■ Duties and responsibilities:

Expectations of physicians in practice

The continuing evolution of medical assistance in dying

Holding the hand of an elderly person

Published: May 2021
The information in this article was correct at the time of publishing
21-06-E

Medical assistance in dying (MAID) in Canada continues to evolve. A 2019 Québec court decision invalidated the previous requirement under the Criminal Code of Canada that a patient’s death be reasonably foreseeable, and, in Québec, that the patient be at the end of life.1 The decision required legislative changes to the MAID provisions in the Criminal Code of Canada.2

The evolving rules and expectations may add to existing uncertainty about the rights and obligations of patients and physicians, and the processes to be followed. Even experienced physicians need to understand the current framework and continue to thoroughly assess each request based on a patient’s individual circumstances. Physicians involved in MAID should consider contacting the CMPA for information and case-specific advice.

In addition to carefully considering and applying the eligibility criteria and safeguards in the Criminal Code of Canada, physicians must also be aware of and comply with provincial or territorial laws and regulations, reporting requirements, and policies of their medical regulatory authority (College) and hospital.

In Québec, while the “end of life” requirement no longer applies, the rest of the eligibility requirements and safeguards applicable in that province remain unchanged. Physicians in Québec must continue to be vigilant in ensuring compliance with both the existing provincial MAID legislation and the updated federal Criminal Code of Canada. The Commission des soin de fin de vie recommends that in the event of conflict between the federal and Québec legislation, physicians in Québec follow the more restrictive requirement.3

Case example: Patient with ALS requests MAID

A 45-year-old patient with ALS requests MAID. She lives in a rural community where few physicians are comfortable being involved in MAID.

She is not yet at the “end of life”—her treating physicians believe she could live another four years. However, she is concerned she could choke on her saliva and die at any time. She is not currently experiencing intolerable physical suffering, but is suffering severe psychological distress.

She has questions about preparing an advance request for MAID in the event her pain medication affects her capacity to consent later.

Her husband supports her request, but her daughter opposes her mother’s choice.

Eligibility and safeguards

The case study illustrates the challenges physicians may face in determining eligibility for MAID. While many of the eligibility requirements and safeguards have not changed, the updated federal MAID provisions expand eligibility to include patients whose natural death is not reasonably foreseeable, provided additional safeguards are met. 

Current eligibility requirements and safeguards for all MAID requests

To qualify for MAID, the patient must meet all of the following:

  • be a mentally capable (competent) adult of at least 18 years of age
  • be eligible for government-funded health services
  • make a voluntary request in writing
  • be able to give informed consent
  • suffer from a “grievous and irremediable medical condition” (excludes patients suffering solely from a mental illness)

The Criminal Code of Canada continues to prohibit MAID from being administered to patients solely on the basis of a mental illness. However, this exclusion will be revisited by early 2023 as the federal government has ordered an independent review of MAID for patients suffering solely from a mental illness.

Definition of a grievous and irremediable medical condition

The Criminal Code of Canada states that a person has a grievous and irremediable medical condition if they have a serious and incurable illness, disease, or disability; are in an advanced state of irreversible decline in capability; and their condition causes intolerable suffering that cannot be relieved under conditions acceptable to them. In Québec, a more restrictive requirement applies”—instead of a “serious and incurable illness, disease, or disability,” eligibility is limited to a “serious and incurable illness.”

All requests for MAID must be in writing, signed, and dated by the patient in front of one independent witness. Previously, two witnesses were required. The patient must be informed that they can withdraw their request at any time.

Two independent medical or nurse practitioners must provide a written opinion confirming the patient meets all the eligibility criteria. In Québec, only medical practitioners can provide such opinions.

Where death is not reasonably foreseeable

If the physician in the case example concludes the ALS patient meets all of the eligibility requirements, it is still necessary to determine whether the patient’s natural death has become “reasonably foreseeable.”

Where natural death is not reasonably foreseeable, the patient may still be eligible for MAID, but additional safeguards will apply. For example, such a patient must wait at least 90 days to receive MAID, beginning on the date the first eligibility assessment begins. Neither the day the first assessment begins nor the day MAID is provided are included in calculating the 90-day period. However, the assessment period can be shortened if the patient is expected to lose capacity imminently.

If neither of the assessors have expertise in the medical condition that is causing the person’s suffering, one of the assessors must consult with a medical or nurse practitioner who has such expertise. Whether someone has the necessary expertise will depend on factors such as the nature of the patient’s condition and the practitioner’s education, training, or experience.

