: Record Retention, s 6 [cited 2019 July 12]. Available from: http://www.cpsa.ca/standardspractice/patient-record-retent/
  4. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan [Internet]. Saskatoon (CA):CPSS; issued 2019 Jun. Regulatory Bylaws for Medical Practice in Saskatchewan, s 23.1(f) [cited 2019 July 12]. Available from: https://www.cps.sk.ca/iMIS/Documents/Legislation/Legislation/Regulatory%20Bylaws.pdf
  5. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Manitoba [Internet]. Winnipeg (CA):CPSM; revised 2019 Jun 21. Standards of Practice of Medicine, Part 5, s 24 [cited 2019 July 12]. Available from: https://cpsm.mb.ca/cjj39alckF30a/wp-content/uploads/Standards%20of%20Practice/Standards%20of%20Practice%20of%20Medicine.pdf#page=23
  6. O Reg 114/94: General, s 19(1) under Medicine Act, 1991, SO 1991, c 30. Available from: https://www.ontario.ca/laws/regulation/940114
  7. College of Physicians and Surgeons on Ontario [Internet]. Toronto (CA):CPSO; reviewed and updated 2012 May. Policies: Medical Records [cited 2019 July 12]. Available from: https://www.cpso.on.ca/Physicians/Policies-Guidance/Policies/Medical-Records
  8. Règlement sur les dossiers, les lieux d’exercice et la cessation d’exercice d’un médecin, RLRQ c M-9, r 20.3, s 12-13 under the Medical Act, CQLR c M-9 and the Professional Code, CQLR c C-26. Available from: http://legisquebec.gouv.qc.ca/fr/ShowDoc/cr/M-9,%20r.%2020.3.
  9. College of Physicians and Surgeons of New Brunswick [Internet]. Rothesay (CA):CPSNB; affirmed 2017 June. Guidelines: Patient Medical Record [cited 2019 July 12]. Available from: http://cpsnb.org/en/medical-act-regulations-and-guidelines/guidelines/438-the-patient-medical-record
  10. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Nova Scotia [Internet]. Halifax (CA): CPSNS; amended and approved 2016 April 1. Professional Standard Regarding Medical Records [cited 2019 July 12]. Available from: https://cpsns.ns.ca/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/Medical-Records.pdf
  11. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Prince Edward Island [Internet]. Charlottetown (CA):CPSPEI; Policy: Retention, Access & Transfer of Records [cited 2019 July 12]. Available from: http://cpspei.ca/publications/policies/
  12. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Newfoundland and Labrador [Internet]. St. John’s (CA):CPSNL; reviewed and updated 2017 Sept 9. By-Law No. 6: Medical Records, s 21 [cited 2019 July 12]. Available from: https://www.cpsnl.ca/web/files/By-Law%206%20-%20Medical%20Records%20-%20September%209%202017.pdf
  13. Regulation O.I.C. 1980/206, s 3(3) under the Medical Professions Act, RSY 2002, c 149. Available from: http://www.gov.yk.ca/legislation/regs/oic1980_206.pdf
  14. Yukon Medical Council [Internet]. Whitehorse (CA):YMC; amended 2017 Jun. Standards of Practice: Records Management, s 4 [cited 2019 July 12]. Available from: http://www.yukonmedicalcouncil.ca/pdfs/Records_Management.pdf

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Questions entourant les dossiers : la conservation et le transfert des dossiers cliniques

Publié initialement en mars 2003/révisé en octobre 2016
IS0334-F

Parmi les questions les plus courantes posées par les membres de l'ACPM sont celles ayant trait aux dossiers cliniques, notamment pendant combien de temps doit-on les conserver, comment les protéger et dans quelles circonstances peut-on les transférer ou communiquer les renseignements qui y sont consignés.

La conservation des dossiers

En général, ce sont les lois provinciales ou territoriales ou les politiques des organismes de réglementation professionnelle (Collèges) qui définissent le délai pendant lequel les médecins sont tenus de conserver les dossiers cliniques après la date de la dernière inscription au dossier. Le tableau qui suit présente les exigences ou les recommandations en matière de conservation pour chaque province et territoire

L'ACPM recommande aux médecins de conserver leurs dossiers médicaux au moins dix ans (16 ans en Colombie-Britannique) après la date de la dernière inscription ou, dans le cas de patients mineurs, dix ans (16 ans en Colombie-Britannique) après la date à laquelle le patient a atteint l'âge de la majorité (soit 18 ou 19 ans).

