Physician wellness

Coping with the stress of medical practice

Residents and resiliency

Originally published November 2016
W16-005-E

While all physicians need to be resilient in the face of increasing patient and health system demands, the unique challenges facing resident doctors means they should not lose sight of their physical and mental health as they take on new roles and responsibilities at this stage in their career. The combination of learning, patient care, skill development, teaching, research, and personal and family responsibilities can be onerous, and residents need skills and capabilities to remain resilient and healthy.

Resilience

Resilience has been defined as "…the ability of an individual to respond to stress in a healthy, adaptive way, such that personal goals are achieved at minimal psychological and physical cost."1 It is the capacity to manage stress and difficulties in the most positive manner possible. In the healthcare context, resilience is also important in helping to avoid burnout and depression, and to provide good, safe patient care.

In the Royal College of Physician and Surgeons of Canada’s CanMEDS 2015 Physician Competency Framework, the "professional" competency states that physicians have "Applied capacity for self-regulation, including the assessment and monitoring of one’s thoughts, behaviours, emotions, and attention for optimal performance and well-being," and "Resilience for sustainable practice."2 This highlights the importance of physician health and the requirement that doctors have the necessary skills and abilities to enjoy long and satisfying careers while providing safe medical care.

Residents are facing new duties and obligations, often in new settings with new people, and need to be particularly mindful of their physical and mental health. Physician residents should also be aware of the actions they can take to maintain their well-being.

International research published in the Journal of the American Medical Association in December 2015 indicated nearly one-third (29%) of resident physicians screened positive for depression or depressive symptoms.3

Recognizing difficulties

Physicians must recognize how and when they are adversely affected by pressure, and then find strategies to strengthen their resilience.4 This may require doctors to reflect on their situation and reactions to stress, and make an honest appraisal of their thoughts, feelings, and stress levels. This self-awareness allows physicians to proactively address stressors, workload issues, feelings of isolation, or other factors affecting their resilience. Some experts suggest self-monitoring5 and mindfulness6 as ways to identify potential problems and begin addressing resilience.

Enhancing resilience

Each resident will have different ways to manage his or her stress and enhance resilience. Howe identifies positive resilience coping mechanisms such as seeking social support, managing negative emotions, using reflection for learning, and using moral beliefs for self-motivation.7 Other strategies to strengthen resilience might include maintaining healthy attitudes toward work, developing self-awareness, recognizing and accepting personal limitations, nurturing interests outside of work, maintaining healthy personal and professional relationships, and balancing work and family life.8 Zwack notes that "…a well-diversified pool of social resources and fields of interest, together with realistic expectancies and good self-knowledge, will support sustainable coping."9

Resilience has been described as both an individual and community trait. If this is the case, physicians should consider both offering and accepting support. As the medical professional culture has traditionally advocated self-sufficiency, it can be difficult for doctors to accept help or to work with others to solve problems.10 This is changing. Residents should consider sharing their problems, concerns, or challenges with peers, mentors, family members, or healthcare professionals to find coping strategies and solutions.

Other studies suggest that resilience can "…be applied to teams and organizations, and not just to individuals."4 This can develop "…through mutual trust and the strong ties they forge, enabling them to cope with difficulties and adversity together."4 Accordingly, residents may wish to explore how they can draw strength from the healthcare providers they work with, and how to strengthen the resilience of the care team. For example, debriefing after significant clinical, patient safety, or work-related events may help all providers, including residents, cope with the situation.

The reality is that clinical residency is challenging and demanding. Yet, in spite of the limitations imposed by their work, physicians are reminded to make deliberate efforts to take care of themselves and maintain social ties outside of work. They are encouraged to identify resiliency strategies and adopt those that work best for them. Even some of the prevention basics can be helpful, such as good nutrition, exercise, and rest. Residents should also remain confident in their skills and abilities to adapt to adversity and overcome challenges.

