■ Duties and responsibilities:

Expectations of physicians in practice

Vaccinating: Doing it safely, and addressing vaccine hesitancy and refusal

Girl receiving vaccine injection in left arm

Published: June 2021
The information in this article was correct at the time of publishing
21-08-E

Vaccines are valuable in preventing and controlling infectious diseases,1 and have saved countless lives.2 During the COVID-19 pandemic, the development and distribution of vaccines has been a major focus in the battle against the virus.

Physicians who provide vaccinations should be aware of their obligations, including giving patients, or their legal guardians, sufficient information about recommended vaccines so they can make informed decisions. The National Advisory Committee on Immunization is a helpful resource on recommended vaccines, including COVID-19 vaccines.3

While the value of vaccines is accepted by many people, some still debate their necessity, efficacy, and safety. This may present challenges for physicians who know a particular vaccine is indicated and appropriate, but the patient or the patient’s legal guardian is hesitant about or refuses the vaccine. Physicians should consider how to address vaccination hesitancy and refusal.

For more information specific to issues related to COVID-19 vaccines, see the CMPA COVID-19 Hub.

Discussing vaccines with patients and obtaining informed consent

When physicians determine a specific vaccine would benefit a patient and recommend it, the clinician must obtain the patient’s or legal guardian’s informed consent before administering the vaccination. In most cases, the informed consent discussion might include:

  • benefits of the vaccine
  • risks of the vaccine (including material risks and uncommon risks with serious consequences, such as paralysis or death)
  • risks of the disease including complications
  • possible consequences of refusing the vaccine
  • relevant recommendations from authoritative groups, governments, provincial/territorial medical regulatory authorities (Colleges), and medical specialty associations and federations
  • need for follow up, for example if immunization requires a series of doses
  • any cost of the vaccine if it is not covered by the provincial or territorial health plan

If the patient (or the patient’s legal guardian) chooses to have the vaccine, physicians should inform them of common side effects and complications, and what to do if these occur. In the case of COVID-19 vaccines, for example, where the products were quickly deployed, there was an opportunity for disclosing that not all of the possible side effects of these products are known. (Regularly updated medico-legal information specific to COVID-19 vaccination may be found on the CMPA COVID-19 Hub..)

The need to document

Once the informed consent discussion has taken place, the details of the discussion and the patient’s (or legal guardian’s) consent to the vaccine should be documented in the patient’s medical record and/or a designated provincial/territorial record. The consent process is more than completing a specific form; it is a conversation, as described previously. Any consent form the physician relies on should also be kept in the medical record and/or a designated provincial/territorial record.

The Public Health Agency of Canada’s Canadian Immunization Guide recommends that healthcare providers record vaccinations in the following: the immunization record held by the vaccine recipient (or legal guardian); the patient’s personal health record maintained by the healthcare provider who administered the vaccine; and the local provincial or territorial immunization registry, if one has been established.4

To help patients (or their guardians) manage their vaccinations, including keeping a record of vaccinations they’ve received, physicians may want to make them aware of resources such as those on the websites of Health Canada, the Public Health Agency of Canada, and Immunize Canada.

The need to follow up

In some instances, adequate immunization requires a series of doses (such as certain COVID-19 vaccines). Before administering the first dose, physicians should talk with patients or legal guardians about the importance of obtaining all doses on the recommended immunization schedule. Physicians should be aware of the immunization schedules in their province or territory and discuss with patients any risks with delaying doses.5 It may be appropriate to have a system to follow up with patients who do not return for subsequent doses, and to document the steps taken and the response.

When patients or legal guardians are hesitant or refuse vaccinations

While routine immunizations are recommended to prevent certain infectious diseases3,6 and most people accept routine vaccination, some still refuse or delay it for themselves or their children.7,8,9 Public health officials and studies are concerned that vaccine hesitancy and refusal will increase the risk of epidemics of vaccine-preventable illnesses.10,11,12

If patients (or legal guardians) are reluctant about a vaccine, physicians should explore and address the reasons for their reluctance, answer any questions to the best of their ability, and consider referring patients or guardians to other relevant resources for information.5 For example, physicians could direct hesitant parents to the Canadian Paediatric Society’s website (caringforkids.cps.ca), or to #ScienceUpFirst, a hashtag used by an organization of independent scientists to present science-based information through social media posts.

