Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Closing the loop on effective follow-up in clinical practice

8 suggested steps toward a robust follow-up system

Originally published March 2019
19-06-E

Consider this scenario and how it might have turned out differently with better follow-up.

A 53-year-old man sees a general surgeon for a colonoscopy, after having received a positive fecal occult blood test and noted to have a hemoglobin of 72 g/L. The colonoscopy is difficult and is terminated without the surgeon being able to fully visualize the colon. The surgeon orders a CT colonography to rule out a tumour. Unfortunately, the requisition gets lost and the patient never undergoes the procedure. Months later, the patient returns to the emergency department with symptoms of a bowel obstruction. At surgery, a large obstructive tumour is identified. Despite treatment, the patient dies and his family initiates a legal action alleging negligent delay in diagnosis due to the surgeon’s lack of follow-up on the investigation she ordered.

Following up is a professional obligation

Many factors may lead to a diagnostic delay, such as failing to inform a patient of a test result. Physicians can reduce the likelihood of such delays by targeting improvement efforts on their system for following up on laboratory tests, diagnostic imaging, and consultations.

Many provincial and territorial regulatory authorities (Colleges) have policies that set their expectations of physicians for following up on test, imaging, and consultation requests and results. Indeed, having a reasonable system in place to achieve this goal is a professional obligation of physicians. While some types of tests are subject to established follow-up programs (e.g. Papanicolaou smear, fecal occult blood test, mammogram screening), in most other instances the responsibility for following up rests with the ordering physician.

Toward a reliable follow-up system: Getting started

Developing or improving a follow-up system may seem difficult, but the system need not be complicated. A follow-up system should be sufficiently robust so that test requisitions and results are reviewed and acted on in a reasonable period of time.

Start by understanding your practice. Determine what tests you typically order that would have a high likelihood of resulting in harm if mishandled. For example, if you regularly order tests to investigate malignancies (chest X-rays, CT scans, ultrasounds, mammograms, prostate-specific antigen) or coagulopathies (CBCs, INRs), you could focus your initial efforts on establishing or improving a formal system focused on these types of tests.

Don’t stop improving your process after an early success: continuous improvement is key to building a reliable system. When you spot a problem area, use a collaborative approach with other parties involved in the testing process (including nurses, reception staff, lab staff, and consultant physicians) to arrive at a mutually agreeable solution.

Getting to know your EMR’s test follow-up functionality

If you have an electronic medical record (EMR) system, the EMR is possibly among your best assets for creating a reliable follow-up system. Many EMRs have effective built-in functionalities for follow-up. Do you know how to leverage yours? Your EMR vendor may be able to help. As well, your provincial or territorial medical association or federation may offer EMR support. OntarioMD (www.ontariomd.ca), for example, offers a peer support service to help physicians make the most of their EMR’s features.

Suggested steps in a follow-up system

In a review of CMPA family practice medical-legal cases in which a follow-up issue was found to contribute to a patient safety incident, more than half (60%) of the cases involved a deficiency in one step of the follow-up process while the remaining 40% involved deficiencies across multiple steps.

The diagram below, adapted from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) in the United States, conceptualizes the process of test result follow-up as a series of steps.1 Improvements in one or more steps may reduce the risk of failures. A reliable follow-up system includes safeguards at each step so that there is redundancy of defences. If one step fails, another step later in the process ideally compensates for the oversight.

For each step, a potential problem area is described, followed by suggested mitigation solutions. 

