Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Limiting discussion to one medical issue per visit: Know the risks

An article for physicians by physicians
Originally published June 2011
W11-005-E

Doctor-patient communication is a critical component of effective care. In an environment where the demands on physicians' time are greater than the practice time available, scheduling patients and communicating effectively become all the more challenging and important.

Some doctors are coping with increasing workloads and the need to better manage their time by limiting patients to one medical issue per visit. As a means of communicating this time-management technique, some physicians have posted signs in their offices indicating "one problem per visit please."

This approach may appear attractive to some doctors, but it has the potential to expose them to medico-legal risk. Even though physicians are trained to be on the alert for urgent or emerging health issues while attending to patients, the risk of not detecting serious health problems may increase if patients are limited to one issue per visit. The risk may also increase if a patient misunderstands the reasons for placing limits on the number of medical issues discussed and perceives such a policy to be rigid or insensitive.

The bottom line

Physicians are encouraged to give patients the opportunity to express their health concerns, and it is up to the physician's clinical judgment to decide which health concerns could be deferred to a subsequent visit. The growing use of "one issue per visit" policies highlights the importance of physicians being respectful and diplomatic in their approach to communications with patients. The December 2010 issue of CMPA Perspective provides additional information on communication between physician and patient (see "Physician-patient communication: making it better").

Addressing patient concerns

The CMPA advises members to be attentive and listen carefully to a patient's health concerns, as patient dissatisfaction can stem from an impression that a physician is too busy or does not care.

A blanket policy of "one problem per visit" is likely to lead to such negative impressions, particularly for patients who may have good reasons to not visit their doctor for every health concern, but rather "save" all their health worries for one visit. For example, such a situation might arise if a patient has to wait a long time to secure an appointment or has personal circumstances that make it difficult to schedule time with their physician.

 

Potential medico-legal problems

In addition to hindering a physician's ability to meet his or her patients' needs, "one issue per visit" policies may also increase medico-legal risk if patients feel compelled to triage their own issues or symptoms without the knowledge, skills, and judgment to do so.

Such self-assessment may lead patients to focus the discussion on peripheral or secondary issues, in part through the information they provide. However, if they have an incomplete picture, physicians can arrive at an improper diagnosis or miss important health issues.

 

Alternative approaches

Physicians who choose to display signage in their offices may consider alternatives to a restrictive message that may be seen as limiting patients' access to medical care.

These physicians may choose a message that is more informative and uses a "softer" tone. A sign that encourages patients to respect the time of others who are waiting and also need care is more likely to be respected by patients. Many patients may be unaware of how appointments are scheduled in a medical practice and the implications of appointments that are longer than anticipated. Appropriate signage may be an opportunity for physicians to improve patients' understanding of scheduling and resource issues, while conveying that each patient's best interest is being served to the extent possible.

Another approach that may be effective is to ask patients to describe their concerns when an appointment is scheduled or at the beginning of the visit. This encourages open communication at the outset, and importantly, enables the physician to prioritize the investigation and treatment based on a more comprehensive picture of the patient's symptoms.

A study aimed at assessing techniques to reduce patients' concerns found that the way in which a physician concludes a visit can also have an impact1. When a doctor asks her patient "Is there something else you want to address in the visit today?" instead of "Is there anything else you want to address today," a patient's unmet concerns have been shown to be reduced without increasing the duration of the appointment.

1. Fullerton, M. "Understanding and improving on 1 problem per visit". Canadian Medical Association Journal (Sept. 23, 2008) Vol. 179, no. 7 p. 623. Available from: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2535752/

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Limiter la discussion à un problème médical

Un article écrit par des médecins, pour des médecins
Publié initialement en juin 2011
W11-005-F

La communication médecin-patient est primordiale pour assurer l'efficacité des soins. Dans un contexte où l'on exige du médecin une plus grande disponibilité que le temps dont il dispose pour se consacrer à sa pratique, la planification des rendez-vous et la façon de communiquer sont importantes et constituent un défi de taille.

Certains médecins tentent de s'adapter à des charges de travail de plus en plus lourdes et à la nécessité de mieux gérer leur temps en limitant leurs patients à un problème médical par consultation. Pour faire connaître cette technique de gestion du temps, certains médecins ont affiché ce type de message dans leur cabinet : « Veuillez vous en tenir à un problème par consultation ».

