Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

College complaints on the rise: Better communication can help

Originally published March 2018 / Revised July 2018
18-05-E

Infographic: College complaints on the rise: Better communication can help

Physicians who contact the CMPA about a regulatory authority (College) complaint report experiencing significant stress. At the root of many CMPA complaint cases is communication. To improve interactions with patients and potentially curb complaints and stress, physicians should consider their communication skills.

In the last 10 years, requests from members for CMPA assistance with College complaints nationally have risen substantially, up 71%. In 2007, CMPA received 1,983 requests. In 2016, that number climbed to 3,387.

Physicians have told the CMPA that working through a complaint is arduous and stressful. In many complaint cases, the Association’s data shows that communication is an underlying issue. By adopting patient-centred communication skills and behaviours, physicians can improve their interactions with patients and may reduce complaints.

The stories behind the numbers

Behind many members’ requests for help with a College complaint is the story of a relationship between a patient and a physician that did not go as expected.

Patients said they were dissatisfied with the care they’d received, and some suffered harm—sometimes severe harm—from that care. Yet, the majority of the physicians involved in complaint cases are dedicated and work hard to give their patients good medical care, often in challenging conditions.

Dr. Shena Riff, a CMPA physician advisor who speaks with members who contact the Association for assistance says, “We hear from members every day that they are under enormous pressure. They have a waiting room full of patients needing their care, but never have enough time. They are constantly under pressure to do more.”

What is the problem?

The CMPA analyzed its College complaint cases from the last 10 years.1 It examined the reasons patients also gave for making a complaint and it examined what the Colleges identified as critical factors in their investigation of the complaints. A key underlying issue in most of these cases was communication.

In the complaint cases where communication was flagged, patients said things such as their physician was rude, spoke in a raised voice, used a condescending tone, or dismissed their or their families’ concerns. And the Colleges said that communication was a factor in a range of clinical situations. For example, in consent discussions where patients did not receive or understand the necessary information about a treatment.

Notably, the CMPA's findings mirror previous studies in this area,2 including those from other countries.3,4,5

Tips on being a better communicator

If physicians want to improve their interactions with patients, they may wish to assess their current communication behaviours and skills, both when receiving information from patients and when providing information to patients.

When receiving information from patients:

  • Do you focus on this patient at this moment?
    Do you greet the patient?6 Do you show respect in speech and body language? If using an electronic medical record (EMR), do you explain what you are doing and look at the person more often than at the computer or phone?3,7 Do you sit down and face your patient?8 When appropriate, do you introduce members of the healthcare team to the patient?
  • Do you listen actively?
    Do you let patients tell their story uninterrupted,6 recognizing that research shows most patients finish what they want to say in 30 seconds to 2 minutes?9,10 Do you restate what they told you, using their words?3,11
  • Do you try to understand the patients' perspective of their illness?
    Do you ask about their experience and how the illness is affecting them?3,6

When delivering information to patients:

  • Do you express empathy?
    Do you show compassion in what you say and in your body language? Do you communicate professionally that you understand, respect, and support them?12
  • Do you provide information clearly and simply?
    Do you assess what patients already know, and how much information they want and need to know about their condition?3 Do you educate them on the condition without using jargon?6 Do you observe how the patient is responding to what you are saying, through both their body language and in what they say?
  • Do you share decision-making?
    Do you involve patients in making decisions about their treatment? Do you ask them to consider the pros and cons of different treatment options, including no treatment?6 Do you come to an agreement on a course of action?6 If a plan cannot be agreed on, do you consider whether it’s appropriate to consult with another physician or to refer the patient to another physician? Do you document your interactions with patients in their medical record including the agreed-upon plan and next steps?

The next step—training

Effective communication is essential to safe medical care and physicians may be unaware of their skill level, in some instances over-estimating it.13,14 An assessment of skills can clarify the level and any need for improvements and training.2,14,15

There are resources to help physicians improve their communication skills. Some education organizations and universities offer materials, workshops, and courses. For instance, Dalhousie University in Nova Scotia offers a communications skills program for physicians.16 Physicians may also consider a workshop offered by the CMPA or by the CMPA’s affiliated company, Saegis.

The bottom line

Communication is an underlying issue in many College complaint cases in which the CMPA is involved. Physicians can improve their communication with patients by focusing on patients as individuals, listening, exchanging information, expressing empathy, and sharing decision-making.

Physicians receiving a notice from their College about a complaint should contact the CMPA for assistance as soon as possible.