The patient must also be informed of available means to relieve their suffering and access supports. The MAID practitioners must ensure the patient has seriously considered such options.

Where death is reasonably foreseeable

Patients whose natural death is reasonably foreseeable are no longer required to wait 10 days following their request for MAID.

In all jurisdictions except Québec, if the patient’s natural death is reasonably foreseeable and the other eligibility criteria and safeguards have been met, the patient can enter into a written arrangement to receive MAID even if they lose capacity before it is scheduled to be administered. This waiver of final consent is not permitted in Québec. The Criminal Code of Canada mandates the contents of such written arrangements.

A waiver of final consent is also not allowed where the patient’s natural death is not reasonably foreseeable.

Implications for Québec physicians

The updated MAID provisions in the Criminal Code of Canada have particular implications for Québec physicians. For example, the waiver of final consent is not permitted in Québec. The patient must also suffer from a “serious and incurable illness,” which is more restrictive than a “serious and incurable illness, disease or disability” under the Criminal Code of Canada. As was previously the case, only physicians can administer MAID in Québec and self-administration is still not permitted. Physicians involved in MAID in Québec are encouraged to call the CMPA.

If after losing capacity, the patient demonstrates by words, sounds, or gestures that they refuse or resist MAID, the waiver is no longer valid and MAID cannot proceed. The words, sounds, or gestures that will be sufficient to constitute resistance or refusal are not defined in the legislation. Physicians must use their judgment based on the individual circumstances of each case. Further guidance may be coming from sources such as regulatory authorities, the government, or medical speciality associations.

The waiver of final consent is different from an “advance request” for MAID. An “advance request” refers to an arrangement where a person is not currently seeking or eligible for MAID. The request is intended to apply to future circumstances under which the patient wants to receive MAID if incapable of asking or consenting.4 Advance requests are not permitted under existing federal or provincial law.5

Self-administration

In all jurisdictions except Québec, eligible patients who chose to self-administer oral MAID medications can enter into a written arrangement in advance to allow the MAID practitioner to complete the administration of MAID if the self-administered medication results in the loss of capacity, but not death. The details of such an arrangement and the content of the written documentation are set out in the Criminal Code of Canada. For example, the practitioner must be present at the time of self-administration for the written arrangement to be implemented.

Self-administration of MAID continues to be prohibited in Québec.

Conscientious objection

Some physicians object to MAID on moral or religious grounds. While physicians continue to have no obligation to provide MAID, they also have a pre-existing obligation not to abandon their patients.

Most Colleges have policies that attempt to reconcile the rights of patients and physicians. These policies differ between jurisdictions, including on what is required from a conscientiously objecting physician by way of a referral. Physicians should comply with their College’s requirements, while respectfully following their personal views.

Reporting requirements

Physicians receiving a written request for MAID or conducting a MAID assessment may need to file a report with Health Canada or a designated recipient, even if they are not involved in delivering MAID. Physicians may also have other reporting obligations, including to the coroner or medical examiner, hospital or health authority, or others (e.g. Commission on end-of-life care in Québec).

Physicians are encouraged to consult Health Canada’s website,6 their College, and/or other applicable MAID policies and regulations for further details on their reporting obligations. The information to be reported, the organization to which the report is made, and the timeline for reporting continue to evolve and may vary depending on the case and jurisdiction.

Physicians with questions about reporting requirements should consider contacting the CMPA.

Practical challenges

In some communities, patients may experience challenges finding healthcare providers able or willing to be involved in MAID. In certain regions, services are available to help connect patients with MAID providers.

The case example also highlights challenges that can arise when family members disagree with the patient’s request. To minimize difficulties that can arise after a patient’s death, physicians should, to the extent possible, encourage patients to involve their family in MAID discussions with the understanding that a request is the patient’s decision.

Medico-legal risks

Unlike most other healthcare services, MAID is governed by criminal law. This means that a physician participating in MAID who does not ensure the required eligibility criteria, safeguards, and reporting requirements are met could be charged with a criminal offence. If found guilty, the physician could face imprisonment of up to 14 years. The physician could also be subject to College sanctions, civil legal actions, or both.

