Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Can a child provide consent?

Originally published March 2014 / Revised June 2016
P1401-3-E
 

The special relationship of trust between physicians and their patients requires that physicians always act in their patients' best interests. While physicians' responsibilities do not vary according to a patient's age, there are medico-legal considerations to keep in mind when treating children.

The CMPA reviewed its medico-legal case files that closed between 2007 and 2012 involving patients between the ages of one and 18. There were 451 complaints to regulatory authorities (Colleges) involving child patients, and of these 55% resulted in an unfavourable medico-legal outcome for physicians. Consent and communication issues featured prominently in these cases.

Age of consent — The legal age of majority has become largely irrelevant in determining when a young person may consent to his or her medical treatment. The concept of maturity has replaced chronological age, except in Québec, where the age of consent is 14 years and older.

Consent to treatment

Medico-legal issues related to the care of children often involve the question of who is legally authorized to provide consent for treatment: the child patient or the parents.

A patient need not reach the age of majority to give consent to treatment. In all Canadian provinces and territories the determining factor in a child's ability to provide or refuse consent is whether the young person's physical, mental, and emotional development allows for a full appreciation of the nature and consequences of the proposed treatment or lack of treatment — whether or not the patient has attained the age of majority.

In Québec, however, the Civil Code generally establishes the age of consent at 14 years, below which the consent of the parent or guardian, or of the court, is required. If the medical treatment requires a hospital stay of more than 12 hours, parental notification of the stay is required if the child is over 14 years of age.

Physicians usually determine whether a child has the mental capacity (competence) to provide consent on a case-by-case basis. When a child is found incapable of consenting to treatment, the parents or legal guardians are authorized to provide consent on the minor's behalf. However, when the physician determines that the child has the capacity, parental consent is not required. In such circumstances, the physician must obtain consent from the child, even when the child is accompanied by a parent or other delegated adult.

How does a physician determine whether or not a child has the capacity to consent? By discussing with the child, the physician should be reasonably confident that the child understands the nature of the proposed treatment and its anticipated effect. The child should also understand the consequences of refusing treatment. One way to gauge this capacity is to use the teach-back technique: ask the child to re-phrase what they have just been told and invite the child to ask questions. More complex medical situations may require more rigour in determining whether the child understands. It is prudent for physicians to also encourage the child to invite a family member to attend the discussion.

Physicians must use their judgment concerning a child's capacity to consent in many different circumstances, such as when a teen requests a prescription for birth control without her parents' knowledge or consent. If the physician can be reasonably confident that the patient has the capacity to consent and documents the relevant details of the consent discussion in the medical record, it is likely that a College would support the physician in the event of a complaint from a parent. Meanwhile, parental involvement is recommended when the treatment entails serious risks and may have serious and permanent effects on the patient.

Medical assistance in dying

An exception to the general rules regarding consent to treatment is medical assistance in dying (MAID). To be eligible for MAID, the patient must have reached the age of 18 years.

Case example: Consent

College determines physicians acted in best interests of mature minor

A 16-year-old male saw his family physician for symptoms of severe depression. In speaking with the patient the physician determined that the patient was mature and understood the seriousness of his symptoms and the need to address them. The physician referred the boy to an adolescent day treatment program where he was followed by a psychiatrist. He was diagnosed with major depression and agoraphobia. After learning her son was undergoing treatment, the patient's mother filed a College complaint, alleging the physicians did not obtain her consent for her son to attend the treatment program. The College stated that the family physician and psychiatrist acted in accordance with the patient's instructions not to consult with his mother, and acted in the best interests of the patient and according to College practices.

