■ Duties and responsibilities:

Expectations of physicians in practice

Family disputes and the physician: Staying focused on safe care

A female physician counselling two family members

Originally published December 2016/Revised November 2021
P1604-5-E

When a patient’s family is engaged in a dispute among themselves, physicians may be left feeling caught in the middle and unsure as to what to do. Such disputes could, for example, involve child patients with parents who are separated or divorced, or elder patients with declining capacity. In these situations, family members can sometimes have concerns and disagreements about who is authorized to consent to treatment or to access the patient’s medical information.

Disputes also commonly arise after a patient has died, and family members disagree about the validity of the will or whether the patient had the requisite mental capacity at the time the will was last executed. Physicians may be uncomfortable when asked by the family for a medical opinion or evidence.

Being familiar with the legal framework governing these situations can help physicians mitigate an escalation of such disputes and reduce the risk of a complaint.

Disputes involving children

In family disputes related to access to children’s medical records or the care of children, one of the questions to be addressed is, who is legally authorized to consent for the child? As a starting point, physicians should look to the patient for consent, if the patient is capable. If the child is incapable of consenting to treatment or to disclosure of medical information, custodial parents or legal guardians will typically be legally authorized to consent on behalf of the child.

Mature minors

In Canadian common law jurisdictions (all provinces except Québec), a child's ability to provide consent depends on whether he or she appears to have a full appreciation of the nature and consequences of the decision. Minors who are capable of consenting to treatment will normally also have the capacity to control their personal health information. The concept of "mature minor" is not applicable in Québec, where the age of consent is generally established at 14 years.

Even in cases where the child’s parents are separated or divorced, both parents will typically have the right to provide or refuse consent for treatment on behalf of the child and to access the child’s medical information, unless an agreement or court order specifically modifies the rights of the parents.

Communication problems can arise when a physician receives conflicting directions from parents. Physicians should deal with both parents in a manner that is respectful and that recognizes the parents’ legal rights. To clarify the authority of each parent to consent on behalf of the child, physicians may request copies of agreements or court orders regarding custody and access. These copies should be kept on file.

Consent to treatment

Physicians may proceed with necessary treatment on the basis of consent provided by one custodial parent. As with married parents, however, obtaining consent from both parents is prudent when the treatment could be perceived by one parent as controversial or entails serious risk to the child.

When there is a dispute between the parents about the child’s treatment, the physician should make reasonable attempts to obtain a consensus in the child’s best interests. If consensus cannot be achieved, physicians in hospital settings are encouraged to contact their hospital ethicist for guidance (if available), and all member physicians may contact the CMPA for further advice. In some cases, it may be necessary to contact the public guardian, child services, or to apply to the court (or an administrative body) for direction. If the child is at serious risk of harm, contacting the provincial or territorial child welfare agency may be warranted.

Letters of support in custody disputes

In custody disputes, physicians may be requested to write a letter of support for a parent on the basis of information provided by the parent making the request. Physicians should avoid including information provided by the requesting parent without appropriately qualifying the statements and identifying the source of the information. Physicians who find themselves in these circumstances should try to remain helpful, but they should limit discussion to professional interactions with the requesting parent, maintain objectivity, and properly attribute all statements.

Disputes involving elder patients

Managing family disputes can be similarly challenging when they involve elder patients with cognitive impairment, and family members disagree over treatment or other aspects of the patient’s ongoing personal care.

In these circumstances, consent should be obtained by the appropriate substitute decision-maker (SDM). The SDM may be appointed by the patient through a legal document, such as a personal directive or power of attorney, or by the courts.

Legislation in most provinces and territories also provides a means of obtaining substitute consent when the patient is deemed to be incapable. The legislation typically sets out a hierarchy or prioritized list of individuals authorized to give or refuse consent on behalf of the patient. It is necessary to begin by seeking substitute consent from the highest-ranking person on the list, typically the patient's spouse, parent, or children. If the patient has no immediate family, or the highest-ranking person is not readily available or willing to make a decision within the required time, substitute consent can be obtained from the next highest-ranking and available person on the list. It is important for physicians to be generally familiar with the criteria for substitute decision-making in their jurisdiction.