When considering a request for MAID

  • Know your obligations under the current laws and regulations, in particular the requirements in the Criminal Code of Canada, as well as College and hospital policies. In Québec, be aware that some of the provincial legislative requirements differ from those under the Criminal Code of Canada – it is prudent in these circumstances for physicians to comply with the more restrictive law.
  • Assess each request on its own merits based on the facts and circumstances of the case.
  • Document carefully in the medical record the processes and discussions around MAID, paying particular attention to the safeguard requirements, especially where death is not reasonably foreseeable.
  • While respectfully following your personal views, comply with College expectations regarding conscientious objection.
  • Consider consulting with colleagues for support and contact the CMPA for medico-legal advice.

References

  1. Truchon c. Procureur général du Canada, 2019 QCCS 3792 (CanLII)
  2. An Act to amend the Criminal Code (medical assistance in dying), (formerly Bill C-7), 2nd Sess, 43rd Leg, Canada, 2021 (assented to March 17, 2021)
  3. Énoncé de la Commission sur les soins de fin de vie à la suite de l’adoption du Projet de loi C-7 (April 16, 2021)
  4. Government of Canada, Department of Justice, “Legislative Background: Bill C-7: Government of Canada’s Legislative Response to the Superior Court of Québec Truchon Decision” (October 21, 2020). Available from: https://www.justice.gc.ca/eng/csj-sjc/pl/ad-am/c7/toc-tdm.html
  5. A Joint House of Commons and Senate Committee will also conduct a comprehensive review of various issues relating to advance requests, mature minors, mental illness, the state of palliative care in Canada and the protection of Canadians with disabilities.
  6. Government of Canada [Internet]. Reporting requirements for medical assistance in dying. 2018 [cited 2021 March 24]. Available from: https://www.canada.ca/en/health-canada/services/medical-assistance-dying/reporting-requirements.html#a5

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Obligations et responsabilités :

Les attentes vis-à-vis des médecins

Évolution de l’aide médicale à mourir

Tenir la main d'une personne âgée

Publié initialement en mai 2021 / révisé en juin 2021
Les renseignements présentés dans cet article étaient exacts au moment de la publication
21-06-F

L’aide médicale à mourir (AMM) continue d’évoluer au Canada. En 2019, la Cour supérieure du Québec a rendu une décision invalidant le critère, auparavant prévu par le Code criminel du Canada, selon lequel la mort de la personne devait être raisonnablement prévisible, ainsi que celui qui, au Québec, exigeait que la personne soit en fin de vie.1 Cette décision a nécessité des modifications législatives aux dispositions du Code criminel traitant de l’AMM.2

L’évolution des règles et des attentes pourrait aggraver l’incertitude existante entourant les droits et les obligations des patients et des médecins, ainsi que les processus à respecter. Tous les médecins, même ceux qui comptent de l’expérience en la matière, doivent comprendre le cadre de référence actuel et continuer à évaluer de façon exhaustive chaque demande en fonction des circonstances particulières de chaque personne. Les médecins participant à l’AMM devraient songer à communiquer avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des renseignements et des conseils précis.

En plus de s’assurer de respecter et d’appliquer rigoureusement les critères d’admissibilité et mesures de sauvegarde énumérés dans le Code criminel, les médecins doivent également connaître les lois et règlements de leur province ou territoire, les exigences en matière de production de rapports, ainsi que les politiques de leur organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) et de leur hôpital, et s’y conformer.

Au Québec, bien que le critère de « fin de vie » ne soit plus applicable, les autres critères d’admissibilité et mesures de sauvegarde qui s’appliquent demeurent inchangés. Les médecins exerçant au Québec doivent se conformer tant à la loi provinciale existante sur l’AMM qu’à la mise à jour du Code criminel. La Commission sur les soins de fin de vie recommande que, en présence d’un conflit entre les lois fédérale et québécoise, les médecins exerçant au Québec se conforment aux exigences les plus contraignantes.3

Exemple de cas : Une patiente atteinte de SLA demande l’AMM

Une patiente de 45 ans, atteinte de SLA, demande l’AMM. Elle habite en milieu rural où peu de médecins sont à l’aise de prodiguer cette aide.

Elle ne se trouve pas encore en « fin de vie »; ses médecins pensent qu’elle pourrait vivre pendant encore quatre ans. Elle croit toutefois qu’elle pourrait s’étouffer avec sa salive et mourir n’importe quand. En ce moment, elle ne souffre pas de douleurs physiques intolérables, mais présente plutôt une détresse émotionnelle et psychologique importante.

Elle a des questions sur la rédaction d’une demande anticipée d’AMM, au cas où ses analgésiques affecteraient son aptitude à consentir.

Bien que son conjoint appuie sa décision, sa fille s’y oppose.

