■ The healthcare system:

Building safer systems to enhance clinical care delivery

Just culture

A collaborative scene in a meeting room where a confident female physician smiles at the camera while colleagues continue to discuss in the background.

Promoting safe care through a consistent, fair culture of accountability

Published: May 2021
8 minutes

Introduction

Understanding human fallibility

The culture of an organization can be described as "the way we do things around here" or “what we do when no one is watching.” There has been increasing recognition that a just culture is essential to empowering physicians and other healthcare workers to provide safe care.

Just culture is a philosophy, an everyday set of principles about how we engage as teams, hold each other accountable, and identify and fix problems before harm occurs.1 Building and nurturing teams that are accountable and engaged requires leaders to accept five universal tenets:

  1. To err is human.
  2. To drift is human.
  3. Risk is everywhere.
  4. We manage in support of our values.
  5. We are all accountable.

Good practice guidance

To create and support accountability, leaders must first clearly articulate their organization’s mission and values. Having a clear understanding of their organization’s values allows healthcare providers to embody and protect those values through their behavioural choices. Clarity on values also enables organizational leaders to coach staff towards alignment of individual behavioural choices and institutional values.

A just culture results from the consistent application of a just system of investigation and performance management in support of a set of values. It reflects what is known about system design, human free will, and human fallibility.2

In healthcare, a just culture is first and foremost a culture focused on the prevention of harm. A just culture is about relationships between team members, the creation of psychological safety, and building systems to continuously learn and improve in a supportive environment.3

Psychological safety is a shared belief that anyone on the care team can speak up and share their opinion respectfully without fear of retribution.4 In a psychologically safe environment, all individuals feel safe to:

  • ask questions without fear of being labelled ignorant
  • ask for feedback without fear of being considered incompetent
  • be respectfully critical of a plan without fear of being regarded as disruptive
  • offer suggestions for improvement without being branded as negative

A number of evidence-based models have been devised to explain the genesis of patient safety incidents.5 Many models such as those by Dekker, and Reason’s algorithm have adopted a rule-based approach to accountability after a patient safety incident (accident, in Québec), The just culture model is a values-supportive system of shared accountability where organizations are accountable for the systems they have designed and for responding to the behavioural choices of their employees in a fair and just manner. Employees (and others in the workplace, including physicians), in turn, are accountable for the quality of their behavioural choices and for reporting both patient safety incidents and system vulnerabilities.6

Defining organizational missions, values, and duties

A mission is an organization’s reason for being (e.g. provision of safe medical care, educating healthcare providers of tomorrow).

An organization’s vision represents the path to achieve its mission.

An organization’s values are the guiding principles that help it achieve its mission (e.g. compassion, teamwork, accountability).

Values tell healthcare providers what is important to an organization. To operationalize a vision, leaders must interpret and deconstruct it into a set of values that staff can use to guide their decisions. Whether it be to provide cost effective care, to act in the patient’s best interests, or to maximize patient turnover, clearly articulated values are the foundation on which a workplace culture is built. In short, values are a guide to expected staff behaviours. The leader/manager’s role is to ensure staff act in ways that protect and promote the organization’s values.

Collapse section

In a just culture of accountability, three types of human behaviour are recognized as affecting a provider’s ability to fulfill their duties in support of their organization’s mission:

  1. human error
  2. at-risk behaviour
  3. reckless behaviour

Leaders/managers must use appropriate interventions to promote behavioural choices that support the organization’s values.

Human error

Human error is an unintended action which is, by definition, inevitable and unintentional. Consequently, the appropriate response from leaders when human errors occur is to recognize and learn from the episode and to console the healthcare provider who made the mistake. The organization then has a responsibility to identify how it may improve the systems in place in order to reduce the risk of unintentional human error.

At-risk behaviour

Healthcare providers typically receive training on their organization’s rules and procedures. But over time, as they acquire competence and learn to cope with increasing demands and pressures of clinical practice, individuals inevitably develop shortcuts, workarounds, and heuristics.7 Thus, the provider drifts from accepted behaviours into more dangerous patterns of behaviour that they may regard as being more efficient, but still within the spectrum of what may be considered safe. Behavioural drift is a normal aspect of human behaviour. It is an unconscious choice to deviate from training, policies, and rules stemming from:

  • a lack of perception of risk
  • a mistaken belief that the risk is insignificant or justifiable
  • competing priorities that motivate modified behaviour

As providers become more comfortable with their work, drift is further reinforced by the fact that any resulting harm is relatively rare, thus obscuring the link between drift and potential harm.