Physicians should be empathetic and respectful, and remind patients or guardians that their best interests (or those of their child) are the primary concern.5 Helpful articles13 and resources are available, such as the 2018 Practice Point from the Canadian Paediatric Society, "Working with vaccine-hesitant parents," which provides useful evidence-based approaches on how to communicate effectively.5

Physicians should make every effort to continue to care for patients in the existing doctor-patient relationship in accordance with current standards of care.14 For assistance with caring for patients who are reluctant about a vaccine, physicians should consult with their College and other organizations such as the Canadian Paediatric Society. For medico-legal questions, physicians should contact the CMPA.

Despite good explanations, parents and/or legal guardians may still refuse to consent to the vaccination of their children. Except in Québec, physicians should generally respect an informed decision by a child who they consider to be a mature minor and capable of understanding the risks of refusing the vaccination. In Québec, the law generally only permits children 14 years of age and older to consent to care.15 Physicians should document the wishes of the minor and the parent, if known, in the medical record along with the physician’s assessment of the child’s capacity to consent and understanding of the risks.15

If a vaccine is recommended, but refused, a detailed note of both the consent discussion and the refusal should be made in the medical record. The physician should also keep the lines of communication open for future discussions about immunization and consider directing the patient or legal guardian to a trusted source of reliable information.5

Physicians may be troubled if a patient refuses a vaccine solely for reasons of cost. The patient or legal guardian can be advised to contact their provincial/territorial health ministry on programs and assistance available for vaccinations.

In exceptional circumstances where a patient (or a patient’s legal guardian) has refused immunization, but the vaccine is medically appropriate and necessary to preserve the life or health of the child, it may be necessary to contact child protection agencies. For information on child protection agencies across Canada, physicians can refer to the Canadian Child Welfare Research Portal.16 Physicians may also wish to contact the CMPA for advice.

Questions on vaccine alternatives

Patients (or legal guardians) may have questions about alternatives to routine vaccines, such as unproven homeopathic therapies.17 To respond appropriately, primary care physicians and those practising in related areas should stay up to date on relevant or common vaccines, their effectiveness, significant risks, and the risks if the diseases are not prevented. Physicians should be prepared to communicate clearly and professionally with patients or legal guardians on the matter and keep in mind that a healthcare provider’s advice generally has significant influence on decision-making for vaccines.5

Treating unvaccinated patients

Physicians with unvaccinated patients should consider arranging their office to reduce any risks from these patients coming into contact with vulnerable patients, such as those with suppressed immune systems or those who have not yet received vaccinations. Scheduling appointments at different times of the day or week to treat each type of patient could be one approach. Physicians should encourage unvaccinated patients or their legal guardians to inform healthcare providers they come in contact with that they are not fully immunized. These steps are especially important in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The bottom line

  • Tell patients or their legal guardians about the benefits and significant risks of recommended vaccines, and the risks if the disease is not prevented.
  • Have a robust informed consent discussion when recommending new vaccines, such as COVID-19/ vaccines.
  • Be familiar with your province’s or territory’s immunization schedules and legislation, and your College’s policies on vaccination.
  • Document the information you give patients and their responses in the medical record and/or designated provincial/territorial record (including their reasons for refusing the vaccine).
  • Document in the medical record the vaccines discussed with, refused by, or administered to patients.
  • Patients or legal guardians have the right to accept or refuse the vaccine. Be patient and empathetic to their needs and beliefs, and keep the lines of communication open.
  • Follow up with patients to complete the course of immunization, if required, and document the steps taken.