Resiliency training

Resilience is not a trait that people either have or do not have. It involves learning and developing behaviours, thoughts, and actions.11 Specific resiliency training often refers to developing skills to effectively identify, cope with, and recover from challenging experiences. Skills-based resiliency training can help residents mitigate stress, overcome adversity, and use tools to better support their patients and their peers.12

Resident Doctors of Canada is working to develop a tailored curriculum to improve mental resiliency in resident doctors. "Residents will learn to identify early signs of distress and relevant early interventions, apply evidence-based skills to improve performance in challenging work environments, and recognize when and how to seek support."13 Their end goal is a well-rounded and healthier physician who is a resource to others in difficulty and who can provide better care to patients.

Getting help

Residents should reflect on their levels of stress, their perceived resilience, and whether they need to seek assistance. Talking to peers, supervisors, or university program directors; seeking support from their hospital or health authority; or contacting their resident association or federation can be helpful. The Canadian Physician Health Institute and provincial and territorial medical associations also have relevant resources, and most provinces and territories have physician wellness program available to residents. Often the university has supports for residents who are finding it difficult to cope. Community health resources are another option. And certainly, residents should not be reluctant to get help or access the healthcare system for their own health needs.

CMPA members can also call the Association if they require advice or assistance with any medical-legal issues that arise from their professional work in Canada. Our experienced physician advisors are also familiar with physician health issues. Members may also wish to consult the CMPA Good Practices Guide >Adverse Events>Managing stress.

 
 

References

  1. Epstein RM, Krasner MS. Physician resilience: what it means, why it matters, and how to promote it. Acad Med [Internet]. 2013 Mar [cited 2016 Jan 20];88(3):301-3. Available from: http://journals.lww.com/academicmedicine/Fulltext/2013/03000/Physician_Resilience___What_It_Means,_Why_It.12.aspx
  2. Frank JR, Snell L, Sherbino J, editors. CanMEDS 2015 Physician Competency Framework [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada; 2015 [cited 2016 Jan 21]. 17 p. Available from: http://canmeds.royalcollege.ca/uploads/en/framework/CanMEDS%202015%20Framework_EN_Reduced.pdf
  3. Mata DA, Ramos MA, Bansal N, Khan R, Guille C, Angelantonio E, Sen S. Prevalence of depression and depressive symptoms among resident physicians: a systematic review and meta-analysis. JAMA [Internet]. 2015 Dec [cited 2016 Oct 24]; 314(22):2373-83. Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26647259
  4. Roman S, Prévost, C. Physician health: state of knowledge and preventive approaches [Internet]. Montréal (QC): Programme d’aide aux médecins du Québec:2015 [cited 2016 Oct 24]. 35 p. Available from: http://catalogue.cssslaval.qc.ca/GEIDEFile/Doc_224290_ang.pdf?Archive=102463592064&File=Doc_224290_Ang_pdf
  5. Fry H, Kneebone R, editors. Surgical education: theorising an emerging domain. New York: Springer; c2011. Chapter 10, Self-monitoring in surgical practice: Slowing down when you should; p. 169-82.
  6. Kearney MK, Weininger RB, Vachon ML, Harrison RL, Mount BM. Self-care of physicians caring for patients at the end of life: "Being connected… a key to my survival". JAMA [Internet]. 2009 March [cited 2016 Oct 24]; 301;11:1155-64. Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19293416
  7. Howe A, Smajdor A, Stöckl A. Towards an understanding of resilience and its relevance to medical training. Med Educ [Internet]. 2012 Mar 16 [cited 2016 Jan 20];46(4):349-56. Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22429170
  8. Jensen PM, Trollope-Kumar K, Waters H, Everson J. Building physician resilience. Can Fam Physician [Internet]. 2008 May [cited 2016 Jan 20];54(5):722-9. Available from: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2377221/
  9. Zwack J, Schweitzer J. If every fifth physician is affected by burnout, what about the other four? Resilience strategies of experienced physicians. Acad Med [Internet]. 2013 Mar [cited 2016 Jan 20];88(3):382-9. Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23348093
  10. Longnecker R, Zink T, Florence J. Teaching and learning resilience: Building adaptive capacity for rural practice. A report and subsequent analysis of a workshop conducted at the Rural Medical Educators Conference, Savannah, Georgia, May 18, 2010. J Rural Health. 2012 April; 28;2:122-27.
  11. The Road to Resilience [Internet]. Washington (DC): American Psychological Association. [cited 2016 Jan 21]. Available from: http://www.apa.org/helpcenter/road-resilience.aspx
  12. Resiliency Training [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): Resident Doctors of Canada. [cited 2016 Jan 21]. Available from: http://residentdoctors.ca/wellness/resiliency/
  13. The Resiliency Curriculum Project [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): Resident Doctors of Canada. [cited 2016 Jan 21.] Available from: http://residentdoctors.ca/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/Resiliency-Focus-Group-Meeting-Summary-06-27-28-15.pdf

