Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

The physician as teacher — What are the responsibilities?

Originally published June 2013
P1302-2-E

Medical trainees require hands-on experience, and practising physicians are called upon to assist in their training. Teaching physicians have a unique and important dual role: to ensure patients receive optimal care and to provide meaningful learning opportunities for their trainees.

Liability risks for supervising physicians stem from this dual role. It is important to understand both responsibilities in delivering patient care and what tasks can be delegated to the trainees under their supervision.

In recent years more doctors have become involved in teaching and supervising as a result of the increasing number of medical trainees. Medical students, residents, and International Medical Graduates (IMGs) (including both those in regular residency programs and those being integrated into the Canadian healthcare system through alternate pathways) can be found in hospitals, community clinics, and private physician offices, as well as training in more remote locations. In supervising these medical trainees, physicians should be mindful of the medico-legal risks to which they may be exposed.

Supervision of trainees

While medical students observe and contribute to the work of a practising physician, residents carry more responsibility in patient care. Supervising physicians can reasonably rely upon residents to carry out the duties properly delegated to them; however, they must be aware of circumstances when more active supervision is required. This will depend on such factors as the patient's condition, the complexity of the procedure, and the level of experience and skill of the resident. Physicians supervising IMGs through other pathways will also want to be familiar with any practice restrictions that may be imposed on IMGs by their provincial or territorial medical regulatory authority (College).

Supervising physicians may also be called upon to oversee the training of other healthcare providers such as paramedics or physician assistants. Supervising physicians may be less familiar with the training and skill of such providers, so it will be important for those physicians to inform themselves accordingly. The supervising physician must determine what the appropriate level of supervision should be given the level of training and skill of the trainee. The physician will also want to confirm that the trainee has adequate professional liability protection.

Supervising physicians may also delegate some of a medical student's training or supervision to a resident. This should only occur if the physician deems it appropriate, taking into account the requirements of the training program, the skill and training of the resident, the tasks to be performed by the medical student, and patient safety considerations.

Delegation should only occur in appropriate circumstances. In every instance of delegation, the primary consideration must be the best interests of the patient. Whether or not an act can be delegated will be dependent on the physician's assessment of the individual's competencies, skills, and experience. Assessing whether a trainee is adequately trained can be difficult. The physician must exercise good clinical judgment in determining whether the trainee is clinically competent to perform the chosen task.

Failing to adequately supervise a medical trainee or the inappropriate delegation of tasks could result in liability for the supervising physician for harm caused to a patient as a result of a trainee's actions. If a case finds its way to court, the court will evaluate whether the supervising physician met the standard of care when delegating the task to the trainee. A court may be critical of a physician who delegates tasks to a trainee that are beyond the individual's training and experience. The court usually considers the degree of care and skill that might reasonably have been applied by a supervising physician in similar circumstances. This involves establishing the prevailing and approved practice, as well as any changes or advancements in treatment techniques and technology.

Residents are subject to the same standard of care as other residents with the same training and qualifications. In determining the standard of care, the court will consider the opinions of experts in the related field of medicine and look to standards adopted by medical specialty organizations.

Obtaining patient consent

Informed patient consent must be obtained prior to providing non-urgent treatment. Supervising physicians and medical trainees will want to clarify who is responsible for obtaining consent. The task of obtaining consent may be delegated to residents if they have the experience and skill to provide the patient with the information necessary to the discussion on informed consent.

Supervising physicians should consider the circumstances in which trainees should be identified and patients informed of a trainee's involvement — and the extent of that involvement — in their care. The discussion and the patient's consent should be documented in the medical record.

Standard of care

Supervising physicians will want to be familiar with the standard of care to which particular trainees can be held. Supervising physicians should encourage trainees to recognize their own limitations and work within them. Residents should not undertake tasks that are beyond their training and experience.

The risk of an adverse clinical outcome can be minimized when supervising physicians and residents communicate effectively concerning the delivery of patient care. Protocols could also be instituted to, for example, assist trainees in determining when guidance should be sought from the supervising physician.

In the event of litigation, the supervising physician will be held to a standard of care that could reasonably be expected of a prudent physician in the circumstances. The trainee will be held to a standard of care appropriate to the situation and to his or her level of training and experience. In addition, the supervising physician could be held liable for any harm caused by a trainee's negligence if the physician inappropriately delegated the task or did not properly supervise the trainee during the task.