References

  1. Public Health Agency of Canada. PHAC;2020 Feb 14. Canadian Immunization Guide: Introduction [cited 2021 Feb 18] Available from: https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/canadian-immunization-guide/introduction.html”
  2. Chan M. World Health Organization;2017. Ten Years in Public Health 2007-2017: Report by Dr. Margaret Chan, Director-General, World Health Organization [cited 2021 Feb 18] Available from: https://apps.who.int/iris/bitstream/handle/10665/255355/9789241512442-eng.pdf;jsessionid=DBF83B5AE1E75D9B067D5427F4656301?sequence=1”
  3. Public Health Agency of Canada. PHAC;2021 Feb 15. National Advisory Committee on Immunization (NACI): Statements and publications [modified on: 2021 Feb 15; cited 2021 Feb 18] Available from: https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/immunization/national-advisory-committee-on-immunization-naci.html
  4. Public Health Agency of Canada. PHAC;2016 Feb 2. Canadian Immunization Guide: Immunization records [modified 2016 Sep 1; cited 2021 Feb 18] Available from: http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/publicat/cig-gci/p01-11-eng.php
  5. MacDonald NE, Desai S, Gerstein B. Canadian Pediatric Society. Working with vaccine-hesitant parents: An update. Paediatr Child Health. 2018 [cited 2021 Feb 18];23(8)562 DOI: https://doi.org/10.1093/pch/pxy144 Available from: https://www.cps.ca/documents/position/working-with-vaccine-hesitant-parents
  6. Canadian Paediatric Society. CPS;2016 Apr 26. Are we doing enough? A status report on Canadian public policy and child and youth health [cited 2021 Feb 18] Available from: https://www.cps.ca/uploads/advocacy/SR16_ENG.pdf
  7. Dubé E, Gagnon D, Quakki M, et al. Measuring vaccine acceptance among Canadian parents: A survey of the Canadian Immunization Research Network. Vaccine. 2018 Jan 25 [cited 2021 Feb 18];36(4);545-552. DOI: 10.1016/j.vaccine.2017.12.005
  8. Public Health Agency of Canada. PHAC;2021 Jan. Vaccine coverage in Canadian children: Results from the 2017 Childhood National Immunization Coverage Survey (cNICS) [modified 2021 Jan 29; cited 2021 Feb 18] Available from: https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/publications/healthy-living/2017-vaccine-uptake-canadian-children-survey.html
  9. Angus Reid Institute. ARI;2021 Dec 14. More Canadians willing to roll up their sleeves right away as national COVID-19 vaccine rollout begins [cited 2021 Feb 18] Available from: http://angusreid.org/canada-covid-vaccine-december/
  10. World Health Organization. WHO;2019. Health Topics: Ten threats to global health in 2019 [cited 2021 Feb 18] Available from: https://www.who.int/news-room/spotlight/ten-threats-to-global-health-in-2019
  11. Kempe A, Saville AW, Albertin C, et al. Parental hesitancy about routine childhood and influenza vaccinations: A national survey. Pediatrics. 2020 July [cited 2021 Feb 18];146(1): e20193852. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1542/peds.2019-3852
  12. De Figueiredo A, Simas C, Karafillakis E., et al. Mapping global trends in vaccine confidence and investigating barriers to vaccine uptake: a large-scale retrospective temporal modelling study. Lancet. 2020 Sep 26 [cited 2021 Feb 18];396(10255):898-908 DOI: https://doi.org/10.1016/S0140-6736(20)31558-0 Available from: https://www.thelancet.com/journals/lancet/article/PIIS0140-6736(20)31558-0/fulltext
  13. Gagneur A. Motivational interviewing: A powerful tool to address vaccine hesitancy. Can Commun Dis Rep 2020 [cited 2021 Feb 18];46(4):93–7. DOI: https://doi.org/10.14745/ccdr.v46i04a06
  14. Shen S, Dubey V. Addressing vaccine hesitancy. Clinical guidelines for primary care physicians working with parents. Can Fam Physician. 2019 Mar [cited 2021 Feb 18};65(3)175-181 Available from: http://www.cfp.ca/content/65/3/175?rss=1.full.pdf+html
  15. Canadian Medical Protective Association. CMPA;2014 May. Can a child provide consent? [cited 2021 Feb 18] Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/legal-and-regulatory-proceedings/-/asset_publisher/a9unChEc2NP9/content/can-a-child-provide-consent-
  16. Canadian Child Welfare Research Portal. CWRP. Provincial and Territorial Assistance [cited 2021 Feb 18] Available from: http://cwrp.ca/help
  17. Loeb M, Russell ML, Neupane B, et al. A randomized, blinded, placebo-controlled trial comparing antibody responses to homeopathic and conventional vaccines in university students. Vaccine. 2018 Nov 19 [cited 2021 Feb 18];36(48):7423-7429 DOI: 10.1016/j.vaccine.08.082 Available from: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/30352746/

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Obligations et responsabilités :

Les attentes vis-à-vis des médecins

Vaccination : sécurité – réticence – refus

Fille recevant une injection de vaccin dans le bras gauche

Publié : juin 2021
Les renseignements présentés dans cet article étaient exacts au moment de la publication
21-08-F

Les vaccins sont importants pour prévenir et freiner les maladies infectieuses;1 ils ont permis de sauver d’innombrables vies.2 Pendant la pandémie de COVID-19, la conception et la distribution de vaccins constituent une grande priorité dans la lutte contre le virus.

