Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Creating a culture of accountability promotes safe medical care

Originally published September 2018
18-18-E

Just culture and civil liability

This article supports physician leaders in creating a positive workplace culture in which patient safety incidents are reported and disclosed, and where organizations promote learning from past events to improve care. It suggests an approach to manage behaviour that enables delivery of safe medical care. The suggested approach does not, however, assume the determination of civil liability in which a defined set of legal principles is applied.

A patient undergoing a carotid angiogram is injected with isopropyl alcohol instead of contrast medium. She suffers a massive stroke and dies.

Consider three different possibilities that could have led to the same event:

  • Scenario 1: The radiology technologist pours the wrong solution into the sterile steel container on the procedure tray because the isopropryl alcohol and contrast bottles look similar and are kept side by side on the storage shelf.
  • Scenario 2: Although the procedure calls for it, the radiologist and technologist do not take the time to confirm that the correct solution is being used, because this is the third case of the day and the others went well.
  • Scenario 3: Despite the technologist’s reminder to complete a pre-procedure checklist, the radiologist, who is rushed, refuses to verify with the technologist that she is using the correct solution.

As a physician leader, how would you respond to each of these situations?

Understanding human fallibility

Human beings have been described as "inherently self-serving, occasionally altruistic, happiness-seeking, inescapably fallible pack animals, blessed (or cursed) with free will and a mis-tuned ability to see and avoid hazards in the world around it."1 For the physician leader, reflecting on and accepting this statement creates the foundation on which a culture of accountability can be built. That culture enables lessons to be learned following patient safety incidents and near misses, and allows highly reliable clinical outcomes to be achieved.

To create a culture where everyone on the team is accountable and open to learning, healthcare leaders and providers alike must begin by acknowledging human fallibility. Building and nurturing teams that are accountable and engaged, and that can identify and fix problems before harm occurs, requires leaders to accept five universal tenets:

  1. To err is human.
  2. To drift is human.
  3. Risk is everywhere.
  4. We manage in support of our values.
  5. We are all accountable.

Culture rooted in values

A culture of accountability results from the consistent application of the just culture model. It is characterized by a values-supportive system of shared accountability where organizations are accountable for the systems they have designed and for responding to the behaviours of their employees in a fair and just manner. Employees [and others in the workplace including physicians], in turn, are accountable for the quality of their behavioural choices and for reporting both errors and systems vulnerabilities.2

To create and support a culture of accountability, leaders must clearly articulate their organization’s mission and its values. Having a clear understanding of their organization’s values allows healthcare providers to embody and protect those values through their behavioural choices, and provides a foundation for any needed interventions by the organization’s leaders.

Defining organizational missions, values

A mission is the organization’s reason for being (e.g. provision of safe medical care), while its values are the guiding principles that help it achieve its mission. Values convey to healthcare providers what is important to an organization as it serves its mission.

When facing undesirable behaviours among the healthcare team, leaders can take a punitive approach, often based on the severity of the outcome, or a blame-free approach where individuals are not held to account for their behaviours owing to systemic issues. When championing a culture of accountability, leaders will want to strike a balance between the two approaches.

Within a culture of accountability, three types of human behaviour are recognized as affecting the ability of providers to fulfill their duties in support of their organization’s mission: human error, at-risk behaviour, and reckless behaviour. Leaders must use appropriate interventions to promote behavioural choices that reflect the organization’s values.

Human error

In the context of fostering a culture of accountability, human error is an unintended action which is, by definition, inevitable and unintentional. Consequently, the appropriate response from leaders when human errors occur is to accept them and to console the healthcare provider who made the mistake. Accepting errors, however, does not preclude the organization from learning from events to identify ways of reducing the risk of recurrences.

At-risk behaviour

Healthcare providers typically receive training about the rules and procedures set by their organizations. But over time, as they acquire competence and learn to cope with increasing demands and pressures of clinical practice, individuals inevitably develop shortcuts, workarounds, and heuristics in their daily tasks.3 Thus, the provider drifts from accepted behaviours into more dangerous patterns that he or she regards as being more efficient but that are still within the spectrum of what may be considered safe. Behavioural drift (e.g. using a clean, rather than a sterile technique for a minor procedure) is a normal aspect of human behaviour. It is an unconscious choice to deviate from training, stemming from a lack of perception of risk or a mistaken belief that the risk is justifiable. As providers become more comfortable with their tasks, drift is further reinforced by the fact that any resulting harm is relatively rare, thus obscuring the link between drift and potential harm.

