Legal and regulatory proceedings

Navigating legal or regulatory processes

The changing practice of medicine: Employment contracts and medical liability

Originally published September 2012
P1203-12-E

Physicians will likely have heard of or, in some cases, may be practising medicine through arrangements such as employment or contracts for service. If the American experience is any indication, an increasing number of doctors are considering or trying different practice arrangements. In fact, the 2012 edition of the American Hospital Association's Hospital Statistics reported that physician employment by hospitals rose by 32% since 2000.1

Within Canada, the range of new practice arrangements is quite broad, and some models are still taking shape. While these new practice arrangements can benefit physicians in a number of ways, doctors need to be familiar with the medico-legal aspects of these arrangements. A sound understanding and careful consideration of the options will help physicians make informed choices about employment, contracts, and medical liability protection.

Practice arrangements

Historically, physicians delivering care in private practices may or may not have had privileges to provide care in a hospital in their jurisdiction. When physicians did deliver care in hospitals, they normally did so under a privileges-based model that granted rights to the physicians to perform specific acts and recognized the independent nature of the doctor. Provincial and territorial legislation and regulations require specified procedures for renewing, restricting, and terminating privileges. These procedures are normally set out in regional health authority or hospital bylaws. In most cases, medical advisory committees review the applications and recommend appointment and reappointment.

The privileges-based model is also supported by civil case law which clarifies the processes that should be in place to ensure a physician's entitlement to certain rights when a hospital seeks to restrict, revoke, or fail to renew the physician's privileges. All provinces and territories have statutory appeal processes for physicians who are denied or who lose their privileges.

While the privileges model has been successful, there are other means through which physicians and hospitals can arrange for the delivery of medical services. For example, some physicians and hospitals are opting to enter into employment or contractual arrangements. There are a variety of such arrangements, including employment contracts (similar to those for other professional staff such as nurses) and service agreements (in which the doctor provides medical services as an independent contractor).

There are benefits and drawbacks to employment or contractual arrangements as well as the privileges-based system, and these depend on the specifics of the arrangement. Physicians may be attracted by a predictable income, a fixed caseload, less administration, and the attraction of work-life balance. For example, the results of the 2010 National Physician Survey2 found that nearly 38% of all responding physicians plan to reduce weekly work hours (excluding on call) in the next 2 years. Moreover, a balance between personal and professional life was identified as the most important factor for a satisfying practice by 51% of physician trainees. The survey also found that more than one quarter of current medical students would prefer a blended payment model.

Regardless of their personal situation, it is important for physicians to be aware of the procedural safeguards associated with the privileges model, and guarantees in hospital bylaws. These privileges do not necessarily extend to other arrangements such as employment contracts. The CMPA generally advises physicians engaged as employees or under contractual arrangements to ensure any proposed written agreement contains the same procedural protections that are guaranteed under the privileges model. 

Contractual arrangements can pose additional medico-legal risks for doctors that should be considered before such arrangements are finalized. For example, physicians should generally avoid indemnification clauses in their contracts that could lead them to be held legally responsible for the actions of the other party in the contract. Members are encouraged to review the CMPA's document, Medico-legal issues to consider with individual contracts. In addition, the CMPA suggests physicians review individual contractual agreements with their personal legal counsel.

Prior to entering into employment or contractual arrangements, physicians should also be clear on specific elements such as the job description, call schedule, outside activities, and contract termination.3 These elements, and others, will likely be points for negotiation between the doctor and the healthcare organization. For example, the job description  could outline specific types of care to be provided (e.g. internal medicine) and specific patient care hours. In terms of outside activities, specific conditions on items such as moonlighting, volunteer clinical work, or research should be included. Again, physicians are encouraged to review specific conditions with their personal legal counsel. 

Physicians must be attentive to their rights when an employment or contractual arrangement is renewed or ends. For example, to what extent is the doctor involved in updates or renewals to the agreement? Under what circumstances can the physician end the employment or contractual relationship? What are the consequences of termination of employment? Can the physician access hospital records if he or she leaves or is terminated? These are important questions with answers that may vary according to individual arrangements and can greatly impact physician work life and medical practice.4

The CMPA is encouraged by the latest development toward a model in which physicians are appointed to the medical staff at the health authority or hospital level. While there may be implementation risks associated with this approach, the appointment model includes many protections for physicians found within the privileges model. It also provides physicians and health authorities or hospitals many of the advantages offered through an employment or contractual arrangement. This emerging approach applies the processes normally used to grant or renew privileges to help resolve physician performance-related issues.