Les médecins qui offrent des services de vaccination doivent être conscients de leurs obligations, dont celle de remettre à leurs patients (ou à leurs tuteurs légaux) suffisamment de renseignements sur les vaccins recommandés pour leur permettre de prendre une décision éclairée. Le Comité consultatif national de l’immunisation (CCNI) constitue une ressource utile sur les vaccins recommandés, y compris ceux contre la COVID-19.3

Si une grande partie de la population reconnaît l’importance des vaccins, d’aucuns débattent encore de leur nécessité, de leur efficacité et de leur innocuité. Une telle situation peut présenter des défis pour les médecins qui sont convaincus du bien-fondé d’un vaccin particulier, mais qui doivent faire face à la réticence ou au refus du patient ou de son tuteur légal. Les médecins doivent donc réfléchir à la manière d’aborder la réticence et le refus en ce qui a trait à la vaccination.

Pour obtenir plus de précisions sur des questions liées aux vaccins contre la COVID-19, visitez le Carrefour de l’ACPM sur la COVID-19.

Discussion des vaccins avec les patients et obtention d’un consentement éclairé

Lorsqu’un médecin détermine qu’il est dans l’intérêt d’un patient de recevoir un vaccin particulier, il se doit d’obtenir le consentement éclairé du patient (ou du tuteur légal de celui-ci) avant de le lui administrer. Dans la plupart des cas, la discussion préalable à l’obtention d’un consentement éclairé pourrait porter sur les sujets suivants :

  • les avantages du vaccin;
  • les risques du vaccin, y compris les risques importants et les risques peu courants qui s’accompagnent de conséquences graves, telles que la paralysie ou la mort;
  • les risques de la maladie que l’on veut éviter, y compris ses complications;
  • les conséquences possibles du refus de la vaccination;
  • les recommandations pertinentes de la part de groupes faisant autorité, des pouvoirs publics, des organismes provinciaux et territoriaux de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) et des associations ou fédérations de médecins spécialistes;
  • la nécessité d’un suivi, p. ex. lorsque l’immunisation nécessite l’administration d’une série de doses;
  • les coûts associés au vaccin, lorsqu’ils ne sont pas couverts par les programmes de santé provinciaux ou territoriaux.

Si le patient (ou son tuteur légal) choisit de recevoir le vaccin, le médecin doit l’aviser des complications et des effets secondaires courants, et de la marche à suivre en présence de tels symptômes. Dans le cas des vaccins contre la COVID-19, par exemple, où les produits ont été rapidement déployés, il convient d’informer le patient que tous leurs effets secondaires possibles ne sont pas encore connus. (Pour obtenir des renseignements régulièrement mis à jour sur des questions d’ordre médico-légal liées aux vaccins contre la COVID-19, visitez le Carrefour de l’ACPM sur la COVID-19.)

Importance de la consignation au dossier

Une fois que la discussion préalable à l’obtention d’un consentement éclairé a eu lieu, la teneur de celle-ci et le consentement accordé par le patient (ou son tuteur légal) à l’administration du vaccin doivent être consignés dans le dossier médical du patient, le dossier désigné de la province ou du territoire, ou les deux. Le processus d’obtention d’un consentement va au-delà d’un simple formulaire à remplir : il s’agit d’une conversation, comme indiqué précédemment. Le médecin devrait également conserver dans le dossier du patient ou le dossier désigné de la province ou du territoire tout formulaire de consentement que le patient a signé.

Le Guide canadien d’immunisation de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada recommande aux professionnels de la santé de consigner les vaccins administrés dans les documents suivants : le carnet de vaccination personnel conservé par la personne vaccinée (ou par son tuteur légal); le dossier personnel de santé du patient tenu par le professionnel de la santé qui a administré le vaccin; et le registre d’immunisation local, provincial ou territorial (s’il en existe un).4

Pour aider les patients (ou leurs tuteurs légaux) à gérer leurs vaccins (y compris le maintien d’un registre des vaccins reçus), les médecins pourraient les orienter vers des ressources telles que celles publiées dans les sites web de Santé Canada, de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada et d’Immunisation Canada.