Educational obligations

Physicians have a professional obligation to contribute to the training of future doctors. However, teaching skills are not necessarily natural and must often be learned. Styles of teaching can vary by individual as well as by culture.

Supervising trainees and carrying out formal appraisals of their progress can sometimes be complicated by issues related to communication and misunderstandings. Such issues can lead to disputes or complaints.

Sensitivity and responsiveness to the educational needs of medical students and residents will enable the development of a student's professional attitudes and values. Being open to concerns raised by trainees can support clear communication.

It is important for physician-teachers to report back to academic programs by promptly returning assessments as well as by providing timely identification of any concerns related to professionalism.

Meanwhile, if disputes or complaints do arise, the supervising physician could become the subject of an academic complaint to the training program director or to a human rights commission if discrimination is alleged. The supervising physician should contact the program director or the CMPA for advice in those circumstances.

Guidelines and policies

Supervising physicians, as well as medical students and residents should be aware of policies and guidelines issued by the College regarding delegation to, and supervision of, trainees.

Physician supervisors are generally eligible for CMPA assistance should they encounter medico-legal difficulties when supervising medical trainees or other providers.

Key points

  • Hospital guidelines and protocols, and College policies and guidelines on delegation and supervision should be familiar to supervising physicians and trainees.
  • Supervising physicians should be satisfied trainees have adequate liability protection.
  • Failure to adequately supervise trainees could result in medico-legal difficulties for supervising physicians.
  • The extent to which tasks should be delegated to a trainee and the appropriate level of supervision will depend, in part, on the trainee's level of training, skill, and experience, and should take into consideration the task involved and the clinical situation. Supervising physicians should be appropriately hands on and see the patient with the trainee, when necessary.
  • Trainees should be properly oriented by supervising physicians on the situations in which trainees should contact a supervisor about a patient.

The CMPA website houses additional information useful to both supervising physicians and medical trainees. Of particular note is the CMPA Good Practices Guide

Members needing advice or additional information regarding their role and responsibilities when teaching and supervising trainees should not hesitate to call the CMPA and speak with a medical officer.

black spacer


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Le médecin dans le rôle d'enseignant – Quelles sont ses responsabilités?

Publié initialement en juin 2013

P1302-2-F

 

Les stagiaires en médecine doivent pouvoir profiter d'expériences concrètes. Pour cette raison, les médecins sont souvent sollicités en vue de participer à leur formation. Les médecins qui assument la formation doivent d'ailleurs faire face à la dualité de ce rôle : veiller à ce que les patients reçoivent les meilleurs soins possibles, mais aussi offrir des expériences d'apprentissage pour les stagiaires.

Ce double rôle entraîne des risques en matière de responsabilité professionnelle. Il est important pour les médecins superviseurs de bien comprendre leurs responsabilités dans la prestation des soins, ainsi que les tâches qu'ils peuvent déléguer aux stagiaires sous leur supervision.

Au cours des dernières années, davantage de médecins ont participé à des tâches d'enseignement et de supervision en raison de l'accroissement du nombre de stagiaires en médecine. Les étudiants en médecine, les résidents et les médecins diplômés à l'étranger (MDÉ) (incluant ceux inscrits à un programme régulier de résidence en médecine et ceux qui accèdent par d'autres voies à la pratique dans le système de soins de santé canadien), peuvent travailler en milieu hospitalier, en cliniques communautaires et en cabinets privés, de même que recevoir une formation dans plus d'endroits isolés. Toutefois, les médecins doivent garder en tête les risques médico-légaux auxquels ils s'exposent en supervisant des stagiaires.

Supervision des stagiaires

Alors que les étudiants en médecine observent le travail d'un médecin et y participent, les résidents, quant à eux, assument davantage de responsabilités dans les soins au patient. Les médecins superviseurs peuvent raisonnablement se fier aux résidents pour exécuter les tâches qui leur sont correctement déléguées; cependant, ils doivent être sensibilisés aux circonstances exigeant une supervision plus étroite. Ceci peut dépendre de certains facteurs, dont l'état du patient, la complexité de l'intervention, ainsi que l'expérience et les compétences du résident. Les médecins qui supervisent des MDÉ suivant d'autres voies d'accès à la pratique devront aussi se familiariser avec les restrictions d'exercice pouvant être imposées aux MDÉ par l'organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) de leur province ou territoire.

