■ Safety of care:

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Advocacy for change: An important role to undertake with care

Megaphone with stethoscope isolated on orange background. 3d illustration

Originally published June 2014 / Revised November 2020
20-13-E

As seen during the COVID-19 pandemic, many physicians may be unclear on their role in advocating for additional healthcare resources, appropriate allocation of existing resources, or countering clinical misinformation spread through social media.

Advocacy is generally defined as support or argument for a cause or a person. Physicians are advocates for their patients and for healthcare improvements, but this dimension of medical care can be challenging if the role of physician advocacy is not clear. Numerous definitions and various interpretations of the term can make it difficult to determine what advocacy approaches will be effective and considered appropriate.

A deep tradition

Advocacy has a long and deep tradition in medicine. Recognizing the credibility associated with the medical profession, physicians have traditionally been called on to speak up on behalf of patients or others in need, and to influence policy or program changes. In particular during the COVID-19 pandemic, many organizations and authors highlighted the important role physicians play in countering medical misinformation and advocating for vulnerable patients and regulatory or policy changes to ease the burden on the healthcare system.1-5

Advocacy is embedded in many aspects of the medical profession, and as a result, medical associations/federations or organizations have developed programs, policies, and statements that define the role of physicians in advocacy.

The Canadian Medical Association states doctors "must be able to freely advocate when necessary on behalf of their patients and should do so in a way that respects the views of others and is likely to bring about meaningful change that will benefit their patients and the healthcare system."6

Health advocacy is also one of the core roles for physicians as outlined by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and the College of Family Physicians of Canada in the CanMEDS Framework.7,8 In the Royal College document, the health advocate role states "…physicians contribute their expertise and influence as they work with communities or patient populations to improve health. They work with those they serve to determine and understand needs, speak on behalf of others when required, and support the mobilization of resources to effect change."7

As well, many medical regulatory authorities (Colleges).9-12 have indicated it is generally appropriate for doctors to advocate responsibly, and advocacy should not interrupt the safe provision of care. Jurisdictions such as Alberta have developed detailed resources to support physicians in their advocacy work.13

Advocacy at many levels

While advocacy is intrinsic to a physician's role, the approaches to fulfilling this responsibility vary and may sometimes cause difficulty for physicians. For example, ambiguity about the appropriate level of advocacy and the accepted approaches can lead to misunderstandings or conflicts between physicians, or between physicians and other individuals or groups. This uncertainty can also lead to accusations of overstepping bounds, irresponsibility, or inappropriate behaviours and actions. Failure to successfully influence change through advocacy can lead to frustration, cynicism, and complacency.

Healthcare advocacy by physicians can occur at many levels and can take different forms. For example, doctors often advocate for individual patients by requesting timely diagnostic tests, access to certain treatments, or referral to a specialist. Physicians may advocate at the regional level or for groups of patients, for example by supporting an expanded community health centre or by seeking funding for a health provider to join a hospital. At the system level, physicians may advocate for a provincial medical association/federation’s strategy or activities to improve healthcare overall. Advocacy can also be global, for instance, when physicians support health-related environmental protection.

Advocacy strategies can vary from one-on-one discussions with those in authority, to letter writing and social media campaigns. Physicians will want to consider the appropriateness of the campaign, and their role in it. Before engaging in any public advocacy activity, physicians should consider whether it is necessary or appropriate to discuss the planned activity with parties who may be affected (e.g. patient/family, other members of the care team, clinic, hospital, health authority, etc.). While it is generally a courtesy for physicians working in hospitals to notify the hospital administration in advance, some hospitals may require that express permission be obtained before a physician embarks on activities that could be interpreted as directly involving the hospital. Hospitals, institutions, and health authorities may have policies or guidelines on the role of physicians in advocacy activities, including media or social media campaigns. Colleges may also have policies or guidelines concerning social media use by physicians, which may apply to advocacy conducted through a social media platform.14,15 When speaking publicly, physicians should be clear when their comments are made in a personal capacity or on behalf of a third party.

The CMPA recognizes there may sometimes be ambiguity regarding what constitutes appropriate advocacy. The Association believes physicians should remain engaged in healthcare decision-making and advocate in a professional manner for the interests of patients and the healthcare system. For example, many physicians strongly support health promotion initiatives such as influenza vaccines. Some doctors may back patients in their quest for new healthcare programs, encourage new disease treatment options, or promote innovation at the point of care. Others may speak out in support of restrictions imposed by public health when dealing with a pandemic or public health emergency.