Where there is documentation of the legal authority for the individual to provide consent (e.g. power of attorney, personal directive, or court order), the physician should request a copy and keep it in the medical record.

When family members with equal authority disagree about care decisions, an amicable resolution of these issues should be encouraged. These discussions should include an assessment of the goals of care in a manner that is compassionate and patient-centred, and should be documented in the medical record.

If consensus cannot be achieved, it may be necessary to seek guidance from a hospital ethics committee (if available), the court (or administrative body), or the public guardian or curator. Members are also encouraged to contact the CMPA immediately when faced with any difficult consent and capacity issues or when uncertain about what resources might be available in the event of disagreement with an SDM or among family members.

Access to elder patients’ medical information

Physicians sometimes receive requests for information from family members who are in the midst of a dispute concerning the care of an incapable elder patient, or following the death of the patient. When this happens, physicians should consider whether they have the necessary authorization to disclose the patient’s information, including whether the patient’s SDM has consented, in accordance with a court order or when authorized by legislation. Sometimes it may be necessary to request and carefully consider written authorization (e.g. power of attorney, court order, written consent of the substitute decision-maker).

In instances where the patient is deceased, it is prudent to first verify that the party making the request is authorized to access the information. The legal representative of the deceased patient (e.g. the administrator or executor of the estate) will generally be authorized to access medical information.

In most jurisdictions, there are limitations on the nature of information that family members may access when they are not the deceased’s legal representative.1

Risk management considerations

Physicians should consider the following recommendations when providing care to children or to elder patients with cognitive impairment:

  • Remember that each parent may generally consent to necessary treatment and access information about the minor child, unless the child is considered a mature minor (in Québec, 14 years of age or older) or a court order or agreement states otherwise.
  • When managing family disputes involving incapable elder patients, determine who is legally authorized to consent on behalf of the patient.
  • When necessary, request legal documentation (e.g. court order, access or custody agreement, power of attorney) authorizing an individual to provide consent, and keep a copy in the medical record.
  • If consensus cannot be achieved among authorized decision-makers, consider seeking guidance from a hospital ethics committee, the court, or the public guardian or curator.

As in any conflict situation, physicians who consistently communicate in a respectful and professional manner can help mitigate an escalation of tensions, provide care that is in the best interests of the patient, and reduce the possibility of complaints. The CMPA’s physician advisors are available to provide members with individual advice.

 


 

References

  1. For example, in Québec, family members of a deceased person are entitled to know the cause of death and to access the medical record such as to ascertain whether the deceased had a genetic or hereditary disease. In Alberta, Ontario, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Northwest Territories, and Yukon, immediate family members can be provided with information they reasonably require to make decisions about their own health care.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Le médecin et les conflits familiaux : mettre l’accent sur les soins sécuritaires

Publié initialement en décembre 2016
P1604-5-F

Lorsque les membres de la famille d’un patient se disputent entre eux, le médecin peut se sentir pris entre deux feux et ne pas savoir que faire. À titre d’exemple, de tels conflits peuvent impliquer de jeunes patients dont les parents sont séparés ou divorcés, ou encore des patients âgés aux prises avec un déclin cognitif. En pareille situation, les membres de la famille peuvent avoir des préoccupations et des différends à savoir qui est autorisé à consentir au traitement ou à accéder aux renseignements médicaux du patient.

Un conflit peut également surgir après le décès d’un patient lorsque des membres de la famille contestent la validité du testament ou remettent en question la capacité mentale du patient lors de la signature de ce document. Le médecin peut se sentir mal à l’aise si la famille lui demande de formuler une opinion médicale ou de témoigner.

Une connaissance du cadre juridique qui régit de telles situations peut aider les médecins à atténuer les complications dans ce genre de conflits et à réduire le risque d’une plainte.