Cette approche peut sembler intéressante, mais est susceptible d'exposer les médecins à des risques médico-légaux. La formation que reçoivent les médecins les incite à être vigilants pour déceler les problèmes de santé urgents ou nouveaux. Toutefois, le risque de ne pas pouvoir dépister des problèmes de santé graves peut augmenter si les patients sont limités à un problème par consultation. De plus, le risque peut s'accroître si un patient comprend mal les raisons de limiter le nombre de problèmes de santé discutés lors d'une consultation et s'il perçoit cette restriction comme un manque de délicatesse qu'on lui impose avec rigueur.

Point à retenir

Les médecins sont encouragés à laisser les patients exprimer leurs inquiétudes concernant leur santé et il en va du jugement clinique du médecin de décider quels problèmes peuvent attendre la prochaine consultation. L'utilisation croissante de l'avis, « un seul problème par consultation » souligne l'importance pour les médecins d'être respectueux et diplomates dans leur approche avec les patients. Le numéro de décembre 2010 de Perspective ACPM fournit des renseignements supplémentaires sur la communication entre le médecin et le patient (Voir « Améliorer la communication médecin-patient »)

Tenir compte des préoccupations des patients

L'ACPM conseille à ses membres d'être attentifs et d'écouter consciencieusement les préoccupations des patients au sujet de leur santé, car leur insatisfaction peut provenir d'une impression que le médecin est trop occupé ou qu'il n'est pas intéressé.

Le principe général « un problème par consultation » peut justement faire surgir cette impression négative, en particulier chez les patients qui peuvent avoir de bonnes raisons de ne pas consulter leur médecin chaque fois qu'un problème de santé surgit et qui regroupent tous leurs problèmes pour en discuter lors d'une seule consultation. Prenons par exemple, le cas d'un patient qui doit attendre longtemps avant d'obtenir un rendez-vous ou qui, pour des raisons personnelles, a de la difficulté à obtenir un rendez-vous avec son médecin.

 

Problèmes médico-légaux possibles

En plus d'entraver le médecin dans sa capacité de satisfaire les besoins du patient, l'approche "un problème par consultation" peut également augmenter les risques médico-légaux si le patient se sent obligé de choisir parmi ses propres problèmes ou symptômes sans avoir les connaissances, la compétence ou le jugement pour le faire.

Une telle autoévaluation peut amener les patients à centrer la discussion sur des problèmes secondaires ou périphériques, en partie à cause des renseignements qu'ils fournissent. D'autre part, si le tableau clinique est incomplet, le médecin peut en arriver à poser un diagnostic erroné ou à passer à côté de problèmes de santé importants.

 

Solutions de rechange

Les médecins qui optent pour l'affichage dans leur cabinet ont intérêt à choisir une autre formule que le message restrictif qui risque d'être interprété par les patients comme une limitation à l'accès aux soins médicaux.

L'information transmise peut être plus complète et le ton plus réservé. Un message qui encourage les patients à respecter le temps de ceux qui attendent et qui ont également besoin de soins sera mieux reçu par les patients. Souvent, les patients n'ont pas idée du fonctionnement de la prise des rendez-vous dans un cabinet médical et des conséquences qu'entraînent les consultations qui dépassent le temps prévu. Un écriteau pertinent peut être une occasion pour le médecin de faire comprendre au patient les problèmes de planification des rendez-vous et de ressources tout en véhiculant le message que les meilleurs intérêts des patients sont servis dans la mesure du possible.

Une autre approche efficace consiste à demander aux patients de décrire leurs inquiétudes au moment où ils prennent rendez-vous ou au début de la consultation. D'entrée de jeu, cela facilite la communication ouverte et plus important encore, cela permet au médecin d'établir des priorités pour l'investigation et le traitement en se basant sur un tableau plus complet des symptômes du patient.

Une étude visant à évaluer les techniques pour diminuer les inquiétudes des patients a conclu que la façon dont un médecin termine sa consultation peut également avoir une influence1. Si un médecin demande à son patient : « Avez-vous autre chose à discuter aujourd'hui? » plutôt que « C'est tout ce dont vous voulez discuter aujourd'hui », les problèmes non résolus du patient semblent avoir diminué sans prolonger le rendez-vous.

1.Fullerton, M. « Comprendre et améliorer la politique d'un seul problème par consultation », JAMC, (23 septembre 2008), Vol. 179, no 7 p. 623. Disponible sur :
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2535753/

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.