Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Hit the brakes: Do you need to report your patient’s fitness to drive?

Originally published June 2019
19-09-E

Deciding whether to report a patient who may be unfit to drive can be challenging. Some patients may blame you, their physician, for the related emotional stress, loss of independence, and financial consequences and complain to the regulatory authority (College) or privacy commissioner, or commence a legal action.

While the CMPA is not aware of any Canadian cases in which physicians were found negligent for fulfilling their statutory duty to report fitness to drive, there have been cases where physicians were found negligent for failing to fulfill their reporting obligations.

Case example

A patient with Type I diabetes reports to her family physician serious hypoglycemic episodes that she is having difficulty controlling. She is subsequently found to be at fault in a car accident. The occupant of other vehicle suffers serious head injuries and a legal action is initiated against the patient, her family physician, and others. Experts conclude the physician fell below the standard of care to advise the patient not to drive and to report to the motor vehicle licensing authority. Without expert support, the CMPA, on behalf of the physician, contributes to a settlement paid to the occupant of the other car.

Threshold for reporting

It is important to know the requirements in your province or territory for reporting individuals who are unfit to drive.

Mandatory reports

In most jurisdictions, you must report patients with a medical condition that may make it dangerous to drive. 1 You must make a report even if the patient says he/she will not drive or if another physician has already reported. And, a report must be made irrespective of whether the patient has a valid licence—it is sufficient in most jurisdictions that they are of driving age.2

If you practise in British Columbia, however, reporting is mandatory only if the patient continues to drive after being warned not to.3

Discretionary reports

Reporting is discretionary in Alberta4, Québec5, and Nova Scotia6. In Ontario, the duty is discretionary for medical conditions that fall outside the list for mandatory reporting as determined by the Ministry of Transportation.7

While Québec allows for discretion in reporting, the Collège des médecins states that you must report if you have reason to believe the patient represents a serious risk to public safety and continues to drive despite being warned not to.8

A fatality inquiry in Alberta concluded that if you practise in that province, you have a mandatory duty to report according to the Canadian Medical Association’s Code of Ethics and Driver’s Guide.9

Temporary conditions

The decision to report patients who suffer from temporary conditions that will not impact their long-term driving ability (e.g. post-surgical transient conditions) is not an easy one. It requires discretionary clinical judgment.

If unsure about the patient’s prognosis or recovery time, consider scheduling a follow-up appointment within a reasonable time to reassess the patient. If after the assessment, you feel the patient continues to suffer from a condition that may make him/her unfit to drive based on your review of the CMA Driver’s Guide,10 inform the patient, and make a report.

Liability for reporting

You will generally not be faulted for breaching patient confidentiality if you make a report in good faith.

Report only the information required and only in the circumstances specified in the legislation or guidelines.10, 11 Reports should be based on your assessment of the patient’s symptoms, diagnosis, and recommended treatment plan.

Patients’ use of cannabis may affect their ability to drive. You should consult the CMA Driver’s Guide10 and Canadian Public Health Association’s information package entitled Cannabasics12 for information about the health and safety risks associated with cannabis.

Permission to warn

You may be concerned about safety if your patient continues to drive despite being warned not to and even where the patient’s licence has been suspended. When you reasonably believe that a patient who continues to drive with a medical condition may pose a risk of serious harm, you may be justified in alerting a third party who can assist in preventing the harm (e.g. the police or employer).

The Supreme Court of Canada has recognized that in certain circumstances danger to public safety can justify the disclosure of confidential patient information without consent.13 The permission to warn is also recognized in applicable privacy legislation in all provinces and territories.

Reporting patients who work in safety-sensitive positions

You may also be required to report individuals with a medical condition who work in positions critical to safety in aviation, shipping, and railway services.10, 14

As well, you may need to report patients with a medical condition that may make it unsafe to operate heavy equipment (e.g. forklift, backhoe, etc.) In these circumstances, you should consider whether the patient’s medical condition creates a risk to safety that would permit you to notify the employer or other third party. Before doing so, you should make the patient aware of your concerns and encourage him/her to independently notify the employer or otherwise address the risk.

Minimizing conflict

In addition to your obligations to report patients who are unfit to drive, you should generally speak with patients before making a report. Discuss the risks of driving as a result of their medical condition and warn them not to drive. You should talk about the rationale for and the nature of the report, and your legal obligations. Emphasize that it is the licensing authority that makes the decision to restrict driving. Also, provide appropriate support and advice to patients. If you are concerned that they will respond aggressively, consider taking precautions such as asking a staff member or colleague to join in any discussions.