  1. Test ordered
    Problem:
    Some tests are ordered incorrectly or unnecessarily. Requisitions are mislabelled, or the physician later does not remember ordering the test or the reason for it.
    Suggested solutions:
    • Order only relevant and necessary testing.2
    • Minimize variability by using the same ordering process for a given type of test.
    • Train staff to confirm the patient’s and next-of-kin’s contact information when patients register at your office, before you order any testing.
    • In clinics, employ a system that requires each ordering physician to use the correct requisition.
  2. Test performed
    Problem:
    Some patients neglect to have the test performed or experience a long wait time between the test being ordered and performed.
    Suggested solutions:
    • Identify a reasonable deadline date by which you wish to receive the results, taking your practice context into account. Contact patients whose results are not back by that date to remind them to have the test performed.
    • Foster patient engagement in managing their health and following through with testing. Explain the importance of the test and ask patients whether they understand.
  3. Result generated
    Problem:
    Some critical test results do not receive the needed attention.
    Suggested solutions:
    • Consultants, clearly mark “ABNORMAL RESULT” or “WARNING – UNEXPECTED FINDING” at the top of all abnormal or unexpected results.
    • Verbally notify the requesting physician of critical or unexpected results.
    • If you receive an abnormal result you did not order, ask yourself who the most responsible physician is, who should act on the test result, and consider whether other physicians in the circle of care should be notified.
  4. Result returned
    Problem:
    Some test results do not make it back to the ordering physician.
    Suggested solutions:
    • Set up an electronic reminder (in your EMR or calendar) to check that you received a pending test result by a specified date.
    • Tell your patients they should expect to receive a call from your office prior to the specified date and to call your office if they have not been contacted by then. Explain that this is a safeguard against occasional loss of test results.
    • Instruct locum physicians to keep a list of pending results. Upon your return, review the list and assume responsibility for following up on these results.
    • If you work at many sites, consider how often you visit each location and whether you are able to perform a timely review of test results.
    • If practical, link your billing to the receipt of test results—no test results, no billing.
  5. Result reviewed
    Problem:
    The test result has been returned but the physician did not see it.
    Suggested solutions:
    • Review test results regularly to keep your inbox manageable.
    • Designate and train staff to review test results and flag abnormal ones.
    • Do not click “Reviewed” or “OK” on results you have not reviewed as a means of “getting rid” of an EMR alert or reminder message.
  6. Result documented and filed
    Problem:
    The test result gets filed before the physician has reviewed it.
    Suggested solutions:
    • Train staff not to file reports that you have not reviewed and for which you have not created an action plan.
    • Sign off the results and make a brief note of the action taken.
  7. Patient notified of result
    Problem:
    The patient is not informed of the result or of the required action.
    Suggested solutions:
    • Use telephone prescription refill requests as a trigger to review whether a result is pending, prior to reordering the medication.
    • Set a policy on the number of follow-up phone calls to a patient your office will make concerning a specific test requisition, and when and how to use alternative methods for follow-up (e.g. with prior consent, contacting the patient’s next-of-kin).
    • Create an alert for the issue, which you and your staff will see at the next contact with the patient.
  8. Patient monitored through follow-up
    Problem:
    The physician does not take action on a test result.
    Suggested solutions:
    • If a follow-up investigation is warranted, order it right away where possible (do not wait).
    • Include test results with consultation requests to facilitate prioritization by the consultant.
    • If you are uncertain about a follow-up plan, contact other physicians in the circle of care to verify who is taking action.

Case example revisited: A potentially better way

The surgeon and her colleagues embark on improving their follow-up system. Because their EMR system does not support the follow-up of test results, they assign their office clerk to create and manage a spreadsheet-based parallel system to track results. The surgeons agree to harmonize their practices, including how they receive results from the clerk. They consider giving every patient automatic follow-up appointments, but because of a lack of clinic space, they opt to have the clerk close the loop with all patients, even with normal results. To help promote adherence to treatment plans, they create a simple patient handout to reinforce the importance of getting tests done, which they provide to every patient. They apply new rigor to documenting no-shows and recalls for difficult-to-reach patients. Finally, to avoid missing results due to physician absences, they assign one surgeon each week to deal with abnormal findings when the referring colleague is not in the office.

Learn more

Visit Workshops to learn more about test result follow-up systems.

  • Register for an upcoming CMPA workshop near you: “Is no news good news? Build a more reliable follow-up system for test results.”
  • Listen to the CMPA podcast “Creating a reliable system for the follow-up of test results,” and access other useful resources by the CMPA and other organizations.

 


 

References

  1. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality [Internet]. Rockville (MD): AHRQ; reviewed 2018 Jan. Improving Your Laboratory Testing Process [cited 2018 Dec]. Available from: https://www.ahrq.gov/professionals/quality-patient-safety/hais/tools/ambulatory-care/labtesting-toolkit.html
  2. For more information about appropriate use of clinical tests and treatments, visit Choosing Wisely Canada at www.choosingwiselycanada.org

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Pour un suivi efficace en pratique clinique

Un système robuste de suivi en huit étapes

Publié initialement en mars 2019
19-06-F

Lisez le scénario suivant et songez à ce qu’aurait permis un meilleur suivi.