Drift is considered to be at-risk behaviour. Within a culture of accountability, it is generally recognized that behavioural drift is the single greatest threat to patient safety, owing to its unconscious nature and to its pervasiveness in everyday practice.

For healthcare leaders who have identified occasional at-risk behaviour, an appropriate intervention is to coach the healthcare provider back toward safe practice. Coaching is a positive discussion that may include pointing out the drift, reminding the provider of the risks, and redirecting the provider’s choices toward accepted policies and procedures. Repeated at-risk behaviour can be managed by evaluating performance-shaping factors at both the provider and system levels. Disciplinary action can be considered when coaching and modification of performance shaping factors have been exhausted.

One of the biggest challenges in managing at-risk behaviour occurs when drift is identified but no patient safety incident or near miss has resulted. Many leaders in this circumstance adopt a "no harm, no foul" approach and fail to provide the necessary coaching. This approach, however, represents a missed opportunity for learning and ultimately imperils a culture of accountability by tacitly reinforcing drift. Leaders should instead strive to coach as many episodes of drift as reasonably possible, whether or not these incidents result in adverse outcomes.

Reckless behaviour

Reckless behaviour represents intentional risk-taking. It is a conscious disregard to act without regard to a known, substantial, and unjustifiable risk. While often egregious, this type of behaviour is rare and thus poses a lesser threat to overall patient safety in the healthcare system.

Regardless of whether or not a patient safety incident or near miss occurred, the appropriate management response to confirmed reckless behaviour is to take action with the individual care provider. Before determining a course of action, leaders should first consider all the facts and circumstances of the case. There may be situations, for example, where the social benefit of a conscious choice to deviate from a procedure would justify an otherwise reckless behaviour. Factors such as insight, cooperation, and commitment to change are often relevant to the severity of the chosen intervention.

Addressing recurring undesirable behaviours

When an individual repeatedly makes errors or exhibits recurring at-risk or reckless behaviours, these may be symptoms of broader system or provider issues. Leaders in these circumstances may want to identify and help to address these performance-shaping factors which may be compromising the delivery of safe medical care.

The bottom line

A culture of accountability seizes opportunities for learning from otherwise undesirable behaviours. When leaders identify the causes of human error and at-risk and reckless behaviours, use appropriate behavioural interventions and modify processes when needed, the organization’s learning system is strengthened and team members become more engaged. The result is a reliable healthcare system that supports safe medical care.

What the case scenarios can teach us

After the radiologist promptly discloses the patient safety incident to the family, the hospital initiates an accountability review.

  • Scenario 1 is most likely to be a human error. The technician is consoled and a search for contributing factors leads to changes in bottle storage and labelling.
  • Scenario 2 in most cases represents at-risk behaviour. The radiologist and technologist are coached about drift and the fact that their choice to not verify the solutions represents drift from an established policy. They are reminded of the reason for, and importance of, following procedures.
  • Scenario 3 is an example of reckless behaviour by the radiologist. The chief of diagnostic imaging initiates an investigation into the incident which helps inform the hospital’s accountability review. The chief meets with the radiologist to discuss potential sanctions and to set clear expectations for future performance. The chief also discusses the matter with the technologist, who is coached about the importance of speaking up and stopping the line when required. The hospital provides training for the team to promote psychological safety in the radiology suite.

