Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Know the rules, avoid the risks: Treating family and friends

Originally published April 2014
W14-003-E

At some point in their careers, most doctors will find themselves faced with having to decide whether to treat a family member, a friend, or even themselves. So, what's appropriate? What are the professional boundaries when it comes to self-treating or treating individuals a doctor knows personally?

The practice of medicine is based on a physician-patient relationship and requires acting in the best interests of patients.  Knowing who a physician can or should treat, and under what circumstances, are valid questions in light of a physician's obligations. The integrity of a professional relationship, which is the basis of quality care, can be compromised if there is an emotional, familial, or personal affiliation. Treating a person with whom the physician has an intimate relationship can lead to serious consequences and potentially result in the loss of the right to practice.

Ideally, treatment of family and friends, as well as self-treatment, should be avoided. Physicians should also refrain from accessing their own health information or the confidential health information of family members or friends. Doing this can put physicians in conflict with privacy laws and the administrative protocols of the institution or facility that is the custodian or trustee of the health records.

Quality of care demands professional objectivity

There are several reasons for knowing and respecting boundaries, and for maintaining a professional relationship with patients. When the patient is a member of the family or a close friend, it may be difficult for a physician to obtain a detailed history, conduct sensitive examinations, or provide comprehensive treatment options.  As well, maintaining confidentiality can be difficult, records may be inadequate, and other family members may expect similar attention.

A patient who is treated by a doctor with whom there is a personal relationship  — either as a friend or family member — may not give accurate information or an exact history, or pursue a second opinion or alternative treatment, simply because they feel it is inappropriate to question the care of a doctor they "know." Similarly, a physician's objectivity and judgment may be hindered if they try to assess and treat their own medical conditions.

Through electronic record systems, physicians often have easy access to their own health information, as well as that of family and friends. Such access may be convenient, but inappropriate authorization or failing to follow the protocols of the institution or facility that is the custodian of the health record can lead to repercussions, even if patient consent has been obtained.  Aside from the potential for a breach of privacy or a violation of the facilities' protocols, there is the possibility of medico-legal consequences if it is determined that a physician-patient relationship was created as the result of the physician reviewing and providing clinical comments on the information. For more information on this topic see "Protecting patient health information in electronic records" as well as the CMPA's Electronic Records Handbook [PDF].

When circumstances compel treatment

There are times, however, when physicians will treat someone with whom they have a personal relationship. These are viewed as exceptions that can occur for minor health conditions or when there is need for emergency care and no other physician is readily available.

Under these circumstances, the doctor must transfer care to another qualified health professional as soon as possible and practical. The decision to treat or to refer the patient to another physician should be documented.

The Canadian Medical Association's Code of Ethics states: "Limit treatment of yourself or members of your immediate family to minor or emergency services and only when another physician is not readily available; there should be no fee for such treatment.1"

The College perspective

Some medical regulatory authorities (Colleges) have outlined what is expected of physicians when considering treatment of family members, or self-treatment.  They generally cite concerns for quality of care and state that occasions where this practice is acceptable are very limited.

As well, most Colleges have policies on prescribing. Often these are similar to the policies on treating family or friends: physicians should not write a prescription for themselves or family members for controlled drugs or any drugs that are addicting or habituating, even when another physician is in charge of managing the medication.

A physician's prescribing privileges may be revoked if narcotics or controlled drugs are prescribed to family members or if a physician self-prescribes these substances. Treating or prescribing any drugs, especially controlled substances, to oneself or to family or friends could lead to allegations of professional misconduct.

Defining the parameters

Providing care generally includes examining a patient, ordering tests and interpreting results, making and communicating a diagnosis, and prescribing medications or taking other measures.

As noted, only in exceptional circumstances, such as care for minor or emergent conditions, is the treatment of family and friends tolerated. A minor condition can be defined as one that is not urgent or serious — essentially conditions that require short-term, routine care and do not indicate a more serious condition requiring medical expertise. Emergent care occurs when someone appears to be experiencing severe suffering or is at risk of serious bodily harm if medical care is not provided quickly.

A family member or friend can be a physician's spouse or partner, parent, child, sibling, grandparent, or grandchild. It may also be the immediate family of a physician's spouse or partner. It includes other individuals with whom the doctor has a personal or emotional involvement and that the physician would have difficulty providing objective and professional diagnoses and care.

Sometimes it can be difficult to evaluate whether there is a personal relationship with an individual. When this occurs, the doctor should consider the impact that knowing the individual personally could have on the quality of the treatment provided. Here are a few questions that may help physicians determine the nature of their relationship with individuals:2

  • Could the relationship impact acting in this individual's best interests?
  • Could treating this person be difficult because it would be too uncomfortable to ask the questions required to make a proper diagnosis? Could this person feel uncomfortable providing truthful answers that are necessary for the diagnosis?
  • Would the relationship with this person make it difficult to maintain patient confidentiality or make a mandatory report?
  • Would it be difficult to allow this person to make a personal healthcare decision that does not adhere to the medical advice given?

