Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

How to manage conflict and aggressive behaviour in medical practice

Originally published January 2017
17-02-E

Most patient visits are agreeable and physicians take great satisfaction in helping patients with their health needs. At times, however, physicians and their staff encounter patients or family members who make unreasonable demands or display manipulative, aggressive, angry, or threatening behaviour. These encounters can be unpleasant, stressful, counter-productive, and even dangerous. Doctors need a combination of skills and strategies to successfully manage aggressive and demanding behaviours to have productive, effective, and safe doctor-patient relationships.

Difficult patient encounters

While each physician has his or her own perspective on difficult patient encounters, these often involve patients who have unrealistic expectations of their care or health, insist on treatments that are not clinically indicated, are dissatisfied with their care, ignore medical advice, or engage in verbal abuse.1 Difficult patient encounters can have a lasting impact on physicians and can promote feelings of negativity, unhappiness, even self-doubt about clinical competence.

Many factors come into play in every physician-patient encounter. Being mindful of these can help doctors mitigate conflict and aggression. Physicians should be aware of their communication style, as well as the emotions involved—their own and their patients’.2 Situational stressors such as time pressures during patient appointments, negative bias towards specific health issues, and personal matters can all affect the encounter. Patient factors such as language barriers, poorly defined symptoms, non-adherence to medical advice, unhealthy lifestyles, underlying health issues, and personality disorders may also play a role.

It all comes back to communication

Just as good communication skills are necessary for effective patient care, communication is also at the heart of dealing successfully with conflict or patient aggression. Making an effort to connect with the patient, listen actively, convey empathy, and communicate clearly can help physicians understand and address patients' motivations, emotions, and expectations.

There are a variety of tools to assist physicians with difficult encounters. In the ACE model,3 the ‘A’ refers to authority or power. Patients exert power or authority by the information they choose to share with their doctors, their level of engagement in their healthcare, and their decisions to follow treatment plans. Physicians exert authority by controlling the flow of conversation with patients and the diagnostic and treatment options offered. Doctors should use their authority appropriately and effectively. ‘C’ refers to collaboration, which occurs when physicians and patients jointly define problems, pursue investigations, and undertake treatment. While not all patients will collaborate with their doctors, physicians’ abilities to enhance cooperation and foster a partnership with patients are important. ‘E’ signifies empathy, a hallmark of the physician-patient relationship. Extending empathy by focusing on the patient’s emotions, and being firm but compassionate, can help return a difficult patient encounter to success.

A key aspect of the ACE model is proportional application of each element (A,C,E) depending on the clinical scenario and the patient.

When in the midst of challenging interactions with patients, physicians should avoid arguing, talking over patients, and making judgmental statements. It is advisable to speak in a conversational tone. Verbalizing the difficulty can help define it. Consider saying something like, "We both have very different views about how your symptoms should be investigated and that’s causing some difficulty between us. Do you agree?" This approach names the problem without assigning blame. Supporting patients, finding common ground, and focusing on solutions may increase the possibility of finding a way to work more effectively together.4

The FIFE model (feelings, ideas, function, and expectations) is another possible approach when dealing with conflict and aggression. This model explores patients’ emotions, their ideas on what caused the problem, the effects of the illness or problem on functioning and relationships, and their expectations for care and for the future.5 Eliciting patients’ expectations helps develop trust, and assists physicians and patients to understand why they have come together and what they are hoping to achieve. When patients appear to have finished discussing their expectations, it may be appropriate to ask, "Is there something else?" or "Is this what you expected would happen today?," which allows patients to more fully express their needs and feelings.6 This type of question will also help determine what can be covered in that particular consultation and what may need to be discussed at a later visit. When physicians cannot meet patients’ expectations, it is best to communicate this directly, for example, "Based on my clinical assessment, opioid medications are not indicated for your condition" or "I cannot discuss your friend’s care because it would be a breach of confidentiality."6

When dealing with insistent or aggressive patients, it is also important for physicians to be consistent and follow their own practice rules. For example, physicians who routinely avoid providing medical advice by telephone or email should remain firm, despite patients’ pleas. Physicians should keep their professional perspective, even when patients indicate the doctor is the problem.7 Maintaining control of the situation without being overly authoritative is critical.

Handling patient complaints

When patients complain openly about an aspect of their care or the medical practice, physicians should try to address the complaint directly. Whatever the complaint, it is important to respond calmly and respectfully to the dissatisfied patient. Often, a face-to-face discussion helps resolve the matter or at least allows patients and physicians to clarify their issues or concerns and discuss how to move forward. It is also a learning opportunity. If appropriate, physicians should tell patients about any changes or specific steps that will be taken to address the issue.8 Such discussions should generally be documented in the patient’s record.

Remain calm and professional when speaking to patients and families, even when facing an angry patient or undeserved criticism. Staying composed and not raising your voice may de-escalate a tense situation.

Maintaining a safe environment

Patients exhibiting aggressive behaviour can pose a threat to office staff and physicians. Although it is generally necessary to meet with patients in private, away from other patients and staff, physicians must be mindful of their own safety and may want to ask a staff member or colleague to join them. Doctors should maintain some physical space between themselves and aggressive patients, and should try not to interrupt or talk over them. Doctors and staff should also know how to quickly contact security or the police.7 Discussions on how to approach patients with challenging behaviours and debriefs with the team after an occurrence may contribute to the overall positive culture for doctors and their staff. Also, physicians may be able to manage patient expectations by creating a policy on how they will respond to anyone’s use of aggressive behaviour or offensive language, and then making the policy public by placing a sign in their practice.