Ces délais de conservation ne sont pas sans fondement. Entre autres, le dossier peut s'avérer nécessaire pour assurer la défense d'un médecin, ou sa succession, si jamais un problème médico-légal devait survenir. Par exemple, advenant que la succession d'un médecin fasse l'objet d'une action en justice relativement à la pratique médicale de ce dernier, les dossiers constituent souvent la meilleure preuve de l'interaction entre le médecin décédé et le patient.

Un médecin qui défend des allégations de faute professionnelle ou de négligence après s'être défait du dossier médical devra s'en tenir principalement à ses souvenirs, qui risquent d'être altérés par le passage du temps.

Bien que les lois de chaque province et territoire imposent des délais de prescription régissant la période au cours de laquelle on peut intenter une action en justice, ces délais peuvent être très flexibles. Dans certaines circonstances, les tribunaux peuvent se montrer réticents à priver une personne de son droit de faire entendre sa cause en dépit de l'apparente expiration du délai de prescription. En conséquence, malgré les écarts provinciaux et territoriaux relatifs aux délais de prescription, l'ACPM préconise toujours le même délai de conservation des dossiers, soit au moins dix ans (16 ans en Colombie-Britannique) après la date de la dernière inscription au dossier ou, dans le cas de mineurs, dix ans (16 ans en Colombie-Britannique) après la date à laquelle ils ont atteint l'âge de la majorité.

L'accès aux dossiers

La décision de 1992 rendue par la Cour suprême (McInerney c. MacDonald) se démarque sensiblement du point de vue qui prévalait antérieurement, selon lequel le droit du patient aux renseignements contenus dans le dossier médical se limitait à un résumé des soins et des traitements que le médecin avait prodigués au patient. Cette décision de la Cour suprême du Canada précise ce qui suit :

  • Les dossiers médicaux physiques sont la propriété du médecin.
  • Un patient a le droit d'examiner et d'obtenir copie de l'ensemble des dossiers médicaux réunis par le médecin dans le cadre de la prestation de conseils ou de l'administration de traitements au patient, y compris les dossiers que d'autres médecins auraient pu communiquer au médecin traitant.
  • Le patient n'a pas le droit d'examiner des renseignements ou des documents reçus ou compilés par le médecin hors du cadre de la relation médecin-patient, ni d'en obtenir copie.
  • Le droit général d'accès aux dossiers médicaux dont jouit le patient n'est pas absolu. Le médecin peut juger nécessaire de ne pas divulguer des renseignements qu'il croit, d'un point de vue raisonnable, susceptibles d'entraîner un effet néfaste important sur la santé physique, mentale ou psychologique du patient ou encore de porter préjudice à un tiers. Le tribunal a affirmé que les patients devraient avoir accès aux dossiers médicaux en toutes circonstances, sauf quelques exceptions.
  • Normalement, le patient devrait avoir accès à son dossier médical, à moins qu'il n'existe des raisons sérieuses justifiant sa non-divulgation. Il appartient au médecin de justifier le refus d'accès.
  • Lorsqu'un médecin refuse de divulguer un dossier médical en totalité ou en partie, le patient peut demander au tribunal de réviser cette décision. Si le tribunal estime que le médecin n'a pas agi de bonne foi, il peut ordonner la divulgation du dossier et accorder des dépens au patient.

Depuis que cette décision a été rendue, plusieurs provinces et territoires ont promulgué des lois relatives à la protection des renseignements personnels qui gouvernent la divulgation de renseignements personnels sur la santé.

En règle générale, les renseignements au sujet du patient doivent être divulgués uniquement

  • avec l'autorisation écrite du patient;
  • avec l'autorisation écrite du mandataire légal du patient
  • sur réception d'une ordonnance du tribunal
  • lorsque la demande provient d'une agence ou d'une personne expressément autorisée par la loi à recevoir une copie des dossiers

Si vous avez des questions concernant le droit d'accès d'un tiers à un dossier médical, veuillez communiquer avec l'ACPM.

La sécurité des dossiers

Les dossiers cliniques doivent être sécurisés et protégés, soit par des moyens physiques ou électroniques. à titre d'exemple, les dossiers papier devraient être entreposés dans des lieux à accès limité ou dans des armoires verrouillées à accès limité.

Les renseignements sur les patients conservés dans des dossiers électroniques sont probablement accessibles à un plus grand nombre de personnes que ceux conservés dans un dossier papier. Par conséquent, la protection de l'information s'avère plus complexe.

Les dispositifs et les politiques en matière de sécurité doivent faire en sorte que l'information contenue dans un système de dossiers électroniques soit accessible seulement dans le cercle de soins du patient, ou pour d'autres fins autorisées par la loi ou avec le consentement explicite du patient. Il est possible d'y arriver en ayant recours à des identificateurs d'utilisateurs et à des mots de passe à l'ouverture d'une session.