Liability protection

An effective medical liability system is an important part of any quality healthcare system. This assures both healthcare professionals (including physicians) and their patients that their interests and access to due process will be protected. Most Canadian physicians, including those delivering care in hospitals, obtain their liability protection from the CMPA. Hospitals and hospital employees are typically covered by the hospital's insurance arrangements.

As hospitals and physicians adopt employment and contractual arrangements, there may be an interest in considering what is known as enterprise liability protection. This model involves the hospital, health authority, or other healthcare organization assuming responsibility for providing liability protection for all individuals (even physicians) delivering care within that organization — whether as employees, independent contractors, or through other arrangements. The CMPA does not support the enterprise liability model in Canada and members should carefully examine the implications associated with enterprise liability protection. There should be no assumption that the interests of the institution and the physician will necessarily align. In addition, enterprise liability protection is limited to legal actions against the healthcare professional. For CMPA members, protection and assistance extends to a range of medico-legal circumstances, including College or hospital complaints.

As the healthcare environment adapts to fiscal and human resources constraints, physicians may be asked to consider practice arrangements that differ from the traditional privilege-based model. The CMPA encourages members to carefully review these arrangements, to consult with personal legal counsel, and to explore all dimensions and implications of such arrangements.

Further information about new practice arrangements and liability protection can be found in the CMPA's 2011 policy paper entitled, Changing physician-hospital relationships: Managing the medico-legal implications of change.

Members are encouraged to review the CMPA's document, Medico-legal issues to consider with individual contracts. In addition, the CMPA suggests physicians review individual contractual agreements with their personal legal counsel.


References

  1. Physician Insurers Association of America, "Hospital statistics show increase in physician employment," PIAA Newsbriefs, January 13, 2012.
  2. The College of Family Physicians of Canada, Canadian Medical Association, The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. 2010 National Physician Survey.
  3. Stagg Elliott, Victoria, "Seven land mines of hospital employment contracts," 2011. AmericanMedicalNews.com. Retrieved on July 31 2012 from http://www.ama-assn.org/amednews/2011/12/19/bisa1219.htm
  4. Lorrel, Amy Lynn, "Hospital employment pits work rules against physician rights," 2012. AmericanMedicalNews.com. Retrieved on July 31 2012 from  http://www.ama-assn.org/amednews/2012/01/23/prsa0123.htm

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Procédures judiciaires et réglementaires

Navigation des processus juridiques ou réglementaires

La nouvelle pratique médicale : Les contrats d’emploi et la responsabilité médicale

Publié initialement en septembre 2012
P1203-12-F

Les médecins sont vraisemblablement au courant d'arrangements régissant la pratique médicale, tels les contrats d'emploi ou les contrats de services, et dans certains cas, ils peuvent exercer la médecine en fonction de tels arrangements. À en juger par l'expérience américaine, de plus en plus de médecins envisagent ou font l'essai de divers arrangements régissant la pratique. En fait, l'édition de 2012 de Hospital Statistics de l'American Hospital Association signale que l'embauche de médecins par des hôpitaux a augmenté de 32 % depuis 2000.1

Au Canada, il existe un vaste éventail de nouveaux arrangements régissant la pratique et certains modèles sont encore en voie d'évolution. Bien que les médecins puissent être avantagés de plusieurs façons par ces nouveaux arrangements, ils se doivent d'en connaître les aspects médico-légaux. Une solide compréhension des options et une attention particulière à leur égard permettront aux médecins de faire des choix éclairés en ce qui a trait à l'emploi, aux contrats et à la protection en matière de responsabilité médicale.

Les arrangements régissant la pratique

Historiquement, les médecins qui dispensent des soins dans le cadre d'une pratique privée ont pu ou non avoir des privilèges leur permettant d'administrer des soins dans un hôpital dans leur province ou territoire. Lorsqu'un médecin dispensait des soins dans un hôpital, il bénéficiait normalement d'un modèle fondé sur des privilèges qui lui accordait des droits en vue d'effectuer des actes spécifiques et qui reconnaissait l'autonomie du médecin. Dans chaque province et territoire, des mesures législatives et réglementaires imposent des procédures désignées à suivre pour renouveler les privilèges, les restreindre ou y mettre fin. Ces procédures sont habituellement énoncées dans les règlements administratifs de l'autorité régionale en matière de soins de santé ou de l'hôpital. Dans la majorité des cas, un comité consultatif médical étudie les demandes et recommande des nominations et des reconductions.