Conflits concernant les enfants

Dans les conflits familiaux liés aux soins prodigués à un enfant ou à l’accès à son dossier médical, l’une des questions à aborder consiste à déterminer qui est légalement autorisé à consentir au nom de l’enfant. Le médecin devrait d’abord s’adresser au patient pour obtenir un consentement, si le patient est apte. Si l’enfant est inapte à consentir au traitement ou à la divulgation des renseignements médicaux, en règle générale le parent ayant la garde ou le tuteur légal sera légalement autorisé à consentir en son nom.

Mineurs matures

Dans les provinces et les territoires au Canada sous le système de la common law (toutes les provinces sauf le Québec), la capacité d’un enfant à accorder son consentement repose sur son aptitude à bien comprendre la nature et les conséquences de la décision. Normalement, les mineurs aptes à consentir à un traitement seront aussi aptes à décider de la divulgation des renseignements personnels sur leur santé. Le concept du « mineur mature » ne s’applique pas au Québec, où, de façon générale, l’âge du consentement est établi à 14 ans.

Même lorsque les parents de l’enfant sont séparés ou divorcés, les deux parents seront généralement autorisés à accorder ou à refuser leur consentement à un traitement au nom de l’enfant, et à accéder aux renseignements médicaux de l’enfant, à moins qu’une entente ou une ordonnance du tribunal ne modifie explicitement les droits des parents.

Des problèmes de communication peuvent survenir lorsqu’un médecin reçoit des directives contradictoires des parents. Le médecin doit traiter avec les deux parents d’une façon respectueuse qui reconnaît leurs droits légaux. Afin de déterminer l’autorisation de chaque parent à consentir au nom de l’enfant, le médecin peut demander une copie des ententes ou des ordonnances du tribunal relatives à la garde et au droit d’accès. Ces documents doivent être conservés dans le dossier médical.

Consentir au traitement

Un médecin peut prodiguer le traitement nécessaire en fonction du consentement accordé par l’un des parents, même si ce dernier n’a qu’un droit d’accès. Or, comme dans le cas de parents mariés, il est prudent d’obtenir le consentement des deux parents si le traitement peut être perçu par l’un d’eux comme étant controversé ou s’il comporte de graves risques pour l’enfant.

En cas de conflit entre les parents au sujet du traitement de l’enfant, le médecin devrait tenter de manière raisonnable d’obtenir un consensus dans l’intérêt de l’enfant. En l’absence de consensus, les médecins en milieu hospitalier peuvent se renseigner auprès de l’éthicien de l’hôpital (le cas échéant), et tous les médecins membres peuvent communiquer avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des conseils supplémentaires. Dans certains cas, il peut s’avérer nécessaire de communiquer avec le curateur public ou les services à la jeunesse, ou encore de présenter une demande auprès d’un tribunal (ou d’une entité administrative) pour obtenir conseil. En présence d’un risque grave de préjudice chez l’enfant, il peut être justifié de communiquer avec l’organisme provincial ou territorial de protection de la jeunesse.

Lettres d’appui et conflits concernant la garde d’enfants

Dans le cadre de conflits concernant la garde d’enfants, il peut arriver qu’un parent demande à un médecin une lettre d’appui fondée sur des renseignements fournis par ce même parent. Malheureusement, les médecins incluent souvent les renseignements fournis par ce parent en omettant de nuancer les déclarations de façon appropriée et de préciser la source des renseignements, de sorte qu’ils ne répondent pas de façon objective. Les médecins qui se retrouvent dans de telles circonstances doivent tenter d’offrir de l’aide tout en limitant la discussion aux interactions professionnelles avec le parent qui présente la demande, en conservant leur objectivité et en attribuant toute déclaration convenablement.

Conflits liés aux patients âgés

La gestion des conflits familiaux peut s’avérer tout aussi difficile lorsqu’ils portent sur des patients âgés présentant un déficit cognitif et une démence, et que les membres de la famille sont en désaccord sur un traitement ou sur d’autres aspects des soins personnels continus du patient.

Lorsqu’un tribunal a désigné un tuteur légal pour le patient ou qu’un décideur remplaçant a été formellement identifié, le consentement peut être accordé par cette personne. Dans ces cas, le médecin peut demander de la documentation attestant l’autorisation légale de la personne à accorder un consentement (p. ex. procuration, directive personnelle ou ordonnance du tribunal). Il y a lieu de conserver une copie de ce document dans le dossier médical.