Les systèmes de dossiers électroniques devraient aussi être dotés de contrôles qui limitent l'accès en fonction du rôle et des responsabilités de l'utilisateur. Il est recommandé de munir d'une technologie de chiffrement tous les systèmes informatiques et les dispositifs électroniques portables (p. ex. les ordinateurs portables, les clés USB, etc.) qui contiennent des renseignements sur les patients.

L'entreposage et la destruction des dossiers

Les médecins doivent veiller à ce que les dossiers soient conservés dans un lieu sûr. Lorsqu'un médecin embauche un fournisseur de services pour gérer les dossiers médicaux, le médecin demeure responsable d'assurer la sécurité des dossiers conformément à la législation applicable relative à la protection des renseignements personnels et aux exigences du Collège. Dans le cas où les dossiers sont entreposés par un fournisseur de services de stockage commercial, les provinces et territoires ayant adopté des lois relatives à la protection des renseignements de santé personnels exigent que les médecins concluent une entente écrite avec le fournisseur. Bien qu'il ne s'agisse pas d'une exigence dans l'ensemble des provinces et des territoires, il s'agit d'une pratique recommandée. Les patients devraient être informés du lieu où leur dossier est entreposé et de la façon d'y accéder. Les médecins doivent également s'assurer de savoir comment accéder aux dossiers pour en faire des copies aux fins de rédaction de rapports médico-légaux, de défense d'une action en justice ou de participation à une enquête liée à une plainte.

À l'échéance du délai de conservation, les dossiers devraient être détruits de manière à en assurer la confidentialité. La destruction devrait faire en sorte qu'il est impossible de reconstituer le dossier. Par exemple, il est recommandé que les dossiers papier soient déchiquetés, pulvérisés ou incinérés. Une destruction efficace des dossiers électroniques nécessite qu'ils soient supprimés de façon permanente ou effacés de manière irréversible. Lors de la destruction de renseignements, les médecins doivent déterminer s'il est nécessaire de détruire non seulement les dossiers originaux, mais aussi toutes les copies de ces dossiers, y compris les fichiers de sauvegarde. Les médecins devraient être au courant de toute obligation précise en matière de destruction de dossiers cliniques qui leur est imposée par le Collège ou par la législation pertinente relative à la protection des renseignements personnels.

Avant de procéder à la destruction des dossiers, il est recommandé de dresser une liste des patients dont les dossiers seront détruits et de conserver cette liste en permanence dans un lieu sûr. Ainsi, lorsqu'on constate l'absence d'un dossier médical, il suffit de consulter cette liste pour déterminer rapidement si le dossier a effectivement été détruit et s'il n'a pas tout simplement été égaré.

Le transfert des dossiers

Il arrive assez souvent que le nouveau médecin d'un patient demande à l'ancien médecin de lui communiquer des renseignements concernant le patient, sinon de lui remettre le dossier au complet. Parfois ce sera le patient qui demandera que son dossier soit transféré à son nouveau médecin ou encore qu'on lui remette le dossier pour ensuite le transmettre au nouveau médecin. Or, tous les dossiers cliniques que vous avez établis vous appartiennent et vous pourriez en avoir besoin plus tard si jamais votre travail professionnel ou les soins que vous avez prodigués au patient sont remis en cause.

En général, il est recommandé de ne pas transférer la copie originale du dossier et donc de conserver la garde de celui-ci.

Il existe d'autres moyens raisonnables de fournir (avec le consentement du patient) des renseignements ayant trait au rôle que vous avez joué dans le cadre d'un dossier médical sans pour autant transmettre le dossier original :

  • vous pouvez rédiger un rapport narratif ou une lettre qui résume les inscriptions pertinentes figurant au dossier;
  • une photocopie du dossier peut généralement être fournie sur demande explicite.

Les médecins doivent veiller à ce que les dossiers médicaux soient transférés à un autre médecin de manière à assurer la confidentialité des renseignements qui s’y trouvent. Au moment de transférer les renseignements que contient un dossier électronique sur un patient, le médecin devrait utiliser un moyen sécurisé (tel qu’une télécopie, un courriel ou un autre dossier électronique). Les médecins devraient connaître les politiques et les lignes directrices de leur Collège, et la législation sur la protection des renseignements personnels qui régit le transfert des renseignements personnels sur la santé par courrier électronique ou télécopieur.

Les médecins qui travaillent dans une clinique ou en partenariat avec d'autres devraient se doter d'une entente qui traite des questions d'accès et de transfert des dossiers advenant qu'un médecin quitte la société en nom collectif ou la clinique.

