Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Using clinical photography and video for educational purposes

An article for physicians by physicians
Originally published March 2011
W11-003-E

In today's digital world, obtaining clinical photographs and videos is increasingly easy, common, and valuable. These are generally used to document the presence and progression of disease, and to educate health providers and patients. However, given the right to confidentiality of personal health information, unless there has been previous discussion, patients may not expect their clinical photographs or video will be used for anything other than treating and documenting their medical conditions.

Risk management recommendations

The following recommendations are based on privacy legislation and the CMPA's experience:

  • Obtain express consent from patients to use clinical photographs and videos for educational or promotional purposes.
    • If the consent is provided verbally, document the discussion in the patient's medical record.
    • As a precaution, ask the patient to sign a written consent form [PDF], particularly if the photographs or videos are to be used for promotional purposes.
  • Remove any personal identifiers to protect patient confidentiality.

Physicians practising in a hospital or institution should be aware of the organization's policies or procedures for taking photographs and videos.

Read more

  • Physicians' obligations: Physicians have both an ethical and legal obligation to keep their patients' personal health information confidential. Read more...
  • Consent requirements: Implied versus express consent. Read more...
  • Case examples: The following cases illustrate some of the potential medico-legal risks with using clinical photographs and video. Read more...


Physicians' obligations

Patients' photographs or videos should be treated as their personal health information. This is especially so if these depict sensitive or private parts of the body or include items that could identify the patient, such as a birthmark, a ring, the face, or a unique anatomical feature.

Consent requirements

Implied versus express consent

A patient's implied consent is sufficient when you are collecting, using or disclosing an individual's personal health information to provide health care within the circle of care, for example to monitor disease, for surveillance of nevi, etc.

However, a patient's express consent must generally be obtained when you share his or her personal information for purposes other than providing health care. It would be judicious to talk with a patient in advance about photos that may be taken and how they will be used and protected. Given the recent strengthening of Canadian privacy legislation, it would be wise to obtain the patient's express consent at the time the photographs or videos are shot. Express written consent must also be obtained for photographs or videos that will be used for promotional purposes.

What should be included in the informed consent discussion for the use of photographs and video for educational purposes?

If you intend to use clinical photographs or videos of a patient, particularly for educational reasons, you should consider discussing the following with the patient:

  • the reasons for taking the photographs or video
  • what will be photographed or recorded, for example, what anatomy or aspect of the disease
  • whether the patient will be identifiable
  • the possible purposes or applications  
  • who may be authorized to access the photographs or video, and in what context
  • the patient's right to refuse, withdraw, or modify consent

Patients should not feel pressured and the discussion should be documented in the patient's medical record.

Does public access to the educational program affect the need for express consent?

It is important to advise patients who will likely have authorized access to the photographs or videos, and where they may be published. For example, patients should be advised if these will be published on the Internet. Keep in mind that more and more academic journals are accessible on the Internet, and educational programs are often delivered via webcast.

Be alert to any personal identifiers

When patients consent to the use of their anonymous photograph or video for educational purposes, you should remove any personal identifiers to protect patient confidentiality. You will want to remove the patient's name (including any identifying data attached to the digital photograph or video, such as the name used to save the electronic file) and other identifying information (such as age, gender, patient history, etc.).

Is written authorization in the form of a witnessed, signed consent form required?

Most provincial and territorial privacy legislation does not define how express consent must be obtained, but at least one province requires it to be in writing. You may decide to request that patients complete a written authorization form. You may consider using and customizing a sample consent form for use in your practice.

It is important to emphasize that a consent form alone does not constitute the consent of the patient. You should ask the patient to complete the form only after you have a discussion about the type of photographs or video recording that will be taken and how these will be used, and the patient agrees to the use and disclosure of these for the specified purposes.

The consent form should include the range of possible uses. For example, it should detail the nature of the photographs or videos and list the intended purposes for their subsequent use and disclosure.

When obtaining express consent, oral or written, you should place a note about the consent discussion in the patient's medical record. If you have obtained a signed consent form, a copy of this should also go into the medical record.