References

  1. Based on a 10-year review of closed CMPA regulatory authority (College) cases from 2007–2016, not including cases dealing with discipline or fitness to practice.
  2. Tamblyn R, Abrahamowicz M, Dauphinee D, Wenghofer E, Jacques A, Klass D, Smee S, Blackmore D, Winslade N, Girard N, Du Berger R, Bartman I, Buckeridge DL, Hanley JA. Physician scores on a national clinical skills examination as predictors of complaints to medical regulatory authorities. JAMA [Internet]. 2007 [cited 2017 Nov 30];298(9):993-1001. Available from: https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/fullarticle/208633 doi:10.1001/jama.298.9.993
  3. Medical Defense Union (MDU). What makes a good communicator? MDU Journal [Internet]. 2011 June [cited 2017 Nov 30];27(1):9-12. Available from: file:///C:/Users/mac70/Downloads/MDU%20Journal%20June%202011%20(2).pdf
  4. Levinson W, Roter DL, Mullooly JP, Dull V, Frankel RM. Physician-patient communication: the relationship with malpractice claims among primary care physicians and surgeons. JAMA [Internet]. 1997[cited 2017 Nov 30];277(7):553-559.
  5. Beckman HB, Markakis KM, Suchman AL, Frankel RM. The doctor-patient relationship and malpractice: lessons from plaintiff depositions. Arch Intern Med [Internet]. 1994;154(12):1365-1370. Available from: https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jamainternalmedicine/article-abstract/618939 doi:10.1001/archinte.1994.00420120093010
  6. King A, Hoppe RG. "Best practice" for patient-centred communication: a narrative review. J Grad Med Edu [Internet]. 2013 Sep [cited 2017 Nov 30];5(3):385-393.
  7. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Ottawa (CA):CMPA. CMPA Good Practices Guide: Communication [cited 2017 Nov 30]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/serve/docs/ela/goodpracticesguide/pages/communication/Patient-centred_communication/overcoming_barriers-e.html
  8. Swayden KJ, Anderson KK, Connelly LM, Moran JS, Mcmahon JK, Arnold PM. Effect of sitting vs. standing on perception of provider time at bedside: a pilot study. Patient Educ Couns [Internet]. 2012 Feb [cited 2017 Nov 30];86(2):166-171. Available from: http://www.pec-journal.com/article/S0738-3991(11)00305-3/pdf doi:10.1016/j.pec.2011.05.024
  9. Wangewitz W, Denz M, Keller A, Kiss A, Rutimann S, Wossmer B. Spontaneous talking time at start of consultation in outpatient clinic: cohort study. BMJ [Internet]. 2002 [cited 2017 Nov 30];325:682. Available from: http://www.bmj.com/content/325/7366/682 doi: 10.1136/bmj.325.7366.682
  10. Rabinowitz I, Luzzati R, Tamir A, Reis S. Length of patient’s monologue, rate of completion, and relation to other components of the clinical encounter: observational intervention study in primary care. BMJ [Internet]. 2003 Feb 28 [cited 2017 Nov 30] 328(7438):501-502. Available from: http://www.bmj.com/content/328/7438/501 doi: https://doi.org/10.1136/bmj.328.7438.501
  11. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Physician-patient communication: making it better. Ottawa (CA): CMPA. [cited 2017 Nov 30]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/advice-publications/browse-articles/2010/physician-patient-communication-making-it-better
  12. Mazzi MA, Rimondini M, Deveugele M, Zimmermann C, Moretti F, van Vliet L, Deledda G, Fletcher I, Bensing J. What do people appreciate in physicians’ communication? An international study with focus groups using videotaped medical consultations. Health Expect [Internet]. 2015 Oct [cited 2017 Nov 30];18(5): 1215-1226. Available from: http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/hex.12097/full doi: 10.1111/hex.12097
  13. Levinson W. Patient-centred communication: a sophisticated procedure. BMJ Qual Saf [Internet]. 2011[cited 2017 Nov 30];20(10):823-825. Available from: http://qualitysafety.bmj.com/content/20/10/823 doi: 10.1136/bmjqs-2011-000323
  14. Maatouk-Burmann B, Ringel N, Spang J, Weiss C, Moltner A, Riemann U, Langewitz W, Schultz JH, Junger J. Improving patient-centred communication: Results of a randomized controlled trial. Patient Educ Couns [Internet]. 2016 Jan [cited 2017 Nov 30];99(1):117-24. Available from: http://www.pec-journal.com/article/S0738-3991(15)30049-5/fulltext doi: 10.1016/j.pec.2015.08.012.
  15. Boissy A, Windover AK, Bokar D, Karafa M, Neuendorf K, Frankel RM, Merlino J, Rothberg MB. Communication skills training for physicians improves patient satisfaction. J Gen Intern Med [Internet]. 2016 Jul [cited 2017 Nov 30];31(7):755-761. Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4907940/ doi: 10.1007/s11606-016-3597-2
  16. Dalhousie University Medicine. Halifax (CA): Dalhousie University. Communications skills for practicing physiicans [cited on Dec. 11, 2017]; 1 screen. Available at: https://medicine.dal.ca/departments/core-units/DME/communication-skills/program/continuing-professional-development.html