The impact of drift or normalization of deviance in healthcare

Deviating or drifting away from recognized standards of practice for patient care can become normalized or routine over time. Some common examples include:

  • not washing or sanitizing hands every time before and after examining patients
  • not gowning with the appropriate infection control measures
  • not using two-step patient identification before administering medication
  • not using two-step identification of ambulatory clinic patients
  • ignoring or turning off alerts in an electronic medical record (EMR)

Drift is considered to be at-risk behaviour. Within a culture of accountability, it is generally recognized that behavioural drift is the single greatest threat to patient safety, owing to its unconscious nature and to its pervasiveness in everyday practice.

For healthcare leaders who have identified occasional, at-risk behaviour, an appropriate intervention is to coach the healthcare provider back toward safe practice. Coaching is a values-supportive positive discussion that may include:

  • pointing out the drift
  • reminding the provider of the risks
  • clarifying how the drift is not aligned with the organization’s values
  • redirecting the provider’s choices toward accepted policies and procedures that are aligned with the organization’s values

Repeated at-risk behaviour can be managed by evaluating performance-shaping factors at both the provider and system levels.

One of the biggest challenges in managing at-risk behaviour occurs when drift is identified, but no patient safety incident or near miss has resulted. To not coach the behaviour in such instances would represent a missed opportunity for learning that can ultimately imperil the establishment of a culture of accountability by tacitly reinforcing drift. Leaders/managers should instead strive to coach as many episodes of drift as reasonably possible, whether or not these incidents result in adverse outcomes.

The management of at-risk behaviour should include a search for factors that contributed to shaping the provider’s at-risk behaviour:

  1. system performance shaping factors
    These include issues like competing values (e.g. timeliness versus safety), lack of appropriate equipment or supplies, ineffective orientation, or training and team culture.
  2. provider performance modifying factors
    These include issues such as hunger, fatigue, illness, stress, or anxiety.

Coaching brings value by enabling the reframing of the risk, and addressing the modifiable system and performance shaping factors. Disciplining at-risk behaviour may create a disincentive to self-reporting of patient safety incidents, near-misses or flaws in the system; and will inhibit cross-monitoring and team psychological safety. Disciplinary action may be appropriate when repeated at-risk behaviour is evident, despite coaching and efforts to address the personal and system contributing factors.8

Reckless behaviour

Reckless behaviour represents intentional risk-taking. It is a conscious decision to act without regard to a known, substantial, and unjustifiable risk. While often egregious, this type of behaviour is rare.

Generally, the appropriate management response to confirmed reckless behaviour is to take disciplinary action with the individual care provider.

Before determining a course of action, leaders should first consider all the facts and circumstances of the case. Factors such as insight, cooperation, and commitment to change are often relevant to the severity of the chosen intervention, There may be situations where the social benefit of a conscious choice to deviate from a policy would justify an otherwise reckless behaviour. The correct response in such cases is not to punish or discipline, but rather to support the provider’s choice to deviate from a policy in the moment.

Addressing recurring undesirable behaviours

When an individual repeatedly makes errors or exhibits recurring at-risk or reckless behaviours, these may be symptoms of broader system or provider issues. Leaders in these circumstances may want to identify and help address these performance-shaping factors that may be compromising the delivery of safe medical care.

Collapse section

Biases challenge the creation and maintenance of a just culture of accountability.

  • severity bias
  • hindsight bias
  • confirmation bias
  • fundamental attribution error
  • self-serving bias

Severity bias: overreacting to singular events and underreacting to risk.9 It occurs when an organization reacts to a harmful outcome by punishing the person involved, yet ignoring the same behaviour when the outcomes are good. Severity bias is difficult to avoid because we are taught to believe a stronger punishment is warranted if there is a poor outcome. However when we espouse a “no harm, no foul approach,” we let risky behaviour continue unchecked. If we only punish when there is a poor outcome, we may punish someone who doesn’t deserve to be punished.