 




References

  1. Marx D. Console, coach or punish: How reactions to behavioral choices influence culture. In: 2017 Michigan Health and Hospital Association Patient Safety and Quality Symposium; 8 March 2017; Dearborn
  2. Griffith KS. Column: The growth of a just culture. Jt Comm Perspect Patient Saf. 2009 Dec;9(12):8-9
  3. Amalberti R, Vincent C, Auroy, Y, et al. Violations and migrations in health care: a framework for understanding and management. BMJ Qual Saf, 2006;15:i66-i71

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Une culture de responsabilisation favorise des soins sécuritaires

Publié initialement en septembre 2018
18-18-F

Culture juste et responsabilité civile

Cet article vise à encourager les médecins chefs de file à établir une culture organisationnelle positive dans laquelle les incidents liés à la sécurité des patients sont signalés et divulgués, et à favoriser l’apprentissage par l’expérience dans l’optique d’améliorer les soins. On y propose aussi une approche à la gestion des comportements qui privilégie la prestation de soins médicaux sécuritaires. Cette approche, toutefois, n’entend pas déterminer la responsabilité civile dans laquelle s’applique un ensemble défini de principes juridiques.

Une patiente subit une artériographie de la carotide au cours de laquelle on lui injecte de l’alcool isopropylique au lieu de la solution de contraste. Elle subit un accident vasculaire cérébral majeur et décède.

Envisagez trois autres scénarios qui auraient pu mener au même événement :

    • Scénario 1 : La technologue en radiologie se trompe en versant la solution dans le contenant stérile du plateau d’instruments parce que les flacons d’alcool isopropylique et de solution de contraste se ressemblent, et sont rangés côte à côte sur la tablette.
    • Scénario 2 : Bien que la procédure de vérification soit claire, le radiologiste et la technologue ne prennent pas le temps de confirmer qu’ils se servent de la bonne solution, car ils en sont au troisième patient de la journée, et que tout s’est bien déroulé jusqu’à maintenant.
    • Scénario 3 : La technologue a bien demandé au radiologiste de remplir la liste de vérification préintervention, mais ce dernier est pressé et refuse de vérifier si elle utilise effectivement la bonne solution.

En tant que médecin chef de file, comment réagiriez-vous à chacune de ces situations?

Comprendre que l’être humain est faillible

L’être humain a déjà été décrit comme étant « une bête sociale préoccupée par son bien-être, inévitablement faillible, en quête perpétuelle de bonheur et pour qui le libre arbitre peut ou non constituer un atout, qui ne dispose que d’une capacité approximative de cerner et d’éviter les dangers présents dans le monde qui l’entoure [Traduction libre]. »1 Pour le médecin chef de file, l’examen ou l’acceptation de cet énoncé représente la base sur laquelle construire une culture de responsabilisation. Une telle culture permet de tirer des enseignements d’incidents liés à la sécurité des patients ou d’incidents évités de justesse, et d’obtenir des résultats cliniques très fiables.

Pour créer une culture où chaque membre d’une équipe se responsabilise et s’ouvre à l’apprentissage par l’expérience, les chefs de file et les professionnels de la santé doivent d’abord reconnaître que l’être humain est faillible. La création et l’encadrement d’équipes responsables, engagées, pouvant identifier et résoudre des problèmes avant qu’un préjudice ne survienne, exigent des chefs de file qu’ils acceptent ces cinq principes fondamentaux :

  1. L’erreur est humaine.
  2. La dérive est normale.
  3. Le risque est partout.
  4. Nous gérons en fonction de nos valeurs.
  5. Nous sommes tous responsables.

Définir mission et valeurs organisationnelles

La mission est la raison d’être de l’organisation (p. ex. la prestation de soins médicaux sécuritaires), alors que les valeurs constituent les principes directeurs pour la réaliser. Les valeurs communiquent aux professionnels de la santé ce qui importe pour remplir la mission de l’organisation.

Culture ancrée dans les valeurs

Une culture de responsabilisation résulte de l’application cohérente du modèle d’une culture juste. Ce modèle se caractérise par « un système de soutien des valeurs de responsabilité partagée où les organisations sont responsables des systèmes qu’elles ont conçus et donnent suite aux comportements de leurs employés de manière juste et équitable. Les employés (et les autres intervenants du milieu de travail, y compris les médecins) sont, à leur tour, responsables de la qualité de leurs choix de comportement et de communiquer autant les erreurs que les vulnérabilités des systèmes [Traduction libre]. »2

Pour créer et entretenir une culture de responsabilisation, les chefs de file doivent clairement énoncer la mission et les valeurs de leur organisation. Les professionnels de la santé qui comprennent bien les valeurs de leur organisation pourront les concrétiser et les protéger par leurs choix de comportement, établissant ainsi le fondement de toute intervention requise par les chefs de file.