All of these activities are appropriate as long as physicians act professionally, provide an informed perspective, and offer constructive input and recommendations to the appropriate groups or individuals. Even advocating in a personal capacity or repeating the comments of others can lead to scrutiny by regulatory authorities and/or hospitals, particularly when the advocacy is perceived to reflect negatively on the reputation of the medical profession. For example, physicians who retweet misinformation about purported cures or treatments for illnesses can expect questions from their College or hospital.

Learning about advocacy

Medical students may be attracted to medicine because of the impact that medical care, including advocacy, can have on individuals and society. Trainees and new physicians are often particularly exposed to patients with diverse backgrounds and circumstances, including refugees, the homeless, and marginalized patient groups. Involvement in the care of such patients can generate an interest in advocating for the healthcare needs of vulnerable patients.

Doctors are well-positioned to identify areas for health system change and to recommend improvements. While many physicians are very skilled advocates, these abilities are not necessarily natural for all doctors. Most often, advocacy is a learned skill.

While physician advocacy is increasingly discussed in undergraduate and postgraduate medical curricula, medical students and physicians may wish to seek out other sources of information and training. The Canadian Medical Association offers an advocacy skills training program that includes tips for building successful relationships with elected officials and building an effective advocacy campaign.16

Medical regulatory authorities (Colleges) have also made efforts to clarify how physicians can advocate effectively. For example, the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta helps physicians understand how, when, and under what circumstances they can advocate effectively.9,10 In Ontario, the College has a policy on Physician Behaviour in the Professional Environment that recognizes advocacy as an important component of the physician’s role.11 In Québec the advocacy role is embedded in the College’s Code of Ethics of Physicians. The Code indicates that a "physician must collaborate with other physicians in maintaining and improving the availability and quality of the medical services to which a clientele or population must have access."12

Advocating in institutions

Physicians working in healthcare institutions may face additional hurdles when advocating for patients or system changes. For example, doctors working in facilities may have to channel their recommendations for change through committees, or chiefs of divisions/departments. In some instances, there have been disagreements between individual doctors and hospitals or health authorities where the hospitals or health authorities had guidelines, bylaws, or policies on how to advocate for improvements.

Despite these challenges, as healthcare providers and leaders, physicians play a much-needed role in helping improve and sustain the health system. This may include being involved in structural changes, priority setting, resource allocation decisions, quality improvement projects, or initiatives to improve patient safety, among other matters. All who advocate within the system should demonstrate recognition of competing demands. Physician advocacy should be accompanied by evidence of that awareness.17

When advocating within their institutions, the CMPA recommends doctors:

  • Approach the issue with transparency, professionalism, and integrity. Keep that approach when on social media. For example, use appropriate language, and review the entire thread of a conversation or any embedded links before retweeting.
  • Work within approved channels of communication.
  • Discuss concerns, suggestions, and recommendations calmly.
  • Provide an informed perspective, and seek the perspectives of patients and other healthcare professionals.
  • Use evidence to help persuade others.
  • Remain open to alternative suggestions or solutions, and try to build on areas of consensus.
  • Be cognizant that not all good ideas can be implemented at once; be patient.

Final thoughts

The challenges facing physicians in today's practice environment are growing at the same time that patients face a complex and shifting healthcare system. As a result, patients will continue to look to you, their doctor, as a trusted source for healthcare information and support. Consequently, it is likely advocacy will only increase in importance. While the definition of appropriate advocacy in healthcare is evolving, you can show leadership by remaining engaged and seeking to advance your viewpoints in a professional and appropriate manner. If you have questions or concerns about advocacy, contact the CMPA to discuss them with a physician advisor.


