Legal and regulatory proceedings

Navigating legal or regulatory processes

Treating transgender individuals

Originally published June 2015, revised July 2015
P1503-6-E

An increase in complaints by transgender patients alleging discrimination points to the need for physicians to be aware of the ethical and legal considerations when providing treatment, or when asked to provide treatment. In many of the medical regulatory (College) and human rights complaints cases observed by the CMPA, miscommunication creates or contributes to a negative perception by transgender patients that they are being treated differently than other patients.

Human rights laws

Transgender individuals have a right to access healthcare services without discrimination and harassment. Physicians must not discriminate based on gender identity or gender expression when providing medical services.

While discrimination of transgender individuals is considered in some jurisdictions as discrimination based on sex or gender,1 several provinces and territories have expressly recognized gender identity and gender expression in their human rights legislation.2

Statements by human rights commissions

Some human rights commissions have issued policies and guidelines addressing discrimination against transgender individuals. These documents may be useful resources for physicians seeking to understand their legal obligations and can be found on the website of each provincial or territorial human rights commission.

In particular, the Ontario Human Rights Commission’s Policy on preventing discrimination because of gender identity and gender expression,3 and the Manitoba Human Rights Commission’s Guidelines on protections from discrimination on the basis of gender identity4 expressly address issues related to transgender individuals facing barriers to accessing healthcare services.

Policies and guidelines

The Canadian Medical Association’s Code of Ethics states that in providing medical services, physicians must “not discriminate against any patient on such grounds as … gender.” However, physicians have the “right to refuse to accept a patient for legitimate reasons,” and should “recognize [their] limitations and, when indicated, recommend or seek additional opinions and services.”5

Colleges in Canada generally have stated that physicians must not refuse to accept a new patient, refuse to provide healthcare to an existing patient, or terminate a physician-patient relationship, on the basis of a patient’s gender identity or expression. However, the refusal to provide a specific treatment at a patient’s request does not, in and of itself, constitute discrimination.

Understanding the term “transgender”

“Transgender” is a widely-used broad term to describe individuals with diverse gender identities and gender expressions that differ from stereotypical gender norms.6

The term “gender identity” typically refers to each person’s internal, individual experience of gender.7 The term “gender expression,” on the other hand, generally refers to how people publicly present their gender, such as through behaviour and outward appearance. Some transgender individuals undergo medical treatments or surgical procedures to align their bodies with their gender identity.8

Common issues

A review of the CMPA’s cases and inquiries involving transgender patients reveals some common issues for physicians to consider and which can help to minimize their medical-legal risks.

Names and pronouns

Physicians must ensure that they communicate with all patients, including transgender patients, in a sensitive, respectful, and dignified manner.

Transgender individuals may express a desire to be called by a name that differs from their legal name, or to be referred by pronouns that match their gender identity. Where possible and reasonable to do so, physicians should strive to accommodate any such requests.

The Manitoba Human Rights Commission offers the following example of how a transgender patient might be accommodated in this regard: “At the request of a patient who is transgender and has a legal first name not usually associated with their gender identity, a medical clinic changes its practice of calling out patients’ first and second names as they appear on Manitoba Health Registration cards.”9

In a recent Ontario College decision, a physician was cautioned regarding the quality of his communication with a patient who had transitioned from female to male. The physician repeatedly referred to the patient as “she” and to transgender individuals in general as “you people,” which the College described as “fail[ing] to display a sufficient degree of sensitivity to the patient.”

Declining to provide care

While physicians must not refuse to treat transgender patients based on discriminatory reasons, they are not required to provide care that exceeds their scope of practice.