Hindsight bias: knowing the outcome significantly affects our perception of an event. Hindsight is 20/20. Knowing an undesirable and unexpected clinical outcome has occurred increases the belief that it was predictable, therefore preventable and related to carelessness or poor clinical care. The red flags in the clinical decision-making appear more obvious to others after the outcome is known.

Confirmation bias: the tendency to interpret new evidence as confirmation of one’s existing beliefs or theories.

Fundamental attribution error: tending to interpret the actions and behaviours of others based on their characteristics and personality (e.g. laziness, lacking in clinical knowledge), but explaining our own actions and behaviours based on situational factors (e.g. interrupted, too busy). In a just culture, the reasons for clinical outcomes and events are not prejudged, and any rush to blame individuals is avoided.

Self-serving bias: seeing our successes as a result of our own strengths or personal factors, but denying responsibility for our failures, attributing such failures to situational factors beyond our control.

Collapse section

A just culture of accountability seizes opportunities for learning from undesirable behaviours and system flaws. When leaders and health providers identify the causes of human error, at-risk, and reckless behavioural choices, then use appropriate system and performance enhancing interventions and modify processes as needed, it can result in strengthening the organization’s learning system, more engaged team members, and a more reliable healthcare system that supports safe medical care.

Collapse section


References

  1. Paradiso L, Sweeney N. Just culture: It's more than policy. Nurs Manage. 2019 Jun ;50(6):38-45. doi: 10.1097/01.NUMA.0000558482.07815.ae. Available from: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/31094886/
  2. Our Model for Workplace Justice. Just culture, 2020. Available from: https://justculture.com/just-culture-model-for-true-accountability/
  3. Morello RT, Lowthian JA, Barker AL, et al. Strategies for improving patient safety culture in hospitals: a systematic review. BMJ Qual Saf. 2013 Jan ;22(1):11-8. doi: 10.1136/bmjqs-2011-000582. Epub 2012 Jul 31. Available from: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/22849965/.
  4. Edmondson A. Psychological safety and learning behavior in work teams. Admin Sci Q. 1999 Jun ;44(2):350-83. Available from: https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/abs/10.2307/2666999
  5. Reason J. Human error: models and management. BMJ. 2000 Mar 18;320(7237):768-70. doi: 10.1136/bmj.320.7237.768. Available from: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/10720363/ Also, Pattison J, Kline T. Facilitating a just and trusting culture. Int J Health Care Qual Assur. 2015;28(1):11-26. doi: 10.1108/IJHCQA-05-2013-0055. PMID: 26308399. Available from: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/26308399/
  6. Griffith KS. Column: the growth of a just culture. Jt Comm Perspect Patient Saf. 2009 Dec;9(12):8–9. Available from: https://scholar.google.com/scholar_lookup?journal=Jt+Comm+Perspect+Patient+Saf&title=Column:+the+growth+of+a+just+culture&author=KS+Griffith&volume=9&issue=12&publication_year=2009&pages=8-9&
  7. Amalberti R, Vincent C, Auroy Y, et al. Violations and migrations in health care: a framework for understanding and management. BMJ Qual Saf. 2006;15:i66-i71. Available from: https://qualitysafety.bmj.com/content/15/suppl_1/i66
  8. Bellemare S. Leveraging the power of a just culture to promote accountability and inform system improvement. CJPL. 2019 ;5(3):160-164. Available from: https://cjpl.ca/lvrg.html
  9. Marx DA. Reckless Homicide at Vanderbilt? A just culture analysis. Outcome Engenuity. Available from: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/reckless-homicide-vanderbilt-just-culture-analysis-david-marx/?utm_source=Outcome+Engenuity+2017&utm_campaign=bec0fe1b64-VANDERBILT_2019_03_02_03_39&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_d9af1bc6e6-bec0fe1b64-87912065 
CanMEDS: Leader, Collaborator, Communicator

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Système de santé :

Conception de systèmes plus sécuritaires afin d’améliorer la prestation des soins cliniques

Culture juste

Scène de collaboration dans une salle de réunion où une médecin confiante sourit en regardant l’objectif pendant que ses collègues continuent d’échanger en arrière-plan.

Promouvoir la sécurité des soins par une culture de responsabilisation juste et cohérente

Publié : mai 2021
8 minutes

Introduction

Comprendre la faillibilité humaine

La culture d’un organisme peut être décrite comme « la façon dont on fait les choses » ou « ce que l’on fait lorsque personne ne nous observe ». On reconnaît de plus en plus qu’une culture juste est essentielle pour donner aux médecins et aux autres travailleurs de la santé les moyens d’offrir des soins sécuritaires.