Admissibilité et mesures de sauvegarde

Cet exemple de cas illustre les défis auxquels les médecins font face au moment de déterminer l’admissibilité à l’AMM. Bien que bon nombre des critères d’admissibilité et des mesures de sauvegarde demeurent les mêmes, les nouvelles dispositions fédérales élargissent l’admissibilité pour inclure les personnes dont la mort naturelle n’est pas raisonnablement prévisible, pourvu que des mesures de sauvegarde additionnelles soient respectées.

Critères d’admissibilité et mesures de sauvegarde en vigueur s’appliquant à toutes les demandes d’AMM

Pour être admissible à l’AMM, une personne doit répondre à tous les critères suivants :

  • Être âgée d’au moins 18 ans et être apte à consentir
  • Être admissible à des soins de santé financés par la province ou le territoire
  • Faire une demande délibérée par écrit
  • Être apte à donner un consentement éclairé
  • Être affectée de « problèmes de santé graves et irrémédiables » (exclut les personnes atteintes exclusivement d’une maladie mentale)

Le Code criminel continue d’interdire l’AMM lorsque la maladie mentale constitue le seul problème de santé invoqué. Cependant, cette exclusion sera réévaluée au début de 2023 dans le cadre d’un examen indépendant de l’AMM demandé par le gouvernement fédéral pour les personnes atteintes exclusivement d’une maladie mentale.

Définition de « problèmes de santé graves et irrémédiables »

Le Code criminel indique qu’une personne est affectée de « problèmes de santé graves et irrémédiables » lorsqu’elle est atteinte d’une maladie, d’une affection ou d’un handicap graves et incurables, que son état de santé se caractérise par un déclin avancé et irréversible de ses capacités, et que ses problèmes de santé lui causent des souffrances intolérables qui ne peuvent être apaisées dans des conditions qu’elle juge acceptables. Au Québec, le critère est plus restrictif – l’admissibilité y est limitée à une « maladie grave et incurable ».

Toutes les demandes d’AMM doivent être faites par écrit et être datées et signées par la personne devant un témoin indépendant. Auparavant, la présence de deux témoins était requise. La personne doit être avisée qu’elle peut retirer sa demande en tout temps.

Deux médecins indépendants ou infirmières praticiennes indépendantes doivent rédiger un avis écrit confirmant que la personne satisfait à tous les critères d’admissibilité. Au Québec, un tel avis ne peut être rédigé que par des médecins.

Lorsque la mort n’est pas raisonnablement prévisible

Dans l’exemple de cas, même si le médecin conclut que la patiente atteinte de SLA répond à tous les critères d’admissibilité, il doit chercher à déterminer si la mort naturelle est désormais « raisonnablement prévisible ».

Lorsque la mort naturelle n’est pas raisonnablement prévisible, une personne peut encore être admissible à l’AMM, mais des mesures de sauvegarde additionnelles doivent s’appliquer. Par exemple, cette personne doit être soumise à une période d’attente d’au moins 90 jours avant de recevoir l’AMM, celle-ci débutant le lendemain de la première journée de la première évaluation de l’admissibilité. Il est à noter que le calcul de cette période ne tient compte ni du jour où commence la première évaluation de l’admissibilité ni du jour où l’AMM est prodiguée. Cependant, la période d’évaluation peut être écourtée si l’on estime que la personne perdra de façon imminente son aptitude à consentir.

Lorsque ni l’évaluateur ni le prestataire de l’aide médicale à mourir ne possède d’expertise en ce qui concerne l’affection ou la maladie à l’origine des souffrances de la personne, l’un d’eux doit consulter un médecin ou une infirmière praticienne qui possède une telle expertise (laquelle est déterminée en fonction de facteurs tels que la nature de l’affection ou de la maladie de la personne, et la formation ou l’expérience du médecin ou de l’infirmière praticienne en question).

La personne doit également être avisée des moyens disponibles pour soulager ses souffrances et pour obtenir du soutien. Tant l’évaluateur que le prestataire de l’AMM doivent s’assurer qu’elle a sérieusement envisagé de telles options.

Lorsque la mort est raisonnablement prévisible

Les personnes dont la mort naturelle est raisonnablement prévisible ne sont plus soumises à une période d’attente de 10 jours à la suite de leur demande d’AMM.

Si la mort naturelle d’une personne est raisonnablement prévisible, si cette personne répond aux autres critères d’admissibilité et si les autres mesures de sauvegarde ont été respectées, la personne en question peut conclure une entente par écrit avec le médecin ou l’infirmière praticienne pour recevoir l’AMM même si elle devait perdre, avant de la recevoir, l’aptitude à y consentir. Le Code criminel prescrit le contenu de telles ententes par écrit.