Les médecins superviseurs peuvent aussi être appelés à surveiller la formation d'autres professionnels de la santé, entre autres, les techniciens paramédicaux ou les assistants médicaux. Ces médecins pourraient ne pas bien connaître la formation et les compétences que l'on exige de ces techniciens; il importe donc d'aller chercher les renseignements nécessaires. Le médecin superviseur doit déterminer le degré de supervision que requiert un stragiaire compte tenu de la formation et de la compétence de ce dernier. Le médecin devra aussi confirmer que le stagiaire dispose d'une protection adéquate en matière de responsabilité professionnelle.

Les médecins superviseurs peuvent aussi déléguer à un résident une partie de la formation ou de la supervision des étudiants en médecine. Cependant, cette délégation ne devrait se produire que si le médecin le juge approprié, en prenant en compte les exigences du programme de formation, les habiletés et la formation du résident, les tâches à exécuter par l'étudiant en médecine et les considérations en matière de sécurité des patients.

La délégation ne devrait se faire que dans des circonstances appropriées; chaque fois qu'il y a délégation, l'intérêt du patient doit prévaloir. L'évaluation par le médecin des compétences, des habiletés et de l'expérience d'un stagiaire, déterminera si un acte peut être délégué. Par contre, il peut s'avérer difficile d'évaluer si un stagiaire possède une formation adéquate. Le médecin doit donc faire preuve d'un bon jugement clinique pour déterminer si le stagiaire possède les compétences cliniques pour exécuter la tâche choisie.

Le défaut de superviser adéquatement un stagiaire ou la délégation de tâches inappropriées pourrait rendre le médecin superviseur responsable d'un préjudice chez un patient résultant des actes du stagiaire. Si une telle situation évolue vers un procès, le tribunal évaluera si le médecin superviseur a respecté la norme de pratique en déléguant la tâche au stagiaire. Un tribunal pourrait critiquer un médecin qui délègue des tâches jugées au-delà de la formation et de l'expérience du stagiaire. Généralement, le tribunal prendrait en compte le degré de soin et de compétence qu'un médecin superviseur aurait raisonnablement appliqué dans des circonstances semblables. Cette démarche implique l'établissement des pratiques approuvées en vigueur, de même que tout changement ou toute percée dans les techniques de traitement et dans la technologie.

Les résidents doivent respecter les normes de pratique en vigueur pour tous les résidents ayant la même formation et les mêmes compétences. Pour déterminer la norme de pratique, le tribunal prendra en compte l'opinion des experts du champ d'exercice de la médecine correspondant et examinera les normes adoptées par les organisations de médecins spécialistes.

Obtention du consentement du patient

Le consentement éclairé du patient doit être obtenu avant de prodiguer des traitements non urgents. Les médecins superviseurs ainsi que les stagiaires devront clarifier qui est responsable d'obtenir le consentement. Cette tâche peut être déléguée aux résidents s'ils ont l'expérience et les habiletés voulues pour fournir au patient l'information nécessaire à la discussion entourant l'obtention du consentement éclairé.

Les médecins superviseurs devraient tenir compte des circonstances dans lesquelles ils doivent présenter un stagiaire et informer le patient que ce dernier participera à ses soins, en précisant l'étendue de cette participation. En outre, la discussion et le consentement du patient doivent être documentés dans le dossier médical.

Norme de pratique

Les médecins superviseurs devront se familiariser avec la norme de pratique que doit respecter un stagiaire. Les médecins superviseurs devraient aussi encourager les stagiaires à reconnaître leurs propres limites et à les respecter dans le cadre de leur travail. Les résidents ne devraient pas accepter des tâches qui dépassent leur formation et leur expérience.

Le risque d'un résultat clinique défavorable peut être minimisé lorsque les médecins superviseurs et les résidents communiquent efficacement au sujet de la prestation des soins. De plus, des protocoles peuvent être établis, entre autres, pour aider les stagiaires à déterminer le genre de conseils qu'ils doivent aller chercher auprès du médecin superviseur.

