Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Understanding the role of coroners and medical examiners

Originally published March 2013 / Revised June 2016
P1301-3-E

Coroners, also known as medical examiners, play an important role in public safety. While physicians may be familiar with their obligation to report certain deaths to coroners, many may not know how best to respond to a coroner's request for information. And while physicians respect the mandate of coroners and medical examiners, they must also balance co-operation with their obligations to patients.

Coroners are responsible for determining the cause and circumstances surrounding unexpected, unnatural, or unexplained deaths. They are also responsible for identifying the deceased and the time of death. This is usually done by means of an investigation and in some cases an inquest, also known as an inquiry in some jurisdictions. As part of this investigation, the coroner may order an autopsy.

During an investigation, coroners may identify practices or conditions that could have led to the death and may make recommendations to prevent similar deaths. They may also identify mortality trends over time.

The difference between a coroner and a medical examiner

While the terms "coroner" and "medical examiner" are often used interchangeably, they represent different systems of investigating deaths. For example, although medical examiners are physicians, coroners in some provinces and territories need not be physicians. The majority of provinces and territories use the coroner system to investigate deaths. Irrespective of the system, the objective remains to determine the cause and circumstances surrounding certain deaths and to identify the deceased and the time of death.

Reporting

Each province and territory has legislation governing the circumstances that require the reporting of a death to the coroner. Typically any person, including a physician, has the duty to report a death that they have reason to believe occurred under a circumstance listed in the legislation. These circumstances include violence or homicide, death during pregnancy, negligence, misconduct or malpractice, or when a death is unexplained or unexpected. The specific legislation in each jurisdiction might require physicians to report information about a death to the coroner in other circumstances.

Death certificates and medical assistance in dying

Medical assistance in dying (MAID) has been legal in Québec since December 10, 2015, and federal legislation now authorizes MAID across Canada in accordance with eligibility criteria and safeguards. It is expected that provincial and territorial legislation may be adopted to address the legislative and regulatory requirements regarding completion of death certificates in the context of MAID, and in particular the classification of the cause of death and reporting the death to the coroner or medical examiner. Physicians should be aware of any legislative and regulatory requirements regarding the reporting of the death to the coroner or medical examiner in that context.

Since the legislation usually requires that the person reporting has "reason to believe" the death occurred under one of the circumstances listed, when determining whether a death requires reporting to the coroner, physicians should consider whether they have sufficient and reliable information to draw conclusions about the circumstances of the death. When notifying the coroner, physicians should be careful to respect their duty of confidentiality to the deceased and refrain from disclosing additional information other than what is necessary to comply with the reporting obligation.

Investigations

Provincial and territorial legislation sets out the circumstances in which a coroner may obtain records about a deceased person for the purpose of conducting an investigation into the individual's death.

In most jurisdictions, the legislation provides broad investigative powers to the coroner (or the coroner's delegate) to inspect and copy records relating to the deceased. In these jurisdictions, the coroner may not need a warrant to gain access to records. Nonetheless, physicians who receive a coroner's request for patient records should ask the coroner to confirm the authority under which they are making the request. Once the coroner confirms his or her authority to review the records, physicians should co-operate with the investigation. It is an offence in many jurisdictions to hinder or interfere with a coroner's investigation.

In the Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut, a coroner must obtain a warrant to compel the disclosure of information believed to be material to the investigation unless the matter proceeds to an inquest. It is reasonable and prudent for physicians in the Territories to ask for a copy of the warrant before disclosing the requested information to the coroner or a delegate. It is also important that physicians disclose only those records listed in the warrant so as not to breach doctor-patient confidentiality.

While coroners have the power to inspect, seize, or make copies of medical records, there is no power granted in the legislation to question physicians as part of their investigation. Nonetheless, it may be reasonable for a physician to translate a shorthand notation in the patient's medical record. However, members should otherwise refrain from volunteering additional information without the consent of the deceased patient's legal representative (i.e. estate).

Inquests

Following an investigation, the coroner can make recommendations to the chief coroner (or chief medical examiner) as to whether or not an inquest or an inquiry should be held. Inquests are usually presided over by a coroner or a judge. In some jurisdictions, a jury will make findings and issue a verdict. Hearings are usually public, unless an exception applies.

Coroners and judges presiding over inquests have extensive powers to govern the proceedings. They may summon anyone as a witness to give evidence or produce documents. They also can admit evidence that might not otherwise be admissible in judicial proceedings.

Physicians may be summoned to attend an inquest to give evidence under oath about a deceased patient and may be required to bring medical records with them. Some jurisdictions (i.e. British Columbia, Alberta, Ontario, and Newfoundland and Labrador) specify that evidence given by a witness at an inquest is not admissible in other proceedings. This ensures that in those jurisdictions, testimony given by a physician at an inquest cannot be introduced as evidence against the physician in subsequent civil or regulatory proceedings. Most jurisdictions, with the exception of Manitoba and New Brunswick, specify that inquests cannot make determinations of liability or conclusions of law.