In an Ontario Human Rights Tribunal case, the Tribunal dismissed a complaint against a cosmetic surgeon who was accused of discrimination for declining to perform a labiaplasty and breast augmentation on two transgender patients. The Tribunal accepted that the surgeon did not have the requisite expertise to perform the operations, and observed that “for professionals, knowledge of the limits of one’s own expertise and skills is an important part of good practice, fulfilling professional obligations, and serving the public adequately.”10

The Tribunal held that there was no obligation for physicians to obtain significant new qualifications and training to accommodate a transgender patient. Such a requirement would amount to an “improper interference” in a physician’s “professional autonomy…in determining the nature of his career and medical practice.”11

The Tribunal also addressed the complainants’ allegations regarding the surgeon’s demeanour in declining to provide them treatment. It accepted that the surgeon’s style of communication was “abrupt and dismissive,” and observed that had he conveyed the reasons for not being able to treat the patients more appropriately, they “may have found their visit to his office a much different and more positive experience.”12

A physician who feels unable to provide medical care to a transgender individual because the patient’s needs are beyond the physician’s expertise or clinical competence may want to consider the following:

  • referring the patient to a specialist for the elements of care that the physician is unable to manage directly
  • reviewing the College’s policies on ending the physician-patient relationship
  • communicating to the patient, or prospective patients, the clinical decision for refusing to provide treatment in a clear, accurate, and timely manner

Changes to birth certificates

Most provinces and territories allow individuals to change their gender as recorded on their birth certificates and other official government records. In many cases, these processes are available only after gender reassignment surgery and require a physician’s confirmation that the individual’s anatomical sex structure has changed.

Physicians may find it challenging in these circumstances to assess whether an individual’s sex has clinically changed, particularly in cases of patients who are in the process of transitioning or who have had partial surgery. Physicians facing these types of issues may contact the CMPA for individual advice.

Risk management considerations

  • Familiarize yourself with applicable human rights obligations and relevant College policies.
  • Provide medical services without discrimination. If you are unable to provide the medical services requested because they are beyond your scope of practice or skill level, consider making a referral to a qualified specialist. Communicate your clinical decision for refusing to provide care in a clear, accurate, and timely manner.
  • Record your discussions with the patient and document the reasons for the decision or referral in the patient’s medical record.
  • Ensure that you communicate with all patients, including transgender patients, in a sensitive and dignified manner. Be respectful of the patient’s choice of name and pronoun.
  • Contact the CMPA for advice about your obligations in specific circumstances.
 
 

References

  1. Human rights codes in British Columbia, Alberta, Québec, New Brunswick, Yukon, and Nunavut
  2. Human rights codes in Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador, and the Northwest Territories
  3. Ontario Human Rights Commission, “Policy on preventing discrimination because of gender identity and gender expression,” 2014. Accessed January 28, 2015 from: http://www.ohrc.on.ca/sites/default/files/Policy%20on%20preventing%20discrimination%20because%20of%20gender%20identity%20and%20gender%20expression.pdf
  4. Manitoba Human Rights Commission, “Guidelines on protections from discrimination on the basis of gender identity,” 2010. Accessed January 28, 2015 from: http://www.manitobahumanrights.ca/publications/guidelines/gender_identity.html
  5. Canadian Medical Association, “Code of Ethics,” 2004. Accessed January 28, 2015 from: https://www.cma.ca/En/Pages/code-of-ethics.aspx#
  6. Ontario Human Rights Commission, “Policy on preventing discrimination because of gender identity and gender expression”, 2014. Accessed January 28, 2015 from: http://www.ohrc.on.ca/sites/default/files/Policy%20on%20preventing%20discrimination%20because%20of%20gender%20identity%20and%20gender%20expression.pdf
  7. Manitoba Human Rights Commission, “Guidelines on protections from discrimination on the basis of gender identity,” 2010. Accessed January 28, 2015 from: http://www.manitobahumanrights.ca/publications/guidelines/gender_identity.html
  8. Ontario Human Rights Commission, “Policy on preventing discrimination because of gender identity and gender expression,” 2014. Accessed January 28, 2015 from: http://www.ohrc.on.ca/sites/default/files/Policy%20on%20preventing%20discrimination%20because%20of%20gender%20identity%20and%20gender%20expression.pdf
  9. Manitoba Human Rights Commission, “Protections from discrimination based on gender identity — Your rights, your obligations,” April 2010. Accessed May 26, 2015 from: http://www.manitobahumanrights.ca/publications/guidelines/gender_identity.html
  10. Finan v. Cosmetic Surgicentre (Toronto) 2008, Ontario Human Rights Tribunal Case. Accessed May 26, 2015 from: http://canlii.ca/t/1zrq0
  11. Ibid
  12. Ibid