Case example: Communication

Inadequate communication with a child's parents gives the wrong impression 

A mother attended the emergency department with her child who was experiencing vomiting and diarrhea. Viral gastroenteritis was diagnosed. A few days later the mother and child returned to emergency and the boy was admitted to hospital for intravenous rehydration. He was discharged after 3 days, but his symptoms soon returned and, after the child suffered a seizure, the parents returned once again to the hospital emergency. Following a cursory examination, the physician requested a consult with a pediatrician but the parents chose to transfer the child by car to another hospital. On the way, the child suffered another seizure. The child was subsequently diagnosed with hypoglycemia and mild dehydration secondary to viral gastroenteritis.

The mother lodged a complaint with the College, citing unprofessional care received at the first hospital. She stated that the doctor seen at their last emergency visit failed to take the child's condition, and her concerns, seriously. The College concluded that there had been a communication problem on the doctor's part in that he failed to adequately listen to the mother which, combined with the brief examination, resulted in the parents taking their child to another facility. The College reminded the doctor that listening and empathy are essential to maintaining good doctor-patient relationships, especially in difficult situations such as the one in this case.

This case example illustrates how, despite meeting the standard of care, a physician's lack of sensitivity to the parents' concern for their child can lead to medico-legal difficulties.

Case example: Communication

A non-custodial parent wants access to his child's medical record

The mother of a child patient had sole custody of the child and the father had visitation rights. The parents were embroiled in court proceedings concerning the custody. When the physician did not release the child's medical records to the father, the father lodged a College complaint. While in this case the College supported the physician's decision not to release the medical records to the father in the absence of a separation agreement or court order, it is important to note that parents with access rights are generally entitled to the same information as the custodial parent.

Communication problems can arise when physicians receive requests for copies of children's medical records, as often occurs in the midst of custody battles. Before releasing medical records physicians must first consider whether a specific parent is entitled to the information. This depends on several factors, including the age of the child, whether the child is deemed to have the capacity to control access to the record, and whether the parents have the right of access. When faced with time constraints and other stressful factors, these may be difficult concepts for a physician to explain fully, but doing so in a respectful and professional manner can prevent a complaint.


Communication issues

The CMPA's case files reveal that medico-legal difficulties can also occur when there are real or perceived gaps in communication with either the child patient or the parents. For example, a dismissive attitude by a physician about a parent's concern for her child's condition, inadequate explanations of findings given to the parents following examination of a child, and non-custodial parents' disputes concerning the physician's inability to release their child's medical records can all result in a physician being the subject of a College complaint.
 

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Un enfant est-il apte à consentir?

Publié initialement en mars 2014 / révisé en juin 2016
P1401-3-F

En raison du lien spécial de confiance qui existe entre les médecins et leurs patients, les médecins doivent toujours agir dans l'intérêt fondamental de leurs patients. Les responsabilités du médecin ne varient pas en fonction de l'âge du patient, mais certains points médico-légaux doivent être pris en considération lorsque l'on traite des enfants.

L'ACPM a effectué une analyse de ses dossiers médico-légaux conclus entre 2007 et 2012 qui portaient sur des patients âgés entre un an et 18 ans. Les organismes de réglementation (Collèges) ont reçu 451 plaintes mettant en cause des enfants, et l'issue médico légale s'est avérée défavorable aux médecins dans 55 % des dossiers. Les problèmes liés au consentement et à la communication ressortent de façon importante dans ces cas.

Âge du consentement — L'âge de la majorité a grandement perdu de sa pertinence lorsqu'il s'agit de déterminer quand une jeune personne peut consentir à un traitement médical. Le concept de la maturité a remplacé l'âge chronologique, sauf au Québec, où l'âge du consentement a été fixé à 14 ans.

Consentir au traitement

Les problèmes médico-légaux liés aux soins prodigués aux enfants ont trait souvent à la question de savoir qui est autorisé légalement à consentir au traitement : le jeune patient ou les parents.

