Physician wellness

Coping with the stress of medical practice

Physician health: Putting yourself first

Originally published September 2015
P1504-1-E

Physicians have the knowledge and skills to be healthy. Yet, while they care for their patients, their own physical and mental well-being may suffer. The medical community recognizes that physicians are at their best when healthy, and encourages physicians to look after themselves and ask for help when they need it.1

What puts physician health at risk?

The very nature of medical practice can contribute to physicians’ stress. A regular work day can be emotionally draining as doctors witness suffering, fear, pain, tragedy, and death. They may also experience mental stress from dealing with increasing patient care demands, constrained resources, remuneration issues, mounting paperwork, and frustration in trying to meet the conflicting needs of patients and healthcare organizations.2

Physicians’ intrinsic personality traits often make it easy for them to ignore their own health needs. Typically doctors are high achievers, independent, and self-sufficient.3 They can be perfectionists, with a tendency to overwork. These characteristics allow them to let work become their priority, neglecting their own care and personal lives.

The culture of medicine may deter physicians from caring for their health. From the beginning of their medical career, students and residents are exposed to long hours and heavy workloads. This is often seen as the only way to achieve success.4,5 Doctors report feeling pressure from colleagues and patients to prove their medical competence by always appearing well and able to cope. Many are reluctant to take sick leave or sufficient vacation. Some fear that asking for help may be seen as a sign of weakness and so hesitate to discuss their health concerns with others.6

These factors — the nature of medical practice, the personality traits of physicians, and the culture of the profession — can make doctors vulnerable to stress, fatigue, depression, anxiety, substance abuse, burnout, and impairment. In addition, physicians face the same stresses and difficulties as any other individual. They may, for example, experience family difficulties, financial problems, relationship issues, workplace challenges, or social isolation, all of which can erode their ability to cope.

Why healthy physicians are essential

The medical literature indicates that physicians who are unwell physically or mentally may not practise effectively or safely.7

The Canadian Medical Association’s Code of Ethics makes it a fundamental responsibility of physicians to maintain and promote their own health.8

Some regulatory authorities (Colleges) recognize the importance of physicians being aware of their state of health. For example, the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario advises its members that, "Because physicians cannot serve their own patients if they are not well, physicians may have to put their own needs for wellness ahead of the needs of individual patients or the public as a whole in some circumstances. Physician wellness is also important for its own sake independent of any responsibility to others."9

Research also shows that physicians’ health can affect both patient care and the healthcare system. A 2013 Canadian study found that doctors who follow preventive health practices themselves are likely to influence their patients to do the same.10

The focus shifts to prevention

The approach for supporting physicians’ physical and mental health is shifting from a focus on mental health and substance abuse to improving self-care and preventing illness.

The shift has started in medical schools and clinical training. Younger generations have indicated that a balance between their professional work and their personal lives is the most important factor when establishing a fulfilling career in medicine.11 In response, some universities and residency programs have developed wellness resources and revamped medical curricula to help students and residents practise good self-care in their daily lives.12

Medical associations and organizations are also promoting good health habits. Several provincial physician health programs and other groups offer resources to help physicians incorporate self-care into their lives. For example, the CanMEDS Physician Health Guide, by The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, offers advice specific to physicians for maintaining relationships, parenting, using emotional intelligence, managing stress through mindfulness, coping with an adverse event, and making financial plans.13 The CMPA Good Practices Guide contains practical advice on good self-care habits that help physicians practise safely and avoid medical-legal difficulties.

Physician health programs

Contact information for each of the provincial physician health programs is available on the Canadian Medical Association website at cma.ca. Go to the Practice Management & Wellness section, then to Physician health and wellness.

The courage to ask for help

Even physicians who normally cope well may need help at times. Some, for instance, may find it difficult to carry on if they become over extended in their everyday work or if they face events such as a patient safety incident or a death in their family.

Doctors should try to be self-aware, recognizing when their health requires care. They should consider their care options, such as taking time away from work, adjusting how they work, or seeking outside help and advice including treatment.