La culture juste est une philosophie, un ensemble de principes applicables au quotidien sur la façon de s’impliquer en équipe, de se tenir mutuellement responsable et de cerner et corriger les problèmes avant qu’un préjudice ne survienne.1 Pour instaurer et maintenir la responsabilisation et l’engagement dans une équipe, les leaders doivent comprendre cinq principes universels :

  1. L’erreur est humaine.
  2. La dérive est humaine.
  3. Le risque est omniprésent.
  4. La gestion se fait en fonction des valeurs.
  5. Nous sommes tous responsables de nos choix.

Conseils en matière de bonnes pratiques

Pour instaurer et favoriser la responsabilisation, les leaders doivent d’abord formuler clairement la mission et les valeurs de leur organisme. En ayant une compréhension claire des valeurs de l’organisme, les professionnels de la santé peuvent les incarner et les protéger par leurs choix comportementaux. La clarté des valeurs permet également aux dirigeants de l’organisme d’accompagner le personnel vers l’harmonisation des choix comportementaux individuels avec les valeurs organisationnelles.

La culture juste résulte de l’application cohérente d’un système juste d’investigation et de gestion de l’efficacité en appui à un ensemble de valeurs. Elle reflète les connaissances actuelles sur la conception du système, la volonté humaine et la faillibilité humaine.2

Dans le domaine des soins de santé, une culture juste est d’abord et avant tout une culture axée sur la prévention des préjudices. Une culture juste consiste à établir des relations entre les membres de l’équipe, à créer une sécurité psychologique et à mettre en place des systèmes pour continuellement apprendre et s’améliorer dans un environnement où le soutien prévaut.3

La sécurité psychologique est une conviction commune selon laquelle chaque membre de l’équipe soignante se sent libre de s’exprimer et de communiquer respectueusement ses opinions sans crainte de représailles.4 Dans un milieu sécuritaire sur le plan psychologique, chaque individu se sent libre de:

  • poser des questions sans craindre d’être cataloguée comme ignorant;
  • demander une rétroaction sans craindre d’être considérée comme incompétent;
  • critiquer respectueusement un plan sans craindre d’être perçu comme une personne perturbatrice;
  • proposer des suggestions d’amélioration sans craindre d’être étiqueté comme une personne. négative.

Un certain nombre de modèles fondés sur des données probantes ont été élaborés pour expliquer la genèse des incidents liés à la sécurité des patients.5 De nombreux modèles, comme ceux de Dekker et l’algorithme de Reason, ont adopté une stratégie fondée sur les règles de responsabilisation après un incident lié à la sécurité du patient (accident, au Québec). Le modèle de culture juste est un système de partage des responsabilités en fonction des valeurs dans lequel l’organisme est responsable du système qu’il a conçu et responsable de réagir aux choix comportementaux de ses employés de façon juste et équitable. Les employés (et les autres du milieu de travail, y compris les médecins) sont quant à eux responsables de la qualité de leurs choix comportementaux et de déclarer les incidents liés à la sécurité des patients et les vulnérabilités du système.6

Définir les missions, valeurs et obligations organisationnelles

La mission constitue la raison d’être d’un organisme (p. ex., prestation de soins médicaux sécuritaires, formation des professionnels de la santé de demain).

La vision d’un organisme représente la voie à suivre pour accomplir sa mission.

Les valeurs d’un organisme sont les principes directeurs qui l’aident à accomplir sa mission (p. ex., compassion, travail d’équipe, responsabilisation).

Les valeurs indiquent aux professionnels de la santé ce qui est important pour l’organisme. Pour concrétiser une vision, les leaders doivent l’interpréter et la décomposer en un ensemble de valeurs que le personnel pourra utiliser pour guider leurs décisions. Qu’il s’agisse de fournir des soins rentables, d’agir dans l’intérêt du patient ou de maximiser le roulement des patients, les valeurs clairement définies sont les fondements de la culture d’un milieu de travail. En bref, les valeurs servent à guider les comportements attendus des employés. Le rôle du leader ou du gestionnaire est de veiller à ce que le personnel agisse de manière à protéger et à promouvoir les valeurs de l’organisme.

