Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

When patients make special requests, how should you respond?

Originally published June 2019
19-12-E

As a physician, you may encounter patients who ask for specific care providers, treatments, or services. For example:

  • A pregnant patient may ask for a female obstetrician due to her religious beliefs.
  • An Indigenous patient may ask for a traditional healer to be involved in his care.
  • A hearing-impaired patient may ask for a sign language interpreter.

Some requests may surprise you or put you in a challenging position. However, in every case you should consider the reasons behind the request and assess whether it can be reasonably accommodated in your setting.

In everyday practice, accommodation is an adaptation or adjustment made in response to a patient’s needs, cultural practices, or religious beliefs. It is a process of trying to find common ground between what’s being asked for and what you as a physician can reasonably provide given the setting you work in and the resources available to you.

Delivering person-centred care

Accommodating reasonable requests can help in broader efforts to be more “person-centred,” and allow the patient a greater degree of participation in their care.


When you receive a patient request, keep the following points in mind:

  1. Patients have a legal right to accommodation

    All Canadians have the legal right to equality and to receiving healthcare services without discrimination. Section 1 of the Canadian Medical Association's Code of Ethics and Professionalism1 and Section 23 of Québec's Code of Ethics of Physicians2 prohibit physicians from discriminating against their patients.

    Refusing to make reasonable attempts to accommodate a patient’s request for a particular healthcare provider or treatment could be perceived as discrimination, which in turn could lead to a regulatory authority (College) or human rights complaint. For example, if a patient’s religion prevents her from seeing a male obstetrician, failure to make reasonable attempts to provide her with a female obstetrician may be seen as discriminatory. In cases such as these, “equal treatment” means making reasonable efforts to accommodate requests, taking into account your practice setting and resources.

    Reducing the risk of a human rights complaint

    To minimize the risk of a human rights complaint, the duty to accommodate means that a patient’s reasonable request should be considered unless it would cause undue hardship to the physician, the hospital, or others involved in implementing the request.

    Human rights complaints must be based on one of the protected grounds set out in provincial or territorial human rights codes. The grounds vary between jurisdictions, but generally include characteristics such as race, sexual orientation, religion, language, gender identity, and disability. A patient can allege discrimination only if their request for accommodation is rooted in one of these grounds.


  2. Accommodation will depend on the circumstances

    Reasonable accommodation does not mean having to say yes in every circumstance. Human rights legislation only requires accommodation in so far as it does not cause undue hardship. What constitutes undue hardship will depend on the circumstances. You may need to forward some requests to your hospital or clinic’s management, depending on the requirements.

    A request that may be reasonably accommodated if made in advance may not necessarily be reasonable in an emergent situation. For example, it may be possible to provide sign language interpretive services for a hearing impaired patient who requests this in advance. However, it may not be possible to fulfil the same request if it is made in an emergency department.

  3. Accommodation does not always mean saying “yes” to the request in its original form

    Sometimes it may not seem possible to accommodate a request. For example, requests involving the indoor ceremonial use of fire or smoke may have to be denied based on safety. However, it may be possible to accommodate the request in some other way. For example, you could ask the patient if he or she would consider having the ceremony outdoors. Accommodation can sometimes mean finding a compromise that satisfies the core of the patient’s request while still being reasonable based on the practice setting and resources.

  4. Accommodation means accepting a patient’s right to make decisions about their medical care

    A patient may be capable of providing consent to treatment, yet wish to delegate all medical decision-making to a third party on cultural grounds. Similarly, a patient may reject a treatment because of their religious beliefs. In both cases, you may feel that the patient is not acting in their own best interest.

    Capable patients who understand the clinical implications of their decisions are free to choose treatments or approaches that may not be in their best interest. However, consent to treatment (or refusal of treatment) is valid only if given voluntarily and free from any suggestion of duress or coercion. In circumstances where there are questions or doubts about consent or duress, physicians are encouraged to consult with other physicians and contact the CMPA for advice. There may be circumstances where consulting with an institution’s ethics advisor or equivalent would also be prudent.

  5. Accommodation is primarily about the patient, not the care providers

    While physicians may have moral or religious convictions about certain medical issues, accommodation is primarily about reasonably accommodating requests from the patient—not the other way around.

    The Canadian Medical Association Code of Ethics and Professionalism1 states that physicians must always acknowledge and respond to patients’ medical concerns and requests regardless of their own moral commitments.

    Several Colleges also require physicians who are unwilling to provide certain care (such as birth control or abortions) to refer patients to another healthcare provider who will provide the services. For medical assistance in dying (MAID), Colleges have adopted guidelines stating that physicians who object to assisting patients are expected to provide information and resources that enable patients to make informed choices and access options for care, or to provide an effective referral to another physician or resource.