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Procédures judiciaires et réglementaires

Navigation des processus juridiques ou réglementaires

Traiter les personnes transgenres

Publié initialement en juin 2015
P1503-6-F

L’augmentation des plaintes alléguant une discrimination à l’encontre des personnes transgenres souligne la nécessité d’informer les médecins sur les aspects légaux et déontologiques liés au traitement ou aux demandes de traitements de ces personnes. Dans de nombreux dossiers de plaintes concernant les organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) et ceux relatifs aux droits de la personne, l’ACPM constate que ce sont les problèmes de communication qui créent ou contribuent à ce que les patients transgenres perçoivent être traités différemment des autres patients.

Lois à l’égard des droits de la personne

Les personnes transgenres ont le droit d’accéder aux services de santé sans faire l’objet de discrimination ou de harcèlement. Les médecins ne doivent pas discriminer en fonction de l’identité sexuelle ou de l’expression de l’identité sexuelle des patients.

Alors que certaines provinces ou certains territoires considèrent la discrimination à l’encontre des personnes transgenres comme étant fondée sur l’identité sexuelle ou l’expression de l’identité sexuelle1, plusieurs ont par contre expressément reconnu l’identité sexuelle et l’expression de l’identité sexuelle dans leur législation sur les droits de la personne.2

Déclarations des commissions des droits de la personne

Quelques commissions des droits de la personne ont publié des politiques et des lignes directrices concernant la discrimination contre les personnes transgenres. Ces documents peuvent constituer des ressources utiles pour les médecins qui cherchent à comprendre leurs obligations légales; on peut les retrouver dans le site web de chaque commission des droits de la personne des provinces ou des territoires.

On peut citer, entre autres, la Politique sur la prévention de la discrimination fondée sur l’identité sexuelle et l’expression de l’identité sexuelle3 de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne ainsi que les Lignes directrices sur la protection contre la discrimination fondée sur l’identité de genre au travail, dans les services et dans le logement4 de la Commission des droits de la personne du Manitoba qui abordent expressément les questions liées aux obstacles auxquels sont confrontées les personnes transgenres voulant accéder aux services de santé.

Politiques et lignes directrices

Le Code de déontologie de l’AMC énonce que, lorsque les médecins prodiguent des soins, ils doivent « […] n’exercer de discrimination envers aucun patient en raison, notamment […] de son orientation sexuelle ». Cependant, les médecins ont le « droit de refuser un patient pour des raisons légitimes » et doivent « reconnaître [leurs] limites et, au besoin, recommander ou solliciter des avis et des services supplémentaires. »5

En général, les Collèges au Canada ont déclaré que les médecins ne doivent pas refuser d’accepter un nouveau patient, de prodiguer des soins à un patient ou de mettre fin à la relation médecin-patient en se fondant sur l’identité ou l’expression de l’identité sexuelle d’un patient. Cependant, le refus de prodiguer un traitement particulier à la demande d’un patient ne constitue pas en soi de la discrimination.

Que signifie le terme « transgenre »?

Le terme « transgenre » regroupe « des personnes à identité sexuelle et expressions de l’identité sexuelle variées qui s’écartent des normes sociétales stéréotypées »6.

L’expression « identité sexuelle » est associée « à l’expérience intime et personnelle de son sexe, telle que vécue par chacun ».7 Par contre, « l’expression de l’identité sexuelle » renvoie généralement à la manière dont une personne exprime ouvertement son sexe, entre autres, par son comportement et son apparence. Certaines personnes transgenres subiront des traitements médicaux et des interventions chirurgicales « pour que leur corps corresponde à leur identité sexuelle ressentie »8.

Enjeux communs

Une analyse des dossiers de l’ACPM et des demandes de conseils associées aux personnes transgenres révèle des enjeux communs que les médecins devront cerner et qui pourraient contribuer à réduire les risques médico-légaux.