Members should consult the policies of the College in their jurisdiction for more information on the professional obligations for self-treatment or the treatment of family and friends. Members may also want to call the CMPA for guidance on this issue.

 

References
 

1. Canadian Medical Association, "CMA Code of Ethics," 2004. Accessed April 4, 2014 from: http://www.cma.ca/code-of-ethics

2. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, "Treating Self and Family Members" November 2006. Retrieved November 15 2013 from: http://www.cpso.on.ca/uploadedFiles/policies/policies/policyitems/treating_self.pdf

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Traiter les membres de la famille ou les amis : Connaissez-vous les règles de l’art?

Publié initialement en avril 2014
W14-003-F

À un moment ou un autre de leur carrière, la plupart des médecins doivent faire face à la décision de traiter un membre de leur famille ou un ami, ou de se soigner eux-mêmes. Qu'est-il approprié de faire dans ces circonstances? Quelles limites professionnelles un médecin doit-il s'imposer quand vient le temps de s'autotraiter ou de traiter des gens qu'il connaît personnellement?

L'exercice de la médecine est fondé sur une relation professionnelle et requiert que le médecin agisse dans l'intérêt du patient. Qui peut-il traiter? Qui devrait-il traiter? Dans quelles circonstances? Voilà des questions valides compte tenu de ses obligations. L'intégrité de la relation professionnelle, qui est le fondement de la qualité des soins, peut en effet être compromise s'il existe un lien émotionnel, familial ou personnel entre un médecin et son patient. Le traitement d'une personne avec laquelle le médecin entretient une relation intime peut entraîner des conséquences importantes et possiblement mener à la perte du droit d'exercer.

Idéalement, il faudrait éviter de traiter les membres de sa famille ou ses amis, de même que de se traiter soi-même. Les médecins doivent également éviter d'accéder à leurs propres renseignements sur la santé ou à l'information confidentielle des membres de leur famille ou de leurs amis. Sinon, ils risquent d'enfreindre la législation relative à la protection des renseignements personnels ainsi que les protocoles de l'établissement qui est le dépositaire ou le fiduciaire des dossiers de santé.

Qualité des soins rime avec objectivité professionnelle

Il y a de nombreuses raisons pour lesquelles les médecins doivent connaître et respecter leurs limites et établir une relation professionnelle avec les patients. Lorsque le patient est un membre de la famille ou un ami, il peut être difficile pour un médecin d'obtenir une anamnèse détaillée, d'effectuer des examens de nature délicate ou de fournir un plan de traitement complet. Il peut aussi être difficile de respecter la confidentialité, de tenir des dossiers adéquats ou d'offrir les mêmes services aux autres membres de la famille.

Un patient traité par un médecin avec lequel il entretient une relation personnelle, à titre d'ami ou de membre de la famille, peut ne pas se sentir à l'aise de dévoiler certains renseignements ou antécédents. Il peut aussi ne pas oser demander une seconde opinion ou un autre traitement, simplement parce qu'il ne veut pas remettre en question les soins du médecin qu'il « connaît ». Pour leur part, les médecins qui essaient de s'évaluer et de se traiter eux-mêmes s'exposent au risque de voir leur objectivité et leur jugement faussés.

Les systèmes de dossiers électroniques permettent aux médecins d'obtenir un accès direct à leurs propres renseignements sur la santé, de même qu'aux renseignements confidentiels des membres de leur famille ou de leurs amis. Un tel accès peut être utile, mais une autorisation inappropriée ou un manquement aux protocoles de l'établissement ou de la clinique qui est dépositaire des dossiers de santé peut avoir des répercussions, même si le consentement du patient a été obtenu. Outre le risque d'une atteinte à la vie privée ou de non-respect des protocoles de l'établissement, il pourrait y avoir des conséquences médico-légales s'il est déterminé qu'une relation médecin-patient a effectivement été établie depuis le moment où le médecin a passé en revue les renseignements et a fourni des commentaires se rapportant à l'état clinique de la personne. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet, consultez l'article  « Protection des renseignements sur la santé des patients dans les dossiers électroniques »  et le Guide sur les dossiers électroniques de l'ACPM [PDF].

Quand les circonstances exigent un traitement

Il y a parfois des circonstances où les médecins peuvent traiter une personne avec laquelle ils ont une relation personnelle : si des problèmes de santé mineurs surgissent ou si des soins urgents doivent être prodigués et qu'aucun autre médecin ne peut intervenir. Toutefois, ces circonstances sont considérées comme des exceptions.