Dans l'éventualité d'un litige, le médecin superviseur devra démontrer qu'il a respecté une norme de pratique raisonnable qu'un médecin prudent aurait suivie dans les mêmes circonstances. Le stagiaire sera tenu de respecter une norme de pratique appropriée à la situation, et à son degré de formation et d'expérience. De plus, le médecin superviseur pourra être tenu responsable de tout préjudice découlant d'une faute professionnelle du stagiaire si le médecin a délégué la tâche de façon inappropriée ou s'il n'a pas supervisé adéquatement le stagiaire pendant que ce dernier l'exécutait.

Obligations relatives à l'enseignement

Les médecins d'aujourd'hui ont une obligation professionnelle de contribuer à la formation des médecins de demain. Cependant, les compétences en enseignement ne sont pas nécessairement innées et doivent souvent être acquises. Les styles d'enseignement peuvent varier en fonction de la personne et de la culture.

La supervision de stagiaires et l'évaluation de leurs progrès peuvent parfois être compliquées par des problèmes de communication ou des malentendus. De tels problèmes peuvent entraîner des conflits ou des plaintes.

La sensibilisation et la capacité d'adaptation aux besoins éducatifs des étudiants en médecine et des résidents contribueront à l'établissement de comportements et de valeurs professionnelles chez les étudiants. Le fait de se montrer réceptif aux préoccupations soulevées par les stagiaires peut soutenir une communication efficace entre professionnels.

Il est important, pour les médecins qui enseignent, de rendre compte sans délai de leurs évaluations au programme de formation ainsi qu'en signalant toute préoccupation à l'égard du professionnalisme d'un stagiaire.

Entre-temps, si des conflits ou des plaintes surviennent, le médecin superviseur peut faire l'objet d'une plainte auprès du directeur du programme de formation ou de la commission des droits de la personne s'il y a eu allégations de discrimination. Dans de telles circonstances, le médecin superviseur devrait communiquer avec le directeur du programme ou un médecin-conseil de l'ACPM pour obtenir des conseils.

Lignes directrices et politiques

Les médecins superviseurs, de même que les étudiants en médecine et les résidents, devraient connaître les politiques et les lignes directrices adoptées par le Collège en regard de la délégation aux stagiaires et de la supervision de ces derniers.

Les médecins superviseurs sont généralement admissibles à une assistance de l'ACPM s'ils font l'objet de problèmes médico-légaux découlant de leur supervision de stagiaires ou d'autres professionnels de la santé

Points clés

  • Les médecins superviseurs et les stagiaires devraient connaître les protocoles et les directives des hôpitaux, de même que les politiques et les lignes directrices du Collège sur la délégation et la supervision.
  • Les médecins superviseurs devraient s'assurer que les stagiaires ont une protection adéquate en matière de responsabilité professionnelle.
  • Les médecins superviseurs devraient tenir compte des circonstances dans lesquelles les patients doivent être informés qu'un stagiaire participera à la prestation des soins.
  • Le défaut de superviser adéquatement les stagiaires pourrait entraîner des problèmes médico-légaux pour les médecins superviseurs.
  • Pour déterminer dans quelle mesure il peut déléguer certaines tâches à un stagiaire et à quel niveau il doit superviser ce dernier, le médecin doit tenir compte, entre autres, du degré de formation, des compétences et de l'expérience du stagiaire, ainsi que de la tâche assignée et de la situation clinique. Les médecins superviseurs doivent connaître adéquatement la situation et voir le patient en compagnie du stagiaire au besoin.
  • Les médecins superviseurs doivent aussi sensibiliser les stagiaires aux situations dans lesquelles ils doivent communiquer avec le superviseur au sujet d'un patient.

Le site web de l'ACPM contient des renseignements supplémentaires qui pourraient être utiles autant aux médecins superviseurs qu'aux stagiaires. En particulier, veuillez consulter le Guide des bonnes pratiques de l'ACPM.

Les membres qui désirent recevoir des conseils ou davantage d'information au sujet de leurs rôles et responsabilités dans l'enseignement et la supervision des stagiaires ne devraient pas hésiter à communiquer avec un médecin-conseil de l'ACPM.

black spacer


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.