Is it possible to use photographs or videos obtained before the enactment of current privacy legislation?

It may be difficult, if not impossible, to obtain express consent to use clinical photographs of patients that were taken many years ago. The provincial and territorial privacy legislation does not necessarily prohibit the continued use of such non-identifying clinical photographs. However, if there is a reasonable possibility that a patient could be identified, you should refrain from using the photographs unless express consent can be obtained from the patient (or the legal representative if the patient is deceased or mentally incapacitated). 

Research trial case

A 34-year-old woman with allergies and asthma responded to a newspaper advertisement to enter a research trial for a new medication. She was evaluated by the physician-researcher and agreed, as part of the research, to participate in an educational video. The video later aired on national television.

The patient began a legal action alleging lack of informed consent. She had expected the video would be used to teach health providers and would not be released to the public. The consent form did not specify the audience.

In the end, the woman did not pursue the litigation.

Journal article case

A patient agreed to have a clinical photograph taken to illustrate the surgical approach being used to treat her breast cancer. Her face was visible in the photograph as was the surgical scar on her chest.

The surgeon was approached by a journalist who wanted to write an article on breast cancer for a medical journal. A few medical photographs were given to the journalist with the understanding that the eyes of the patients would be hidden to preserve anonymity. This patient's photograph was published in the medical journal with black rectangles over her eyes.

The photograph was never returned to the surgeon. Four years later, it was published in another academic journal but without the black rectangles. The patient was clearly identifiable.

A settlement was paid to the patient by the CMPA on behalf of the member with an equal contribution from the publisher of the journal.

Public brochure case  

A 36-year-old businesswoman had an exceptionally good result from an aesthetic facial procedure. The patient gave verbal consent to her physician to use her before and after photographs but only in specific contexts (i.e., for scientific purposes, or in research or educational presentations). This verbal consent was not documented.

The physician gave the photographs to a colleague in the clinic but failed to clarify the limitations on their use. Subsequently the patient learned her photographs were being used in a brochure for the public.  

The patient commenced a legal action. A settlement was paid to the patient by the CMPA on behalf of the member physician.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Le recours à la photographie et à la vidéo médicales à des fins éducatives

Publié initialement en mars 2011
W11-003-F

Dans le monde numérique d'aujourd'hui, l'obtention de photographies et de vidéos médicales est devenue une pratique courante qui s'avère très utile. Les photos et vidéos servent généralement à confirmer la présence et la progression des maladies et à informer les professionnels de la santé et les patients. Toutefois, compte tenu de la confidentialité des renseignements personnels sur la santé, les patients ne s'attendent normalement pas à ce que leurs photographies ou leurs vidéos médicales servent à d'autres fins que celles de traiter leur maladie et de recueillir des renseignements sur leur état de santé, à moins d'en avoir discuté au préalable avec leur médecin.

Recommandations relatives à la gestion des risques

Les recommandations suivantes sont fondées sur les textes de loi relatifs à la protection de la vie privée et sur l'expérience de l'ACPM :

  • Le médecin doit obtenir le consentement explicite des patients pour utiliser des photographies et des vidéos médicales à des fins éducatives ou promotionnelles.
    • Si le consentement est obtenu verbalement, consigner la discussion dans le dossier médical du patient.
    • Par mesure de prudence, demander au patient de signer un formulaire de consentement [PDF], en particulier si les photographies ou les vidéos doivent servir à des fins promotionnelles.
  • Le médecin doit retirer tout identificateur personnel afin de préserver la confidentialité du patient.

Les médecins qui exercent leur profession dans un hôpital ou un autre établissement de santé doivent connaître les politiques et procédures de l'établissement concernant l'utilisation de photographies et de vidéos.

