Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Accepting new patients: The key to effective practice management

Originally published September 2018
18-20-E

An elderly woman is having a casual conversation with her neighbour who is a practising family physician, and says she is dissatisfied with the care she is receiving at a nearby walk-in clinic. She asks the physician whether he is able to accept her as a new patient in his practice. The patient briefly describes her medical conditions, which require ongoing treatment and monitoring. The physician replies that he is not currently accepting new patients, though he does maintain a wait list of prospective patients. She asks him to put her on the list, despite being advised the wait could be at least six months. Feeling sympathetic to his neighbour, the following day the physician instructs his office assistant to put this individual near the top of the wait list in an effort to reduce her wait time. Is this action appropriate, given the circumstances?

Timely access to physician care is a challenge for Canadians in many parts of the country, leaving physicians to make the sometimes-difficult decision about whether or not to accept new patients. Faced with already heavy workloads, physicians face the moral dilemma of possibly turning away people seeking care in order to maintain a sustainable and well-managed practice.

Indeed, many physicians—whether they are in primary care practice such as family physicians, or consultant physicians who typically only accept patients via referrals—encounter this challenge. Differences in how these two groups accept new patients reflect the different nature of the care provided, and in this article we focus on the former group—those in primary care practice.

While there are some variations, regulatory authority (College) policies on accepting new patients share many similar elements that are grounded in physicians’ ethical responsibilities. Physicians should be mindful of these elements when they receive a request for ongoing clinical care from an individual with whom there is no existing doctor-patient relationship, including:

  • urgency and need
  • scope of practice and clinical competence
  • discrimination
  • wait lists

Urgency and need

Physicians are generally not obligated to treat any individual seeking non-urgent or non-emergent care. That said, physicians who receive a request to accept a new patient should consider whether the individual requires emergency care. While providing emergency treatment does not necessarily imply the formation of an ongoing doctor-patient relationship, providing such care when needed is consistent with the CMA Code of Ethics, which advises physicians to "provide whatever appropriate assistance you can to any person with an urgent need for medical care."1

The Colleges offer guidance that is more specific in this area. The College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia, for example, states that "in medically emergent or urgent situations, physicians are expected to provide whatever medical care is appropriate, taking into account the physician’s scope of practice and available options such as access to specialist consults."2

In some circumstances, it may be appropriate for physicians to prioritize access to care for individuals with greater needs or complex conditions. The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (CPSO) advises that physicians should use their professional judgment to determine whether prioritization based on need is appropriate, taking into account social factors that may influence the person’s health outcomes such as the individual’s housing, food security, employment, and income.3

Scope of practice and clinical competence

Physicians accepting new patients should not refuse individuals solely due to the presence of a complex or chronic health problem or if an individual requires more time than another patient with fewer medical needs. Nevertheless, if the individual’s care needs are not within the physician’s scope of practice or clinical competence, this would generally be considered grounds for refusing a prospective patient.3

Discrimination

Physicians are bound by the human rights legislation of their province or territory. As well, the CMA Code of Ethics states that in providing a medical service, providers are not to "discriminate against any patient on such grounds as age, gender, marital status, medical condition, national or ethnic origin, physical or mental disability, political affiliation, race, religion, sexual orientation, or socioeconomic status."1 Nevertheless, "this does not abrogate the physician’s right to refuse to accept a patient for legitimate reasons."1

If refusing a prospective patient’s request, physicians should consider the impact of such a refusal on the patient. Some individuals may interpret a refusal as discrimination, even when this was not the physician’s intention. For this reason, it is important to clearly and respectfully communicate the reasons for a refusal to the individual making the request, thereby dispelling possible perceptions of discrimination.

Wait lists and patients’ family members

If a physician is accepting new patients, the principle of first-come, first-served should generally apply for patients in a similar situation.4 This also means that prospective patients on a wait list should be accepted into a practice in the same order in which they were added to the list. When using a wait list, clearly communicating the expected waiting period to new prospective patients helps manage expectations and diffuse potential misunderstandings.

It is generally justified to accept into a practice members of existing patients’ families even when a physician is not otherwise accepting new patients. Caring for patients’ family members may provide a broader view of family history, which could contribute to better health outcomes.3

The bottom line

  • The decision to either accept or refuse a new patient should always be made in good faith and in keeping with your College’s policy on accepting new patients.
  • Your decision may depend on such factors as whether your practice is accepting new patients and whether you are qualified to provide the care requested or expected to be needed.
  • If you decide to not provide treatment or not accept a new patient to your practice, the decision should be made in non-emergency situations only and in a way that applies to all prospective patients equally.
  • Discuss your decision to not accept a new patient with the individual respectfully and honestly, and document this in your files.

Physicians who are unsure about what to do when requested to provide treatment to an individual where there is no existing doctor-patient relationship may contact the CMPA for individual advice.