Cacher la section

Dans une culture de responsabilisation juste, trois types de comportements humains sont reconnus pour leur incidence sur la capacité d’un professionnel à remplir ses obligations en appui à la mission de son organisme :

  1. Erreur humaine
  2. Comportement à risque
  3. Comportement téméraire

Les leaders et les gestionnaires doivent utiliser les bonnes interventions pour promouvoir les choix comportementaux qui correspondent aux valeurs de l’organisme.

Erreur humaine

L’erreur humaine est une action involontaire qui, par définition, est inévitable et non intentionnelle. Par conséquent, la réaction appropriée des leaders en cas d’erreur humaine est de la reconnaître et d’en tirer des leçons en plus de réconforter le professionnel de la santé en cause. L’organisme a ensuite la responsabilité de trouver comment il peut améliorer les systèmes en place pour réduire le risque d’erreur humaine non intentionnelle.

Comportement à risque

Les professionnels de la santé reçoivent généralement une formation sur les règles et procédures de leur organisme. Mais avec le temps, à mesure qu’ils acquièrent des compétences et apprennent à faire face aux demandes et pressions croissantes de leur milieu clinique, ils adoptent inévitablement des raccourcis, des détours et des approches intuitives.7 Ainsi, le professionnel délaisse les comportements acceptés pour adopter des comportements plus dangereux qu’il juge plus efficaces, mais tout de même dans le spectre de ce qui pourrait être considéré comme sécuritaire. Cette dérive comportementale est un aspect normal du comportement humain. Il s’agit d’un choix inconscient de déroger à la formation, aux politiques et aux règles, lequel découle :

  • d’une mauvaise perception du risque;
  • d’une conviction erronée que le risque est négligeable ou justifiable;
  • de priorités concurrentes qui motivent le changement de comportement.

À mesure que les professionnels gagnent en confiance dans leur travail, la dérive est renforcée par la rareté des préjudices qui en découlent, ce qui masque le lien entre la dérive et les préjudices potentiels.

L’impact de la dérive ou de la normalisation des écarts en soins de santé

Les écarts ou la dérive par rapport aux normes de pratique reconnues pour les soins aux patients peuvent se normaliser ou se systématiser au fil du temps. Voici quelques exemples fréquents :

  • ne pas se laver ou se désinfecter les mains avant et après l’examen de patients;
  • ne pas porter l’équipement selon les bonnes mesures de prévention des infections;
  • ne pas procéder à l’identification du patient en deux étapes avant d’administrer un médicament;
  • ne pas utiliser l’identification en deux étapes avec les patients en consultation externe;
  • ignorer ou désactiver les alertes dans un dossier médical électronique (DME).

La dérive est considérée comme un comportement à risque. Dans une culture de responsabilisation, il est généralement reconnu que la dérive comportementale constitue la plus grande menace pour la sécurité des patients en raison de sa nature inconsciente et de son omniprésence dans la pratique quotidienne.

Pour les leaders d’un milieu de soins ayant repéré un comportement à risque occasionnel, une intervention appropriée serait de réorienter le professionnel de la santé vers une pratique sécuritaire par le coaching (ou accompagnement). Cette réorientation, ou accompagnement, consiste en une discussion positive axée sur le renforcement des valeurs, où il est possible de :

  • souligner l’écart de conduite;
  • rappeler les risques au professionnel;
  • clarifier en quoi l’écart n’est pas conforme aux valeurs organisationnelles;
  • réorienter les choix du professionnel vers les politiques et procédures acceptées qui sont conformes aux valeurs organisationnelles.

La gestion des comportements à risque répétés peut se faire par l’évaluation des facteurs modifiant le rendement liés à l’individu et liés au système.

L’un des plus grands défis de la gestion des comportements à risque fait surface lorsqu’on identifie la présence d’une dérive comportementale en l’absence d’un incident lié à la sécurité du patient ou incident évité de justesse. Quoiqu’il puisse ne pas sembler nécessaire d’accompagner un professionnel dans une telle situation, il s’agirait le cas échéant, d’une occasion d’apprentissage manquée qui en fin de compte risquerait de compromettre l’établissement d’une culture de responsabilisation par le renforcement tacite de la dérive. Les leaders et les gestionnaires doivent plutôt s’efforcer d’accompagner les professionnels dans le plus grand nombre possible d’épisodes de dérive, que ces incidents entraînent ou non des résultats défavorables.

