Risk management toolbox

Governing Law and Jurisdiction Agreement

Protecting physicians and healthcare organizations when treating non-residents of Canada
 

The CMPA and Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada (HIROC) have updated the two "Governing Law and Jurisdiction Agreement" forms, which are designed for the use of physicians in private practice and healthcare organizations. The updated versions reflect developments in the law since the forms were originally published in 2005.   

As with the original agreements, the updated versions are intended to streamline the process for physicians and healthcare organizations providing medical or other healthcare and treatment to a non-resident of Canada.

Physicians and healthcare organizations should make reasonable efforts in the circumstances to ensure a Governing Law and Jurisdiction Agreement is completed before treatment is provided to a non-resident of Canada. The agreements assist in establishing Canadian jurisdiction for any potential legal actions that may result from care or treatment provided by Canadian physicians or healthcare organizations to non-residents.

Please note that physicians providing care and treatment in a healthcare organization setting are not required to also have the "Physicians in private practice" agreement completed. Physicians working in a healthcare organization setting are specifically included in the "Healthcare organization" agreement. 

Governing Law and Jurisdiction Agreement (for physicians in private practice) [PDF]

Governing Law and Jurisdiction Agreement (for healthcare organizations) [PDF]

(Updated: March 2014)


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Boîte d'outils de gestion des risques

Convention relative aux lois d'application et à la compétence judiciaire

La protection des médecins et des organismes de soins de santé lors du traitement de non-résidents du Canada

L'ACPM et la Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada (HIROC) ont complété une révision et mise à jour des deux formulaires de « Convention relative au droit applicable et à l'attribution de juridiction » élaborés à l'intention des médecins en pratique privée et des organismes de soins de santé. Les formulaires révisés tiennent compte des développements juridiques qui se sont produits depuis la publication initiale des formulaires en 2005.

Tout comme c'était le cas avec les formulaires précédents, les versions mises à jour visent à simplifier la procédure pour les médecins et pour les organismes de soins de santé qui prodiguent des traitements médicaux, ainsi que d'autres soins de santé, aux non-résidents du Canada.

Les médecins et les organismes de soins de santé devraient, dans la mesure du possible, tenter de faire signer la « Convention relative au droit applicable et à l'attribution de juridiction » par un non-résident du Canada avant d'entreprendre tout traitement. Ces ententes visent à établir la primauté des lois et tribunaux Canadiens advenant une quelconque poursuite ou conflit découlant de soins ou de traitements offerts à des non-résidents par des médecins ou des organismes de soins de santé canadiens.

Veuillez noter que les médecins qui offrent des soins et des traitements au sein d'un organisme de soins de santé ne sont pas tenus de faire signer également l'entente pour un médecin en pratique privée. Les médecins travaillant dans un organisme de soins de santé sont spécifiquement inclus dans l'entente pour les organismes de soins de santé.

Convention relative aux lois d'application et à la compétence judiciaire (pour les médecins en pratique privée) [PDF]

Convention relative aux lois d'application et à la compétence judiciaire (pour les organismes de soins de santé) [PDF]

(Révisé : mars 2014)


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.