Importance du suivi

L’administration d’une série de doses (comme dans le cas de certains des vaccins contre la COVID-19) est parfois requise pour assurer une immunisation adéquate. Le médecin doit, avant d’administrer la première dose, rappeler au patient ou au tuteur légal de celui-ci l’importance de recevoir toutes ces doses selon le calendrier d’immunisation établi. Les médecins devraient connaître les calendriers de vaccination de leur province ou de leur territoire et discuter avec leurs patients des risques auxquels ceux-ci s’exposent s’ils tardent à accepter l’administration des doses.5 Il pourrait être utile de mettre en place un système de suivi des patients qui ne se présentent pas pour recevoir leurs doses subséquentes, et de consigner les mesures prises et la réponse du patient (ou de son tuteur légal).

Réticence ou refus des patients ou de leurs tuteurs légaux

Bien que la vaccination systématique soit recommandée pour prévenir certaines maladies infectieuses3,6 et que la majeure partie de la population l’accepte bien, certaines personnes la refusent ou la reportent pour elles-mêmes ou pour leurs enfants.7,8,9 Des responsables de la santé publique et des chercheurs ont exprimé des inquiétudes quant à la possibilité de voir la réticence ou le refus face aux vaccins accroître le risque d’épidémies de maladies évitables par la vaccination.10,11,12

Lorsque le patient (ou son tuteur légal) exprime des réticences au sujet d’un vaccin, le médecin devrait explorer et aborder les raisons qui sous-tendent les préoccupations exprimées, répondre de son mieux à toutes les questions du patient et envisager d’orienter ce dernier (ou son tuteur légal) vers d’autres sources pertinentes de renseignements.5 Par exemple, le médecin pourrait diriger des parents qui hésitent vers le site web de la Société canadienne de pédiatrie, au www.soinsdenosenfants.cps.ca, ou vers #LaScienceDabord, un mouvement dans les médias sociaux mis sur pied par une équipe de scientifiques indépendants dans le but de mettre la science au premier plan dans la présentation de renseignements.

Les médecins doivent faire preuve d’empathie et de respect tout au long de ces discussions, et rappeler aux patients ou à leurs tuteurs légaux que leurs intérêts (ou ceux de l’enfant) demeurent l’enjeu principal de la relation thérapeutique.5 Des articles13 et des ressources utiles sont accessibles, tels que le point de pratique publié en 2018 par la Société canadienne de pédiatrie, « Les parents qui hésitent à faire vacciner leur enfant : une approche clinique », qui présente des approches utiles (fondées sur des données probantes) pour assurer une communication efficace.5

Les médecins ne doivent ménager aucun effort pour continuer à prodiguer, dans le cadre de leur relation existante avec leurs patients, des soins conformes aux normes de pratique en vigueur.14 Pour obtenir de l’assistance et des conseils à l’égard de patients qui expriment des réticences face à un vaccin, les médecins devraient consulter leur Collège ou d’autres organisations comme la Société canadienne de pédiatrie. Pour ce qui a trait aux questions d’ordre médico-légal, ils devraient communiquer avec l’ACPM.

Malgré de bonnes explications, les parents ou les tuteurs légaux pourraient continuer de refuser la vaccination de leurs enfants. Sauf au Québec, les médecins doivent généralement respecter la décision éclairée formulée par un enfant qu’ils considèrent être un mineur mature, en mesure de comprendre les risques du refus de la vaccination. Au Québec, la loi n’autorise en général que les enfants de 14 ans ou plus à consentir aux soins.15 Les médecins doivent consigner les souhaits du mineur et du parent, s’ils sont connus, dans le dossier médical, avec l’évaluation médicale de l’aptitude de l’enfant à consentir aux soins et à comprendre les risques.15

À la suite du refus d’un vaccin recommandé, une note détaillée traitant de la discussion qui visait à obtenir le consentement, ainsi que du refus du patient, doit être consignée dans le dossier médical. Le médecin doit également s’assurer de ne pas couper les ponts avec le patient, de façon à permettre de futures discussions sur l’immunisation; il doit également envisager d’orienter le patient ou son tuteur légal vers une source fiable de renseignements à ce sujet.5

Le refus de la vaccination pour des raisons strictement économiques pourrait troubler certains médecins. Le patient ou son tuteur légal peut être avisé de communiquer avec le ministère de la Santé de la province ou du territoire pour s’enquérir de l’assistance et des programmes offerts en matière de vaccination.