Un homme de 53 ans consulte une chirurgienne générale pour une coloscopie; la recherche de sang occulte dans les selles s’est révélée positive et le taux d’hémoglobine est de 72 g/L. La chirurgienne éprouve beaucoup de difficulté à effectuer la coloscopie et l’examen prend fin sans qu’elle puisse visualiser l’intégralité du côlon. Elle prescrit une colographie par tomodensitométrie pour écarter la présence d’une tumeur. Malheureusement, la demande d’examen est perdue et le patient ne subit jamais cette intervention. Des mois plus tard, il retourne à l’urgence en raison de symptômes d’occlusion intestinale; une intervention est pratiquée et révèle une importante tumeur occlusive. Malgré le traitement, le patient décède et sa famille intente une action en justice alléguant une faute professionnelle dans l’établissement du diagnostic attribuable à l’absence de suivi de l’examen prescrit par la chirurgienne.

Suivi = obligation professionnelle

De nombreux facteurs peuvent mener à un retard dans l’établissement du diagnostic; p. ex. oublier d’aviser un patient d’un résultat d’examen. Les médecins peuvent atténuer la probabilité de tels retards en ciblant leurs efforts sur l’amélioration de leur système de suivi des examens de laboratoire, ainsi que des demandes d’imagerie diagnostique et de consultation.

De nombreux organismes provinciaux et territoriaux de réglementation (Collèges) ont des politiques qui établissent leurs attentes envers les médecins en matière de suivi des demandes d’examen, d’imagerie et de consultation, et de leurs résultats. En effet, le fait de disposer d’un système raisonnable pour l’atteinte de cet objectif constitue une obligation professionnelle pour les médecins. Bien que certains types d’examen soient assujettis à des programmes établis de suivi (p. ex. frottis de Pap, recherche de sang occulte dans les selles, mammographie), la responsabilité du suivi incombe au médecin prescripteur dans la plupart des autres cas.

Vers un système fiable de suivi : Premières étapes

Bien que la mise en œuvre ou l’amélioration d’un système de suivi puisse sembler ardue, le système en tant que tel n’a pas à être complexe : il doit être suffisamment robuste pour faire en sorte que les demandes et les résultats d’examen puissent être revus, et que l’on puisse y donner suite dans un délai raisonnable.

Commencez par l’analyse de votre pratique. Déterminez les examens que vous prescrivez habituellement et dont la mauvaise gestion pourrait fort probablement donner lieu à un préjudice. Par exemple, si vous demandez régulièrement des examens visant à déterminer la malignité de tumeurs (radiographie des poumons, tomodensitométrie, échographie, mammographie, antigène spécifique de la prostate) ou des coagulopathies (hémogramme, ratio international normalisé [RIN]), vous pourriez centrer vos efforts initiaux sur la mise sur pied ou l’amélioration d’un système structuré axé sur ces types d’examen.

N’arrêtez pas d’améliorer vos processus dès que vous remportez un premier succès : l’amélioration continue est essentielle à la fiabilité d’un système. Lorsque vous cernez une problématique, utilisez une approche concertée avec les autres participants au processus d’examen (p. ex. infirmières, personnel de réception, personnel de laboratoire et médecins consultants) pour en arriver à une solution consensuelle.

Apprendre à connaître la fonction de suivi des examens de votre DME

Si vous disposez d’un système de dossier médical électronique (DME), ce dernier figure probablement parmi vos meilleurs outils pour la création d’un système fiable de suivi. De nombreux DME comptent d’efficaces fonctions intégrées de suivi. Savez-vous comment tirer parti de celles de votre DME? Votre fournisseur de DME pourrait peut-être vous aider. Votre association ou fédération médicale provinciale ou territoriale pourrait également vous offrir du soutien à ce chapitre. Par exemple, OntarioMD (www.ontariomd.ca) offre un service de soutien de collègues visant à aider les médecins à tirer le maximum des caractéristiques de leur DME.

Système de suivi : étapes suggérées

Une analyse des dossiers médico-légaux de l’ACPM en médecine familiale dans le cadre desquels un problème de suivi a contribué à un incident lié à la sécurité du patient a révélé que plus de la moitié (60 %) de ces dossiers mettaient en cause une carence dans l’une des étapes du processus de suivi, tandis que les autres (40 %) étaient associés à des carences affectant de multiples étapes.