Your assessment of patients, as well as the advice given to them about driving, should be documented in the medical record.

The bottom line

  • Review applicable mandatory and discretionary reporting obligations. Limit the information disclosed to what is required by the legislation.
  • Warn patients not to drive when their medical condition makes it unsafe. When appropriate, inform patients of your obligation and intention to report. Document assessments, discussions, and advice in the medical record.
  • Consider whether to warn third parties, such as police or employers, if concerned about the risk posed by the patient’s continued operation of a motor vehicle or equipment.
  • Contact the CMPA for case-specific advice.

 


 

References

  1. The Traffic Safety Act, SS 2004, c T-18.1, s 283; The Highway Traffic Act, CCSM c H60, s 157; Highway Traffic Act, RSO 1990, c H.8, s 203(1); Motor Vehicle Act, RSNB 1973, c M-17, s 309.1; Highway Traffic Act, RSPEI 1988, c H-5, s 233; Highway Traffic Act, RSNL 1990, c H-3. s 174.1; Motor Vehicles Act, RSNWT 1988, c M-16, s 103; Motor Vehicles Act, RSY 2002, c 153, s 17(3); Motor Vehicles Act, RSNWT (Nu) 1988, c M-16, s 103.
  2. Manitoba and Yukon require the patient to hold a valid driver’s licence.
  3. Motor Vehicle Act, RSBC 1996, c 318, s 230
  4. Traffic Safety Act, RSA 2000, c T-6, s 60-60.1
  5. Highway Safety Code, CQLR c C-24.2, s 603
  6. Motor Vehicle Act, RSNS 1989, c 293, s 279(7)
  7. Highway Traffic Act, RSO 1990, c H.8, s 203(2)
  8. Collège des médecins du Québec, Guide d’exercice, L’évaluation médicale de l’aptitude à conduire un véhicule automobile (Mars 2007)
  9. Report to the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Alberta in the Death of Megan Wolitski, 9 December 2016. Available from: https://open.alberta.ca/dataset/d1641967-0798-4292-99fc-6b878b8cdfe5/resource/af96d8bc-583e-4760-88e2-f9ad07b3e160/download/fatality-report-wolitski.pdf
  10. Canadian Medical Association. CMA Driver’s Guide. 9th ed. Ottawa (CA): CMA; 2017
  11. Canadian Council of Motor Transport Administrators. Determining Driver Fitness in Canada: Part 1: A Model for the Administration of Driver Fitness Programs, and Part 2: CCMTA Medical Standards for Drivers. 13th ed. Ottawa (CA); CCMTA; 2013
  12. Canadian Public Health Association [Internet]. Ottawa (CA): CPHA;2018 Dec. Cannabasics [cited 2019 Feb 26]. Available from: https://www.cpha.ca/cannabasics
  13. Smith v Jones, [1999] 1 SCR 455
  14. Aeronautics Act, s. 6.5(1); Canada Shipping Act, s. 90(1); Railway Safety Act, s. 35(2)

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Mettre les freins! Quand devez-vous signaler une inaptitude à conduire?

Publié initialement en juin 2019
19-09-F

La question de savoir si l’on doit signaler un patient qui pourrait être inapte à conduire peut s’avérer complexe. Certains patients pourraient vous imputer le stress émotionnel, la perte d’indépendance et les conséquences financières qui découlent d’un tel signalement, et déposer une plainte à l’organisme de réglementation (Collège) ou au Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée, ou encore intenter une action en justice.

Pour autant que l’ACPM le sache, aucun médecin canadien n’a été trouvé coupable de négligence (faute professionnelle au Québec) après s’être acquitté de son obligation légale de signaler l’inaptitude à conduire; cependant, dans certains dossiers, des médecins l’ont été pour ne pas s’être acquittés de cette obligation.

Exemple de cas

Une patiente ayant un diabète de type I mentionne à son médecin de famille qu’elle connaît de graves épisodes d’hypoglycémie difficiles à maîtriser. Elle provoque par la suite un accident automobile. L’occupant de l’autre véhicule subit des lésions sérieuses à la tête; une action en justice s’ensuit contre la patiente, son médecin de famille et d’autres parties. Les experts concluent que le médecin n’a pas respecté la norme de pratique en ne conseillant pas à la patiente de s’abstenir de conduire et en ne signalant pas la situation à l’autorité délivrant les permis de conduire. Les experts n’ayant pas accordé leur appui, l’ACPM a choisi de conclure ce dossier au moyen d’un règlement (une transaction au Québec) avec l’occupant de l’autre voiture, au nom du médecin de famille.