Le modèle fondé sur les privilèges s'appuie aussi sur la jurisprudence civile qui clarifie les processus devant être en place pour garantir au médecin certains droits lorsqu'un hôpital cherche à restreindre ou à révoquer ses privilèges, ou décide de ne pas les renouveler. Toutes les provinces et tous les territoires disposent de processus d'appel prévus par la loi à l'intention des médecins qui se voient refuser ou qui perdent leurs privilèges.

Si le modèle fondé sur les privilèges a connu du succès, il existe d'autres moyens pour les médecins et les hôpitaux d'organiser la prestation des services médicaux. À titre d'exemple, certains médecins et hôpitaux ont choisi de conclure des contrats d'emploi ou des ententes contractuelles. Il existe tout un éventail de ces arrangements, y compris les contrats d'emploi (semblables à ceux d'autres membres du personnel professionnel telles les infirmières) et les contrats de services (selon lesquels le médecin fournit des services médicaux comme entrepreneur indépendant).

Les contrats d'emploi et les ententes contractuelles, tout comme le système fondé sur les privilèges, sont assortis d'avantages et d'inconvénients, lesquels varient en fonction des détails de l'entente. Un médecin peut rechercher un revenu prévisible, une charge de travail fixe, une réduction du travail administratif et un équilibre entre la vie professionnelle et la vie personnelle. Par exemple, les résultats du Sondage national des médecins 20102 ont révélé que près de 38 % de tous les médecins répondants prévoient réduire le nombre d'heures de travail hebdomadaires (excluant le travail de garde) au cours des deux prochaines années. Par ailleurs, 51 % des étudiants et des résidents en médecine ont identifié l'équilibre entre la vie professionnelle et la vie personnelle comme étant le facteur le plus important d'une pratique satisfaisante. Le sondage a également révélé que plus d'un quart des étudiants en médecine actuels préfèreraient un modèle de paiements pondérés.

Quelle que soit leur situation personnelle, il importe que les médecins soient au courant des mesures de protection procédurales associées au modèle fondé sur les privilèges, ainsi que des garanties conférées par les règlements administratifs des hôpitaux. Ces privilèges ne s'étendent pas nécessairement à d'autres ententes tels que les contrats d'emploi. L'Association conseille généralement aux médecins embauchés comme employés ou contractuels de s'assurer que toute entente écrite proposée contienne les mêmes protections procédurales que celles garanties par le modèle fondé sur les privilèges. 

Les ententes contractuelles peuvent représenter pour les médecins d'autres risques médico-légaux dont il faut tenir compte avant de les signer. Par exemple, les médecins devraient en général éviter toute clause d'indemnisation dans leurs contrats qui pourrait les rendre responsables, devant la loi, des actes de l'autre partie au contrat..

Les membres sont encouragés à passer en revue le document de l'ACPM Questions médico-légales à considérer en matière de contrats individuels. De plus, l'ACPM suggère aux médecins de revoir toute entente contractuelle individuelle avec leur avocat personnel.

Avant de conclure un contrat d'emploi ou une entente contractuelle, les médecins doivent également veiller à ce que certains éléments soient précisés, tels la description de poste, l'horaire de garde, les activités externes et la résiliation du contrat.3 Ces éléments, entre autres, constitueront vraisemblablement des points de négociation entre le médecin et l'établissement de soins de santé. Par exemple, la description de poste pourrait énumérer les types spécifiques de soins à prodiguer (c.-à-d. la médecine interne) ainsi que le nombre précis d'heures consacrées aux soins des patients. En ce qui a trait aux activités externes, les modalités propres aux activités telles le travail clinique additionnel (moonlighting), le travail clinique bénévole ou la recherche devraient y être incluses. Encore là, les médecins sont encouragés à revoir les modalités précises avec leur avocat personnel.

