Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Protecting children — Reporting child abuse

Originally published March 2012
P1201-2-E

Legislation in all provinces and territories mandates physicians to report suspected child abuse to child protection agencies when there are reasonable grounds to believe or suspect that a child has been or is being abused, or is at risk of abuse. Child abuse may be emotional, physical, or mental in origin and may include involvement in child pornography.

Although the CMPA is aware of some cases in which physicians have been the subject of complaints to regulatory authorities (Colleges) or legal actions for having made a report, concerns about potential medico-legal difficulties must not discourage physicians from fulfilling their statutory obligation to report reasonable concerns of abuse. Physicians who fail to meet their responsibility to report suspected child abuse in a timely manner may be subject to legal sanction by their College.

In the CMPA's experience, Colleges and courts are rarely critical of a physician's good faith decision to report suspected abuse. While courts have indicated that individuals who report suspected child abuse must act responsibly and avoid unfounded damaging reports, physicians are generally protected from legal liability when the report is made in accordance with the legislation, in good faith, and without malice. Physicians who report abuse may still face a legal action and be required to participate in court proceedings. Yet, the risks to patients experiencing abuse are greater than the medico-legal risks.

During a 10-year period (2002-2011), 28 medico-legal matters were opened by the CMPA related to a physician's reporting of suspected child abuse. Family physicians, pediatricians, and psychiatrists were most often involved. The majority (71%) of these cases involved complaints to a hospital or College, while the remainder (29%) involved threats of or actual legal actions. In the majority of cases, caregivers were upset with their family having been reported to a child protection agency. The typical allegation was that the concerns were reported without supporting evidence or based on misinterpreted physical findings. Nevertheless, the large majority of cases had a favourable medico-legal outcome for members.

The threshold for reporting suspected child abuse is based on a reasonable suspicion or belief, not actual proof of abuse. Physicians are not required to know for certain that the situation represents abuse, nor do they necessarily need to know the identity of the alleged abuser. The duty generally applies even if the physician is aware that similar concerns have already been reported by another person.

Case example

A previously well 18-month-old male was brought to his family physician by his mother.

The physician was concerned about penile bruising and buttock bruising for which the mother had no explanation. The mother raised the possibility that the injuries were sustained at daycare. Unable to find a medical explanation, the family physician consulted with a pediatrician. Before assessing the child, the pediatrician advised the family physician to report her concerns to the local child protection authority.

After her evaluation, the pediatrician also had concerns about the injuries. She discussed this with the child's mother and advised that further medical testing was necessary. She made a report to the child protection authorities, advising that in-hospital evaluations would take place the following day. Later that evening, RCMP officers accompanied the child protection worker to the family home to conduct an investigation. The child protection worker advised the parents they could not be alone with the child until such time as the medical and social investigations were completed. The family had to arrange for in-house supervision and the child underwent an extensive medical workup over the ensuing days. No other injuries were found and the pediatrician provided a report to the child protection worker stating the bruises were concerning but that no conclusions could be drawn as to their origin.

The mother complained to the College, alleging that the physicians overreacted. She alleged that the medical investigations were excessive, had unduly exposed her and her child to diagnostic radiation, and required her to take time off work to comply with medical testing and attend interviews by child protection authorities.

The College dismissed the complaint against both physicians, acknowledging they had acted in the best interests of the child and in accordance with their legal obligation to report suspected abuse.


Making a report

It is understandable that some physicians may question whether their concerns are reasonable and meet the threshold for reporting.

Physicians who are unfamiliar with reporting child abuse and who have concerns about suspected abuse should call the CMPA for advice on their obligations in this regard. The CMPA's medical officers can help members through the decision-making process. They can also inform members of the appropriate agency to whom a report should be made and review the steps to help minimize the chance of a complaint or legal action. In general, member physicians are encouraged to carefully consider all of the relevant facts and the specific legal and ethical obligations applicable in the circumstances.

Although the legislation varies among jurisdictions, reports must generally be made to child protection authorities. However, physicians may choose to report to the police in circumstances where they have reason to believe there is an imminent risk of serious bodily harm or death to a child.

Physicians who have reason to believe a child is in need of protection are responsible for seeing that the appropriate authority is informed in a timely manner. A child should not be put at risk by any unnecessary delay or delegation of the act of reporting.

A carefully planned approach with the family is helpful. Discussing in a professional, straightforward, and sensitive way, the duty and threshold for reporting, and the importance for the child, may help physicians maintain a positive relationship with the family. While it is generally preferable to be honest and transparent in these circumstances, it may not always be appropriate to inform caregivers in advance of the decision to report. Consider the safety of all those involved including the child, other family members (e.g. other siblings), the physician, and the physician's staff.