Aux prises avec des comportements indésirables au sein de l’équipe de santé, les chefs de file peuvent adopter une approche punitive, fondée souvent sur la gravité du résultat, ou une approche sans blâme où les gens ne sont pas tenus responsables de leurs comportements en raison de problèmes systémiques. En adoptant le rôle de défenseur de la culture de responsabilisation, les chefs de file souhaitent établir un équilibre entre ces deux approches.

Dans une culture de responsabilisation, trois genres de comportements humains sont reconnus comme affectant la capacité du professionnel à s’acquitter de ses devoirs envers la mission de l’organisation : l’erreur humaine, le comportement à risque et la conduite dangereuse. Les chefs de file doivent donc avoir recours à des interventions appropriées reflétant les valeurs de l’organisation.

Erreur humaine

Dans un contexte de promotion d’une culture de responsabilisation, l’erreur humaine est un geste irréfléchi qui se définit comme étant inévitable et involontaire. Par conséquent, la réponse appropriée d’un chef de file, lorsque surviennent des erreurs humaines, est de les accepter et de consoler les professionnels de la santé les ayant commises. L’acceptation des erreurs n’empêche pas toutefois l’organisation de tirer des leçons de ces événements et d’identifier des façons de réduire le risque de récurrence.

Comportement à risque

Les professionnels de la santé reçoivent généralement une formation concernant les règles et procédures de leurs organisations. Mais avec le temps, alors qu’ils acquièrent des compétences et apprennent à faire face aux demandes et aux pressions croissantes de leur milieu clinique, ils adoptent raccourcis, détours et approches intuitives dans leurs tâches quotidiennes.3 Le professionnel délaisse alors les comportements acceptés pour en adopter de plus dangereux qu’il juge plus efficients, mais qui demeurent dans le spectre de ce qui est considéré sécuritaire. Une dérive comportementale s’installe (p.ex.avoir recours à une technique propre plutôt que stérile pour une intervention mineure), ce qui est un aspect normal du comportement humain. Il s’agit d’un choix inconscient de dévier de la formation reçue, dont l’origine est une mauvaise perception du risque ou une croyance erronée que le risque est justifiable. Au fur et à mesure que les professionnels deviennent plus à l’aise avec leurs tâches, la dérive s’aggrave du fait que tout préjudice pouvant en résulter est relativement rare, ce qui occulte ainsi le lien entre la dérive et le préjudice possible.

La dérive évoque un comportement à risque. Dans une culture de responsabilisation, il est généralement reconnu que la dérive comportementale est la plus grande menace à la sécurité des patients en raison de l’inconscience qui s’y rattache et de son omniprésence dans la pratique quotidienne.

Lorsqu’un chef de file du domaine de la santé décèle un comportement à risque occasionnel, une intervention appropriée serait d’accompagner le professionnel pour qu’il revienne à une pratique sécuritaire. L’accompagnement prend la forme d’une discussion positive qui peut comprendre le signalement de la dérive, le rappel des risques et la réorientation des choix du professionnel vers des politiques et des procédures acceptables. Les comportements à risque répétés peuvent être gérés par une évaluation des facteurs qui influent sur le rendement du professionnel tout comme sur celui du système. Des mesures disciplinaires peuvent aussi être envisagées lorsque l’accompagnement n’a pas porté ses fruits et une fois que l’on a tout tenté pour modifier les facteurs liés au rendement.

L’un des plus grands défis dans la gestion du comportement à risque survient lorsqu’une dérive est repérée, mais qu’elle n’entraîne aucun incident lié à la sécurité des patients ou incident évité de justesse. Dans ces circonstances, de nombreux chefs de file adoptent l’approche selon laquelle « il n’y a pas de faute s’il n’y a pas de préjudice ». Ils n’assurent pas alors l’accompagnement requis. Une telle approche néglige les occasions d’apprentissage et pourrait même mettre en péril la culture de responsabilisation en renforçant la dérive de façon tacite. En présence d’épisodes de dérive, les chefs de file devraient saisir le plus de possibilités de fournir un accompagnement, que ces épisodes causent ou non des résultats défavorables.