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Plaintes au Collège en hausse : Importance d’une bonne communication

Publié initialement en mars 2018 / révisé en juillet 2018
18-05-F

Infographic: Plaintes au Collège en hausse : Importance d’une bonne communication

Les médecins qui communiquent avec l’ACPM au sujet d’une plainte déposée auprès de l’organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) indiquent qu’ils subissent un stress considérable. Les problèmes de communication sont à l’origine d’un grand nombre des dossiers de plaintes pour lesquels l’assistance de l’ACPM est sollicitée. Afin d’améliorer leurs interactions avec les patients et de potentiellement limiter le nombre de plaintes à leur endroit et le stress connexe, les médecins devraient envisager l’amélioration de leurs compétences communicationnelles.

Au cours des 10 dernières années, le nombre de demandes d’assistance adressées à l’ACPM par ses membres en raison de plaintes déposées auprès du Collège a connu une hausse substantielle (71 %) à l’échelle nationale. En 2007, l’ACPM a reçu 1 983 demandes de cet ordre; ce nombre est passé à 3 387 en 2016.

Les médecins ont affirmé à l’ACPM qu’il s’avérait ardu et stressant de faire face à une plainte. Dans de nombreux dossiers de plaintes, les données de l’Association indiquent que la communication constitue un problème sous-jacent. En adoptant des compétences et des comportements communicationnels centrés sur le patient, les médecins peuvent améliorer leurs interactions avec les patients, ce qui pourrait limiter le nombre de plaintes à leur endroit. 

Ce que les chiffres révèlent

Une relation n’ayant pas répondu aux attentes entre le médecin et son patient se cache souvent derrière les demandes d’assistance qu’adressent les membres à l’Association après avoir été avisés d’une plainte au Collège. 

Des patients ont fait part de leur insatisfaction envers les soins reçus; dans certains cas, ces soins ont même donné lieu à des préjudices (parfois graves). Et pourtant, la majorité des médecins impliqués dans des dossiers de plaintes sont des professionnels dévoués qui ne ménagent aucun effort pour prodiguer, dans des conditions souvent difficiles, de bons soins à leurs patients. 

La Dre Shena Riff, médecin-conseil de l’ACPM qui répond aux demandes d’assistance des membres, affirme ce qui suit :
« Tous les jours, les membres nous font part de l’énorme pression qu’ils subissent. Leur salle d’attente croule sous les patients qui nécessitent des soins, et ces médecins ne semblent jamais disposer d’assez de temps pour leur venir en aide. On leur demande toujours d’en faire plus.  »

Quel est le problème?

L’ACPM a analysé ses dossiers de plaintes déposées aux Collèges des 10 dernières années.1 Elle s’est penchée sur les raisons évoquées par les patients dans leurs plaintes ainsi que sur les facteurs cruciaux qu’ont cernés les Collèges dans le cadre de leurs enquêtes. La communication constituait l’un des principaux problèmes sous-jacents dans la plupart de ces dossiers. 

Dans les dossiers de plaintes où le rôle de la communication a été signalé, les patients affirmaient que le médecin avait été brusque, qu’il avait élevé la voix, qu’il avait adopté un ton condescendant ou qu’il n’avait pas pris au sérieux leurs préoccupations ou celles de leur famille. De plus, les Collèges ont indiqué que la communication avait été un facteur dans une gamme de situations cliniques. Par exemple, dans le cadre de discussions visant l’obtention du consentement, des patients n’ont pas reçu ou compris les renseignements nécessaires au sujet d’un traitement. 

Fait à noter, les constatations de l’ACPM concordent avec celles des études précédentes dans ce domaine,2 y compris les études menées dans d’autres pays.3,4,5

Conseils pour l’amélioration de la communication

Pour améliorer leurs interactions avec les patients, les médecins pourraient commencer par évaluer leurs compétences et leurs comportements communicationnels, que ce soit pour ce qui est d’écouter leurs patients ou de leur communiquer de l’information.  

