Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Is this patient capable of consenting?

Originally published June 2011 / Revised June 2016
P1102-4-E

Patients have the right to decide whether to consent to investigations and treatments. This means investigations and treatments may be administered by healthcare professionals only with valid consent or with a court order, except in cases of emergency when consent cannot be obtained.

Consent is valid when it is given by a person with the necessary mental capacity or competency (in Québec that is a person 14 years or older). Questions about capacity to provide consent may arise when the patient is an adult who suffers from a condition that impairs his or her mental state.

Determining capacity

There is a legal presumption that a patient is capable of consenting to investigation and treatment unless there is reason to believe otherwise. Individuals suffering from mental disorders or significant developmental disabilities may still have sufficient capacity to give consent.

Established legal criteria are used for determining whether a patient has the capacity to consent. In some jurisdictions the criteria have been developed by the courts. In other jurisdictions the test for determining capacity to consent is set by legislation. Although the wording of the legal tests may differ, an individual who is able to understand the nature and anticipated effects of the proposed investigation or treatment and available alternatives, including the consequences of refusing, is typically considered mentally capable to give consent. Because incapacity can be temporary, it may be necessary to reassess capacity to consent at appropriate intervals.

When discussing an intervention with an individual with a mental disorder or developmental disability, it is prudent to consider possible deficits in language, memory, or attention that may affect the patient's ability to understand the information being conveyed. A physician who is uncertain whether a patient has the capacity necessary to provide consent in a non-emergent situation may wish to obtain a second opinion from a colleague.

It is prudent for physicians to document in the medical record the basis for the conclusion that a patient is incapable of consenting. This may include reference to the elements of the applicable test for capacity, the dates and results of any capacity assessments performed, and any second opinions sought.

The failure to obtain proper consent prior to investigation or administering treatment in non-emergent situations can have significant legal implications for physicians, including the possibility of a medical regulatory authority (College) complaint, or a civil legal action alleging battery or negligence. Detailed notes in the medical record can provide valuable evidence that the physician took reasonable care to assess capacity in a particular case.

Substitute consent

Where it is determined that a patient is incapable of consenting to investigation and treatment, the next question for the treating physician becomes who is authorized to consent on the patient's behalf.

Legislation in most provinces and territories provides a means of obtaining substitute consent when the patient is deemed to be incapable. The legislation typically sets out a hierarchy or prioritized list of individuals authorized to give or refuse consent on behalf of the patient. It is necessary to begin by seeking substitute consent from the highest-ranking person on the list, typically the patient's spouse, parent, or children. If the patient has no immediate family, or the highest-ranking person is not readily available or willing to make a decision within the required time, substitute consent can be obtained from the next highest-ranking and available person on the list. It is important for physicians to be generally familiar with the criteria for substitute decision making in their jurisdiction.

Substitute consent and medical assistance in dying

Medical assistance in dying (MAID) has been legal in Québec since December 10, 2015, and federal legislation now authorizes MAID across Canada in accordance with eligibility criteria and safeguards. A substitute decision-maker cannot consent to MAID on behalf of an incapable patient. Further, MAID cannot currently be requested by way of an advance directive. For patients to be eligible to receive MAID, they must be capable of consenting to the procedure at the time the request is made and when assistance in dying is provided.

Where no substitute consent legislation exists (i.e. Nunavut, Northwest Territories, Manitoba, and New Brunswick), and where the patient has no valid advance directive that applies to the treatment in question, strictly speaking only the court or someone appointed by the court may consent to or refuse treatment on the patient's behalf. In practice, however, where prompt investigation and treatment is clearly required and there is general agreement that the recommended care is in the patient's best interests, many physicians will proceed on the basis of the family's approval.

It is preferable to amicably resolve issues concerning capacity to consent through discussions with the patient and the family. If disagreement persists among family members, or if the investigation or treatment carries significant risks, CMPA members are encouraged to seek timely and advance legal advice from the Association.

Issues with capacity

Legal processes exist in each jurisdiction for patients or their representatives to dispute a clinical finding that the patient is incapable of providing consent.

In most provinces and territories, an application must be brought before the courts to resolve issues concerning a patient's capacity to consent. Some jurisdictions have specialized tribunals, commonly referred to as "consent and capacity boards," to make such determinations. CMPA members with medico-legal questions about such issues should call the Association for advice.