En l’absence d’une telle autorisation, les médecins peuvent recevoir des instructions contradictoires de différents membres de la famille dans des situations où, souvent, les facteurs juridiques et émotionnels s’entrechoquent. De façon générale, la meilleure approche consiste à maintenir une communication appropriée avec la famille, en conformité avec leurs droits légaux.

Consentement au traitement

Les lois provinciales et territoriales prévoient généralement une liste de la proche parenté par ordre de priorité, notamment le conjoint du patient, son père ou sa mère ou ses enfants, qui est autorisée à accorder ou à refuser le consentement au traitement au nom d’un patient inapte.

Lorsque des membres d’une famille jouissant d’une autorité égale sont en désaccord sur les décisions propres aux soins, il est suggéré d’encourager une résolution à l’amiable. De telles discussions doivent inclure une évaluation des objectifs des soins qui est empreinte de compassion et axée sur le patient, et être consignées dans le dossier médical.

En l’absence de consensus, il peut s’avérer nécessaire d’obtenir des conseils d’un comité hospitalier d’éthique (le cas échéant), de présenter une demande auprès d’un tribunal (ou d’une entité administrative) ou de requérir l’intervention des services du curateur public.

Accès aux renseignements médicaux des patients âgés

Les médecins reçoivent parfois des demandes de renseignements des membres d’une famille lors d’un conflit portant sur les soins d’un patient âgé qui est inapte ou encore, après le décès du patient. En pareil cas, le médecin doit déterminer s’il a l’autorisation requise pour divulguer les renseignements du patient, notamment si le décideur remplaçant a accordé son consentement, conformément à une ordonnance du tribunal ou lorsque la loi l’y autorise.

Dans les cas où le patient est inapte, il est prudent de vérifier d’abord si la personne qui présente la demande est autorisée à accéder aux renseignements. De façon générale, l’administrateur légal de la succession d’un patient décédé sera autorisé à accéder aux renseignements médicaux. Il peut parfois s’avérer nécessaire de demander et d’évaluer soigneusement une autorisation écrite (p. ex. procuration, ordonnance du tribunal ou consentement écrit du décideur remplaçant). Au Québec, des limites s’appliquent à la nature des renseignements auxquels les membres de la famille peuvent accéder.1

Considérations en matière de gestion des risques

Les médecins doivent garder à l’esprit les recommandations suivantes lorsqu’ils prodiguent des soins aux enfants ou à des patients âgés atteints d’une déficience cognitive :

  • Se rappeler qu’en règle générale, chacun des parents peut consentir au traitement nécessaire et accéder aux renseignements au sujet d’un enfant mineur, à moins que l’enfant ne soit considéré un mineur mature (au Québec, âgé de 14 ans ou plus) ou d’indication contraire dans une ordonnance du tribunal ou une entente.
  • Déterminer, dans la gestion des conflits familiaux qui portent sur des patients âgés inaptes, qui est légalement autorisé à consentir au nom du patient.
  • Au besoin, demander une copie du document juridique (p. ex. ordonnance du tribunal, entente de garde ou de visite, procuration) autorisant une personne à accorder un consentement et conserver ce document dans le dossier médical.
  • En l’absence de consensus parmi les décideurs autorisés, songer à présenter une demande auprès d’un tribunal ou d’une entité administrative.

Comme dans toute situation de conflit, les médecins qui communiquent systématiquement de façon respectueuse et professionnelle peuvent contribuer à atténuer une escalade des tensions, prodiguer des soins qui sont dans l’intérêt fondamental du patient et réduire la possibilité de plaintes. Les médecins-conseils de l’ACPM se tiennent à la disposition des membres pour leur offrir des conseils personnalisés.

 
 

Références

  1. Au Québec, les membres de la famille d’une personne décédée ont le droit de connaître la cause du décès et d’accéder au dossier médical pour vérifier, par exemple, si la personne décédée avait une maladie génétique ou héréditaire.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.