In our introductory vignette, while the patient clearly needed to be followed by a physician, her immediate needs were not urgent. By placing her ahead of others on the wait list, other patients who had been waiting longer and those with more serious problems would be adversely affected. In this example, having determined the prospective patient’s needs and current situation, the best approach might have been to add her to the wait list on a first-come, first-served basis, or if possible to offer a referral to another physician.




References

  1. Canadian Medical Association [Internet]. Ottawa (CA): CMA; 2004 (reviewed 2018 March). CMA code of ethics [cited 2018 May 9]; [1 screen]. Available from: https://www.cma.ca/En/Pages/code-of-ethics.aspx
  2. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia [Internet]. Vancouver (CA): CPSBC; 2012 Nov. Professional Standards and Guidelines, Access to Medical Care [cited 2018 May 9]; [3 screens]. Available from: https://www.cpsbc.ca/files/pdf/PSG-Access-to-Medical-Care.pdf
  3. The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario [Internet]. Toronto (CA): CPSO: 2008 Nov (updated 2017 May). Accepting New Patients [cited 2018 May 9]; [4 screens]. Available from: http://www.cpso.on.ca/Policies-Publications/Policy/Accepting-New-Patients
  4. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta [Internet]. Edmonton (CA): CPSA: 2010 Jan 1 (reissued 2015 Jun 11). Standard of Practice, Establishing the Physician-Patient Relationship [cited 2018 Jun 4]; [2 screens]. Available from: http://www.cpsa.ca/standardspractice/establishing-physician-patient-relationship/

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Vous acceptez de nouveaux patients... la clé d’une gestion efficace de la pratique

Publié initialement en septembre 2018
18-20-F

Une aînée jase avec son voisin médecin de famille. Elle lui confie ne pas être satisfaite des soins de la clinique sans rendez-vous du coin. Elle lui demande s’il peut l’accepter comme nouvelle patiente, et lui décrit ses problèmes médicaux, lesquels nécessitent un traitement et un suivi continus. Le médecin lui répond qu’il n’accepte pas de nouveaux patients pour le moment, mais qu’il peut l’inscrire sur une liste d’attente. La voisine accepte d’être placée sur cette liste, même en sachant que l’attente peut être d’au moins six mois. Le lendemain, pour rendre service à sa voisine, le médecin demande à son assistant de la placer au haut de la liste. Est-ce approprié, compte tenu des circonstances?

Bon nombre de Canadiens ont de la difficulté à obtenir rapidement accès à un médecin. Pour leur part, les médecins ont parfois de la difficulté à déterminer s’ils peuvent ou non accepter de nouveaux patients. Devant déjà assumer une lourde charge de travail, ils sont confrontés à un dilemme moral : refuser des patients pour assurer la bonne gestion de leur pratique.

De nombreux médecins (comme les médecins de famille prodiguant des soins primaires ou les consultants qui n’acceptent habituellement des patients que sur demande de consultation) font face à ce défi. Dans cet article, il est question de l’acceptation de nouveaux patients dans le cadre des soins primaires.

Malgré certaines variantes, les politiques des organismes de réglementation (Collèges) sur l’acceptation de nouveaux patients comptent de nombreuses similarités fondées sur les responsabilités déontologiques des médecins. Les médecins devraient respecter ces éléments au moment de répondre à une demande de soins continus d’une personne qui ne fait pas déjà partie de leurs patients :

  • urgence et nécessité
  • champ d’exercice et compétence clinique
  • discrimination
  • listes d’attente

Urgence et nécessité

En général, les médecins ne sont pas tenus de traiter une personne nécessitant des soins non urgents. Ils doivent toutefois, lorsqu’un nouveau patient demande à être traité, déterminer si cette personne nécessite des soins d’urgence. Bien que la prestation de soins d’urgence ne mène pas nécessairement à l’établissement d’une relation médecin-patient continue, elle est conforme à ce que le Code de déontologie de l’AMC prescrit à ce sujet : « Fournir toute l’aide appropriée possible à quiconque a un besoin urgent de soins médicaux ».1

Les Collèges offrent des précisions à cet égard. Par exemple, le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la Colombie-Britannique déclare que « en situation d’urgence médicale, les médecins doivent prodiguer les soins nécessaires, en tenant compte de leur champ de pratique et des options accessibles, telle la consultation de spécialistes. »2 [Traduction libre]

Dans certaines situations, les médecins devraient accorder la priorité aux personnes dont les problèmes complexes nécessitent une attention soutenue. L’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario (CPSO) conseille aux médecins « de faire preuve de jugement pour déterminer s’il est adéquat d’établir les priorités en fonction des besoins, en tenant compte des facteurs sociaux pouvant influencer les résultats pour la santé (p. ex. logement, sécurité alimentaire, emploi et revenu). »3 [Traduction libre]