Dans des circonstances exceptionnelles, comme lorsqu’un patient (ou son tuteur légal) a refusé la vaccination, bien que le vaccin en question soit approprié sur le plan médical et nécessaire pour maintenir la vie ou la santé de l’enfant, il pourrait s’avérer nécessaire que les médecins communiquent avec l’agence de protection de l’enfance. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les agences de protection de l’enfance au Canada, les médecins peuvent se reporter au Portail canadien de la recherche en protection de l’enfance.16 Les médecins peuvent également communiquer avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des conseils lorsqu’ils font face à de telles circonstances.

Questions sur les solutions de rechange à la vaccination

Les patients (ou leurs tuteurs légaux) pourraient avoir des questions au sujet de solutions de rechange à la vaccination systématique, telles que des traitements homéopathiques non éprouvés.17 Pour pouvoir y répondre adéquatement, les médecins de première ligne et ceux qui exercent dans des domaines connexes doivent maintenir leurs connaissances à jour quant aux vaccins courants ou pertinents, à leur efficacité, aux risques importants qui pourraient leur être associés et aux risques propres aux maladies que ces vaccins cherchent à prévenir. Les médecins doivent se préparer de façon à pouvoir dialoguer de manière claire et professionnelle avec les patients ou leurs tuteurs légaux à ce sujet. Il est à noter que les conseils d’un professionnel de la santé exercent généralement une influence importante sur le processus décisionnel concernant les vaccins.5

Soins aux patients non vaccinés

Les médecins ayant des patients non vaccinés doivent songer à aménager leur cabinet de façon à réduire tout risque que ces patients entrent en contact avec des patients vulnérables, tels que ceux qui sont immunosupprimés ou qui n'ont pas encore été vaccinés. Une approche possible serait de fixer des rendez vous à différents moments de la journée ou de la semaine pour assurer les soins de chaque type de patient. Les médecins doivent encourager les patients non vaccinés ou leurs tuteurs légaux à informer les professionnels de la santé avec lesquels ils entrent en contact du fait qu’ils ne sont pas complètement immunisés. Ces mesures sont d’importance cruciale dans le contexte de la pandémie de COVID-19.

En bref

  • Offrez des renseignements aux patients ou à leurs tuteurs légaux au sujet des avantages et de tous les risques importants associés aux vaccins recommandés, ainsi qu’à la maladie que l’on cherche ainsi à prévenir.
  • Menez la discussion visant à obtenir le consentement éclairé de façon rigoureuse lorsque vous recommandez de nouveaux vaccins, tels que ceux contre la COVID-19.
  • Familiarisez-vous avec le calendrier de vaccination, les lois applicables et les politiques de votre Collège à l’égard de la vaccination dans la province ou le territoire où vous exercez.
  • Consignez dans le dossier médical, le dossier désigné de la province ou du territoire, ou les deux, les renseignements que vous remettez à vos patients et leurs réactions (y compris les motifs invoqués pour le refus du vaccin, le cas échéant).
  • Consignez également les vaccins qui ont fait l’objet d’une discussion avec vos patients, ce que vous leur administrez ou ce qu’ils refusent de recevoir.
  • Les patients (ou leurs tuteurs légaux) ont le droit d’accepter ou de refuser un vaccin. Faites preuve de patience et d’empathie envers les besoins et les croyances de vos patients et assurez-vous de ne pas couper les ponts avec eux.
  • Planifiez le suivi des patients pour mener à terme le processus de vaccination, au besoin, et consignez les mesures prises au dossier.