Dans de telles circonstances, le médecin doit transférer les soins à un autre professionnel de la santé dès qu'il est possible et pratique de le faire. De plus, la décision de traiter ou de diriger le patient vers un autre médecin doit être documentée.

Le Code de déontologie de l'Association médicale canadienne précise :

 « Limiter les traitements administrés aux membres de votre famille immédiate ou à vous-même aux services mineurs ou d'urgence, et uniquement lorsqu'un autre médecin n'est pas facilement disponible; ces traitements devraient être gratuits1. »

Le point de vue des Collèges

Certains organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) ont précisé les devoirs des médecins qui choisissent de traiter des membres de leur famille ou de se soigner eux-mêmes. Les Collèges expriment généralement des préoccupations au sujet de la qualité des soins et précisent qu'il y a très peu de circonstances pouvant justifier cette pratique.

De plus, la plupart des Collèges ont des politiques à l'égard des ordonnances. Souvent, ces politiques sont semblables à celles concernant le traitement des membres de la famille ou des amis : les médecins ne devraient pas rédiger, pour eux-mêmes ou un membre de leur famille, d'ordonnances de narcotiques ou de tout autre médicament pouvant entraîner une accoutumance ou une habitude, même si un autre médecin est responsable de gérer le plan de traitement médicamenteux.

Le privilège de prescrire d'un médecin peut être révoqué si des narcotiques ou d'autres substances sont prescrits aux membres de la famille ou si un médecin s'autoprescrit ces substances.Traiter ou prescrire tout médicament, en particulier des substances contrôlées, à soi-même, à un membre de la famille ou à des amis pourrait entraîner des allégations d'inconduite professionnelle.

Définir les paramètres

Prodiguer des soins inclut généralement d'examiner un patient, de prescrire des tests et d'interpréter les résultats, de poser un diagnostic et de le communiquer, de prescrire des médicaments ou de prendre d'autres mesures thérapeutiques.

Tel que mentionné précédemment, le traitement d'un membre de la famille ou d'amis n'est toléré que dans des circonstances exceptionnelles, par exemple, dans le cas de problèmes mineurs ou dans une situation d'urgence. Un problème mineur peut se définir comme étant un cas qui ne présente aucune urgence ou gravité – il s'agit essentiellement de situations qui ne requièrent qu'un soin de routine à court terme et non de cas graves exigeant une expertise médicale. Une urgence, par contre, signifie que quelqu'un est très souffrant ou risque de subir un préjudice grave si des soins médicaux ne lui sont pas prodigués rapidement.

On entend par membres de la famille ou amis, les conjoints, partenaires, parents, enfants, membres de la fratrie, grand-parents ou petit-enfants. Cela pourrait aussi inclure la belle-famille immédiate du médecin. Cette définition comprend les personnes avec lesquelles le médecin a une relation personnelle ou émotionnelle et pour lesquelles il aurait de la difficulté à poser un diagnostic professionnel, fondé sur l'objectivité, ainsi qu'à prodiguer les soins adéquats.

Il peut parfois être difficile de déterminer s'il existe une relation personnelle. Quand une telle situation survient, le médecin devrait déterminer si le fait de connaître cette personne pourrait influer sur la qualité des traitements prodigués. Les questions suivantes peuvent aider les médecins à préciser la nature de leurs relations avec leurs proches2 :

  • La relation pourrait-elle influer sur les gestes posés dans l'intérêt de cette personne?
  • Pourrait-il être difficile pour le médecin de traiter cette personne s'il se sent mal à l'aise de poser les questions appropriées pour établir son diagnostic? Cette personne pourrait-elle se sentir gênée de répondre franchement aux questions nécessaires à l'établissement du diagnostic?
  • Le lien avec cette personne pourrait-il nuire au respect de la confidentialité avec ce patient ou rendre difficile une déclaration obligatoire?
  • Serait-il difficile de laisser cette personne prendre une décision personnelle en matière de soins de santé allant à l'encontre des conseils du médecin?

Les médecins devraient consulter les politiques du Collège de leur province ou territoire pour en savoir davantage au sujet des obligations professionnelles concernant l'autotraitement ou le traitement de membres de leur famille et d'amis. Les médecins membres peuvent communiquer avec l'ACPM s'ils désirent recevoir des conseils à ce sujet.
 

Références
 

1. Association médicale, Code de déontologie, 2004. Consulté le 28 mars 2014 du site : http://www.cma.ca/code-of-ethics

2. Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario, « Treating Self and Family Members », novembre 2006. Consulté le 15 novembre 2013 du site :  http://www.cpso.on.ca/uploadedFiles/policies/policies/policyitems/treating_self.pdf

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.