Generally, substitute decision-makers are required by law to act in accordance with wishes expressed by the patient when capable (including advance directives, wishes expressed verbally, etc.). Some legislation specifies that if those wishes are unknown, the substitute decision-maker must act in accordance with the patient's best interests. The patient's values and beliefs may also be required to be considered.

From time to time, physicians may find themselves disagreeing with a substitute decision-maker's treatment choice. As a preliminary step, consultations with other physicians or legal counsel may be of assistance. Discussions with an ethics board or ethicist might also be useful in attempting to resolve the disagreement affably. Keep in mind that many ethics boards and ethicists may not be prepared to make a final decision, but rather favour attempting to facilitate dialogue between the parties.

Members are encouraged to contact the CMPA immediately when faced with any difficult consent and capacity issues or when uncertain about what resources might be available in the event of disagreement with a substitute decision-maker or among family members.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Ce patient est-il apte à donner son consentement?

Publié initialement en juin 2011 / révisé en juin 2016
P1102-4-F

Les patients ont le droit de décider s'ils consentent aux investigations et aux traitements. C'est donc dire que les professionnels de la santé ne peuvent procéder à aucune forme d'investigation ou de traitement médical sans avoir obtenu un consentement valide des patients ou une ordonnance d'un tribunal, sauf dans les cas d'urgence où il n'est pas possible de l'obtenir.

Le consentement est valide lorsqu'il est donné par une personne ayant la capacité ou l'aptitude mentale nécessaire. Dans le cas d'un patient adulte (au Québec, d'un patient de plus de 14 ans) dont l'état mental est altéré, des questions surgissent quant à son aptitude à consentir.

Déterminer l'aptitude à consentir

Il existe une présomption en droit à l'effet qu'un patient est apte à consentir à une investigation et à un traitement à moins qu'il y ait des motifs raisonnables de croire autrement. Les personnes atteintes de troubles mentaux ou de déficiences intellectuelles peuvent néanmoins être aptes à donner leur consentement.

Des critères juridiques établis permettent de déterminer si un patient est apte à consentir. Dans certaines provinces et dans certains territoires, ces critères ont été élaborés par les tribunaux. Dans d'autres provinces et territoires, le critère visant à déterminer l'aptitude à consentir est établi par la loi. Bien que la terminologie propre à ces critères juridiques soit parfois différente, un individu capable de comprendre la nature et les effets prévus d'une investigation proposée ou d'un traitement médical et des solutions de rechange, et de saisir les conséquences d'un refus de traitement, est jugé apte à donner un consentement valide. L'incapacité pouvant être temporaire, il peut s'avérer nécessaire de réévaluer l'aptitude à consentir à intervalles appropriés.

En discutant d'une intervention avec un patient atteint d'un trouble mental ou d'une déficience intellectuelle, il serait prudent de tenir compte des déficiences possibles aux niveaux du langage, de la mémoire ou de l'attention qui risquent de compromettre son aptitude à comprendre l'information qui lui est transmise. Il se peut que, dans une situation non urgente, un médecin souhaite obtenir un deuxième avis de la part d'un collègue s'il doute que son patient ait l'aptitude nécessaire à consentir.

Il serait sage que les médecins consignent au dossier médical les raisons permettant de conclure à l'inaptitude du patient à consentir. Cela peut inclure certains éléments du test applicable pour juger de l'aptitude, les dates et les résultats de toute évaluation de l'aptitude et toute deuxième opinion obtenue.

Le défaut d'obtenir un consentement approprié avant une investigation ou l'administration d'un traitement dans des situations non urgentes peut avoir des implications juridiques importantes pour les médecins, y compris la possibilité d'une plainte à l'organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) ou une action en responsabilité civile alléguant un acte de violence ou une faute professionnelle. Des notes détaillées dans le dossier médical peuvent servir de preuve solide à l'effet que le médecin a pris un soin raisonnable pour évaluer l'aptitude du patient dans un cas particulier.

Consentement au nom d'autrui

Dans le cas où il a été démontré qu'un patient est inapte à consentir à une investigation et à un traitement médical particulier, la prochaine question pour le médecin traitant est de savoir qui est autorisé à prendre la décision.