Physicians must allow themselves to reach out for help — from speaking with a trusted colleague, institution administrator, life or practice partner, friend, or religious advisor — to contacting the local provincial physician health program — to obtaining professional treatment from a family physician, psychologist, psychiatrist, or other healthcare provider.

Some doctors must overcome barriers before seeking help. Many may have trouble accepting the patient role and being away from work. Others may think they will prevail over their difficulties with time and consequently delay seeking help. Many must overcome fears that their problems will become public, damage their reputation, and result in the loss of their medical licence.

Medical students and residents should also get help when stressed. They can contact their faculty advisor, the dean’s office at their medical school, or the wellness program at their institution. Many physician health programs also serve students and residents.

The CMPA can help, too

The CMPA has more than 100 years of experience assisting physicians with medical-legal difficulties. We know these matters can create undue stress, impair health, and affect physicians’ ability to practise. Members have told us that simply calling the Association and speaking to one of our medical officers, who are licensed physicians, reduced their stress and improved their well-being. By getting information and support from our specially-trained experts, members can see their situation in the proper perspective.

 
 

References

  1. Wallace, J.E., Lemaire, J.B., Ghali, W.A., "Physician wellness: a missing quality indicator," November 14, 2009, www.thelancet.com, Vol. 374. Accessed May 4, 2015 from: https://soci.ucalgary.ca/sites/soci.ucalgary.ca/files/Wallace_in_Lancet.pdf
  2. Ibid.
  3. Wiskar, K., "Physician health: A review of lifestyle behaviors and preventive health care among physicians," British Columbia Medical Journal, 2012, Vol. 54, No.8. Accessed May 4, 2015 from: http://www.bcmj.org/mds-be/physician-health-review-lifestyle-behaviors-and-preventive-health-care-among-physicians
  4. Gautam, M., "Medical misconception #11: Doctors are healthy," The Medical Post, April 21, 2015. Accessed May 4, 2015 from: http://www.canadianhealthcarenetwork.ca/physicians/life-travel/medical-misconception-11-doctors-are-healthy-39203
  5. Wiskar, K., "Physician health: A review of lifestyle behaviors and preventive health care among physicians," British Columbia Medical Journal, 2012, Vol. 54, No.8. Accessed May 4, 2015 from: http://www.bcmj.org/mds-be/physician-health-review-lifestyle-behaviors-and-preventive-health-care-among-physicians
  6. Wallace, J.E., Lemaire, J.B., Ghali, W.A., "Physician wellness: a missing quality indicator," November 14, 2009, www.thelancet.com, Vol. 374. Accessed from: https://soci.ucalgary.ca/sites/soci.ucalgary.ca/files/Wallace_in_Lancet.pdf
  7. Ibid.
  8. Canadian Medical Association, CMA Code of Ethics, 2004, Sections 5, 10, 53, 54. Accessed May 4, 2015 from: https://www.cma.ca/En/Pages/code-of-ethics.aspx
  9. Ontario College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, Duties: To themselves and colleagues, Wellness. Accessed May 4, 2015 from: http://www.cpso.on.ca/Policies-Publications/The-Practice-Guide-Medical-Professionalism-and-Col/Principles-of-Practice-and-Duties-of-Physicians/Duties-to-Themselves-and-Others/Duties-To-Themselves-and-Colleagues-Wellness
  10. Frank, E, Dresner, Y., Shani, M., Vinker, S., "The association between physicians’ and patients’ preventive health practices," Canadian Medical Association Journal, May 14, 2013, Vol. 185, No.8. Accessed May 4, 2015 from: http://www.cmaj.ca/content/185/8/649.long
  11. 2012 National Physician Survey, Results for medical students, results for medical residents, question 15, p. 44. Accessed May 4, 2015 from: http://nationalphysiciansurvey.ca/surveys/2012-survey/survey-results/
  12. For an example, see Student Wellness, University of Ottawa, Faculty of Medicine, Student Affairs Office: http://www.med.uottawa.ca/Students/StudentAffairs/eng/wellness_sw.html
  13. Puddester, D., Flynn, L., Cohen, J. eds. Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, CanMEDS physician health guide: A practical handbook for physician health and well-being. 2009. Accessed May 4, 2015 from: http://www.royalcollege.ca/portal/page/portal/rc/canmeds/resources/publications/