Champ d’exercice et compétence clinique

Les médecins ne doivent pas refuser un nouveau patient uniquement en fonction de la gravité de ses problèmes de santé ou de la charge de travail que son traitement exige. Toutefois, ils peuvent généralement refuser un patient éventuel lorsque ses besoins médicaux ne relèvent pas de leur champ de pratique ou dépassent leur compétence clinique.3

Discrimination

Les médecins sont assujettis aux dispositions législatives de leur province ou territoire en matière de droits de la personne. De plus, le Code de déontologie de l’AMC indique ce qui suit : « Dans la prestation des services médicaux, n’exercer de discrimination envers aucun patient en raison, notamment, de son âge, son sexe, son état civil, son état de santé, son origine nationale ou ethnique, son incapacité physique ou mentale, son affiliation politique, sa race, sa religion, son orientation sexuelle ou sa situation socioéconomique. Cette disposition ne prive pas le médecin du droit de refuser un patient pour des raisons légitimes. »1

Au moment de refuser un patient éventuel, les médecins doivent tenir compte des effets d’un tel refus sur ce dernier. Certaines personnes pourraient l’interpréter comme de la discrimination, même lorsque le médecin n’avait aucune intention de la sorte. Ainsi, il est important de communiquer, de façon claire et respectueuse, les motifs du refus de façon à dissiper toute perception de discrimination.

Listes d’attente et parenté des patients

Les médecins disposés à accepter de nouveaux patients doivent généralement appliquer le principe du « premier arrivé, premier servi » aux demandeurs se trouvant dans une situation semblable4 et les accepter dans l’ordre où ils apparaissent sur la liste d’attente. Il est important de communiquer clairement le temps d’attente prévu aux patients éventuels se trouvant sur une liste, afin de gérer leurs attentes et de dissiper toute mésentente.

Le médecin est généralement justifié dans sa décision d’accepter de traiter la parenté d’un patient, même s’il n’est pas autrement disposé à prendre de nouveaux patients. La prestation de soins à la parenté d’un patient pourrait en effet permettre de mieux définir les antécédents familiaux, ce qui contribuerait à de meilleurs résultats pour la santé.3

En bref

  • La décision d’accepter ou de refuser un nouveau patient doit toujours être prise de bonne foi, conformément à la politique du Collège.
  • Votre décision d’accepter ou non de nouveaux patients peut dépendre de facteurs tels que la situation actuelle de votre pratique et vos compétences en ce qui concerne les soins demandés ou attendus.
  • Lorsque vous décidez de ne pas traiter ou accepter un nouveau patient, vous devez vous assurer que ce dernier ne requiert pas des soins urgents et que votre décision s’appliquerait tout autant à n’importe quel autre patient.
  • Discutez de votre refus avec la personne concernée de façon respectueuse et honnête, et consignez le tout dans vos dossiers.

En cas d’incertitude quant à la démarche à suivre lorsque l’on vous demande de prodiguer des soins à une personne ne faisant pas partie de vos patients, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des conseils.

Dans le cas présenté en introduction, la voisine nécessitait clairement un suivi médical, mais ses besoins immédiats n’étaient pas urgents. En la plaçant au haut de sa liste d’attente, le médecin a nui à certains des autres patients qui attendaient depuis plus longtemps et dont les problèmes pouvaient être plus graves que ceux de la voisine. Dans cet exemple, une fois les besoins et la situation de la patiente éventuelle établis, l’approche optimale aurait été de la placer sur la liste d’attente selon l’ordre habituel ou, dans la mesure du possible, de l’orienter vers un autre médecin.




Références

  1. Association médicale canadienne [En ligne]. Ottawa (CA): CMA; 2004 (révisé en mars 2018). Code de déontologie de l’AMC [cité le 9 mai 2018]; [1 écran]. Disponible : https://www.cma.ca/fr/Pages/code-of-ethics.aspx
  2. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia [En ligne]. Vancouver (CA): CPSBC; nov. 2012. Professional Standards and Guidelines, Access to Medical Care [cité le 9 mai 2018]; [3 écrans]. Disponible : https://www.cpsbc.ca/files/pdf/PSG-Access-to-Medical-Care.pdf
  3. The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario [En ligne]. Toronto (CA): CPSO; nov. 2008 (mise à jour en mai 2017). Accepting New Patients [cité le 9 mai 2018]; [4 écrans]. Disponible : http://www.cpso.on.ca/Policies-Publications/Policy/Accepting-New-Patients
  4. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta [En ligne]. Edmonton (CA): CPSA; 1er janvier 2010 (republié le 11 juin 2015). Standard of Practice: Establishing the Physician-Patient Relationship [cité le 4 juin 2018]; [2 écrans]. Disponible : http://www.cpsa.ca/standardspractice/establishing-physician-patient-relationship/

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.