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Bien-être des médecins

Gestion du stress et maintien de la santé

Résidents et résilience

Publié initialement en novembre 2016
W16-005-F

Tous les médecins doivent être résilients devant les demandes croissantes des patients et du système de santé. Les résidents, quant à eux, font face à des défis uniques et ne doivent pas négliger leur propre santé physique et mentale à un stade de leur carrière où ils assument de nouveaux rôles et responsabilités. Conjuguer l’apprentissage, les soins dispensés aux patients, le perfectionnement des compétences, l’enseignement, la recherche, de même que les responsabilités personnelles et familiales peut représenter un lourd fardeau, et les résidents ont besoin d’habiletés et de capacités pour conserver leur résilience et leur santé.

Résilience

La résilience se définit comme « …la capacité de quelqu’un à réagir au stress d’une façon adaptative et saine, de telle sorte que les objectifs personnels sont atteints à un coût minimal sur le plan psychologique et physique ».1 La résilience est la capacité de gérer le stress et les problèmes de la manière la plus positive possible. Dans le contexte des soins de santé, la résilience contribue aussi grandement à la prévention de l’épuisement et de la dépression, et à la prestation de bons soins sécuritaires aux patients.

Dans son Référentiel de compétences CanMEDS 2015 pour les médecins, le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada, sous le rôle Professionnel, parle de : « Recours au privilège d’autoréglementation, en tenant compte de ses réflexions, comportements, émotions et attention en vue d’un rendement et d’un bien-être optimaux » et de « Résilience pour une pratique médicale durable ».2 Le Collège souligne ainsi l’importance de la santé pour les médecins, et leur obligation de posséder les compétences et habiletés nécessaires pour mener une longue carrière gratifiante tout en prodiguant des soins médicaux sécuritaires.

Les résidents sont confrontés à de nouvelles tâches et obligations, souvent dans de nouveaux milieux avec de nouvelles personnes, et doivent se soucier particulièrement de leur santé physique et mentale. Ils doivent aussi se tenir au courant des mesures qu’ils peuvent prendre pour assurer leur bien-être.

Une recherche internationale publiée dans le Journal of the American Medical Association en décembre 2015 révèle que près d’un tiers (29 %) des médecins résidents souffraient de dépression ou présentaient des symptômes de dépression.3

Reconnaître les difficultés

Les médecins doivent reconnaître comment et quand la pression leur est préjudiciable, et se doter ensuite de stratégies pour renforcer leur résilience.4 Pour ce faire, ils peuvent réfléchir à leur situation et à leurs réactions au stress, et effectuer une évaluation honnête de leurs pensées, émotions et degrés de stress. Cette conscience de soi permet aux médecins d’agir proactivement contre les facteurs de stress, les questions relatives à la charge de travail, les sentiments d’isolement ou d’autres facteurs qui diminuent leur résilience. Certains experts suggèrent l’auto-observation5 et la pleine conscience6 comme moyens de repérer d’éventuels problèmes et de s’engager sur la voie de la résilience.

Accroître la résilience

Chaque résident aura différentes façons de gérer son stress et d’accroître sa résilience. Howe et coll. ont recensé des stratégies d’adaptation positives de résilience telles que rechercher un soutien social, maîtriser les émotions négatives, apprendre par l’introspection et utiliser les croyances morales pour s’automotiver.7 Conserver des attitudes saines à l’égard du travail, développer la conscience de soi, reconnaître et accepter ses limites personnelles, cultiver des intérêts hors du travail, maintenir des relations personnelles et professionnelles saines et garder un équilibre entre le travail et la vie familiale pourraient être d’autres stratégies de renforcement de la résilience.8 Zwack et Schweitzer font aussi remarquer que « …un ensemble bien diversifié de ressources sociales et de centres d’intérêt, jumelé à des attentes réalistes et à une bonne connaissance de soi, favorisera une adaptation durable ».9