Seuil de l’exigence de signalement

Il importe de connaître les exigences de votre province ou territoire quant au signalement des conducteurs inaptes.

Signalements obligatoires

Dans la plupart des provinces et territoires, vous devez signaler les patients qui présentent un problème de santé pouvant rendre leur conduite dangereuse. 1 Vous devez effectuer un signalement même lorsque le patient affirme qu’il ne prendra pas le volant ou lorsqu’un autre médecin l’a déjà fait. Un signalement doit également être effectué peu importe si le patient détient ou non un permis de conduire en règle – le seul fait qu’il ait l’âge de conduire suffit dans la plupart des provinces et territoires.2

Toutefois, si vous exercez en Colombie-Britannique, le signalement n’est obligatoire que lorsque le patient continue de conduire après avoir été avisé de s’en abstenir.3

Signalements discrétionnaires

Le signalement est discrétionnaire en Alberta,4 au Québec,5 et en Nouvelle-Écosse.6 En Ontario, le signalement est discrétionnaire dans le cas des problèmes de santé qui ne figurent pas dans la liste de ceux qui nécessitent un signalement obligatoire, telle qu’établie par le ministère des Transports.7

Bien que le signalement soit discrétionnaire au Québec, le Collège précise que le médecin doit effectuer un signalement s’il a des raisons de croire que le patient continue de conduire contre son avis médical et qu’il représente par conséquent un risque grave pour la sécurité du public.8

Une enquête médico-légale menée en Alberta a conclu que si vous exercez dans cette province, le signalement conformément au Code d’éthique et de professionnalisme et à l’Évaluation médicale de l’aptitude à conduire – Guide du médecin de l’Association médicale canadienne devient obligatoire.9

Problèmes de santé temporaires

La décision de signaler les patients ayant des problèmes de santé temporaires qui n’affecteront pas à long terme leur aptitude à conduire (p. ex. problèmes transitoires à la suite d’une intervention chirurgicale) n’est pas facile à prendre. Il faut s’en remettre à son propre jugement clinique.

En présence d’incertitudes quant au pronostic du patient ou à la durée de son rétablissement, songez à prévoir un rendez vous de suivi dans un délai raisonnable pour réévaluer le patient. À la suite de cette réévaluation, si vous estimez que le patient continue de présenter un problème de santé pouvant affecter son aptitude à conduire selon les critères établis dans l’Évaluation médicale de l’aptitude à conduire – Guide du médecin de l’Association médicale canadienne,10 avisez-en le patient et effectuez le signalement.

Responsabilité liée au signalement

Les médecins ne peuvent généralement pas se faire reprocher d’avoir porté atteinte à la vie privée du patient s’ils ont effectué leur signalement de bonne foi.

Ne transmettez que les renseignements requis et seulement dans les circonstances indiquées dans les lois ou les directives.10, 11 Les signalements devraient être fondés sur votre évaluation des symptômes du patient, votre diagnostic et le plan de traitement que vous recommandez.

La consommation de cannabis pourrait affecter l’aptitude à conduire. Vous devriez consulter l’Évaluation médicale de l’aptitude à conduire – Guide du médecin de l’Association médicale canadienne10 et la trousse d’information Cannabases de l’Association canadienne de santé publique12 pour en apprendre davantage sur les risques pour la santé et la sécurité qui sont associés au cannabis.

Autorisation de divulguer

Lorsque votre patient ne respecte pas l’interdiction de conduire, même après s’être vu retirer son permis, la sécurité pourrait figurer parmi vos préoccupations. Lorsque vous avez de bonnes raisons de croire qu’un de vos patients continue de conduire malgré un problème de santé et qu’il pourrait ainsi poser un risque grave, il peut être justifié d’en aviser un tiers pouvant intervenir (p. ex. services policiers, employeur).

La Cour suprême du Canada a reconnu que, dans certaines circonstances, la présence d’un danger pour la sécurité publique peut justifier la divulgation de renseignements confidentiels sur le patient sans son consentement.13 L’autorisation de divulguer est également reconnue dans les lois applicables sur la protection des renseignements personnels dans toutes les provinces et tous les territoires.

Signalement des patients qui occupent des postes où la sécurité constitue un enjeu particulier

Vous pourriez également devoir signaler des patients qui occupent des postes d’une importance cruciale pour la sécurité dans le transport routier, aérien, maritime et ferroviaire.10,14

Vous pourriez aussi devoir signaler des patients dont le problème de santé pourrait compromettre l’utilisation sécuritaire de machinerie lourde (p. ex. chariot à fourche, rétrocaveuse). Dans de telles circonstances, vous devez vous demander si le problème de santé du patient engendre un risque pour la sécurité tel qu’il en justifie le signalement à l’employeur ou à tout autre tiers. Avant de procéder, vous devriez aviser le patient de vos préoccupations et l’inciter à prendre l’initiative de communiquer le risque à son employeur ou de mettre en œuvre toute autre mesure préventive.