Le diagramme suivant, adapté de l’Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) américaine, définit le processus de suivi des résultats d’examen comme une série d’étapes.1 Les améliorations apportées à l’une ou à plusieurs de ces étapes peuvent atténuer le risque d’échec. Un système fiable de suivi compte des mesures de sauvegarde à chacune de ses étapes, de façon à assurer la redondance de la protection. Lorsque l’une des étapes échoue, le processus compte une étape en aval pouvant, idéalement, redresser la situation.

Pour chacune de ces étapes, nous décrivons un problème possible, pour ensuite suggérer des solutions.

  1. L’examen est prescrit
    Problème :
    Certains examens sont prescrits incorrectement ou inutilement. Les demandes sont mal étiquetées, ou le médecin ne se souvient plus d’avoir prescrit l’examen ou pour quelle raison il l’avait demandé.
    Solutions suggérées :
    • Ne prescrivez que les examens pertinents et nécessaires.2
    • Minimisez la variabilité en utilisant le même processus de demande pour un type d’examen donné.
    • Avant de prescrire quelque examen que ce soit, apprenez à votre personnel à confirmer au moment de l’accueil les coordonnées du patient et de la personne à joindre en cas d’urgence
    • En clinique, utilisez un système qui exige que chaque médecin prescripteur utilise la bonne demande.
  2. L’examen est effectué
    Problème :
    Certains patients négligent de se présenter à leur examen ou doivent faire face à un long temps d’attente entre la demande et l’exécution de l’examen.
    Solutions suggérées :
    • Établissez une date limite raisonnable d’ici laquelle vous souhaitez recevoir les résultats, en tenant compte du contexte de votre pratique. Communiquez avec les patients dont les résultats n’ont pas été reçus à cette date pour leur rappeler de subir l’examen.
    • Favorisez la participation des patients à la gestion de leur santé et au suivi de leurs examens. Expliquez-leur l’importance de l’examen et demandez-leur de vous confirmer leur compréhension.
  3. Les résultats sont générés
    Problème :
    Certains résultats d’examen cruciaux ne reçoivent pas l’attention requise.
    Solutions suggérées :
    • Consultants : Inscrivez clairement la mention « RÉSULTAT ANORMAL » ou « AVERTISSEMENT – CONSTATATION INATTENDUE » dans la partie supérieure de tout document indiquant des résultats anormaux ou inattendus.
    • Avisez verbalement le médecin prescripteur de tout résultat crucial ou inattendu.
    • Si vous recevez un résultat anormal pour un examen que vous n’avez pas prescrit, cherchez à identifier le médecin le plus responsable (qui devrait y donner suite) et déterminez s’il y a lieu d’aviser les autres médecins du cercle de soins.
  4. Les résultats sont transmis
    Problème :
    Certains résultats d’examen ne sont pas communiqués au médecin prescripteur.
    Solutions suggérées :
    • Configurez un rappel électronique (dans votre DME ou calendrier) pour ne pas oublier de confirmer la réception d’un résultat en attente d’ici une date prédéterminée.
    • Avisez vos patients qu’ils recevront un appel avant cette date prédéterminée et qu’ils doivent communiquer avec votre cabinet en l’absence d’un tel appel. Expliquez-leur qu’il s’agit d’une mesure de protection contre la perte occasionnelle de résultats d’examen.
    • Demandez aux médecins suppléants de maintenir une liste des résultats en attente. À votre retour, passez cette liste en revue et assumez la responsabilité du suivi de ces résultats.
    • Tenez compte de la fréquence à laquelle vous exercez dans chacun de vos lieux de travail et déterminez si vous êtes en mesure d’évaluer les résultats d’examen en temps opportun.
    • Si vous le pouvez, liez votre facturation à la réception des résultats d’examen : pas de résultats, pas de facture.
  5. Les résultats sont analysés
    Problème :
    Les résultats d’examen ont été transmis, mais le médecin ne les a pas vus.
    Solutions suggérées :
    • Passez régulièrement en revue les résultats d’examen afin de désencombrer votre boîte de réception.
    • Désignez des membres du personnel et formez-les pour qu’ils puissent analyser les résultats d’examen et signaler les résultats anormaux.
    • En ce qui concerne les résultats que vous n’avez pas passés en revue, ne cliquez pas sur « Revu » ou « OK » seulement pour vous « débarrasser » d’une alerte de DME ou d’un message de rappel.
  6. Les résultats sont versés au dossier
    Problème :
    Les résultats d’examen sont versés au dossier avant que le médecin ne les ait passés en revue
    Solutions suggérées :
    • Avisez le personnel de ne pas verser de résultats au dossier avant que vous n’ayez eu le temps de les passer en revue et de créer un plan d’action en conséquence.
    • Approuvez les résultats et décrivez brièvement les mesures prises.
  7. Le patient est avisé des résultats
    Problème :
    Le patient n’est pas avisé des résultats ou des mesures requises.
    Solutions suggérées :
    • Avant de donner suite aux demandes téléphoniques de renouvellement d’ordonnance, vérifiez si des résultats sont en attente.
    • Établissez une politique quant au nombre de fois que le personnel de votre cabinet appellera le patient pour le suivi d’une demande d’examen particulière, ainsi qu’en ce qui concerne le moment et la façon d’utiliser une méthode de rechange (p. ex. communiquer avec la personne à joindre en cas d’urgence, en ayant au préalable obtenu le consentement du patient).
    • Créez une alerte (signalant la situation) qui sera portée à votre attention et à celle de votre personnel la prochaine fois que vous communiquerez avec le patient.
  8. Le patient fait l’objet du suivi requis
    Problème :
    Le médecin ne prend pas de mesures à la suite de la réception des résultats d’examen.
    Solutions suggérées :
    • Lorsqu’une investigation de suivi s’impose, prescrivez-la sur-le-champ dans la mesure du possible (n’attendez pas).
    • Assurez-vous d’inclure les résultats d’examen aux demandes de consultation pour qu’elles soient adéquatement mises en ordre de priorité par le médecin consultant.
    • En cas d’incertitude quant au suivi, communiquez avec les autres médecins du cercle de soins afin de déterminer si des mesures ont été mises en œuvre.