La gestion d’un comportement à risque devrait inclure une recherche des facteurs qui ont contribué à façonner le comportement à risque du professionnel :

  1. Facteurs modifiant le rendement liés au système
    Il s’agit notamment de situations où par exemple, une valeur entre en concurrence avec une autre (p. ex., rapidité contre sécurité), où le personnel fait face à un manque d’équipement ou de fournitures appropriés, où l’orientation ou la formation sont inefficaces ou où la culture d’équipe fait défaut. 
  2. Il s’agit notamment de situations où par exemple, une valeur entre en concurrence avec une autre (p. ex., rapidité contre sécurité), où le personnel fait face à un manque d’équipement ou de fournitures appropriés, où l’orientation ou la formation sont inefficaces ou où la culture d’équipe fait défaut. Facteurs modifiant le rendement liés à l’individu
    Ces problèmes comprennent notamment la faim, la fatigue, la maladie, le stress et l’anxiété.

L’accompagnement fournit une valeur ajoutée en permettant d’encadrer le risque et de remédier aux facteurs modifiant le rendement liés tant au système qu’à l’individu. L’application de mesures disciplinaires en réponse à des comportements à risque peut avoir un effet dissuasif sur l’autodéclaration des incidents liés à la sécurité des patients, des incidents évités de justesse ou des défauts dans le système, en plus de nuire à la surveillance croisée et à la sécurité psychologique de l’équipe. Des mesures disciplinaires peuvent être prises lorsque des comportements à risque répétés sont évidents, en dépit de l’encadrement et des efforts visant à remédier aux facteurs systémiques et individuels.8

Comportement téméraire

Le comportement téméraire est une prise de risque intentionnelle. Il s’agit du choix conscient d’agir sans égard à un risque connu, substantiel et injustifiable. Quoique souvent flagrant, ce genre de comportement est rare.

En général, l’imposition de mesures disciplinaires constitue une réponse appropriée de la direction envers un professionnel ayant fait preuve de comportement téméraire.

Avant de déterminer une ligne de conduite, les leaders doivent d’abord tenir compte de tous les faits et de toutes les circonstances qui entourent le cas. Les facteurs tels que l’autocritique que démontre l’individu, sa perspicacité, sa coopération et son engagement au changement peuvent influencer la gravité de l’intervention choisie. Dans certaines situations, il se pourrait que les bénéfices sociaux du choix conscient de déroger à une politique puisse justifier ce qui aurait autrement été un comportement téméraire. La bonne réaction dans de tels cas n’est pas de sanctionner ou de discipliner, mais plutôt d’appuyer le choix du professionnel de déroger à une politique dans le feu de l’action.

Réagir aux comportements indésirables récurrents

Lorsque, de façon répétée, une personne commet des erreurs ou adopte des comportements à risque ou téméraires, ceux-ci peuvent s’avérer être des symptômes de problèmes plus larges touchant le système ou le professionnel. Dans ces circonstances, les dirigeants pourraient vouloir cerner les facteurs modifiant le rendement pouvant compromettre la prestation de soins médicaux sécuritaires et aider à y remédier.

Cacher la section

Les biais nuisent à la création et au maintien d’une culture de responsabilisation juste.

  • Biais induit par la gravité;
  • Biais rétrospectif;
  • Biais de confirmation;
  • Erreur d’attribution fondamentale;
  • Biais de complaisance.

Le biais induit par la gravité survient lorsque l’on réagit excessivement à des événements individuels et insuffisamment aux risques.9 Ce biais se produit lorsqu’un organisme réagit à un résultat défavorable en sanctionnant la personne impliquée, tout en ignorant le même comportement lorsque les résultats sont favorables. Il est difficile d’éviter le biais induit par la gravité parce qu’on apprend à croire qu’un mauvais résultat mérite une sanction sévère. Cependant, l’adoption d’une approche « pas de faute sans préjudice » laisse la voie libre aux comportements à risque. En ne sanctionnant qu’en cas de mauvais résultat, on risque de sanctionner quelqu’un qui ne le méritait pas.