References

  1. Tang B, Zhou LL. COVID-19: An Accidental Catalyst For Change In The Canadian Health Care System. BCMJ. 2020 Sep [cited 2020 Oct 26];62(7).
  2. Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada Newsroom Announcements. RCPSC;2020 Apr 9. Canada’s doctors launch new campaign to bring health information about COVID-19 to Canadians [cited 2020 Oct 26].
  3. HealthLeaders. HealthLeaders media; 2020 Jun 1. Physician Advocate: Coronavirus Pandemic Shows Need to Ease Regulatory Burdens [cited 2020 Oct 26].
  4. American Medical Association Patient Support and Advocacy. AMA; 2020 Sep 22. COVID-19 misinformation: What physicians can do to stop it [cited 2020 Oct 26].
  5. Health Affairs Blog. Project HOPE; 2020 Aug 19. No Longer An Elective Pursuit: The Importance Of Physician Advocacy In Everyday Medicine [cited 2020 Oct 26].
  6. CMA Policy. Canadian Medical Association;2012 p.14. The Evolving Professional Relationship between Canadian Physicians and Our Health Care System: Where Do We Stand? [reviewed 2019 Mar 3; cited: 2020 Oct 26].
  7. Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. RCPSC;2015. CanMEDS Role: Health Advocate [cited 2020 Oct 26].
  8. Shaw E, Oandasan I, Fowler N, eds. CanMEDS-FM 2017: A competency framework for family physicians across the continuum. Mississauga: The College of Family Physicians of Canada; 2017.
  9. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta. AMA;2015. Code of Conduct, Expectations for Alberta Physicians [cited 2020 Oct 16].
  10. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta. AMA;2017. Advice to the Profession: Professional Courtesy [cited 2020 Oct 26].
  11. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario. CPSO;2007. Physician Behaviour in the Professional Environment [reviewed and updated May 2016;cited 2020 Oct 26].
  12. Collège des médecins du Québec. CMQ ; 2015. Code of ethics of physicians [cited 2017 Apr 28].
  13. Alberta Medical Association. AMA. Physician Advocacy [cited 2020 Oct 26].
  14. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario. Social Media- Appropriate Use by Physicians [cited 2020 Oct 26].
  15. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta. AMA; 2020. Advice to the Profession: Social Media [cited 2020 Oct 26].
  16. Canadian Medical Association. Advocacy skills coaching [cited 2020 Oct 26].
  17. Wasylenko E. Jugglers, tightrope walkers, and ringmasters: Priority setting, allocation, and reducing moral burden. Healthc Manage Forum (summer 2013);26(2):79. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.hcmf.2013.04.006

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Sécurité des soins :

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Influencer le changement : Un rôle important à assumer avec soin

Publié initialement en juin 2014 / révisé en novembre 2020
20-13-F

Comme nous l’avons vu pendant la pandémie de COVID-19, de nombreux médecins sont incertains quant à leur rôle lorsque vient le temps de plaider en faveur de ressources de santé additionnelles ou d’une meilleure attribution des ressources existantes, ou encore de contrer la désinformation d’ordre clinique propagée par les médias sociaux.

La promotion de la santé est généralement définie comme le soutien ou la présentation d’arguments en faveur d’une cause ou d’une personne. Les médecins défendent les intérêts de leurs patients et font la promotion de l’amélioration des soins de santé. Cet aspect des soins médicaux peut toutefois représenter un défi si ce rôle n’est pas bien défini. Étant donné le nombre de définitions et d’interprétations de ce concept, il peut être difficile de déterminer quelles approches sont efficaces et jugées appropriées.

Une tradition bien ancrée

La promotion de la santé s’inscrit dans une longue et profonde tradition en médecine. Reconnaissant la crédibilité associée à la profession médicale, les médecins sont traditionnellement invités à s’exprimer au nom des patients et d’autres personnes dans le besoin, et à influencer les changements de politiques ou de programmes. Particulièrement pendant la pandémie de COVID-19, de nombreuses organisations et de nombreux auteurs ont souligné le rôle important que jouent les médecins dans la lutte contre la désinformation dans le domaine médical, dans la défense des intérêts des patients vulnérables, et dans la promotion de changements aux règlements ou aux politiques en vue d’alléger le fardeau imposé au système de santé.1-5

Ce concept étant intrinsèque à de nombreux aspects de la profession médicale, les associations, fédérations et organisations médicales ont élaboré des programmes, des politiques et des énoncés de position qui définissent le rôle que les médecins jouent dans la promotion de la santé.