Saying “no” and documenting conversations and attempts to accommodate

Despite good faith efforts, there may be some patient requests that cannot be accommodated. Whether you can or cannot accommodate a request, you can help reduce your medical-legal risk by:

  • Carefully considering a patient’s request for accommodation, taking into consideration the practice setting and available resources.
  • Developing protocols to manage patient requests for accommodation.
  • Documenting your efforts to accommodate a patient’s request, and/or your reasons for not being able to accommodate the request.
  • Documenting in the patient’s record the discussions and decisions about care, including any decisions made by the patient with regard to refusing treatment or delegating decision-making to a third party.

 


 

References

  1. Canadian Medical Association [Internet], Ottawa (CA): CMA; 2018. CMA Code of Ethics and Professionalism [cited 2019 Feb 26]. Available from: http://policybase.cma.ca/dbtw-wpd/Policypdf/PD19-03.pdf
  2. Code of Ethics of Physicians, CQLR c M-9, r17

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Sécurité des soins :

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Comment répondre aux demandes particulières des patients?

Publié initialement en juin 2019; révisé en février 2021
19-12-F

Certains de vos patients pourraient demander accès à des traitements, services ou professionnels particuliers. Par exemple :

  • Une patiente enceinte pourrait demander de consulter une obstétricienne en raison de ses croyances religieuses.
  • Un patient autochtone pourrait demander qu’un guérisseur traditionnel participe à ses soins.

Certaines demandes pourraient vous surprendre ou vous placer dans une situation délicate. Cependant, dans tous les cas, vous devriez tenir compte des raisons de ces demandes et déterminer si celles-ci peuvent être raisonnablement accommodées dans votre milieu de pratique.

Les accommodements sont des adaptations ou des aménagements apportés en réponse aux besoins, aux pratiques culturelles ou aux croyances religieuses d’un patient. Il s’agit de tenter de trouver le juste milieu entre ce que l’on vous demande, et ce que vous pouvez raisonnablement offrir compte tenu de votre milieu de pratique et des ressources à votre disposition.

Prodiguer des soins centrés sur la personne

L’accommodement des demandes raisonnables peut contribuer aux efforts généraux visant la prestation de soins plus « centrés sur la personne », ainsi que faciliter une plus grande participation du patient aux soins.

Lorsqu’un patient vous adresse une demande, gardez les points suivants à l’esprit :

  1. Les patients disposent d’un droit légal en matière d’accommodement

    Tous les Canadiens ont droit à l’égalité et à l’accès à des services de santé sans discrimination. Les articles 1 du Code d’éthique et de professionnalisme1 de l’Association médicale canadienne et 23 du Code de déontologie des médecins du Québec2 interdisent aux médecins d’exercer toute forme de discrimination à l’encontre de leurs patients.

    Le refus d’accommoder de façon raisonnable une demande d’accès à un traitement ou à un professionnel particulier pourrait être perçu comme discriminatoire, ce qui pourrait mener au dépôt d’une plainte à l’organisme de réglementation (Collège) ou à la Commission des droits de la personne. Par exemple, lorsque les croyances religieuses d’une patiente l’empêchent de consulter un obstétricien, il pourrait être perçu comme discriminatoire de ne pas tenter raisonnablement de la diriger vers une obstétricienne. Dans de tels cas, il vous faut, pour respecter le principe d’« égalité de traitement », déployer des efforts raisonnables pour accommoder les demandes, en tenant compte de votre milieu de pratique et de vos ressources.

    Réduire le risque de plainte à la Commission des droits de la personne

    Pour minimiser le risque de plainte à la Commission des droits de la personne, l’obligation d’accommodement indique que la demande raisonnable d’un patient doit être prise en considération, sauf lorsque cela imposerait une contrainte excessive au médecin, à l’hôpital ou aux tiers impliqués dans la réponse à cette demande.

    Les plaintes à la Commission des droits de la personne doivent être fondées sur l’un des motifs de discrimination établis par les codes provinciaux ou territoriaux des droits de la personne. Bien qu’ils varient d’une province ou d’un territoire à l’autre, ces motifs englobent généralement des caractéristiques telles que la race, l’orientation sexuelle, la religion, la langue, l’identité sexuelle et l’incapacité. Un patient ne peut alléguer la discrimination que si la demande d’accommodement repose sur l’un de ces motifs.