Le biais rétrospectif désigne la façon selon laquelle la connaissance des résultats d’un événement peut influencer la perception que l’on a des événements. La rétrospection a une vision parfaite. Le fait de savoir qu’un résultat clinique indésirable et inattendu s’est produit renforce la croyance qu’il était prévisible et par conséquent évitable et donc lié à une négligence ou à des soins cliniques inadéquats. Lorsque le résultat est connu, les signaux d’alerte dans la prise de décision clinique deviennent évidents pour les autres.

Le biais de confirmation est la tendance à interpréter de nouvelles données comme la confirmation de ses croyances ou théories existantes.

L’erreur d’attribution fondamentale est la tendance à interpréter les actions et comportements des autres en fonction de leurs caractéristiques et de leur personnalité (p. ex., paresse, manque de connaissances cliniques), mais à expliquer ses propres actions et comportements en fonction de facteurs situationnels (p. ex., avoir été interrompu ou trop occupé). Dans une culture juste, les raisons des résultats cliniques et des événements ne sont pas préjugées, et l’on évite de s’empresser de blâmer les personnes.

Le biais de complaisance désigne le fait de voir ses réussites comme étant le résultat de ses propres forces ou facteurs personnels, mais de rejeter la responsabilité de ses échecs en les attribuant à des facteurs situationnels hors de son contrôle.

Cacher la section

Une culture de responsabilisation juste saisit les occasions d’apprendre des comportements indésirables et des lacunes du système. Lorsque les leaders et les professionnels de la santé cernent les causes derrière l’erreur humaine et les choix comportementaux à risque et téméraire, puis qu’ils utilisent des interventions adéquates pour améliorer le système et l’efficacité, il est possible d’arriver à renforcer le système d’apprentissage organisationnel, à améliorer l’engagement des membres de l’équipe et à créer un système de soins fiable qui assure la sécurité des soins médicaux.

Cacher la section

Ressources supplementaire


Références

  1. Paradiso L, Sweeney N. Just culture: It's more than policy. Nurs Manage. Juin 2019;50(6):38-45. doi: 10.1097/01.NUMA.0000558482.07815.ae. Disponible : https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/31094886/.
  2. Our Model for Workplace Justice. Just culture. 2020. Disponible : https://justculture.com/just-culture-model-for-true-accountability/.
  3. Morello RT, Lowthian JA, Barker AL, et al. Strategies for improving patient safety culture in hospitals: a systematic review. BMJ Qual Saf. Janv. 2013;22(1):11-8. doi: 10.1136/bmjqs-2011-000582. Epub. 31 juillet 2012. Disponible : https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/22849965/.
  4. Edmondson A. Psychological Safety and Learning Behavior in Work Teams. Adm Sci Q. Juin 1999;44(2):350-83. Disponible : https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/abs/10.2307/2666999.
  5. Reason J. Human error: models and management. BMJ. 18 mars 2000;320(7237):768-70. doi: 10.1136/bmj.320.7237.768. Disponible : https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/10720363/.
  6. Griffith KS. Column: the growth of a just culture. Jt Comm Perspect Patient Saf. Déc. 2009;9(12):8-9. Disponible : https://scholar.google.com/scholar_lookup?journal=Jt+Comm+Perspect+Patient+Saf&title=Column:+the+growth+of+a+just+culture&author=KS+Griffith&volume=9&issue=12&publication_year=2009&pages=8-9&
  7. Amalberti R, Vincent C, Auroy Y, et al. Violations and migrations in health care: a framework for understanding and management. BMJ Qual Saf. 2006;15:i66-i71. Disponible : https://qualitysafety.bmj.com/content/15/suppl_1/i66.
  8. Bellemare S. Leveraging the power of a just culture to promote accountability and inform system improvement. CJPL. 2019;5(3):160-164. Disponible : https://cjpl.ca/lvrg.html.
  9. Marx DA. Reckless Homicide at Vanderbilt? A just culture analysis. Outcome Engenuity. Disponible : https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/reckless-homicide-vanderbilt-just-culture-analysis-david-marx/?utm_source=Outcome+Engenuity+2017&utm_campaign=bec0fe1b64-VANDERBILT_2019_03_02_03_39&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_d9af1bc6e6-bec0fe1b64-87912065.
CanMEDS: Leader, Collaborateur, Communicateur

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.