L’Association médicale canadienne précise que les médecins « doivent pouvoir intervenir librement pour le compte de leurs patients d’une façon qui respecte l’opinion d’autrui et sera susceptible d’entraîner des changements réels dont bénéficieront leurs patients et le système de santé ».6

La promotion de la santé constitue également l’un des rôles fondamentaux que jouent les médecins comme le soulignent le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada et le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada dans le Référentiel CanMEDS.7,8 Dans ce document du Collège royal, le rôle « Promoteur de la santé » est défini comme suit : « …les médecins mettent à profit leur expertise et leur influence en œuvrant avec des collectivités ou des populations de patients en vue d’améliorer la santé. Ils collaborent avec ceux qu’ils servent afin d’établir et de comprendre leurs besoins, d’être si nécessaire leur porte-parole, et de soutenir l’allocation des ressources permettant de procéder à un changement. »7

De même, plusieurs organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges)9-12 ont indiqué qu’il est généralement approprié que les médecins assument leur rôle de promoteur de la santé de façon responsable; ces Collèges indiquent également que la promotion de la santé ne devrait pas empêcher les médecins de prodiguer des soins sécuritaires. Certaines provinces comme l’Alberta ont élaboré des ressources détaillées pour soutenir les médecins dans ce rôle.13

La promotion de la santé à plusieurs niveaux

Même si la promotion de la santé est au cœur des rôles d’un médecin, les approches pour assumer cette responsabilité varient et peuvent parfois engendrer des difficultés pour les médecins. Par exemple, l’incertitude à l’égard du niveau approprié de promotion de la santé et des approches acceptées en la matière peuvent conduire à des malentendus, voire à des conflits, entre médecins ou entre les médecins et d’autres personnes. Cette incertitude peut également conduire à des accusations de dépassement des limites, d’irresponsabilité ou de comportements et de gestes inappropriés. Lorsque les efforts de promotion de la santé ne parviennent pas à influer sur le changement, cela peut donner lieu à de la frustration, du cynisme et mener à l’indifférence.

Les médecins peuvent faire la promotion de la santé à plusieurs niveaux et sous différentes formes. Par exemple, les médecins défendent souvent les intérêts de patients en demandant en temps opportun des examens diagnostiques, l’accès à des traitements particuliers ou un rendez-vous chez un spécialiste. Les médecins peuvent défendre les intérêts de groupes de patients ou promouvoir la santé au niveau régional en soutenant, par exemple, l'expansion d'un centre de santé communautaire ou en cherchant à obtenir le financement d'un poste à l'hôpital pour un autre professionnel de la santé. Au niveau du système, les médecins peuvent défendre les stratégies ou les activités d'une association ou fédération médicale provinciale qui visent à améliorer les soins de santé dans leur ensemble. La promotion de la santé peut également se faire sur un plan plus global, lorsque les médecins soutiennent, par exemple, des initiatives environnementales liées à la santé.

Les stratégies de promotion de la santé vont d’entretiens individuels avec des personnes d’autorité à la rédaction de lettres, en passant par des campagnes sur les réseaux sociaux. Il est recommandé aux médecins de s’interroger sur la pertinence de telles campagnes et sur leur participation. Avant de participer à une quelconque activité publique de promotion de la santé, les médecins doivent se demander s’il est nécessaire ou approprié de discuter de l’activité prévue avec les parties pouvant en être affectées, comme les patients et leur famille, d’autres membres de l’équipe soignante, la clinique, l’hôpital, ou l’autorité en matière de santé. Même s'il est généralement de mise pour les médecins qui exercent dans un hôpital d'informer à l'avance l'administration de l'établissement, certains hôpitaux peuvent exiger qu'une permission explicite soit obtenue avant qu'un médecin ne participe à des activités qui pourraient être perçues comme relevant directement de l'hôpital. Les hôpitaux, établissements et autorités en matière de santé peuvent avoir des politiques ou des lignes directrices portant sur le rôle des médecins dans les activités de promotion de la santé, notamment auprès des médias et sur les réseaux sociaux. Les Collèges pourraient également disposer de politiques ou de lignes directrices en ce qui concerne l’utilisation des médias sociaux par les médecins, lesquelles pourraient être applicables aux activités de promotion de la santé menées au moyen d’une plateforme de média social.14,15 Lorsqu’ils s’expriment en public, les médecins doivent clairement indiquer si leurs commentaires se font à titre personnel ou au nom d’un tiers.

L’ACPM reconnaît qu’il peut être parfois difficile de déterminer ce qui constitue une promotion appropriée de la santé. L’Association estime que les médecins doivent continuer de s’engager dans le processus décisionnel en matière de soins de santé et défendre de manière professionnelle le système de santé et les intérêts des patients. Ainsi, nombre de médecins soutiennent fortement des initiatives de promotion de la santé telles que les campagnes de vaccination contre la grippe. Certains peuvent appuyer les démarches de patients à la recherche de nouveaux programmes de soins, encourager de nouvelles options thérapeutiques ou encore promouvoir l’innovation au point de prestation des soins. D’autres pourraient s’exprimer en faveur de restrictions imposées par la santé publique en présence d’une pandémie ou d’une urgence de santé publique.