Références

  1. Agence de la santé publique du Canada. ASPC;14 février 2020. Guide canadien d’immunisation : Introduction [cité le 18 février 2021] Disponible : https://www.canada.ca/fr/public-health/services/canadian-immunization-guide/introduction.html
  2. Chan M. Organisation mondiale de la Santé;2017. Dix ans de santé publique 2007-2017 : Rapport du Dr Margaret Chan, directeur général, Organisation mondiale de la Santé [cité le 18 février 2021] Disponible : https://www.who.int/publications/10-year-review/fr/
  3. Agence de la santé publique du Canada. ASPC;15 février 2021. Comité consultatif national de l'immunisation (CCNI) : Déclarations et publications [modifié le : 15 février 2021; cité le 18 février 2021] Disponible : https://www.canada.ca/fr/sante-publique/services/publications/vie-saine/guide-canadien-immunisation-partie-1-information-cle-immunisation.html
  4. Agence de la santé publique du Canada. ASPC;2 février 2016. Guide canadien d’immunisation : Dossiers de vaccination [modifié le 1er septembre 2016; cité le 18 février 2021] Disponible : https://www.canada.ca/fr/sante-publique/services/publications/vie-saine/guide-canadien-immunisation-partie-1-information-cle-immunisation.html
  5. MacDonald NE, Desai S, Gerstein B. Société canadienne de pédiatrie. Les parents qui hésitent à faire vacciner leurs enfants : une mise à jour. Paediatr Child Health. 2018 [cité le 18 février 2021];23(8)562 DOI: https://doi.org/10.1093/pch/pxy144 Disponible : https://www.cps.ca/fr/documents/position/les-parents-qui-hesitent-a-faire-vacciner-leurs-enfants
  6. Société canadienne de pédiatrie. SCP;26 avril 2016. En faisons-nous assez? Un rapport de la situation des politiques publiques canadiennes et de la santé des enfants et des adolescents [cité le 18 février 2021] Disponible : https://www.cps.ca/uploads/advocacy/SR16_FRE.pdf
  7. Dubé E, Gagnon D, Quakki M, et al. Measuring vaccine acceptance among Canadian parents: A survey of the Canadian Immunization Research Network. Vaccine. 2018 Jan 25 [cité le 18 février 2021];36(4);545-552. DOI: 10.1016/j.vaccine.2017.12.005
  8. Agence de la santé publique du Canada. ASPC;janvier 2021. Couverture vaccinale des enfants canadiens : Résultats de l’enquête nationale sur la couverture vaccinale des enfants (ENCVE), 2017 [modifié le 29 janvier 2021; cité le 18 février 2021] Disponible : https://www.canada.ca/fr/sante-publique/services/publications/vie-saine/2017-enquete-nationale-couverture-vaccinale-enfants.html
  9. Angus Reid Institute. ARI;14 décembre 2021. More Canadians willing to roll up their sleeves right away as national COVID-19 vaccine rollout begins [cité le 18 février 2021] Disponible : http://angusreid.org/canada-covid-vaccine-december/
  10. Organisation mondiale de la Santé. OMS;2019. Thèmes de santé : Dix ennemis que l’OMS devra affronter cette année [cité le 18 février 2021] Disponible : https://www.who.int/fr/news-room/spotlight/ten-threats-to-global-health-in-2019
  11. Kempe A, Saville AW, Albertin C, et al. Parental hesitancy about routine childhood and influenza vaccinations: A national survey. Pediatrics. Juillet 2020 [cité le 18 février 2021];146(1): e20193852. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1542/peds.2019-3852
  12. De Figueiredo A, Simas C, Karafillakis E, et al. Mapping global trends in vaccine confidence and investigating barriers to vaccine uptake: a large-scale retrospective temporal modelling study. Lancet. 26 septembre 2020 [cité le 18 février 2021];396(10255):898-908 DOI: https://doi.org/10.1016/S0140-6736(20)31558-0 Disponible : https://www.thelancet.com/journals/lancet/article/PIIS0140-6736(20)31558-0/fulltext
  13. Gagneur A. Motivational interviewing: A powerful tool to address vaccine hesitancy. Can Commun Dis Rep 2020 [cité le 18 février 2021];46(4):93–7. DOI: https://doi.org/10.14745/ccdr.v46i04a06
  14. Shen S, Dubey V. Addressing vaccine hesitancy. Clinical guidelines for primary care physicians working with parents. Can Fam Physician. Mars 2019 [cité le 18 février 2021};65(3)175-181 Disponible : http://www.cfp.ca/content/65/3/175?rss=1.full.pdf+html
  15. Association canadienne de protection médicale. ACPM;Mai 2014. Un enfant est-il apte à consentir? [cité le 18 février 2021] Disponible: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/browse-articles/2014/can-a-child-provide-consent
  16. Portail canadien de la recherche en protection de l’enfance. CWRP. Assistance au niveau provincial et territorial. [cité le 18 février 2021] Disponible : https://cwrp.ca/fr/assistance-au-niveau-provincial-et-territorial
  17. Loeb M, Russell ML, Neupane B, et al. A randomized, blinded, placebo-controlled trial comparing antibody responses to homeopathic and conventional vaccines in university students. Vaccine. 19 novembre 2018 [cité le 18 février 2021];36(48):7423-7429 DOI: 10.1016/j.vaccine.08.082 Disponible : https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/30352746/

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.