Pour en savoir davantage

  • Les obligations du médecin : le médecin a l'obligation déontologique et juridique de préserver la confidentialité des renseignements personnels sur la santé de ses patients. Lire la suite
  • Les exigences relatives au consentement : consentement implicite ou consentement explicite. Lire la suite
  • Exemples de cas : les cas suivants illustrent certains risques médico-légaux liés au recours à la photographie et à la vidéo médicales. Lire la suite


Les obligations du médecin

Les photographies ou les vidéos des patients doivent être traitées comme des renseignements personnels sur leur santé. Cela est particulièrement important si elles représentent des parties intimes du corps ou si elles montrent des marques ou des objets susceptibles de les identifier, par exemple, une tache de naissance, une bague, le visage ou une particularité anatomique unique.

Les exigences relatives au consentement

Consentement implicite ou consentement explicite

Le consentement implicite d'un patient suffit pour recueillir, utiliser ou divulguer des renseignements personnels sur sa santé en vue de fournir des soins à l'intérieur du cercle de soins, par exemple, surveiller l'évolution d'une maladie ou vérifier des nævus.

Toutefois, en règle générale, le consentement explicite du patient est nécessaire lorsque le médecin partage les renseignements personnels du patient à d'autres fins que celles de fournir des soins de santé. Il serait pertinent de renseigner le patient à l'avance sur le type de photos qui peuvent être prises, à quoi elles serviront et de quelle façon elles seront protégées. Compte tenu du récent renforcement des lois relatives à la protection de la vie privée au Canada, il serait prudent d'obtenir le consentement explicite du patient lors de la prise de photos ou de vidéos. On doit également obtenir un consentement explicite écrit pour l'utilisation de photos et de vidéos à des fins promotionnelles.

Quel devrait être le contenu de la discussion avec le patient en vue d'obtenir un consentement éclairé à l'utilisation des photographies ou des vidéos à des fins éducatives?

Si le médecin a l'intention de recourir à des photographies ou à des vidéos médicales d'un patient, en particulier à des fins éducatives, il devrait envisager de discuter avec lui des points suivants :

  • les raisons de la prise de photographies ou de vidéos
  • ce qui sera photographié ou enregistré, par exemple, la partie de l'anatomie ou l'aspect de la maladie
  • si le patient sera identifiable
  • les objectifs ou les applications possibles
  • les personnes qui pourraient avoir droit d'accès aux photographies ou aux vidéos et le contexte de leur utilisation
  • le droit du patient de refuser, de retirer ou de modifier son consentement.

Le patient ne doit pas se sentir obligé de consentir et la discussion en vue d'obtenir son consentement doit être consignée par le médecin dans le dossier médical.

L'accès public au programme éducatif influe-t-il sur la nécessité d'obtenir un consentement explicite?

Il est important de mentionner au patient quelles seront les personnes autorisées à se servir des photographies ou des vidéos et dans quels médias celles-ci sont susceptibles de paraître. Par exemple, on doit aviser le patient si les photos ou les vidéos seront affichées sur Internet. Le médecin ne doit pas oublier qu'un nombre accru de revues spécialisées sont accessibles sur Internet et que des programmes éducatifs sont souvent diffusés en webémissions.

Attention aux identificateurs personnels

Lorsqu'un patient accepte qu'une photographie ou une vidéo anonyme soit utilisée à des fins éducatives, il est important de retirer tout identificateur afin de protéger son droit à la confidentialité. Le médecin doit retirer le nom du patient (y compris tout élément identificateur apparaissant sur la photographie numérique ou la vidéo, par exemple, l'utilisation du nom pour sauvegarder le fichier électronique) ainsi que d'autres renseignements signalétiques (âge, sexe, antécédents médicaux du patient, etc.).

Est-il nécessaire d'obtenir une autorisation écrite, par exemple, un formulaire de consentement signé en présence d'un témoin?

La majorité des lois provinciales et territoriales relatives à la protection de la vie privée ne précisent pas comment obtenir un consentement explicite, mais au moins une province exige un consentement écrit. Le médecin peut demander au patient de remplir un formulaire d'autorisation. Voici un modèle de formulaire que le médecin peut utiliser ou modifier selon les besoins de sa pratique.