Noms et pronoms

Les médecins doivent s’assurer qu’ils communiquent avec tous les patients, y compris les patients transgenres, en faisant preuve de dignité, de respect et de sensibilité.

Les personnes transgenres peuvent exprimer le souhait de se faire appeler selon un nom qui diffère de leur nom légal ou de se faire désigner par un pronom qui correspond à leur identité sexuelle. Lorsque cela est possible et raisonnable de le faire, les médecins devraient tenter d’accommoder toute requête en ce sens.

La Commission des droits de la personne du Manitoba propose l’exemple suivant d’accommodement : « À la demande d’un patient transgenre dont le prénom légal n’est habituellement pas associé à son identité de genre, une clinique médicale a modifié sa pratique d’appeler les patients selon le prénom et le nom inscrit sur la carte de santé Manitoba. »9

Dans une décision récente de l’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario, un médecin a reçu une admonestation en raison de la piètre qualité de sa communication avec un patient qui avait entrepris le processus de changement de sexe pour devenir un homme. À plusieurs reprises, le médecin parlait du patient en disant « elle » et des personnes transgenres en général en disant « ces gens-là », ce que l’Ordre a décrit comme étant un manque de sensibilité envers le patient.

Refus de prodiguer des soins

Alors que les médecins ne doivent pas refuser de traiter des patients transgenres pour des raisons discriminatoires, ils ne sont toutefois pas tenus de prodiguer des soins qui excèdent leur champ d’exercice.

Dans une instance du Tribunal des droits de la personne de l’Ontario, une plainte contre un chirurgien esthétique a été rejetée; celui-ci était accusé de discrimination pour avoir refusé d’exécuter une labioplastie et une augmentation mammaire sur deux patientes transgenres. Le tribunal a accepté comme défense le fait que le chirurgien n’avait pas l’expertise requise pour effectuer ces interventions et a conclu que « pour les professionnels, la connaissance des limites de leurs propres expertise et compétence constitue une composante importante de bonnes pratiques, respectant ainsi les obligations professionnelles et servant le public adéquatement. »10

Le tribunal a conclu que les médecins ne sont pas tenus d’acquérir de nouvelles compétences et formations pour répondre aux besoins d’un patient transgenre. Une telle exigence constituerait une « ingérence inappropriée » dans « l’autonomie professionnelle des médecins […] en déterminant la nature de leur carrière et de leur pratique médicale. »11

Le tribunal a aussi examiné les allégations des demanderesses relativement au refus du chirurgien de leur prodiguer le traitement demandé. Le tribunal a reconnu que le chirurgien parlait d’un ton sec et démontrait peu d’intérêt, mais ce tribunal a aussi fait remarquer qu’il aurait été plus approprié que le chirurgien explique les raisons pour lesquelles il ne pouvait pas traiter les patientes; « les consultations au cabinet auraient ainsi été très différentes et l’expérience des patientes aurait été plus positive. »12

Un médecin se sentant incapable de prodiguer des soins médicaux à un patient transgenre, parce que les besoins de celui-ci excèdent l’expertise et la compétence clinique du médecin, pourrait envisager les interventions suivantes :

  • diriger le patient vers un spécialiste pour les éléments de soins que le médecin ne peut gérer directement;
  • passer en revue les politiques du Collège sur la façon de mettre fin à la relation médecin-patient;
  • communiquer aux patients, en termes clairs et précis et au moment opportun, la raison clinique du refus de prodiguer un traitement.

Modifications des actes de naissance

La plupart des provinces et des territoires permettent aux personnes de modifier l’identité sexuelle qui est inscrite sur leur acte de naissance ou dans les dossiers officiels du gouvernement. Dans de nombreux cas, ces processus ne sont accessibles qu’après les interventions de réassignation sexuelle et requièrent que le médecin confirme la modification de la structure sexuelle anatomique de la personne.