Pour consentir à un traitement, le patient n'a pas besoin d'avoir atteint l'âge de la majorité. Dans l'ensemble des provinces et des territoires au Canada sous le système du common law, le facteur déterminant pour ce qui est de la capacité d'un enfant à accorder ou à refuser son consentement consiste à savoir si son développement physique, mental et émotionnel lui permet de bien comprendre la nature du traitement proposé ainsi que les conséquences de recevoir ou de ne pas recevoir ce traitement – que le patient ait atteint l'âge de la majorité ou non.

Par contre, au Québec, le Code civil établit en général l'âge du consentement à 14 ans. Pour un patient plus jeune, il faut obtenir le consentement d'un parent ou d'un tuteur, ou encore d'un tribunal. Si une hospitalisation de plus de 12 heures est nécessaire, il faut en aviser les parents si l'enfant est âgé de plus de 14 ans.

Les médecins déterminent habituellement l'aptitude (compétence) d'un enfant à fournir un consentement au cas par cas. Lorsqu'on juge qu'un enfant est inapte à donner un consentement, les parents ou les tuteurs légaux sont autorisés à consentir au traitement au nom du mineur. Toutefois, lorsque le médecin détermine que l'enfant a l'aptitude nécessaire, le consentement d'un parent n'est pas requis. Dans de telles circonstances, le médecin doit obtenir le consentement de l'enfant, même si ce dernier est accompagné d'un parent ou d'un autre adulte mandataire.

Comment un médecin peut-il déterminer l'aptitude à consentir d'un enfant? En discutant avec l'enfant, le médecin doit être raisonnablement assuré que l'enfant comprend la nature du traitement proposé et les effets prévus. L'enfant doit aussi comprendre les conséquences d'un refus du traitement. Pour évaluer cette aptitude, le médecin peut utiliser la technique de vérification par l'explication, qui consiste à demander à l'enfant de reformuler ce qu'on vient de lui dire et à l'inviter à poser des questions. Les situations médicales plus complexes peuvent nécessiter davantage de rigueur pour déterminer si l'enfant comprend bien. Il est prudent d'encourager l'enfant à inviter un membre de sa famille à être présent.

Les médecins doivent faire preuve de jugement en ce qui a trait à l'aptitude d'un enfant à donner son consentement dans diverses circonstances, par exemple lorsqu'une adolescente demande la pilule contraceptive sans que ses parents le sachent ou y consentent. Si le médecin peut raisonnablement être assuré de l'aptitude du patient à consentir et qu'il consigne les détails pertinents de la discussion entourant le consentement dans le dossier médical, il est probable que le Collège lui accorderait son appui si un parent déposait une plainte. Par contre, il est recommandé de faire participer les parents lorsque le traitement comporte des risques élevés et peut avoir des conséquences graves et permanentes pour le patient.

Aide médicale à mourir

L’aide médicale à mourir fait l’objet d’une exception aux règles générales en ce qui concerne le consentement au traitement. Pour être admissible à l'aide médicale à mourir, le patient doit avoir atteint l’âge de 18 ans.

Exemple de cas : Consentement

Le Collège détermine que les médecins ont agi dans l'intérêt d'un mineur mature

Un jeune homme de 16 ans consulte son omnipraticien, car il présente des symptômes de dépression grave. En parlant avec le patient, le médecin détermine qu'il est mature et qu'il comprend la gravité de ses symptômes et la nécessité de les traiter. Le médecin dirige le garçon vers un programme de traitement de jour pour adolescents où il est suivi par un psychiatre. Le patient reçoit un diagnostic de dépression grave et d'agoraphobie. Lorsqu'elle apprend que son fils suit un traitement, la mère dépose une plainte auprès du Collège, en alléguant que les médecins n'ont pas obtenu son consentement pour que son fils participe au programme de traitement. Selon le Collège, l'omnipraticien et le psychiatre ont respecté les directives du patient voulant qu'ils ne consultent pas sa mère et ils ont agi dans l'intérêt du patient et conformément aux pratiques du Collège.