Les médecins doivent être soucieux de leurs droits lorsqu'un contrat d'emploi ou une entente contractuelle est renouvelée ou prend fin. Par exemple, dans quelle mesure le médecin participe-t-il aux mises à jour ou au renouvellement de l'entente? Dans quelles circonstances le médecin peut-il mettre fin à la relation contractuelle ou d'emploi? Quelles sont les conséquences de la résiliation du contrat d'emploi? Le médecin peut-il accéder aux dossiers hospitaliers s'il quitte son emploi ou est mis à pied? Il s'agit là de questions importantes, dont les réponses peuvent varier selon les ententes individuelles, et qui peuvent avoir une forte incidence sur la vie professionnelle et la pratique médicale du médecin.4

L'orientation récente vers un modèle où les médecins sont nommés membres du personnel médical au niveau de l'autorité en matière de soins de santé ou de l'hôpital est bien reçue par l'ACPM. Même si la mise en œuvre de cette approche peut comporter ses risques, le modèle fondé sur les nominations inclut un grand nombre des protections pour les médecins que l'on trouve dans le modèle fondé sur les privilèges. Par ailleurs, il fournit à la fois aux médecins et aux autorités en matière de soins de santé ou aux hôpitaux plusieurs des avantages offerts par un contrat d'emploi ou une entente contractuelle. Cette nouvelle approche applique les processus normalement utilisés pour accorder ou renouveler les privilèges à la résolution des problèmes liés au rendement des médecins.

La protection en matière de responsabilité

Un système de responsabilité médicale efficace représente un des éléments constituants nécessaires à tout système de santé de qualité. Cela garantit à la fois aux professionnels de la santé (y compris les médecins) et à leurs patients que leurs intérêts et l'accès à l'application régulière de la loi seront protégés. La majorité des médecins du Canada, y compris ceux qui dispensent des soins dans des hôpitaux, obtiennent leur protection en matière de responsabilité de l'ACPM. Les hôpitaux et leurs employés sont généralement couverts par les contrats d'assurance de l'hôpital.

Étant donné que les hôpitaux et les médecins adoptent des contrats d'emploi et des ententes contractuelles, il peut y avoir un intérêt à envisager un modèle de protection en matière de responsabilité de l'entreprise. Selon ce modèle, un hôpital, une autorité en matière de soins de santé ou un autre établissement de soins de santé assume la responsabilité d'offrir une protection en matière de responsabilité pour toutes les personnes (même les médecins) qui dispensent des soins au sein de cette organisation – soit à titre d'employés, d'entrepreneurs indépendants ou au moyen d'autres ententes. L'ACPM n'appuie pas le modèle de protection en matière de responsabilité de l'entreprise au Canada et ses membres devraient analyser soigneusement les répercussions associées à ce modèle de protection. Il ne faut pas présumer que les intérêts de l'établissement et ceux du médecin sont nécessairement les mêmes. Par ailleurs, la protection en matière de responsabilité de l'entreprise se limite aux actions en justice intentées contre un professionnel de la santé. Pour les membres de l'ACPM, la protection et l'assistance englobent une gamme de circonstances médico-légales, y compris les plaintes présentées à un Collège ou à un hôpital.

Alors que le milieu des soins de santé s'adapte aux contraintes budgétaires et de ressources humaines, les médecins peuvent être appelés à envisager des arrangements régissant la pratique qui diffèrent du modèle traditionnel fondé sur les privilèges. L'ACPM encourage ses membres à examiner attentivement ces arrangements, à consulter leur avocat personnel et à explorer toutes les dimensions et les répercussions de tels arrangements.

Des renseignements supplémentaires sur les nouveaux arrangements régissant la pratique et la protection en matière de responsabilité sont publiés dans l'énoncé de politique de 2011 de l'ACPM intitulé L'évolution des relations médecins-hôpitaux : Gérer les répercussions médico-légales du changement. Ce document est accessible sur le site web de l'Association au cmpa-acpm.ca.


Références

  1. Physician Insurers Association of America, « Hospital statistics show increase in physician employment », PIAA Newsbriefs, le 13 janvier 2012.
  2. Le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada, l'Association médicale canadienne, le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada. Sondage national des médecins 2010.
  3. Stagg Elliott, Victoria, « Seven land mines of hospital employment contracts », AmericanMedicalNews.com, consulté en ligne le 31 juillet 2012.
  4. Lorrel, Amy Lynn, « Hospital employment pits work rules against physician rights », AmericanMedicalNews.com, consulté en ligne le 31 juillet 2012.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.