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Bien-être des médecins

Gestion du stress et maintien de la santé

Santé des médecins : Pensez à vous en premier

Publié initialement en septembre 2015
P1504-1-F

Les médecins ont les connaissances et les compétences nécessaires pour être en bonne santé. Or, pendant qu’ils s’occupent de leurs patients, leur propre bien-être physique et mental peut en souffrir. Les milieux médicaux reconnaissent que les médecins sont à leur mieux lorsqu’ils sont en bonne santé, et ils encouragent les médecins à s’occuper d’eux-mêmes et à demander de l’aide au besoin.1

Qu’est-ce qui met en danger la santé des médecins?

La nature même de l’exercice de la médecine peut contribuer au stress des médecins. Une journée de travail normale peut être épuisante sur le plan affectif, car les médecins font face à la souffrance, à la peur, à la douleur, à des tragédies et à des décès. Ils peuvent aussi vivre un stress psychologique causé par l’obligation de faire face aux exigences croissantes imposées par le soin des patients, le manque de ressources, des problèmes de rémunération, la paperasse qui s’accumule et la frustration ressentie lorsqu’ils doivent essayer de répondre aux besoins contradictoires des patients et des organisations du secteur de la santé.2

En raison de leurs traits de personnalité intrinsèques, il est souvent facile pour les médecins de ne pas tenir compte de leurs propres besoins en matière de santé. Les médecins sont habituellement très performants, indépendants et autosuffisants.3 Ils peuvent être perfectionnistes et avoir tendance à trop travailler. À cause de ces caractéristiques, ils laissent le travail devenir leur priorité et négligent leurs propres soins et leur vie personnelle.

La culture de la médecine peut dissuader les médecins de s’occuper de leur santé. Dès le début de leur carrière en médecine, les étudiants et les résidents sont exposés aux longues heures et aux lourdes charges de travail, ce qui est souvent considéré comme le seul moyen de réussir.4,5 Les médecins déclarent ressentir la pression exercée par des collègues et des patients qui les pousse à prouver leur compétence en médecine en donnant l’impression d’être toujours bien et capables de s’adapter. Beaucoup hésitent à prendre des congés de maladie ou suffisamment de vacances. Certains craignent que le fait de demander de l’aide puisse être considéré comme un signe de faiblesse et hésitent donc à discuter de leurs problèmes de santé avec des tiers.6

Ces facteurs – soit la nature de l’exercice de la médecine, les traits de personnalité des médecins et la culture de la profession – peuvent rendre les médecins vulnérables au stress, à la fatigue, à la dépression, à l’anxiété, aux toxicomanies, à l’épuisement professionnel et aux dégradations. En outre, les médecins font face aux mêmes facteurs de stress et aux mêmes difficultés que tout le monde. Il se peut, par exemple, qu’ils aient des problèmes familiaux, financiers et relationnels, des défis professionnels à relever, et qu’ils doivent faire face à l’isolement social. Tous ces facteurs peuvent miner leur capacité de s’adapter.

Pourquoi est-il essentiel d’avoir des médecins en bonne santé?

La littérature scientifique révèle que les médecins pourraient ne pas pratiquer efficacement ou en toute sécurité s’ils ne sont pas bien physiquement ou psychologiquement.7

En outre, le Code de déontologie de l’AMC impose aux médecins une responsabilité fondamentale de maintenir et de promouvoir leur propre état de santé.8

Certains organismes de réglementation (Collèges) reconnaissent l’importance pour les médecins d’être conscients de leur état de santé. L’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario, par exemple, rappelle à ses membres que « comme ils ne peuvent servir leurs propres patients s’ils ne sont pas en bonne santé, il se peut que les médecins doivent, dans certaines circonstances, faire passer leurs propres besoins sur le plan du bien-être avant ceux de patients en particulier ou du public en général. Le bien-être des médecins importe aussi en soi, sans égard aux responsabilités envers autrui ».9

Les recherches révèlent aussi que la santé des médecins peut avoir une incidence à la fois sur le soin des patients et sur le système de santé. Une étude réalisée au Canada en 2013 a révélé que les médecins pratiquant la prévention en ce qui a trait à leur propre santé sont susceptibles d’inciter leurs patients à faire de même.10

Pleins feux sur la prévention

L’approche favorisant la promotion de la santé physique et mentale des médecins passe de la santé mentale et la toxicomanie à une plus grande importance accordée à l’amélioration des autosoins et la prévention de la maladie.