Exemple de cas : Communication

Une communication inadéquate avec les parents d'un enfant peut donner une mauvaise impression

Une mère se rend à l'urgence avec son enfant qui a des vomissements et de la diarrhée. L'enfant reçoit un diagnostic de gastroentérite virale. Quelques jours plus tard, la mère et l'enfant retournent à l'urgence, et le garçon est hospitalisé pour subir une réhydratation par perfusion intraveineuse. Il reçoit son congé trois jours plus tard, mais ses symptômes réapparaissent rapidement. L'enfant fait des convulsions, et ses parents le ramènent à l'urgence. Après avoir fait un examen superficiel, le médecin demande une consultation auprès d'un pédiatre, mais les parents décident de transférer l'enfant en voiture dans un autre hôpital. En chemin, l'enfant a d'autres convulsions. Il reçoit subséquemment un diagnostic d'hypoglycémie et de déshydratation légère secondaire à la gastroentérite virale.

La mère dépose une plainte auprès du Collège, alléguant des soins non professionnels reçus au premier hôpital. Elle indique que le médecin vu lors de leur dernière visite à l'urgence n'a pas pris au sérieux l'état de l'enfant et ses propres inquiétudes. Le Collège a conclu qu'il y avait eu un problème de communication de la part du médecin, car, en plus d'avoir effectué un examen sommaire, il n'avait pas bien écouté la mère, ce qui a fait en sorte que les parents ont amené leur enfant dans un autre établissement. Le Collège a rappelé au médecin que l'écoute et l'empathie étaient essentielles au maintien de bonnes relations entre le médecin et son patient, notamment dans des situations difficiles comme celle du cas présent.

Cet exemple de cas illustre comment le manque de sensibilité d'un médecin à l'égard des préoccupations du parent pour son enfant peut entraîner des problèmes médico-légaux même si le médecin respecte la norme de pratique.

Exemple de cas : Communication

Un parent n'ayant pas la garde veut avoir accès au dossier médical de son enfant

La mère d'un jeune patient a la garde exclusive de l'enfant et le père a des droits de visite. Les parents sont devant les tribunaux au sujet de la garde. Lorsque le médecin refuse de divulguer le contenu du dossier médical de l'enfant au père, celui-ci dépose une plainte au Collège. Dans ce cas particulier, le Collège a appuyé la décision du médecin, car il n'y avait pas d'entente de séparation ou d'ordonnance d'un tribunal. Il faut toutefois se rappeler que les parents ayant des droits d'accès ont en général droit aux mêmes renseignements que les parents ayant la garde.

Des problèmes de communication peuvent survenir lorsque les médecins se voient demander des copies de dossiers médicaux d'enfants, comme c'est souvent le cas dans les litiges concernant la garde d'enfants. Avant de divulguer des renseignements consignés dans le dossier médical, le médecin doit d'abord déterminer si le parent est en droit d'y avoir accès. Cela peut dépendre de nombreux facteurs, notamment de l'âge de l'enfant, si ce dernier est jugé apte à décider de la divulgation de son dossier, et si le parent a droit d'accès. Lorsqu'il y a des contraintes de temps et d'autres facteurs de stress, ces concepts peuvent s'avérer difficiles à expliquer pleinement pour le médecin, mais le fait de donner une telle explication d'une manière respectueuse et professionnelle peut éviter une plainte.

Problèmes de communication

Les dossiers de l'ACPM révèlent que des problèmes médico-légaux peuvent aussi survenir lorsqu'il y a des lacunes, réelles ou perçues, dans la communication avec le patient ou les parents. À titre d'exemple, le manque d'attention d'un médecin aux inquiétudes d'un parent au sujet de l'état de son enfant, des explications inadéquates données aux parents sur les constatations après l'examen physique d'un enfant et le désaccord d'un parent n'ayant pas la garde quant à l'incapacité du médecin à lui transmettre le dossier médical de son enfant sont autant de cas qui peuvent faire l'objet d'une plainte auprès du Collège.
 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.