La majorité des provinces et des territoires ont adopté des lois permettant d'obtenir un consentement au nom d'autrui lorsque le patient est jugé inapte. Généralement, ces lois établissent, par ordre de priorité, une liste de personnes autorisées à donner ou à refuser le consentement à un traitement au nom d'un patient inapte. Il faut d'abord respecter la priorité de rang et obtenir le consentement au nom d'autrui de la première personne en tête de liste, habituellement, le conjoint du patient, un parent ou les enfants. Si le patient n'a pas de famille immédiate, ou si la personne en tête de liste n'est pas facilement disponible ou ne veut pas prendre de décision dans le temps requis, le consentement au nom d'autrui peut être obtenu de la prochaine personne disponible, en respectant toujours la priorité de rang. Il est important que les médecins connaissent tous les critères propres au consentement au nom d'autrui dans leur province / territoire particulier.

Consentement au nom d’autrui et aide médicale à mourir

L’aide médicale à mourir est permise au Québec depuis le 10 décembre 2015 et la législation fédérale autorise maintenant l’aide médicale à mourir sous réserve du respect des critères d’admissibilité et des mesures de sauvegarde. Une personne habilitée à consentir pour autrui ne peut consentir à l’aide médicale à mourir au nom d’un patient inapte. De surcroît, il n’est pas possible pour le moment de faire une demande d’aide médicale à mourir au moyen d’une directive préalable. Pour pouvoir être admissibles à recevoir une aide médicale à mourir, les patients doivent être en mesure de consentir à l’intervention au moment de la formulation de la demande, ainsi qu’au moment de la prestation de l’aide médicale à mourir.

En l'absence de loi sur le consentement au nom d'autrui (c.-à-d., au Nunavut, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, au Manitoba et au Nouveau-Brunswick) et lorsque le patient n'a pas de directives préalables valides sur le traitement en question, seul le tribunal ou une personne nommée par le tribunal peut, à proprement parler, accepter ou refuser un traitement médical en son nom. Toutefois, en pratique, lorsque de toute évidence une investigation et un traitement rapides sont requis et qu'il y a consensus à l'effet que les soins recommandés sont dans les meilleurs intérêts du patient, la majorité des médecins procéderont avec l'approbation de la famille.

Il est préférable de résoudre à l'amiable les problèmes concernant l'aptitude à consentir en amorçant des discussions avec le patient et la famille. Si le désaccord persiste parmi les membres de la famille, ou si l'investigation ou le traitement comporte des risques importants, les membres de l'ACPM sont encouragés à demander un avis juridique préalable et en temps opportun auprès de l'Association.

Problèmes concernant l'aptitude

Dans chaque province et dans chaque territoire, il existe des processus judiciaires permettant à un patient ou à son représentant de contester un résultat clinique déterminant qu'un patient est inapte à consentir.

Dans la majorité des provinces et des territoires, une requête doit être présentée devant les tribunaux en vue de régler les problèmes concernant l'aptitude du patient à consentir. Certaines provinces ont des tribunaux spécialisés communément appelés « commissions du consentement et de la capacité » leur permettant de procéder à de telles déterminations. Les membres de l'ACPM qui ont des questions médico-légales concernant ces problèmes devraient communiquer avec l'Association pour obtenir des conseils.

De façon générale, la loi exige que les personnes habilitées à consentir pour autrui agissent selon la volonté exprimée par le patient lorsqu'il était apte (y compris dans des directives préalables, des volontés exprimées verbalement, etc.) Certaines lois précisent que si ces volontés ne sont pas connues, la personne habilitée à consentir pour autrui doit agir dans le meilleur intérêt du patient. Elle peut également devoir prendre en considération les valeurs et les croyances du patient.

Il peut arriver qu'un médecin soit en désaccord avec le choix de traitement de la personne habilitée à consentir pour autrui. Dans un premier temps, il peut s'avérer utile de consulter d'autres médecins ou un avocat. Il peut être bon également de discuter avec un conseil d'éthique ou un éthicien pour tenter de résoudre le désaccord de façon harmonieuse. Toutefois, il ne faut pas perdre de vue qu'un bon nombre d'entre eux ne sont peut-être pas disposés à rendre une décision finale, mais ils tenteront plutôt de faciliter le dialogue entre les parties.

Les membres sont encouragés à contacter l'ACPM dans les plus brefs délais dans tous les cas où ils sont en présence d'un consentement difficile et de problèmes liés à l'aptitude à consentir ou, encore, lorsqu'ils ne sont pas certains des ressources offertes dans l'éventualité d'un désaccord avec une personne habilitée à consentir pour autrui ou parmi les membres de la famille.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.