A suspicion or belief of child abuse may come as a surprise to some families. Physicians are not responsible for determining the identity of the perpetrator of the alleged abuse. They should avoid drawing unwarranted conclusions and remain professional, objective, and nonjudgmental in making the report and in discussions with the family.

Physicians should consider communicating the following information to the family, when appropriate:

  • the nature of, and reasons for, the concerns
  • the statutory duty to report, emphasizing that it is not discretionary
  • the threshold for reporting, which is based on suspicion or belief of abuse or the risk of abuse, even if it is unproven
  • the intent of the report, which is not to be judgmental, but rather a general legal requirement in the interest of the safety of children
  • the physician's role, which is limited to factually reporting concerns to the child protection authorities, and not to legally investigate

Physicians should document in the patient's medical record the concerns, discussions with family members and others, and reasons for the decision of whether to report. Discussions with child protection authorities and others in the context of making the report should also be documented. Accurate documentation can be important in establishing the facts at a later time, if necessary.

Being the subject of a report of suspected child abuse is difficult for families. If appropriate and once emotions have settled, physicians may consider offering ongoing support for the family. For example, consider whether a trust relationship still exists with the family that will allow the physician to continue to provide care to the child and other family members. Some families who resent the physician for having reported to child protection authorities may complain to the hospital or the College. In rare cases, the family may commence a legal action.

Members should contact the CMPA if they have questions or need assistance related to the duty to report child abuse, or if faced with a complaint, legal action, or threat.


Relevant information only

Physicians should provide only relevant information necessary to make a proper report, including the facts and circumstances that gave rise to the belief or suspicion of abuse.

While privacy legislation may permit physicians to disclose patient information in certain circumstances, it does not relieve physicians from their general obligations regarding patient confidentiality. In response to requests from child protection authorities or the police for additional clinical information, the physician should determine what information the authorities are legally entitled to receive. In most jurisdictions, child protection agencies are not entitled to a copy of the clinical record without appropriate authorization. In these circumstances, the physician may wish to advise the child protection agency that, while prepared to cooperate, he or she is not able to provide the requested information without the consent of the patient (or legal guardian) or a court order. Physicians are encouraged to contact the CMPA for advice on responding to such requests.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Protection des enfants – Le signalement de la maltraitance

Publié initialement en mars 2012
P1201-2-F

Dans chaque province et territoire, des lois obligent les médecins à signaler à une agence de protection de l'enfance toute forme soupçonnée de maltraitance envers un enfant lorsqu'ils ont des motifs raisonnables de croire ou de soupçonner qu'un enfant est ou a été victime de mauvais traitements ou qu'il est à risque de subir de tels traitements. Ceux-ci peuvent être de nature affective, physique ou psychologique et peuvent inclure des activités liées à la pornographie juvénile.

L'ACPM reconnaît que dans certains cas, des médecins ont fait l'objet d'une plainte à un organisme de réglementation (Collège) ou d'une action en justice après avoir effectué un signalement. Or, les soucis liés à d'éventuels problèmes médico-légaux ne doivent pas dissuader les médecins de s'acquitter de leur obligation juridique en matière de signalement lorsqu'ils ont un motif raisonnable de croire qu'un enfant est victime de maltraitance. Un médecin qui ne signale pas en temps opportun un cas soupçonné de maltraitance d'un enfant peut faire l'objet d'une sanction légale de la part de son Collège.

Selon l'expérience de l'ACPM, les Collèges et les tribunaux critiquent rarement la décision de bonne foi d'un médecin de signaler un cas soupçonné de maltraitance envers un enfant. Bien que les tribunaux aient indiqué que les personnes qui signalent un cas soupçonné de maltraitance envers un enfant doivent agir de façon responsable et éviter les signalements non fondés et préjudiciables, les médecins sont généralement protégés en matière de responsabilité légale lorsque le signalement est effectué conformément à la loi, de bonne foi et sans malveillance. Un médecin qui signale un cas de maltraitance peut tout de même être confronté à une action en justice et devoir participer à des instances judiciaires. Pourtant, les risques pour les patients victimes de maltraitance sont plus grands que les risques médico-légaux.