The bottom line

  • The office of the coroner or medical examiner is mandated by legislation and plays an important societal role, one which should be respected and facilitated when possible.
  • Statutory provisions may allow a coroner to access medical records, but generally do not require a physician to engage in a verbal or written dialogue with the coroner about a patient's care.
  • When disclosing information at the request of a coroner, or when fulfilling the duty to notify the coroner about a reportable death, members should consider their duty of confidentiality to the deceased patient. When a physician volunteers more information than is required to comply with the law, without obtaining the consent of the deceased patient's legal representative, the disclosure could be considered a breach of the physician's duty to protect the confidentiality of the patient's information. In the absence of a search warrant or summons, a physician is under no obligation to respond to questions posed by a coroner.
  • Members should communicate with the CMPA if they are contacted by a coroner (or delegate) for medical information or if they receive a summons or warrant to disclose records or attend an inquest.

The CMPA is pleased to assist members and provide advice when dealing with requests by coroners or medical examiners.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Comprendre le rôle des coroners et médecins légistes

Publié initialement en mars 2013 / révisé en juin 2016
P1301-3-F

Les coroners, également appelés médecins légistes, jouent un rôle important pour la sécurité du public. Même si les médecins savent sans doute qu'ils ont l'obligation de signaler certains décès au coroner, certains pourraient ignorer quelle est la meilleure manière de répondre à la demande de renseignements d'un coroner. Par ailleurs, même si les médecins respectent le mandat des coroners et médecins légistes, ils doivent également coopérer tout en maintenant un équilibre avec leurs obligations à l'égard des patients.

Les coroners ont la responsabilité d'établir la cause et les circonstances qui entourent un décès imprévu, non naturel ou inexpliqué. Ils ont également la responsabilité de déterminer l'identité de la personne décédée et le moment du décès. Ceci se fait généralement au moyen d'une investigation et dans certains cas d'une enquête médico-légale. Le coroner peut demander une autopsie dans le cadre de cette enquête.

Au cours d'une enquête, les coroners peuvent identifier les pratiques ou conditions ayant pu entraîner le décès et faire des recommandations pour éviter des décès d'origine semblable. Ils sont également en mesure d'identifier des tendances en matière de mortalité sur plusieurs années.

La différence entre un coroner et un médecin légiste

Même si les termes « coroner » et « médecin légiste » sont souvent employés de façon interchangeable, ils désignent des systèmes différents d'investigation des décès. Tandis que les médecins légistes sont médecins, les coroners qui exercent dans certaines provinces ou certains territoires ne le sont pas nécessairement. La plupart des provinces et territoires ont adopté un réseau de coroners pour mener les enquêtes sur les décès. Indépendamment du système choisi, l'objectif est de déterminer la cause et les circonstances qui entourent certains décès et de déterminer l'identité du défunt ainsi que le moment du décès.

Le signalement

Chaque province ou territoire a adopté des lois d'application qui encadrent les situations nécessitant le signalement d'un décès au coroner. Généralement, toute personne, y compris un médecin, a l'obligation de signaler un décès lorsqu'elle a des raisons de croire que celui-ci est survenu dans une des situations énumérées par la loi. Ces situations incluent les actes de violence, les homicides, les décès au cours d'une grossesse, la négligence ou faute professionnelle, l'inconduite ou le manquement aux exigences professionnelles, ou encore les cas de décès inexpliqué ou inattendu. Certaines lois spécifiques à chaque juridiction peuvent exiger que les médecins donnent à un coroner des renseignements sur un décès survenu dans d'autres situations.

Le certificat de décès et l’aide médicale à mourir

L’aide médicale à mourir est permise au Québec depuis le 10 décembre 2015 et la législation fédérale autorise maintenant l’aide médicale à mourir sous réserve du respect des critères d’admissibilité et des mesures de sauvegarde. On s’attend à ce que des lois provinciales et territoriales soit adoptées pour répondre aux exigences législatives et réglementaires concernant la rédaction des certificats de décès dans le contexte de l’aide médicale à mourir et, en particulier, en ce qui a trait à la classification de la cause du décès et au signalement du décès au coroner ou au médecin légiste. Les médecins devraient être au fait de toute exigence législative et réglementaire concernant le signalement du décès au coroner ou au médecin légiste dans ce contexte.

Étant donné que la loi exige généralement que la personne qui effectue le signalement « ait des raisons de croire » que le décès est survenu dans l'une des situations énumérées, les médecins doivent se demander, au moment de déterminer si un décès doit être signalé ou non au coroner, s'ils disposent de suffisamment de renseignements fiables pour tirer des conclusions sur les circonstances du décès. Lors du signalement au coroner, les médecins doivent prendre des précautions pour respecter leur obligation de confidentialité à l'égard du défunt et s'abstenir de divulguer plus de renseignements qu'il n'est nécessaire pour satisfaire leur obligation de signalement.