Dans ces circonstances, les médecins pourraient trouver difficile d’évaluer si le sexe de la personne a été modifié cliniquement, particulièrement chez les patients qui ont entrepris le processus de changement de sexe, mais qui n’ont eu qu’une intervention chirurgicale partielle. Les médecins confrontés à ce genre de situations peuvent communiquer avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des conseils individualisés.

Gestion des risques

  • Familiarisez-vous avec les obligations en matière des droits de la personne en vigueur ainsi que les politiques pertinentes des Collèges.
  • Prodiguez des services médicaux sans discrimination. Envisagez de diriger le patient vers un spécialiste qualifié si vous ne pouvez pas prodiguer les services médicaux demandés parce qu’ils dépassent votre champ d’exercice ou vos compétences. Communiquez votre décision clinique de refuser les soins en termes clairs et précis, et en temps opportun.
  • Consignez vos discussions avec les patients dans leurs dossiers médicaux et documentez les raisons justifiant la décision ou la demande de consultation.
  • Assurez-vous de communiquer avec tous les patients, y compris les patients transgenres, en faisant preuve de sensibilité et de dignité. Respectez le choix du patient en ce qui a trait au choix de son nom et du pronom qui y correspond.
  • Communiquez avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des conseils au sujet de vos obligations dans des circonstances particulières.
 
 

Références

  1. Codes des droits de la personne de la Colombie-Britannique, de l’Alberta, du Québec, du Nouveau-Brunswick, du Yukon et du Nunavut
  2. Codes des droits de la personne de la Saskatchewan, du Manitoba, de l’Ontario, de la Nouvelle-Écose, de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest
  3. Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne, « Politique sur la prévention de la discrimination fondée sur l’identité sexuelle et l’expression de l’identité sexuelle », 2014. Consulté le 23 mars 2015. http://www.ohrc.on.ca/fr/politique-sur-la-pr%C3%A9vention-de-la-discrimination-fond%C3%A9e- sur-l%E2%80%99identit%C3%A9-sexuelle-et-l%E2%80%99expression-de-l
  4. Commission des droits de la personne du Manitoba, « Protection contre la discrimination fondée sur l’identité de genre : vos droits, vos obligations » (Winnipeg, 2010). Consulté le 23 mars 2015. http://www.manitobahumanrights.ca/publications/guidelines/gender_identity.fr.html
  5. Association médicale canadienne, « Code de déontologie de l’AMC », 2004. Consulté le 23 mars 2015. https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/fr/PD04-06-f.pdf
  6. Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne, « Politique sur la prévention de la discrimination fondée sur l’identité sexuelle et l’expression de l’identité sexuelle » (Toronto, 2014). Consulté le 23 mars 2015. http://www.ohrc.on.ca/fr/politique-sur-la-pr%C3%A9vention-de-la-discrimination-fond%C3%A9e-sur-l%E2%80%99identit%C3%A9-sexuelle-et-l%E2%80%99expression-de-l
  7. Commission des droits de la personne du Manitoba, « Protection contre la discrimination fondée sur l’identité de genre : vos droits, vos obligations », 2010. Consulté le 23 mars 2015. http://www.manitobahumanrights.ca/publications/guidelines/gender_identity.fr.html
  8. Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne, « Politique sur la prévention de la discrimination fondée sur l’identité sexuelle et l’expression de l’identité sexuelle », 2014. Consulté le 23 mars 2015. http://www.ohrc.on.ca/fr/politique-sur-la-pr%C3%A9vention-de-la-discrimination-fond%C3%A9e-sur-l%E2%80%99identit%C3%A9-sexuelle-et-l%E2%80%99expression-de-l
  9. Commission des droits de la personne du Manitoba, « Protection contre la discrimination fondée sur l’identité de genre : vos droits, vos obligations » (Winnipeg, 2010). Consulté le 23 mars 2015, http://www.manitobahumanrights.ca/publications/guidelines/gender_identity.fr.html
  10. Finan v. Cosmetic Surgicentre (Toronto) 2008, Cas du Tribunal des droits de la personne de l’Ontario. Consulté le 27 mai 2015. http://canlii.ca/t/1zrq0
  11. Ibid
  12. Ibid

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.