Sur une période de 10 ans (2002-2011), l'ACPM a ouvert 28 dossiers médico-légaux portant sur le signalement, par un médecin, de cas soupçonnés de maltraitance d'un enfant. Les omnipraticiens, les pédiatres et les psychiatres étaient le plus souvent mis en cause. La majorité (71 %) de ces dossiers faisait état d'une plainte déposée auprès d'un hôpital ou d'un Collège, alors que les autres (29 %) faisaient état d'une action en justice ou d'une menace d'action en justice. Dans la majorité des cas, les parents ou tuteurs étaient bouleversés d'avoir, avec leur famille, fait l'objet d'un signalement à une agence de protection de l'enfance. L'allégation type était que les préoccupations avaient été signalées sans preuve à l'appui ou qu'elles se fondaient sur une interprétation fautive des constatations physiques. Néanmoins, la grande majorité des cas s'est soldée par un résultat médico-légal en faveur du médecin.

Le seuil de signalement de cas soupçonnés de maltraitance d'un enfant se fonde sur un motif raisonnable de croire ou de soupçonner et non sur une preuve tangible. Le médecin n'est pas tenu d'être certain que la situation représente un cas de maltraitance, ni d'être assuré de l'identité de l'auteur présumé. De façon générale, l'obligation s'applique même lorsque le médecin est conscient que des préoccupations semblables ont déjà été signalées par une autre personne.

Exemple de cas

Une mère amène son fils de 18 mois, auparavant en bonne santé, chez l'omnipraticienne de l'enfant.

L'omnipraticienne est préoccupée par les ecchymoses sur le pénis et les fesses de l'enfant, pour lesquelles la mère n'a aucune explication. La mère soulève la possibilité que les blessures aient été infligées à la garderie. Incapable de trouver une explication médicale, l'omnipraticienne consulte une pédiatre. Avant d'évaluer l'enfant, la pédiatre recommande à l'omnipraticienne de signaler ses préoccupations à l'agence locale de protection de l'enfance.

À la suite de son évaluation, la pédiatre est elle aussi préoccupée par les blessures. Elle en discute avec la mère de l'enfant et l'informe que des examens médicaux supplémentaires s'avèrent nécessaires. Elle effectue le signalement à l'agence de protection de l'enfance, précisant que des évaluations sont prévues à l'hôpital le lendemain. Le même soir, des agents de la GRC accompagnent le préposé à la protection de l'enfance au domicile de la famille pour faire enquête. Le préposé à la protection de l'enfance informe les parents qu'ils ne peuvent être seuls avec l'enfant jusqu'à ce que les investigations médicales et sociales soient complétées. La famille doit prévoir une supervision à domicile et l'enfant fait l'objet d'investigations exhaustives au cours des prochains jours. Aucune autre blessure n'est décelée et la pédiatre remet un rapport au préposé à la protection de l'enfance précisant que, bien que les ecchymoses soient source de préoccupation, il est impossible de tirer des conclusions relatives à leur origine.

La mère dépose une plainte au Collège, alléguant que les médecins ont réagi de façon exagérée. Elle allègue que les investigations médicales étaient excessives, qu'elles l'ont indûment exposée, elle et son fils, à la radiation diagnostique, et qu'elles l'ont obligée à s'absenter du travail pour accompagner son fils lors des examens médicaux et pour assister aux entrevues effectuées par l'agence de protection de l'enfance.

Le Collège a rejeté la plainte contre les deux médecins, reconnaissant qu'ils avaient agi dans l'intérêt de l'enfant et conformément à leur obligation juridique de signaler un cas soupçonné de maltraitance.


Le signalement

Il est compréhensible que certains médecins puissent se demander si leurs préoccupations sont raisonnables et si elles atteignent le seuil du signalement.

Les médecins qui ont peu d'expérience en matière de signalement de cas de maltraitance d'enfants et qui sont préoccupés par des soupçons à cet égard devraient téléphoner à l'ACPM pour obtenir des conseils relatifs à leurs obligations en la matière. Les médecins-conseils de l'ACPM peuvent orienter les membres dans le processus de prise de décision. Ils peuvent également les informer de l'agence appropriée à laquelle faire le signalement et passer en revue les étapes à suivre afin de réduire les risques d'une plainte ou d'une action en justice. De façon générale, les médecins membres sont encouragés à songer attentivement à tous les faits pertinents ainsi qu'aux obligations juridiques et déontologiques particulières qui s'appliquent dans les circonstances.

Bien que les dispositions législatives varient d'une province et d'un territoire à un autre, de façon générale le signalement doit être fait à une agence de protection de l'enfance. Toutefois, un médecin peut choisir de faire le signalement à la police lorsqu'il a des raisons de croire qu'il existe pour un enfant un risque imminent de blessures graves ou de décès.