Toutes ces activités sont appropriées à partir du moment où les médecins agissent de manière professionnelle, fournissent un point de vue éclairé et offrent un apport et des recommandations constructives aux personnes ou aux groupes appropriés. Même les prises de position à titre personnel ou le simple fait de répéter les commentaires de tiers peut mener à un examen de la part des organismes de réglementation ou des hôpitaux, particulièrement lorsque de telles activités sont perçues comme donnant lieu à une perception négative de la réputation de la profession médicale. Par exemple, les médecins qui propagent, en retransmettant des gazouillis, de la désinformation quant à de prétendues approches thérapeutiques peuvent s’attendre à des questions de la part de leur Collège ou de leur hôpital.

Se familiariser avec la promotion de la santé

Les étudiants en médecine peuvent être attirés par la médecine en raison de l’influence que les soins médicaux, y compris la promotion de la santé, peuvent avoir sur les personnes et la société. Les apprenants et les nouveaux médecins sont souvent particulièrement exposés à des patients issus de divers contextes et présentant des circonstances variées, dont des réfugiés, des sans-abris et des groupes de patients marginalisés. La participation aux soins prodigués à de tels patients peut générer un intérêt envers la cause des besoins de santé de patients vulnérables.

Les médecins sont bien placés pour identifier les secteurs du système de santé nécessitant des changements et pour recommander des améliorations. Si de nombreux médecins sont des promoteurs très habiles, ces habiletés ne sont pas nécessairement naturelles pour tous les médecins. En réalité, la promotion de la santé est le plus souvent une compétence acquise.

Même si la promotion de la santé est de plus en plus abordée dans les programmes de formation prédoctorale et postdoctorale, il est recommandé aux étudiants en médecine et aux médecins de chercher d’autres sources d’information et d’apprentissage. L'Association médicale canadienne offre une formation en techniques de représentation qui comporte des conseils sur la façon de bâtir de solides relations avec des élus et de concevoir une campagne efficace de promotion de la santé.16

Les organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) ont également fait des efforts pour clarifier la façon dont les médecins peuvent promouvoir la santé avec efficacité. Par exemple, le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Alberta aide les médecins à comprendre comment, quand et dans quelles circonstances ils peuvent être des promoteurs de la santé efficaces.9,10 En Ontario, l'Ordre a une politique intitulée Physician Behaviour in the Professional Environment (Comportement du médecin dans le milieu professionnel) qui reconnaît l'importance de la promotion de la santé dans l’exercice de la médecine.11 Au Québec, cette notion est inscrite au Code de déontologie des médecins du Collège des médecins du Québec. Le Code stipule que « Le médecin doit collaborer avec les autres médecins au maintien et à l’amélioration de la disponibilité et de la qualité des services médicaux auxquels une clientèle ou une population doit avoir accès. »12

La promotion de la santé au sein des établissements

Les médecins qui exercent dans des établissements de santé pourraient faire face à des obstacles additionnels au moment de défendre les intérêts des patients ou de préconiser des changements systémiques. Par exemple, ils peuvent devoir diriger leurs recommandations de modification vers des comités, ou des chefs de service ou de département. Dans certains cas, les lignes directrices, règlements ou politiques établies par les hôpitaux ou autorités en matière de santé sur la façon de promouvoir des améliorations ont mené à des désaccords entre ces établissements et certains médecins.

Malgré ces défis, les médecins ont un rôle très important à jouer, en tant que chefs de file et professionnels de la santé, dans l'amélioration et la préservation du système de santé. Ceci peut inclure, entre autres, la participation à des changements structurels, à l’établissement de priorités, à des décisions d’attribution de ressources, à des projets d’amélioration de la qualité, ou à des initiatives pour améliorer la sécurité des patients. Tous ceux qui font la promotion de la santé au sein du système devraient démontrer qu’ils ont conscience de l’existence d’exigences contradictoires. La promotion de la santé doit être associée à des preuves de cette prise de conscience.17

L’ACPM recommande les approches suivantes aux médecins qui font la promotion de la santé au sein de leur établissement :