En bref

  • Malgré les divergences à l'échelle du pays en matière d'exigences législatives et de directives émises par les Collèges, ainsi que les différents délais de conservation et de prescription, l'ACPM recommande à ses membres de conserver, à des fins médico-légales, leurs dossiers médicaux au moins dix ans (16 ans en Colombie-Britannique) après la date de la dernière inscription au dossier ou, dans le cas de mineurs, dix ans (16 ans en Colombie-Britannique) après la date à laquelle ils ont atteint l'âge de majorité.
  • Les patients ont le droit d'obtenir copie de leurs dossiers médicaux établis dans le cadre de la relation médecin-patient, y compris les rapports d'autres médecins figurant au dossier. Par ailleurs, il incombe au médecin d'obtenir par écrit une autorisation appropriée du patient ou de son mandataire légal avant de transmettre le dossier.
  • Qu'ils soient en format papier ou électronique, les dossiers cliniques doivent être sécurisés et protégés de façon appropriée.
  • Lorsque la période de conservation est expirée, les dossiers devraient être détruits de manière à en assurer la confidentialité.
  • Lorsqu'ils transfèrent un dossier médical à un autre médecin, les médecins peuvent demander aux patients des frais raisonnables pour la copie du dossier. Certaines des lois qui régissent la protection des renseignements personnels indiquent les frais qui peuvent être facturés aux patients pour l’accès à leurs renseignements personnels sur la santé; certains collèges et certaines associations médicales ont également élaboré des lignes directrices à ce chapitre.

Les membres sont invités à communiquer directement avec l'ACPM pour obtenir des conseils personnalisés en matière de gestion des dossiers médicaux.

Conservation des dossiers cliniques par les médecins au Canada
(la durée de conservation est déterminée à partir de la date de la dernière inscription au dossier)
Mise à jour, octobre 2016
Province/
territoire
Médecins
Âge de la majorité
Colombie-Britannique 16 ans à compter de la date de la dernière inscription ou de l'âge de la majorité, selon le délai le plus long (Règlement du Collège en vertu de la Health Professions Act)
19
Alberta 10 ans à compter de la date du dernier entretien ou pas moins de 2 ans après l'âge de la majorité, selon le délai le plus long (Normes de pratique du Collège : Patient Record Retention en vertu de la Health Professions Act)
18
Saskatchewan 6 ans; 2 ans après l'âge de la majorité ou 6 ans après la dernière visite, selon le délai le plus long (Règlement du CPSS conformément à la Medical Profession Act)
18
Manitoba 10 ans à partir de la date de la dernière inscription ou 10 ans après l'âge de la majorité (Article 11 du Règlement du CPSM afférent à la Loi médicale)
18
Ontario 10 ans ou 10 ans après l'âge de la majorité (Règlement général de la Loi sur les médecins), ou jusqu'à ce que le médecin cesse d'exercer (le Collège recommande 15 ans à partir de la date de la dernière inscription ou 15 ans après la date à laquelle le patient a ou aurait atteint l'âge de la majorité)
18
Québec 5 ans à partir de la date de la dernière inscription (jusqu'à 10 ans pour certains documents) (Règlement d'application de la Loi médicale)
18
Nouveau-Brunswick 10 ans après la dernière visite ou jusqu'à l'âge de 21 ans (selon le délai le plus long) (recommandation du Collège)
19
Nouvelle-Écosse 10 ans ou 10 ans après l'âge de la majorité (recommandation du Collège)
19
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 10 ans après la dernière visite ou 10 ans après l'âge de la majorité ou 10 ans après que le médecin cesse d'exercer (selon le délai le plus court) (recommandation du Collège)
18
Terre-Neuve et Labrador 10 ans après la dernière visite ou, dans le cas d'un patient qui était mineur au moment de la dernière visite, jusqu'à ce que ce patient atteigne l'âge de 21 ans ou 10 ans après la dernière visite de ce patient (selon le délai le plus long) (Art. 6 du Règlement du Collège)
19
Yukon 6 ans à partir de la date de la dernière inscription (Règlement d'application de la Medical Profession Act) ou dans le cas d'un mineur, le dossier doit être accessible pendant 6 ans ou pas moins de 2 ans après l'âge de la majorité, selon le délai le plus long (Yukon Medical Council, Standards of Practice: Records Management)
19
Territoires du
Nord-Ouest
10 ans ou pas moins de 2 ans après l'âge de la majorité (selon le délai le plus long) (adoption des Normes d'exercice du Collège de l'Alberta)
19
Nunavut 10 ans ou pas moins de 2 ans après l'âge de la majorité (selon le délai le plus long) (adoption des Normes d'exercice du Collège de l'Alberta)
19

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.