Si un médecin a des raisons de croire qu'un enfant a besoin de protection, il lui incombe de s'assurer que l'autorité compétente soit informée en temps opportun. En effet, l'enfant ne doit pas être exposé à des risques en raison d'un délai inutile dans le signalement ou la délégation de cet acte.

Une approche bien planifiée auprès de la famille s'avère utile. Le fait de discuter de façon professionnelle, en faisant preuve de franchise et de sensibilité, de l'obligation de signaler et du seuil du signalement, ainsi que de l'importance que cela revêt pour l'enfant, peut aider le médecin à maintenir une relation positive avec la famille. Bien qu'il soit généralement préférable de faire preuve d'honnêteté et de transparence dans de telles circonstances, il n'est pas toujours approprié d'informer à l'avance les parents ou tuteurs de la décision de signaler. Songez à la sécurité de toutes les personnes concernées, notamment l'enfant, les autres membres de la famille (p. ex., les frères et sœurs), le médecin, ainsi que son personnel.

Certaines familles peuvent être surprises par des allégations de maltraitance. Le médecin n'est pas responsable de déterminer l'identité de l'auteur des mauvais traitements. Il doit éviter de tirer des conclusions non fondées et demeurer professionnel, objectif et neutre au moment du signalement et dans ses discussions avec la famille.

Le médecin peut songer à communiquer les renseignements suivants à la famille, lorsqu'approprié :

  • la nature et les motifs des préoccupations
  • l'obligation juridique du signalement, en insistant sur le fait qu'il ne s'agit pas d'une décision discrétionnaire
  • le seuil du signalement, qui se fonde sur un motif de soupçonner un cas de maltraitance ou de risque de maltraitance, même en l'absence de preuves
  • l'intention du signalement, qui n'est pas de porter un jugement, mais qui consiste plutôt en une obligation juridique générale dans l'intérêt de la sécurité des enfants
  • le rôle du médecin, qui doit signaler de manière factuelle toute préoccupation à une agence de protection de l'enfance et non effectuer une enquête.

Le médecin devrait documenter au dossier médical du patient ses préoccupations, les discussions avec les membres de la famille et toute autre personne, ainsi que les motifs de la décision d'effectuer un signalement. Les discussions tenues avec l'agence de protection de l'enfance et avec des tiers dans le contexte du signalement devraient aussi être documentées. Au besoin, une documentation exacte peut s'avérer importante pour établir les faits à une date ultérieure.

Il est difficile pour une famille d'être l'objet d'un signalement de maltraitance soupçonnée envers un enfant. Le cas échéant, lorsque la situation sera plus calme, le médecin peut songer à offrir un soutien continu à la famille. À titre d'exemple, il peut se demander s'il existe toujours une relation de confiance avec la famille lui permettant de continuer à prodiguer des soins à l'enfant et aux autres membres de la famille. Certaines familles qui en veulent au médecin d'avoir effectué le signalement à une agence de protection de l'enfance peuvent déposer une plainte à l'hôpital ou au Collège. Dans de rares cas, la famille peut intenter une action en justice.

Les membres devraient communiquer avec l'ACPM s'ils ont des questions ou besoin d'assistance relativement à l'obligation de signaler les cas de maltraitance envers les enfants, ou encore s'ils sont confrontés à une plainte, à une action en justice ou à une menace d'action en justice.


Seuls les renseignements pertinents

Un médecin ne devrait fournir que les renseignements pertinents nécessaires pour faire un signalement, notamment les faits et circonstances ayant fait croire ou soupçonner un cas de maltraitance.

Bien que la législation relative à la protection des renseignements personnels puisse permettre aux médecins de divulguer des renseignements sur le patient dans certaines circonstances, elle ne les libère pas de leurs obligations générales de confidentialité envers le patient. Lorsqu'il répond à une demande de renseignements cliniques supplémentaires provenant d'une agence de protection de l'enfance ou des services policiers, le médecin doit déterminer quels renseignements les autorités sont légalement fondées de recevoir. Dans la plupart des provinces ou des territoires, les agences de protection de l'enfance ne sont pas fondées de recevoir une copie du dossier clinique sans autorisation appropriée. En pareille circonstance, le médecin voudra peut-être informer l'agence de protection de l'enfance que, bien qu'il soit prêt à collaborer avec elle, il n'est pas en mesure de fournir les renseignements demandés sans le consentement du patient (ou du tuteur légal) ou une ordonnance d'un tribunal. Les médecins sont encouragés à communiquer avec l'ACPM pour obtenir des conseils avant de donner suite à de telles demandes.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.