  2. L’accommodement dépendra des circonstances

    Le concept d’accommodement raisonnable ne vous demande pas d’acquiescer à tout. Les lois sur les droits de la personne n’exigent un accommodement que lorsque celui-ci n’impose aucune contrainte excessive. Les circonstances dicteront ce qui constitue une telle contrainte. Vous pourriez devoir transmettre certaines demandes aux dirigeants de l’hôpital ou de la clinique, selon les modalités en cause.

    Le caractère raisonnable d’une demande peut varier en fonction du moment où elle est présentée. Par exemple, il pourrait être possible de retenir les services d'une obstétricienne pour une patiente enceinte qui en fait la demande à l’avance. Toutefois, il pourrait être impossible de répondre à la même demande si le patient la communique lorsqu’il se trouve à l’urgence.

  3. L’accommodement n’exige pas que l’on acquiesce nécessairement à la demande dans sa forme d’origine

    L’accommodement d’une demande peut parfois sembler impossible. Par exemple, les demandes d’utilisation cérémoniale de feu ou de fumée à l’intérieur pourraient être refusées pour des motifs de sécurité. Cependant, l’accommodement d’une telle demande peut se faire d’une autre façon. Par exemple, vous pourriez demander au patient d’envisager de tenir la cérémonie à l’extérieur. L’accommodement peut parfois prendre la forme d’un compromis qui répond aux fondements de la demande du patient, tout en tenant raisonnablement compte du contexte et des ressources.

  4. L’accommodement reconnaît le droit du patient de prendre des décisions quant à ses soins médicaux

    Le patient peut être apte à consentir au traitement, et tout de même souhaiter déléguer toutes les décisions médicales à un tiers pour des motifs culturels. De façon semblable, il pourrait refuser un traitement en raison de ses croyances religieuses. Dans les deux cas, il pourrait vous sembler que le patient n’agit pas dans son intérêt.

    Le patient apte qui comprend les conséquences cliniques de ses décisions est libre de choisir les traitements ou les approches qui pourraient ne pas être dans son intérêt. Cependant, le consentement au traitement (ou le refus) n’est valable que lorsqu’il est communiqué de plein gré, en l’absence de quelque soupçon de contrainte ou de coercition que ce soit. En présence de questionnements ou de doutes quant au consentement ou à la contrainte, les médecins sont encouragés à consulter leurs collègues et à communiquer avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des conseils. Dans certains cas, il serait sage de consulter le conseiller en éthique de votre établissement (ou son équivalent).

  5. L’accommodement concerne principalement le patient, et non les professionnels de la santé

    Bien que les médecins puissent avoir des croyances morales ou religieuses au sujet de certains enjeux médicaux, le concept d’accommodement raisonnable vise principalement les demandes du patient, et non celles du médecin.

    Le Code d’éthique et de professionnalisme1 de l’Association médicale canadienne indique que les médecins doivent toujours répondre aux demandes et préoccupations médicales de leurs patients, quels que soient les engagements moraux.

    Plusieurs Collèges exigent également des médecins qui ne sont pas disposés à prodiguer certains soins (p.ex. contraception ou avortement) qu’ils dirigent leurs patients vers un professionnel de la santé prêt à le faire. Dans le cas de l’aide médicale à mourir, les Collèges ont adopté des lignes directrices qui précisent généralement que les médecins qui ne veulent pas aider des patients à mourir doivent fournir à ces derniers des renseignements et des ressources qui leur permettront de faire un choix éclairé et d’avoir accès à d’autres options de soins ou, encore, les diriger efficacement vers un autre médecin ou d’autres ressources.

La consignation des conversations et tentatives d’accommodement, et le refus

Malgré des efforts de bonne foi, il se peut que vous ne puissiez accommoder certaines demandes. Que ce soit possible ou non, vous pouvez toutefois atténuer vos risques médico-légaux en :

  • examinant attentivement la demande d’accommodement, tout en tenant compte de votre contexte et des ressources disponibles.
  • élaborant des protocoles pour gérer les demandes d’accommodement.
  • consignant au dossier vos efforts visant à accommoder la demande du patient ou les raisons pour lesquelles vous ne pourrez le faire.
  • notant au dossier du patient les discussions et décisions concernant les soins, y compris toute décision de la part du patient quant au refus de traitement ou à la délégation du pouvoir décisionnel à un tiers.

 


 

Références

  1. Association médicale canadienne [En ligne], Ottawa (CA): AMC; 2018. Code d’éthique et de professionnalisme de l’AMC [cité le 26 février 2019]. Disponible : https://policybase.cma.ca/fr/viewer?file=%2fdocuments%2fPolicypdf%2fPD19-03f.pdf#phrase=false
  2. Code de déontologie des médecins, RLRQ c M-9, r17, art 23.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.