Le virage s’est amorcé dans les facultés de médecine et en formation clinique. Les jeunes générations ont indiqué que l’équilibre entre leur vie professionnelle et leur vie personnelle constitue le facteur le plus important dans l’établissement d’une carrière enrichissante en médecine.11 Des représentants des universités et des programmes de formation des résidents ont réagi en créant des ressources de promotion du bien-être et en restructurant les programmes d’études en médecine afin d’aider les étudiants et les résidents à mettre en œuvre l’autogestion de la santé dans leur vie quotidienne.12

Les associations et les organisations médicales préconisent aussi de bonnes habitudes en matière de santé. Plusieurs programmes provinciaux de promotion de la santé des médecins et autres groupes offrent des ressources pour aider les médecins à intégrer les autosoins dans leur vie. Par exemple, le Guide CanMEDS sur la santé des médecins du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada présente aux médecins des conseils particuliers sur le maintien des relations, l’art d’être parent, l’utilisation de l’intelligence émotionnelle, la gestion du stress par la conscience de soi, la façon de faire face à un événement indésirable et l’établissement de plans financiers.13 Le Guide des bonnes pratiques de l’ACPM présente aussi des conseils sur les bonnes habitudes d’autosoins qui aident les médecins à exercer en toute sécurité et à éviter les problèmes médico-légaux.

Programmes de promotion de la santé des médecins

Les coordonnées de chaque programme provincial de promotion de la santé des médecins sont publiées sur le site web de l’Association médicale canadienne à www.amc.ca. Il faut se rendre à la section Gestion médicale et mieux-être et ensuite à Santé et bien-être des médecins.

Le courage de demander de l’aide

Même les médecins qui se débrouillent bien normalement peuvent avoir besoin d’aide à l’occasion. Certains, par exemple, peuvent avoir de la difficulté à continuer s’ils deviennent débordés dans leur travail de tous les jours ou s’ils doivent faire face à des événements tels un incident lié à la sécurité des patients ou un décès dans la famille.

Les médecins doivent tenter d’améliorer leur conscience de soi et reconnaître quand leur santé requiert des soins. Ils doivent analyser leurs options comme prendre congé, modifier leur façon de travailler ou chercher à l’extérieur de l’aide et des conseils, y compris des traitements.

Les médecins doivent se permettre de demander de l’aide : p. ex., discuter avec un collègue à qui ils font confiance, un administrateur d’un établissement, un partenaire de vie ou de travail, un ami ou un conseiller spirituel; communiquer avec le programme local ou provincial de promotion de la santé des médecins; obtenir les traitements professionnels d’un médecin de famille, d’un psychologue, d’un psychiatre ou d’un autre professionnel de la santé.

Certains médecins doivent surmonter des obstacles avant de demander de l’aide. Nombreux sont ceux qui peuvent avoir de la difficulté à accepter le rôle de patient et à s’éloigner de leur travail. D’autres peuvent penser qu’ils surmonteront leurs difficultés avec le temps et tarder par conséquent à demander de l’aide. Beaucoup doivent surmonter la peur que leurs problèmes deviennent publics, portent atteinte à leur réputation et leur fassent perdre leur permis d’exercer.

Les étudiants en médecine et les résidents doivent aussi demander de l’aide lorsqu’ils sont stressés. Ils peuvent communiquer avec le conseiller de leur faculté de médecine, les personnes-ressources du bureau du doyen ou du programme de promotion du bien-être de leur établissement. De nombreux programmes de promotion de la santé des médecins offrent aussi des services aux étudiants et aux résidents.

