Canadian Medical Protective Association calls for system-wide change to improve physician wellness

OTTAWA, August 22, 2018 — The Canadian Medical Protective Association (CMPA) addressed the need for system-wide change and greater investment in physician wellness at its annual Information Session on August 22 in Winnipeg. The session entitled “Healthier physicians: An investment in safe medical care” assembled a panel of distinguished speakers to extend the critical conversation about improving physician wellness and reducing burnout.

Healthcare is facing a crisis of well-being, with large numbers of physicians reporting one or more symptoms of professional burnout. Physician burnout has been linked to increased healthcare system costs, adverse outcomes, and medical-legal events. CMPA data shows that, over the past five years, College and hospital complaints have risen by more than 20%. Burnout may be associated with this increase.

Physician burnout is the “canary in the coalmine” and indicates problems with the work environment. Speakers discussed the systemic causes of burnout, which include excessive workloads, increased administrative demands, high patient volumes, and inadequate institutional support. The panel stressed that, since there are so many factors contributing to burnout, there needs to be a collective response and coordinated effort from all major Canadian healthcare stakeholders in responding to the problem.

“Supporting physician wellness must be a shared responsibility,” said Dr. Hartley Stern, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer of the CMPA. “The CMPA will continue to support physicians during some of their most difficult times. However, to truly effect change, all healthcare stakeholders have to recognize the problem of burnout and invest in solutions.”

The CMPA has set out recommendations [PDF] outlining ways in which major Canadian stakeholders can promote physician wellness. Evidence shows that investing in physician health will lead to a safer, more productive, and lower cost healthcare system. The CMPA is committed to helping physicians respond to stress and working with other stakeholder organizations to improve physician health.

Additional information and resources on the subject of physician wellness are available on the Association’s website.

-30-

For more information, please contact:

Dima Hanhan
Public Relations Advisor
Canadian Medical Protective Association
(613) 316-7513

dhanhan@cmpa.org


About the CMPA

The CMPA delivers efficient, high-quality physician-to-physician advice and assistance in medical legal matters, including the provision of appropriate compensation to patients injured by negligent medical care. Our evidence-based products and services enhance the safety of medical care, reducing unnecessary harm and costs. As Canada’s largest physician organization and with the support of our 100,000 physician members, the CMPA collaborates, advocates and effects positive change on important healthcare and medical legal issues. The Association is governed by an elected Council of physicians.

L’Association canadienne de protection médicale plaide en faveur de modifications systémiques pour l’amélioration du bien-être des médecins

Ottawa, le 22 août 2018 – L’Association canadienne de protection médicale (ACPM) s’est penchée sur la nécessité de procéder à des modifications systémiques et à un investissement accru dans le bien-être des médecins au cours de sa séance d’information annuelle, le 22 août, à Winnipeg. Intitulée « Promouvoir la santé des médecins : un investissement dans les soins médicaux sécuritaires », cette séance réunissait un groupe de panélistes hautement qualifiés pour approfondir la conversation au sujet de l’amélioration du bien-être des médecins et de la façon de répondre à l’épuisement professionnel.

Le système de santé vit une crise du bien-être. Un nombre important de médecins signalent connaître un ou plusieurs symptômes d’épuisement professionnel. L’épuisement des médecins a été lié à une hausse des coûts pour le système de santé, des résultats défavorables et des problèmes médico-légaux. Les données de l’ACPM indiquent que, au cours des cinq dernières années, les plaintes au Collège et les plaintes intrahospitalières ont connu une hausse de plus de 20 %. L’épuisement professionnel pourrait être associé à cette hausse.

Faisant office de « canari dans une mine de charbon », l’épuisement des médecins révèle la présence de problèmes dans le milieu de travail. Les panélistes ont discuté des causes systémiques de l’épuisement : surcharge de travail, exigences administratives accrues, volumes élevés de patients et soutien institutionnel inadéquat. Ils ont insisté sur le fait que, puisque le problème de l’épuisement est tributaire d’un grand nombre de facteurs, il nécessite une réponse collective et concertée de la part de tous les principaux partenaires de la santé canadiens.

« Nous devons tous assumer la responsabilité de soutenir le bien-être des médecins », affirme le Dr Hartley Stern, directeur général de l’ACPM. « L’Association continuera d’aider les médecins au cours de leurs moments les plus éprouvants. Quoi qu’il en soit, pour que nous puissions obtenir de réels changements, tous les partenaires de la santé doivent reconnaître le problème de l’épuisement professionnel et investir dans des solutions. »

L’ACPM a formulé des recommandations [PDF] qui décrivent la façon dont ses principaux partenaires canadiens peuvent aborder la question du bien-être des médecins. La recherche indique que les investissements visant la santé des médecins améliorent la sécurité et la productivité du système de santé, tout en entraînant une baisse des coûts. En plus de collaborer avec d’autres organisations pour améliorer la santé des médecins, l’ACPM s’engage à aider ces derniers à faire face au stress.

Des renseignements et des ressources supplémentaires traitant du bien-être des médecins sont accessibles sur le site web de l’Association.

-30-

Pour obtenir plus d’information, veuillez communiquer avec :

Dima Hanhan
Conseillère en relations publiques
L’Association canadienne de protection médicale
(613) 316-7513

dhanhan@cmpa.org


Au sujet de l’ACPM

L’ACPM offre de médecin à médecin des conseils et une assistance efficaces et de grande qualité à l’égard de problèmes médico-légaux, y compris le versement d’une compensation financière appropriée aux patients ayant subi un préjudice à la suite d’une faute professionnelle. Nos produits et nos services, conçus en fonction de données probantes, accroissent la sécurité des soins médicaux, réduisant ainsi les préjudices et les coûts inutiles. À titre d’organisation canadienne comptant le plus grand nombre de médecins et avec le soutien de ses 100 000 membres, l’ACPM joue un rôle de collaborateur, de défenseur des droits et d’agent de changement positif sur des enjeux importants du système de santé et des questions médico-légales. L’Association est gouvernée par un Conseil élu de médecins.