Il importe d'insister sur le fait qu'un formulaire seul ne constitue pas un consentement de la part du patient. Le médecin ne devrait demander au patient de remplir le formulaire qu'après avoir discuté avec lui du type de photographie ou d'enregistrement vidéo qui sera réalisé et de la façon dont il prévoit utiliser le matériel, et une fois que le patient a acquiescé à l'usage et à la divulgation de ceux-ci aux fins précisées.

Le formulaire de consentement doit faire mention des divers usages possibles; par exemple, il doit énoncer en détail la nature des photos ou des vidéos et énumérer les objectifs visés de leur utilisation et de leur divulgation subséquentes.

Au moment d'obtenir le consentement explicite du patient, verbalement ou par écrit, le médecin devrait consigner au dossier la discussion relative au consentement. S'il a obtenu un formulaire signé, une copie doit se retrouver au dossier médical.


Est-il possible d'avoir recours à des photographies ou à des vidéos obtenues avant l'adoption de la loi actuelle relative à la protection de la vie privée?

Il peut s'avérer difficile, voire impossible, d'obtenir un consentement explicite en vue d'utiliser des photographies médicales prises il y a plusieurs années. La législation des provinces et des territoires relative à la protection de la vie privée n'interdit pas nécessairement l'usage continu de telles photographies médicales non identificatoires. Toutefois, s'il y a une possibilité raisonnable qu'un patient soit identifié, le médecin doit éviter de s'en servir à moins d'obtenir un consentement explicite du patient (ou de son représentant légal si le patient est décédé ou atteint d'incapacité mentale).

Cas - Essai clinique

Une femme âgée de 34, ans souffrant d'allergies et d'asthme, répond à une annonce d'un journal en vue de participer à l'essai clinique d'un nouveau médicament. Elle est évaluée par le médecin-chercheur et, dans le cadre de cette recherche, elle accepte de participer à une vidéo éducative. Subséquemment, la vidéo est diffusée à la télévision nationale.

La patiente intente une action en justice, alléguant l'absence de consentement éclairé. Elle s'attendait à ce que la vidéo serve à former des professionnels de la santé et non pas qu'elle soit diffusée publiquement. Le formulaire ne précisait pas à quel auditoire était destinée la vidéo.

En fin de compte, la patiente a abandonné la poursuite.

Cas - Article de revue spécialisée

Une patiente accepte qu'on prenne une photographie médicale pour illustrer l'approche chirurgicale utilisée dans le traitement de son cancer du sein. Son visage, ainsi que la cicatrice chirurgicale sur sa poitrine, sont visibles sur la photographie.

Le chirurgien est sollicité par un journaliste qui planifie écrire un article sur le cancer du sein pour une revue médicale. On lui remet quelques photographies médicales en précisant que les yeux des patientes doivent être masqués pour conserver l'anonymat. La photographie de cette patiente est publiée dans la revue médicale et des rectangles noirs cachent ses yeux.

La photographie n'est jamais retournée au chirurgien. Quatre ans plus tard, elle est publiée dans une autre revue spécialisée, sans rectangles noirs. La patiente y est clairement identifiable.

L'ACPM a versé une compensation à la patiente, au nom du chirurgien membre et une contribution égale a été versée par l'éditeur de la revue.

Cas - Brochure destinée au public

Une femme d'affaires de 36 ans subit un traitement esthétique du visage, et obtient un résultat exceptionnel. La patiente consent verbalement à ce que le médecin utilise des photographies prises avant et après son intervention, mais seulement dans des contextes précis (c.-à-d., à des fins scientifiques, pour la recherche ou pour des présentations éducatives). Ce consentement verbal n'est pas consigné.

Le médecin donne les photographies à un collègue de la clinique, sans préciser les restrictions quant à leur utilisation. Par la suite, la patiente apprend que ses photographies ont été publiées dans une brochure destinée au public.

La patiente a intenté une action en justice et l'ACPM lui a versé une compensation au nom du médecin membre.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.