L’ACPM peut aider, elle aussi

L’ACPM a plus de 100 ans d’expérience lorsqu’il s’agit d’aider les médecins qui ont des problèmes médico-légaux. Nous savons que ces questions peuvent causer un stress excessif, nuire à la santé et avoir un effet sur la capacité d’exercer des médecins. Des membres nous ont dit que le simple fait d’appeler à l’Association et de parler à l’un de nos médecins-conseils a réduit leur stress et amélioré leur bien-être. En obtenant de l’information et de l’aide de nos experts qui ont reçu une formation spécialisée, les membres peuvent voir leur situation du bon angle.

Suggestions de lecture

 
 

Références

  1. Wallace, J.E., Lemaire, J.B., Ghali, W.A., « Physician wellness: a missing quality indicator », The Lancet, 14 novembre 2009, vol. 374. Consulté le 4 mai 2015 : https://soci.ucalgary.ca/sites/soci.ucalgary.ca/files/Wallace_in_Lancet.pdf
  2. Ibid.
  3. Wiskar, K., « Physician health: A review of lifestyle behaviors and preventive health care among physicians », British Columbia Medical Journal, 2012, vol. 54, no 8, p. 419-423. Consulté le 4 mai 2015 : http://www.bcmj.org/mds-be/physician-health-review-lifestyle-behaviors-and-preventive-health-care-among-physicians
  4. Gautam, M., « Medical misconception #11: Doctors are healthy », The Medical Post, 21 avril 2015. Consulté le 4 mai 2015 : http://www.canadianhealthcarenetwork.ca/physicians/life-travel/medical-misconception-11-doctors-are-healthy-39203
  5. Wiskar, K., « Physician health: A review of lifestyle behaviors and preventive health care among physicians », British Columbia Medical Journal, 2012, vol. 54, no 8, p. 419-423. Consulté le 4 mai 2015 : http://www.bcmj.org/mds-be/physician-health-review-lifestyle-behaviors-and-preventive-health-care-among-physicians
  6. Wallace, J.E., Lemaire, J.B., Ghali, W.A., « Physician wellness: a missing quality indicator », The Lancet, 14 novembre 2009, vol. 374. Consulté le 4 mai 2015 : https://soci.ucalgary.ca/sites/soci.ucalgary.ca/files/Wallace_in_Lancet.pdf
  7. Ibid.
  8. Association médicale canadienne, Code de déontologie de l’AMC, 2004, articles 5, 10, 53, 54. Consulté le 4 mai 2015 : https://www.cma.ca/fr/Pages/code-of-ethics.aspx
  9. Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario, Duties: To themselves and colleagues, Wellness. Consulté le 4 mai 2015 : http://www.cpso.on.ca/Policies-Publications/The-Practice-Guide-Medical-Professionalism-and-Col/Principles-of-Practice-and-Duties-of-Physicians/Duties-to-Themselves-and-Others/Duties-To-Themselves-and-Colleagues-Wellness
  10. Frank, E., Dresner, Y., Shani, M., Vinker, S., « The association between physicians’ and patients’ preventive health practices », Journal de l’Association médicale canadienne, 14 mai 2013, vol. 185, no 8. Consulté le 4 mai 2015 : http://www.cmaj.ca/content/185/8/649.long
  11. Sondage national des médecins 2012, Résultats pour les étudiants en médecine, résultats pour les médecins résidents, question 15, p. 44. Consulté le 4 mai 2015 : http://nationalphysiciansurvey.ca/fr/surveys-fr/2012-sondage/resultats-du-sondage/
  12. Pour voir un exemple, consulter la rubrique Bien-être des étudiants, Université d’Ottawa, Faculté de médecine, Bureau des services aux étudiants : http://www.med.uottawa.ca/Students/StudentAffairs/fra/bien_etre_bee.html
  13. Puddester, D., Flynn, L., Cohen, J. 2009. Guide CanMEDS pour la santé des médecins : Un manuel pratique pour la santé et le mieux-être des médecins. Ottawa : Le Collège Royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada. Consulté le 4 mai 2015 : http://www.royalcollege.ca/portal/page/portal/rc/canmeds/resources/publications/

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.