Suite du scénario : Une amélioration potentielle

La chirurgienne et ses collègues s’attellent à améliorer leur système de suivi. Puisque leur système de DME ne permet pas le suivi des résultats d’examen, ils demandent à leur adjoint administratif de créer et de gérer un système parallèle, fondé sur une feuille de calcul électronique, pour assurer le suivi des résultats. Les chirurgiens décident d’harmoniser leurs pratiques, y compris la façon dont ils reçoivent les résultats de l’adjoint administratif. Ils songent à accorder automatiquement un rendez-vous de suivi à chaque patient. Toutefois, en raison d’un manque d’espace à la clinique, ils choisissent de demander à l’adjoint administratif de communiquer avec tous les patients, même en présence de résultats normaux. Pour favoriser l’adhésion aux plans de traitement, ils créent une simple fiche à remettre au patient soulignant l’importance de l’exécution des examens prescrits. Ils font preuve d’une rigueur renouvelée quant à la consignation au dossier des rendez-vous manqués et des rappels visant les patients difficiles à joindre. Enfin, pour éviter que des résultats passent inaperçus pendant les absences des médecins à qui ils sont destinés, ils confient chaque semaine à un chirurgien la responsabilité de prendre en charge les résultats anormaux destinés à ses collègues absents.

Apprenez-en davantage

Consultez la page Ateliers pour en apprendre davantage sur les systèmes de suivi des résultats d’examen.

  • Inscrivez-vous à un atelier de l’ACPM prochainement offert près de chez vous : « Pas de nouvelles, bonnes nouvelles? Créez un système plus fiable pour le suivi des résultats d’examen »
  • Écoutez la balado de l’ACPM intitulée « Créez un système plus fiable pour le suivi des résultats d’examen » et obtenez accès à d’autres ressources utiles de l’ACPM et d’autres organisations.

 


 

Références

  1. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality [En ligne]. Rockville (MD): AHRQ. Improving Your Laboratory Testing Process [révisé en janvier 2018; cité en décembre 2018]. Disponible : https://www.ahrq.gov/professionals/quality-patient-safety/hais/tools/ambulatory-care/labtesting-toolkit.html
  2. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur l’utilisation adéquate des traitements et des examens cliniques, consultez le site Choisir avec soin au http://www.choisiravecsoin.org/

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.