Écoute des patients :

  • Accordez-vous toute votre attention au patient?
    Comment accueillez-vous le patient?6 Vos paroles et votre langage corporel sont-ils respectueux? Si vous utilisez un dossier médical électronique (DMÉ), expliquez-vous au patient ce que vous faites et lui accordez-vous plus d’attention qu’à votre ordinateur ou votre téléphone?3,7 Vous assoyez-vous face au patient?8 Présentez-vous au patient les membres de votre équipe de soins?
  • Faites-vous preuve d’écoute active?  
    Laissez-vous vos patients s’exprimer sans les interrompre,6 en sachant pertinemment que, d’après les résultats de recherche, la plupart des patients n’ont besoin que de 30 secondes à 2 minutes pour ce faire?9,10 Répétez-vous, dans leurs mots, ce qu’ils viennent de vous dire?3,11
  • Tentez-vous de comprendre le point de vue des patients quant à leur maladie?  
    Leur posez-vous des questions sur leur expérience et sur la façon dont la maladie les affecte?3,6

Communication de l’information aux patients :

  • Faites-vous preuve d’empathie?  
    Vos paroles et votre langage corporel sont-ils empreints de compassion? Leur faites-vous savoir, de façon professionnelle, que vous les comprenez, les respectez et les soutenez? 12   
  • Leur communiquez-vous de l’information de façon claire et simple? 
    Cherchez-vous à déterminer ce que les patients savent déjà, ainsi que l’ampleur des renseignements qu’ils souhaitent obtenir et dont ils ont besoin au sujet de leur état?3 Les renseignez-vous sans utiliser de jargon?6 Portez-vous attention à la façon dont les patients réagissent à ce que vous leur dites, tant au niveau verbal que non verbal?
  • Faites-vous participer les patients à la prise de décisions? 
    Vos patients participent-ils aux décisions liées à leur traitement? Leur demandez-vous de tenir compte des avantages et des désavantages des diverses options de traitement, y compris ceux d’un refus de traitement?6 Parvenez-vous à une entente avec vos patients quant à la façon de procéder?6 Lorsqu’un consensus ne peut être obtenu en ce qui concerne un plan de traitement, envisagez-vous la possibilité de consulter un collègue ou de diriger le patient vers un autre médecin? Consignez-vous vos interactions avec les patients dans leur dossier médical (y compris le plan convenu et les étapes suivantes)?

Prochaine étape – Formation

Une communication efficace est essentielle à la prestation de soins médicaux sécuritaires, et les médecins pourraient ne pas bien connaître leur niveau de compétence à cet égard, le surestimant même dans certains cas.13,14  Une évaluation des compétences peut alors mettre les choses au clair et révéler les besoins en matière d’amélioration et de formation.2,14,15

Il existe des ressources qui peuvent aider les médecins à améliorer leurs compétences communicationnelles. Certaines organisations spécialisées et universités offrent des documents, des ateliers et des cours. Par exemple, l’Université Dalhousie en Nouvelle-Écosse offre un programme de compétences en communication destiné aux médecins.16 Les médecins peuvent également envisager de participer à un atelier offert par l’ACPM ou sa filiale, Saegis.

En bref

La communication constitue un problème sous-jacent dans de nombreux dossiers de plaintes au Collège pour lesquels l’assistance de l’ACPM a été sollicitée. Les médecins peuvent améliorer leurs compétences dans ce domaine en accordant aux patients une attention personnalisée, en les écoutant, en échangeant de l’information avec eux, en faisant preuve d’empathie et en sollicitant leur participation au processus décisionnel.

Les médecins qui sont avisés par leur Collège d’une plainte à leur endroit devraient communiquer dès que possible avec l’ACPM pour obtenir de l’assistance.