  • Aborder la question avec transparence, professionnalisme et intégrité. Il faut en faire tout autant dans les médias sociaux. Il faut, par exemple, utiliser un discours approprié et s’assurer, avant de retransmettre un gazouillis, de lire le fil intégral d’une conversation ou de consulter les liens qu’il contient.
  • Travailler dans le cadre des canaux de communication approuvés.
  • Discuter calmement des problèmes, des suggestions et des recommandations.
  • Fournir un point de vue éclairé et obtenir le point de vue des patients et d’autres professionnels de la santé.
  • Avoir recours à des données probantes pour persuader autrui.
  • Rester ouvert aux autres suggestions ou solutions et exploiter les points de convergence.
  • Reconnaître que les bonnes idées ne peuvent être toutes mises en œuvre en même temps : s’armer de patience.

Dernières réflexions

Les défis auxquels les médecins sont confrontés dans l’environnement actuel de leur pratique s’accroissent en même temps que les patients font face à un système de soins de santé complexe et fluctuant. Les patients continueront donc à se fier à vous, leur médecin, pour obtenir de l’information fiable sur la santé et du soutien. Par conséquent, il est probable que, à l’avenir, la notion même de promotion de la santé gagne en importance. Même si la définition d’une promotion de la santé appropriée continue d’évoluer, vous pouvez démontrer votre leadership en restant engagé et en faisant avancer votre point de vue de manière professionnelle et appropriée. Pour toute question ou préoccupation au sujet de la promotion de la santé, communiquez avec l'ACPM pour en discuter avec un médecin-conseil.


Références

  1. Tang B, Zhou LL. COVID-19: An Accidental Catalyst For Change In The Canadian Health Care System. BCMJ. 2020 Sep [cité le 26 oct. 2020];62(7).
  2. Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada, Ottawa:CRMCC; 9 avril 2020. Les médecins du Canada lancent une nouvelle campagne de renseignements sur la COVID-19 [cité le 26 oct. 2020].
  3. HealthLeaders. HealthLeaders media; 2020 Jun 1. Physician Advocate: Coronavirus Pandemic Shows Need to Ease Regulatory Burdens [cité le 26 oct. 2020].
  4. American Medical Association Patient Support and Advocacy. AMA; 2020 Sep 22. COVID-19 misinformation: What physicians can do to stop it [cité le 26 oct. 2020].
  5. Health Affairs Blog. Project HOPE; 2020 Aug 19. No Longer An Elective Pursuit: The Importance Of Physician Advocacy In Everyday Medicine [cité le 26 oct. 2020]. DOI: 10.1377/hblog20200817.667867
  6. Association médicale canadienne. Politique de l’AMC. Ottawa:AMC; 2012 p.14. Évolution du lien professionnel entre les médecins du Canada et notre système de santé : Où en sommes-nous? [révisé le 3 mars 2019; cité le 26 oct. 2020].
  7. Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada, Ottawa:CRMCC;2015. Rôle CanMEDS : Promoteur de la santé [cité le 26 oct. 2020].
  8. Shaw E, Oandasan I, Fowler N, eds. CanMEDS-FM 2017: A competency framework for family physicians across the continuum. Mississauga: The College of Family Physicians of Canada; 2017.
  9. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta. AMA;2015. Code of Conduct, Expectations for Alberta Physicians [cité le 16 oct. 2020].
  10. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta. AMA;2017. Advice to the Profession: Professional Courtesy [cité le 26 oct. 2020].
  11. Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario. CPSO;2007. Physician Behaviour in the Professional Environment [révisé et mis à jour en mai 2016; cité le 26 oct. 2020].
  12. Collège des médecins du Québec. CMQ ; 2015. Code de déontologie des médecins [cité le 28 avr. 2017].
  13. Alberta Medical Association. AMA. Physician Advocacy [cité le 26 oct. 2020].
  14. Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario. Social Media- Appropriate Use by Physicians [cité le 26 oct. 2020].
  15. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta. AMA; 2020. Advice to the Profession: Social Media [cité le 26 oct. 2020].
  16. Association médicale canadienne. Formation en techniques de représentation [cité le 26 oct. 2020].
  17. Wasylenko E. Jugglers, tightrope walkers, and ringmasters: Priority setting, allocation, and reducing moral burden. Healthc Manage Forum (summer 2013);26(2):79. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.hcmf.2013.04.006

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.