Enquêtes

Les lois provinciales et territoriales établissent les circonstances dans lesquelles un coroner peut obtenir les dossiers médicaux d'une personne décédée afin de mener une enquête sur le décès de cette personne.

Dans la plupart des provinces, les lois accordent d'importants pouvoirs d'enquête au coroner (ou à son représentant) pour inspecter et copier les dossiers liés au défunt. Dans ces provinces, le coroner peut ne pas avoir besoin d'un mandat pour avoir accès aux dossiers médicaux. Néanmoins, lorsqu'un coroner demande les dossiers médicaux d'un patient à un médecin, ce dernier devrait demander au coroner de confirmer l'autorité en vertu de laquelle il fait cette demande. Une fois que le coroner a confirmé son pouvoir légal d'examiner les dossiers, le médecin doit coopérer à l'enquête. Gêner ou entraver l'enquête d'un coroner constitue une infraction dans plusieurs provinces.

Au Yukon, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut, un coroner doit obtenir un mandat pour obliger la divulgation de renseignements jugés importants pour l'enquête, à moins que l'affaire fasse l'objet d'une enquête médico-légale. Il est raisonnable et prudent pour les médecins qui exercent dans les Territoires de demander une copie du mandat avant de divulguer les renseignements demandés au coroner ou à son représentant. Il est également important que les médecins ne divulguent que les dossiers énumérés dans le mandat, de façon à ne pas violer le secret médical qui encadre la relation médecin-patient.

Même si les coroners disposent du pouvoir d'inspecter et de saisir le dossier médical et d'en faire des copies, les lois ne leur accordent pas le pouvoir d'interroger un médecin dans le cadre de leur enquête. Néanmoins, il peut être raisonnable pour un médecin d'expliquer une note manuscrite dans le dossier médical d'un patient. Toutefois, les membres devraient par ailleurs éviter de divulguer des renseignements supplémentaires sans le consentement du représentant autorisé du patient décédé (c'est-à-dire, dans le cadre de la succession).

Enquêtes médico-légales

À la suite d'une investigation, le coroner peut recommander au coroner en chef, ou au médecin légiste en chef, qu'une enquête médico-légale soit menée ou non. Les enquêtes médico-légales sont habituellement présidées par un coroner ou un juge. Dans certaines provinces et certains territoires, un jury présentera les conclusions et rendra un verdict. Sauf exception, les audiences sont généralement publiques.

Les coroners et juges qui président aux enquêtes médico-légales ont des pouvoirs étendus pour appliquer les procédures. Ils peuvent assigner toute personne à comparaître comme témoin afin de fournir des éléments de preuve ou des documents. Ils peuvent également accepter des éléments de preuve qui ne seraient pas nécessairement admissibles dans le cadre de procédures judiciaires.

Les médecins peuvent être sommés d'assister à l'enquête et de témoigner sous serment sur un patient décédé et être contraints d'apporter les dossiers médicaux avec eux. Certaines provinces, à savoir la Colombie-Britannique, l'Alberta, l'Ontario, et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, ont établi que les éléments de preuve donnés par un témoin lors d'une enquête médico-légale ne sont pas recevables dans d'autres poursuites. Ceci garantit dans ces provinces que le témoignage fourni par un médecin lors d'une enquête médico-légale ne sera pas présenté en preuve contre le médecin dans le cadre d'une poursuite civile ou réglementaire subséquente. À l'exception du Manitoba et du Nouveau-Brunswick, la plupart des provinces précisent que les enquêtes médico-légales ne peuvent pas déterminer la responsabilité, ni formuler des conclusions de loi.

En bref

  • Le bureau du coroner ou du médecin légiste est mandaté par la loi et joue un rôle sociétal important qui doit être respecté et appuyé quand cela est possible.
  • Les dispositions légales peuvent permettre à un coroner d'accéder aux dossiers médicaux, mais n'exigent généralement pas qu'un médecin engage un dialogue verbal ou écrit avec le coroner au sujet des soins d'un patient.
  • Les membres devraient prendre en considération leur obligation de confidentialité à l'égard d'un patient décédé lorsqu'ils divulguent des renseignements à la demande d'un coroner, ou qu'ils satisfont à l'obligation de signaler un décès à déclaration obligatoire. La divulgation de renseignements supplémentaires non requis par la loi et sans le consentement d'un représentant autorisé du défunt pourrait être considérée comme une violation de l'obligation de protéger la confidentialité des renseignements du patient décédé. En l'absence de mandat de recherche ou d'assignation à comparaître, un médecin n'a pas d'obligation à répondre aux questions d'un coroner.
  • Il est recommandé aux membres de communiquer avec l'ACPM si un coroner (ou son représentant) leur demande des renseignements médicaux ou s'ils reçoivent une assignation à comparaître ou un mandat pour divulguer des dossiers médicaux ou assister à une enquête médico-légale.

C'est avec plaisir que l'ACPM prête assistance et fournit des conseils aux membres pour gérer les demandes provenant de coroners ou de médecins légistes.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.