Références

  1. Fondé sur une analyse des dossiers conclus de l’ACPM de plaintes aux organismes de réglementation (Collèges) sur une période de 10 ans (2007-2016), après avoir écarté les dossiers traitant de problèmes disciplinaires ou concernant l’aptitude à exercer.
  2. Tamblyn R, Abrahamowicz M, Dauphinee D, Wenghofer E, Jacques A, Klass D, Smee S, Blackmore D, Winslade N, Girard N, Du Berger R, Bartman I, Buckeridge DL, Hanley JA.
    Physician scores on a national clinical skills examination as predictors of complaints to medical regulatory authorities. JAMA [En ligne]. 2007 [cité le 30 novembre 2017];298(9):993-1001. Disponible : https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/fullarticle/208633 doi:10.1001/jama.298.9.993
  3. Medical Defense Union (MDU). What makes a good communicator? MDU Journal [En ligne]. 2011 June [cité le 30 novembre 2017];27(1):9-12. Disponible : file:///C:/Users/mac70/Downloads/MDU%20Journal%20June%202011%20(2).pdf
  4. Levinson W, Roter DL, Mullooly JP, Dull VT, Frankel RM. Physician-patient communication: the relationship with malpractice claims among primary care physicians and surgeons. JAMA [En ligne]. 1997 [cité le 30 novembre 2017];277(7):553-559.
  5. Beckman HB, Markakis KM, Suchman AL, Frankel RM. The doctor-patient relationship and malpractice: lessons from plaintiff depositions. Arch Intern Med [En ligne]. 1994 [cité le 30 novembre 2017];154(12):1365-1370. Disponible : https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jamainternalmedicine/article-abstract/618939 doi:10.1001/archinte.1994.00420120093010
  6. King A, Hoppe RB. “Best practice” for patient-centred communication: a narrative review. J Grad Med Educ [Internet]. 2013 Sep [cité le 30 novembre 2017];5(3):385-393.
  7. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Ottawa (CA):ACPM. Guide des bonnes pratiques de l’ACPM : Communication [cité le 30 novembre 2017]. Disponible : https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/serve/docs/ela/goodpracticesguide/pages/communication/Patient-centred_communication/overcoming_barriers-f.html
  8. Swayden KJ, Anderson KK, Connelly LM, Moran JS, Mcmahon JK, Arnold PM. Effect of sitting vs. standing on perception of provider time at beside: a pilot study. Patient Educ Couns [En ligne]. 2012 Feb [cité le 30 novembre 2017];86(2):166-171. Disponible : http://www.pec-journal.com/article/S0738-3991(11)00305-3/pdf doi:10.1016/j.pec.2011.05.024
  9. Langewitz W, Denz M, Keller A, Kiss A, Rütimann S, Wössmer B. Spontaneous talking time at start of consultation in outpatient clinic: cohort study. BMJ [En ligne]. 2002 [cité le 30 novembre 2017];325:682. Disponible : http://www.bmj.com/content/325/7366/682 doi:10.1136/bmj.325.7366.682
  10. Rabinowitz I, Luzzati R, Tamir A, Reis S. Length of patient’s monologue, rate of completion, and relation to other components of the clinical encounter: observational intervention study in primary care. BMJ [En ligne]. 2004 Feb 26 [cité le 30 novembre 2017] 328(7438):501-502. Disponible : http://www.bmj.com/content/328/7438/501 doi: https://doi.org/10.1136/bmj.328.7438.501
  11. L’Association canadienne de protection médicale [En ligne]. Améliorer la communication médecin-patient. Ottawa (CA): ACPM. [cité le 30 novembre 2017]. Disponible : https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/advice-publications/browse-articles/2010/physician-patient-communication-making-it-better
  12. Mazzi MA, Rimondini M, Deveugele M, Zimmermann C, Moretti F, van Vliet L, Deledda G, Fletcher I, Bensing J. What do people appreciate in physicians’ communication? An international study with focus groups using videotaped medical consultations. Health Expect [En ligne]. 2015 Oct [cité le 30 novembre 2017];18(5): 1215-1226. Disponible : http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/hex.12097/full doi: 10.1111/hex.12097
  13. Levinson W. Patient-centred communication: a sophisticated procedure. BMJ Qual Saf [En ligne]. 2011[cité le 30 novembre 2017];20(10):823-825. Disponible : http://qualitysafety.bmj.com/content/20/10/823 doi: 10.1136/bmjqs-2011-000323
  14. Maatouk-Bürmann B, Ringel N, Spang J, Weiss C, Möltner A, Riemann U, Langewitz W, Schultz JH, Junger J. Improving patient-centred communication: Results of a randomized controlled trial. Patient Educ Couns [En ligne]. 2016 Jan [cité le 30 novembre 2017];99(1):117-24. Disponible : http://www.pec-journal.com/article/S0738-3991(15)30049-5/fulltext doi: 10.1016/j.pec.2015.08.012
  15. Boissy A, Windover AK, Bokar D, Karafa M, Neuendorf K, Frankel RM, Merlino J, Rothberg MB. Communication skills training for physicians improves patient satisfaction. J Gen Intern Med [En ligne]. 2016 Jul [cité le 30 novembre 2017];31(7):755-761. Disponible : https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4907940/ doi:10.1007/s11606-016-3597-2
  16. Dalhousie University Medicine [En ligne]. Halifax (CA): Dalhousie University. Communications skills for practicing physicians [cité le 11 décembre 2017]; [1 écran]. Disponible : https://medicine.dal.ca/departments/core-units/DME/communication-skills/program/continuing-professional-development.html

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.