Réduction des conflits

Outre vos obligations liées au signalement de l’inaptitude à conduire, vous devriez généralement prendre le temps de discuter avec le patient avant d’effectuer un signalement. Abordez les risques qu’engendre le problème de santé en question et cherchez à le dissuader de conduire. Vous devriez lui expliquer les motifs et la nature du rapport, ainsi que lui faire part de vos obligations légales. Soulignez-lui que la décision revient en fait à l’autorité délivrant les permis de conduire. Et n’oubliez pas de lui offrir du soutien et des conseils opportuns. Si vous craignez qu’il ne réagisse de façon agressive, songez à prendre des mesures préventives (p. ex. demandez à un membre du personnel ou à un collègue de se joindre à la discussion).

Votre évaluation du patient et les conseils que vous lui offrez quant à la conduite automobile doivent être consignés dans le dossier médical.

En bref

  • Passez en revue les exigences applicables en ce qui concerne les signalements obligatoires et discrétionnaires. Limitez les renseignements que vous divulguez à ce qu’exigent les lois.
  • Cherchez à dissuader les patients de conduire lorsqu’un problème de santé compromet leur aptitude à le faire. Le cas échéant, informez les patients de votre obligation de signalement et de votre intention d’y donner suite. Consignez les évaluations, les discussions et les conseils prodigués dans le dossier médical.
  • Évaluez la pertinence d’aviser des tiers, tels que les services policiers ou les employeurs, quant au risque que pourrait engendrer le patient s’il continuait à utiliser un véhicule à moteur ou de la machinerie.
  • Communiquez avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des conseils précis.

 


 

Références

  1. The Traffic Safety Act, SS 2004, c T-18.1, art 283; Le Code de la route, CPLM, c H60, art 157; Le Code de la route, L.R.O. 1990, c H.8, art 203(1); Loi sur les véhicules à moteur, LRN-B 1973, c M-17, art 309.1; Highway Traffic Act, RSPEI 1988, c H-5, art 233; Highway Traffic Act, RSNL 1990, c H-3. art 174.1; Loi sur les véhicules automobiles, RSTN-O 1988, c M-16, art 103; Loi sur les véhicules automobiles, LRY 2002, c 153, art 17(3); Loi sur les véhicules automobiles, LRTN-O (Nu) 1988, c M-16, art 103
  2. Le Manitoba et le Yukon exigent que le patient détienne un permis de conduire valide
  3. Motor Vehicle Act, RSBC 1996, c 318, art 230
  4. Traffic Safety Act, RSA 2000, c T-6, art 60–60.1
  5. Code de la sécurité routière, LRQ, c C-24.2, art 603
  6. Motor Vehicle Act, RSNS 1989, c 293, art 279(7)
  7. Le Code de la route, L.R.O. 1990, c H.8, art 203(2)
  8. Collège des médecins du Québec, L’évaluation médicale de l’aptitude à conduire un véhicule automobile, Guide d’exercice (Mars 2007)
  9. Report to the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Alberta in the Death of Megan Wolitski, 9 décembre 2016. Accessible en ligne : https://open.alberta.ca/dataset/d1641967-0798-4292-99fc-6b878b8cdfe5/resource/af96d8bc-583e-4760-88e2-f9ad07b3e160/download/fatality-report-wolitski.pdf
  10. Association médicale canadienne. Évaluation médicale de l’aptitude à conduire – Guide du médecin. 9e éd. Ottawa (CA): AMC; 2017
  11. Conseil canadien des administrateurs en transport motorisé. Determining Driver Fitness in Canada: Part 1: A Model for the Administration of Driver Fitness Programs et Part 2: CCMTA Medical Standards for Drivers. 13e éd. Ottawa (CA): CCMTA; 2013
  12. Association canadienne de santé publique [En ligne]. Ottawa (CA): CPHA; déc. 2018. Cannabases [cité le 26 février 2019]. Disponible : https://www.cpha.ca/fr/cannabases
  13. Smith c. Jones, [1999] 1 RCS 455
  14. Loi sur l’aéronautique, art 6.5(1); Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada, art 90(1); Loi sur la sécurité ferroviaire, art 35(2)

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.