La renonciation au consentement final n’est également pas permise lorsque la mort naturelle d’une personne n’est pas raisonnablement prévisible.

Répercussions pour les médecins exerçant au Québec

Au Québec, une certaine incertitude persistait quant à la possibilité de renoncer au consentement final à l’AMM. La loi québécoise a depuis été modifiée pour permettre la renonciation au consentement final, pour autant que les conditions stipulées par cette loi soient respectées.

Parmi les autres différences entre la loi québécoise et le Code criminel, on trouve l’exigence selon laquelle les patients québécois doivent souffrir d’une « maladie grave et incurable », ce qui constitue un critère plus restrictif que celui que prévoit le Code criminel (c.-à-d. « une maladie, une affection ou un handicap graves et incurables »). Tout comme auparavant, seuls des médecins peuvent prodiguer l’AMM au Québec; de plus, ils ne peuvent toujours pas aider une personne à s’auto-administrer une substance dans le cadre de l’AMM. Les médecins qui participent à l’AMM au Québec sont encouragés à communiquer avec l’ACPM.

Si, après avoir perdu l’aptitude à consentir à l’AMM, la personne manifeste par des paroles, sons ou gestes une résistance ou un refus face à une telle aide, sa renonciation au consentement final n’est alors plus valide et le processus doit prendre fin sur-le-champ. Les paroles, sons ou gestes qui seront considérés suffisants pour constituer une résistance ou un refus ne sont pas définis dans la loi. Les médecins devront donc se fier à leur jugement professionnel en fonction des circonstances particulières de chaque personne. D’autres sources (telles que les Collèges, les pouvoirs publics ou les associations de médecins spécialistes) pourraient cependant émettre des directives à cet égard.

La « renonciation au consentement final » et la « demande anticipée » de l’AMM sont deux concepts distincts. Dans le cadre d’une « demande anticipée », la personne qui en est à l’origine n’est alors pas admissible à cette aide et ne cherche pas pour l’instant à l’obtenir. Sa demande a plutôt pour but d’être applicable dans de futures circonstances où cette personne souhaiterait recevoir l’AMM, mais ne disposerait pas de l’aptitude requise pour la demander ou y consentir.4 Les demandes anticipées ne sont pas permises par les lois fédérales ou provinciales existantes.5

Auto-administration

Dans l’ensemble des provinces et territoires, sauf au Québec, une personne admissible qui choisit de s’administrer par voie orale une substance lui ayant été fournie dans le cadre de la prestation de l’AMM peut, au préalable, conclure une entente par écrit avec son médecin ou son infirmière praticienne pour que l’AMM lui soit administrée à nouveau si l’ingestion de la substance entraîne une perte de son aptitude décisionnelle et non sa mort. Les détails d’une telle entente et le contenu de la forme écrite de celle-ci sont établis dans le Code criminel. Par exemple, pour que l’entente par écrit soit applicable, le médecin ou l’infirmière praticienne doit être présent au moment où la personne s’administre la substance en question.

L’auto-administration d’une substance dans le cadre de la prestation de l’AMM demeure prohibée au Québec.

Objection de conscience

Certains médecins s’opposent à l’AMM pour des raisons d’ordre moral ou religieux. Bien que les médecins n’aient toujours pas l’obligation de fournir l’AMM, ils ont malgré tout l’obligation préexistante de ne pas abandonner leurs patients.

La plupart des Collèges ont élaboré des politiques pour tenter de concilier les droits des patients et ceux des médecins. Ces politiques diffèrent d’une province ou d’un territoire à l’autre, y compris en ce qui concerne ce que l’on attend, en matière de demande de consultation, des médecins qui invoquent une objection de conscience. Les médecins devraient se conformer aux politiques du Collège de leur province ou territoire, tout en demeurant respectueusement fidèles à leurs opinions personnelles.

Obligations en matière de production de rapports

Les médecins qui reçoivent une demande par écrit d’AMM ou qui procèdent à l’évaluation de l’admissibilité d’une personne à celle-ci pourraient devoir présenter un rapport à Santé Canada ou à un destinataire désigné, même s’ils ne participent pas à la prestation subséquente de cette aide. Les médecins pourraient également avoir d’autres obligations en matière de production de rapports, y compris des rapports à soumettre au coroner ou au médecin légiste, à l’hôpital ou à l’autorité en matière de santé, ou encore à d’autres parties (p. ex. la Commission sur les soins de fin de vie au Québec).