La résilience se définit comme une caractéristique qui est propre à la fois à la personne et à la communauté. Si tel est le cas, les médecins devraient envisager d’offrir et d’accepter du soutien. Comme l’autosuffisance est depuis longtemps prônée dans la culture professionnelle des médecins, il peut être difficile pour ces derniers d’accepter de l’aide ou de collaborer avec d’autres pour résoudre des problèmes.10 La situation est en train de changer. Les résidents doivent songer à discuter de leurs problèmes, préoccupations ou défis avec des pairs, des mentors, des membres de la famille ou des professionnels de la santé pour trouver des stratégies d’adaptation et des solutions.

Selon d’autres études, la résilience « s’appliquerait aux équipes et aux organisations, et non seulement aux personnes ».4 Elle peut se développer « …par le biais de la confiance mutuelle et de la force des liens entre les individus leur permettant de faire face aux difficultés et à l’adversité ».4 Par conséquent, les résidents gagneraient à explorer comment ils peuvent puiser de la force auprès de leurs collègues et autres professionnels de la santé, et comment renforcer la résilience de l’équipe soignante. Par exemple, une séance de débreffage après un événement important lié au travail, à un cas clinique ou à la sécurité d’un patient peut aider tous les professionnels de la santé, y compris les résidents, à composer avec la situation.

La réalité, c’est que la résidence clinique est ardue et exigeante. Pourtant, malgré les limites inhérentes à leur travail, les résidents ne doivent pas oublier de s’efforcer consciemment de prendre soin d’eux-mêmes et de maintenir des liens sociaux hors du travail. Ils sont encouragés à repérer des stratégies de résilience et à adopter celles qui fonctionnent le mieux dans leur cas. Même certaines des notions élémentaires de prévention, comme une bonne alimentation, l’exercice et le repos, peuvent être bénéfiques. En outre, les résidents doivent toujours garder la conviction qu’ils ont les compétences et les capacités requises pour s’adapter à l’adversité et surmonter les obstacles.

Formation sur la résilience

La résilience n’est pas une capacité présente ou absente chez une personne. Elle suppose l’apprentissage et l’acquisition de comportements, de pensées et d’actions.11 Une formation sur la résilience vise souvent à enseigner les compétences permettant de reconnaître des expériences difficiles, d’y faire face et de s’en remettre efficacement. Une formation sur la résilience fondée sur les compétences peut aider les résidents à atténuer le stress, à vaincre l’adversité et à utiliser des outils pour mieux soutenir leurs patients et leurs pairs.12

Le regroupement Médecins résidents du Canada est à élaborer un programme de formation sur mesure pour améliorer la résilience mentale chez les médecins résidents. « Les résidents apprendront à reconnaître les signes précoces de détresse et les interventions prioritaires pertinentes, à utiliser des compétences fondées sur des données probantes pour améliorer leur rendement dans des milieux de travail difficiles, et à déterminer quand et comment obtenir du soutien ».13 L’objectif ultime est un médecin compétent, en meilleure santé, qui est une ressource pour d’autres personnes en difficulté et qui peut fournir de meilleurs soins aux patients.

Obtenir de l’aide

Les résidents doivent réfléchir à leur degré de stress et à leur perception de leur résilience, et évaluer s’ils ont besoin d’assistance. Ils peuvent trouver utile de parler à des pairs, à des superviseurs ou à des directeurs de programmes universitaires, de chercher du soutien auprès de leur hôpital ou autorité en matière de santé, ou de communiquer avec leur association ou fédération des médecins résidents. L’Institut canadien pour la santé des médecins de même que les associations ou fédérations médicales provinciales et territoriales offrent aussi des ressources pertinentes, et la plupart des provinces et territoires ont des programmes de bien-être des médecins qui sont ouverts aux résidents. L’université prévoit souvent des mécanismes de soutien pour les résidents qui ne peuvent faire face à la situation. Les ressources en santé communautaire sont une autre option. Chose certaine, les résidents ne doivent pas hésiter à demander de l’aide ou à recourir au système de santé pour prendre soin de leur propre santé.