Conduite dangereuse

Une conduite dangereuse représente une prise de risque intentionnelle. Il s’agit du mépris délibéré d’un risque connu, important et injustifiable. Quoique souvent flagrant, ce genre de comportement est rare et constitue donc une moindre menace pour la sécurité des patients.

Qu’un incident lié à la sécurité des patients ou un incident évité de justesse survienne ou non, la réponse appropriée d’un gestionnaire à une situation de conduite dangereuse est d’intervenir auprès du professionnel de la santé. Avant de déterminer le plan d’intervention, les chefs de file devraient envisager l’ensemble des faits et circonstances. Il pourrait y avoir des situations, par exemple, où l’avantage social découlant d’un choix délibéré de dévier de la procédure justifierait une conduite jugée dangereuse en d’autres occasions. Des facteurs comme la prise de conscience, la collaboration et l’engagement envers le changement entrent souvent en compte dans le choix de l’intervention qui s’impose.

Suivi de comportements indésirables récurrents

Quand une personne répète des erreurs ou démontre des comportements à risque récurrents ou des conduites dangereuses, des problèmes liés au système ou au professionnel sont sûrement présents. Dans ces circonstances, les chefs de file devraient cerner les facteurs qui influent sur ces comportements, puisqu’ils risquent de compromettre la prestation de soins médicaux sécuritaires.

En bref

Une culture de responsabilisation exploite les comportements qui, dans d’autres occasions, seraient jugés indésirables pour en tirer des apprentissages. Quand les chefs de file réussissent à cerner les causes d’erreur humaine, de comportement à risque ou de conduite dangereuse, ils peuvent choisir les interventions appropriées et modifier les procédures au besoin. Le système d’apprentissage n’en sera que renforcé, les membres de l’équipe plus engagés et nous pourrons compter davantage sur un système de santé fiable qui soutient la prestation de soins sécuritaires.

Ce que nous pouvons apprendre des divers scénarios

Après que le radiologiste ait rapidement divulgué à la famille l’incident lié à la sécurité des patients, l’hôpital a amorcé une évaluation de l’acte médical.

  • Le scénario 1 illustre en toute probabilité une erreur humaine. La technologue est consolée, et la recherche des facteurs contributifs mène à des changements dans l’entreposage et l’étiquetage des flacons.
  • Le scénario 2 représente un comportement à risque dans la plupart des situations. Le radiologiste et la technologue reçoivent un accompagnement au sujet de la dérive. On les informe aussi que leur choix de ne pas vérifier les solutions représente une dérive de la politique établie. On leur rappelle également les raisons et l’importance de suivre les procédures.
  • Le scénario 3 démontre une conduite dangereuse chez le radiologiste. Le chef du département de l’imagerie diagnostique amorce une enquête sur l’incident, recueillant ainsi des renseignements pour l’évaluation de l’acte médical. Le chef rencontre le radiologiste pour discuter de mesures disciplinaires possibles et pour établir des attentes claires en vue de la prochaine évaluation de rendement. Le chef a aussi rencontré la technologue qui reçoit un accompagnement sur l’importance de s’exprimer sans crainte à l’égard d’un problème et d’interrompre l’intervention, le cas échéant. L’hôpital a offert de la formation à l’équipe pour promouvoir la sécurité psychologique en radiologie.

 




Références

  1. Marx D. Console, coach or punish: How reactions to behavioral choices influence culture. Dans 2017 Michigan Health and Hospital Association Patient Safety and Quality Symposium; 8 mars 2017; Dearbon
  2. Griffith KS. The growth of a just culture. Jt Comm Perspect Patient Saf, 2009 Dec;9(12):8-9
  3. Amalberti R, Vincent C, Auroy, Y, et al. Violations and migrations in health care: a framework for understanding and management. BMJ Qual Saf, 2006; 15:i66-i71

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.