Pour obtenir plus de détails sur ces obligations, les médecins sont encouragés à consulter le site web de Santé Canada,6 le Collège de leur province ou territoire, et les autres politiques et règlements applicables en matière d’AMM. L’information que doit contenir le rapport, l’organisation à laquelle ce dernier doit être présenté et le calendrier de production des rapports sont des éléments qui font encore l’objet de modifications et qui pourraient varier en fonction du dossier et de la province ou du territoire en question.

Les médecins qui ont des questions à ce sujet devraient songer à communiquer avec l’ACPM.

Difficultés sur le plan pratique

Dans certaines collectivités, les patients pourraient avoir de la difficulté à trouver un professionnel de la santé pouvant participer à l’AMM et disposé à le faire. Dans certaines régions, des services ont été mis en place pour aider à diriger les patients vers des prestataires de cette aide.

L’exemple de cas met aussi en évidence les défis qui peuvent survenir lorsque les membres d’une famille n’acceptent pas la demande du patient. Pour limiter les difficultés pouvant se manifester à la suite du décès d’un patient, les médecins devraient, dans la mesure du possible, encourager les patients à intégrer les membres de la famille dans les discussions sur l’AMM, tout en clarifiant qu’une telle demande relève de la décision du patient.

Risques médico-légaux

L’AMM est régie par le droit criminel, contrairement à la plupart des autres services de soins de santé. Cela signifie que s’il ne s’assure pas du respect des critères d’admissibilité, des mesures de sauvegarde et des obligations en matière de production de rapports, un médecin participant à l’AMM pourrait être accusé d'une infraction criminelle. S’il est reconnu coupable, ce médecin pourrait être passible d’une peine maximale d’emprisonnement de 14 ans. Il pourrait également faire l’objet d’admonestations de la part du Collège, d’actions civiles ou les deux.

Que faire devant une demande d’AMM?

  • Soyez au fait de vos obligations telles qu’énoncées dans les lois et règlements en vigueur, et plus particulièrement des exigences établies dans le Code criminel, ainsi que des politiques du Collège de votre province ou territoire et de l’hôpital où vous exercez. Au Québec, sachez que certaines des exigences législatives provinciales diffèrent de celles que prévoit le Code criminel – par prudence, les médecins devraient, dans de telles circonstances, se conformer aux exigences les plus contraignantes.
  • Évaluez chaque demande selon son propre mérite en fonction des faits et des circonstances du cas.
  • Consignez rigoureusement, dans le dossier médical, les processus et les discussions entourant l’AMM, en portant une attention particulière aux exigences liées aux mesures de sauvegarde, surtout pour les personnes dont la mort n’est pas raisonnablement prévisible.
  • Tout en demeurant respectueusement fidèle à vos opinions personnelles, conformez-vous aux attentes du Collège en ce qui a trait aux objections de conscience.
  • Songez à consulter des collègues pour obtenir du soutien et communiquez avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des conseils d’ordre médico-légal.

Références

  1. Truchon c. Procureur général du Canada , 2019 QCCS 3792 (CanLII)
  2. Loi modifiant le Code criminel (aide médicale à mourir) (anciennement projet de loi C-7), 2e sess, 43e lég, Canada, 2021 (sanctionnée le 17 mars 2021)
  3. Énoncé de la Commission sur les soins de fin de vie à la suite de l’adoption du Projet de loi C-7 (le 16 avril 2021)
  4. Gouvernement du Canada, Ministère de la Justice [En ligne], « Contexte législatif : Projet de loi C-7 : Réponse législative du gouvernement du Canada à la décision Truchon de la Cour supérieure du Québec » (le 21 octobre 2020). Disponible : https://www.justice.gc.ca/fra/sjc-csj/pl/am-ad/c7/tdm-toc.html
  5. Un comité mixte du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes procèdera également à un examen approfondi des diverses problématiques liées aux demandes anticipées, aux mineurs matures, à la maladie mentale, à la situation des soins palliatifs au Canada et à la protection des Canadiens handicapés.
  6. Gouvernement du Canada [En ligne]. Document d’orientation en matière de production des rapports sur l’aide médicale à mourir. 2018 [cité le 24 mars 2021]. Disponible : https://www.canada.ca/fr/sante-canada/services/aide-medicale-mourir/orientation-rapports-sommaire.html

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.