Les membres de l’ACPM peuvent aussi appeler l’Association s’ils ont besoin de conseils ou d’assistance pour toutes les questions médico-légales qui découlent de leurs activités professionnelles au Canada. Nos médecins-conseils chevronnés connaissent aussi très bien les questions relatives à la santé des médecins. Les membres peuvent également consulter le Guide des bonnes pratiques de l’ACPM > Événements indésirables > Gérer le stress.

 
 

Références

  1. Epstein RM, Krasner MS. Physician resilience: what it means, why it matters, and how to promote it. Acad Med [En ligne]. Mars 2013 [cité le 20 janvier 2016]; 88(3):301-3 : http://journals.lww.com/academicmedicine/Fulltext/2013/03000/Physician_Resilience___What_It_Means,_Why_It.12.aspx
  2. Frank JR, Snell L, Sherbino J, Boucher A, rédacteurs. Référentiel de compétences CanMEDS 2015 pour les médecins [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON): Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada; 2015 [cité le 21 janvier 2016]. 17p. : http://canmeds.royalcollege.ca/uploads/fr/cadre/CanMEDS%202015%20Framework_FR_Reduced.pdf
  3. Mata DA, Ramos MA, Bansal N, Khan R, Guille C, Angelantonio E, Sen S. Prevalence of depression and depressive symptoms among resident physicians: a systematic review and meta-analysis. JAMA. [En ligne]. Décembre 2015 [cité le 24 octobre 2016]; 314(22):2373-83 : https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26647259
  4. Roman S, Prévost, C. La santé des médecins : État des connaissances et approches préventives [En ligne]. Montréal (QC): Programme d’aide aux médecins du Québec : 2015 [cité le 24 octobre 2016]; 35 p. : http://catalogue.cssslaval.qc.ca/GEIDEFile/Doc_224290.pdf?Archive=102462492064&File=Doc_224290_pdf
  5. Fry H, Kneebone R, rédacteurs. Surgical education: theorising an emerging domain. New York: Springer;c2011. Chapitre 10: Self-monitoring in surgical practice: Slowing down when you should; p.169-82.
  6. Kearney MK, Weininger RB, Vachon ML, Harrison RL, Mount BM. Self-care of physicians caring for patients at the end of life: « Being connected… a key to my survival ». JAMA. [En ligne]. Mars 2009 [cité le 24 octobre 2016]; 301;11:1155-64 : https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19293416
  7. Howe A, Smajdor A, Stöeckl A. Towards an understanding of resilience and its relevance to medical training. Med Educ [En ligne]. Le 16 mars 2012 [cité le 20 janvier 2016]; 46(4):349-56 : https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22429170
  8. Jensen PM, Trollope-Kumar K, Waters H, Everson J. Building physician resilience. Can Fam Physician [En ligne]. Mai 2008 [cité le 20 janvier 2016]; 54(5):722-9 : http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2377221/
  9. Zwack J, Schweitzer J. If every fifth physician is affected by burnout, what about the other four? Resilience strategies of experienced physicians. Acad Med [En ligne]. Mars 2013 [cité le 20 janvier 2016]; 88(3):382-9 : https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23348093
  10. Longnecker R, Zink T, Florence J. Teaching and learning resilience: Building adaptive capacity for rural practice. A report and subsequent analysis of a workshop conducted at the Rural Medical Educators Conference, Savannah, Georgia. Le 18 mai 2010. J Rural Health. Avril 2012; 28;2:122-27.
  11. The Road to Resilience [En ligne]. Washington(DC): American Psychological Association [cité le 21 janvier 2016] : http://www.apa.org/helpcenter/road-resilience.aspx
  12. Formation en résilience [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON): Médecins résidents du Canada [cité le 21 janvier 2016] : http://residentdoctors.ca/fr/bien-etre/resilience/
  13. The Resiliency Curriculum Project [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON): Médecins résidents du Canada. [cité le 21 janvier 2016] : http://residentdoctors.ca/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/Resiliency-Focus-Group-Meeting-Summary-06-27-28-15.pdf

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.