Considering ending the physician-patient relationship

Sometimes excessive complaints, significant conflict, or a loss of trust may lead physicians to consider ending the doctor-patient relationship. While this may be necessary on occasion, doctors should think carefully before doing so. Physicians are permitted to end a doctor-patient relationship for reasons other than retirement, relocation, or leave of absence provided the patient does not need urgent or emergent care. The patient generally requires adequate notice to find another doctor. While important in all jurisdictions, doctors in Québec must have reasonable and just cause to end the relationship.9 Doctors should also be aware of any human rights legislation, regulatory authority (College) policies, and codes of ethics that prohibit discrimination in the provision of medical services and that may require reasonable grounds to discharge a patient or that may otherwise affect one’s ability to terminate the relationship.10 If the relationship is terminated, this should be documented in the patient’s medical record.

While always maintaining patient confidentiality, physicians may consider speaking to a trusted peer when thinking about parting ways with a patient. Sometimes a different perspective or wise suggestion may help physicians identify ways to truly assist a difficult or angry patient. Members can also contact the CMPA to speak with a physician advisor.

Physicians' self-care

Physicians who experience ongoing difficulties with aggressive or challenging patient behaviour may need additional support, particularly to avoid burnout.11 While a colleague may be able to relate to the problem and provide comfort, CMPA members can also contact the Association to speak with a physician advisor with expertise in these matters. Doctors should also take care of their physical and mental health, especially when significant levels of stress and conflict are part of their medical practice.

Additional reading

 
 

References

  1. An P, Rabatin J, Manwell L, Linzer M, Schwartz M. Burden of difficult encounters in primary care: Data from the minimizing error, maximizing outcomes study. Arch Intern Med [Internet]. 2009 Feb 23 [cited 2016 Nov 4]; 169(4):410-4. Available from: http://archinte.jamanetwork.com/article.aspx?articleid=414793 doi:10.1001/archinternmed.2008.549
  2. Goleman D. Emotional intelligence, why it can matter more than IQ. Toronto: Bantam Books; 1995. 384 p.
  3. Elder N, Ricer R, Tobias B. How respected family physicians manage difficult patient encounters. J Am Board Fam Med [Internet]. 2006 Nov-Dec [cited 2016 Nov 4]; 19(6):533-41. Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/17090786 doi: 10.3122/jabfm.19.6.533
  4. Davies M. Managing challenging interactions with patients. BMJ Careers [Internet]. 2013 Jul 31 [cited 2016 Nov 4]. Available from: http://careers.bmj.com/careers/advice/view-article.html?id=20013822
  5. Khalil T, Bhopal J. The patient-centred interview and international medical graduates: A preliminary view. BCMJ [Internet]. 2009 July, Aug [cited 2016 Nov 4]; 51(6):246-9. Available from: http://www.bcmj.org/article/patient-centred-interview-and-international-medical-graduates-preliminary-view
  6. Managing unrealistic patient expectations [Internet]. Sydney (AU): Avant Mutual Medical Defense Organization. [cited 2016 Nov 2]. 3 p. Available from: http://www.avant.org.au/uploadedFiles/Content/Resources/Member/Risk-201005-Managing-Unrealistic-Patient-Expectations.pdf
  7. Parrott S. Practice pearls: Navigating difficult patient encounters. Physicians Practice [Internet]. UMB Medica, LLC; 2011 Oct. Available from: http://www.physicianspractice.com/pearls/navigating-difficult-patient-encounters
  8. Dealing with patient complaints [Internet]. Sydney (AU): Avant Mutual Medical Defence Organization [cited 2016 Nov 4]. 3 p. Available from: http://www.avant.org.au/uploadedFiles/Content/Resources/Member/Risk-200912-Dealing-With-Patient-Complaints.pdf
  9. Code of Ethics of Physicians. Collège des médecins du Québec, RLFQ cM-9, a 19. Available from: http://www.cmq.org/publications-pdf/p-6-2015-01-07-en-code-de-deontologie-des-medecins.pdf?t=1478274056270
  10. Canadian Medical Protective Association [Internet]. Ottawa (ON): CMPA; July 2015. Ending the doctor-patient relationship [cited 2016 Nov 4]. Available from: https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/en/safety/-/asset_publisher/N6oEDMrzRbCC/content/ending-the-doctor-patient-relationship
  11. Bruener C, Moreno M. Approaches to the difficult patient/parent encounter. Pediatrics [Internet]. 2011 Jan [cited 2016 Nov 4]; 127;1. Available from http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/pediatrics/127/1/163.full.pdf

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Conflits et comportements agressifs : Stratégies pour les gérer

Publié initialement en janvier 2017
17-02-F

La plupart des consultations sont agréables et les médecins éprouvent une grande satisfaction à répondre aux besoins des patients en matière de santé. Il arrive cependant que les médecins et leur personnel rencontrent des patients ou des membres de leur famille qui expriment des requêtes déraisonnables ou adoptent un comportement manipulateur, agressif, colérique ou menaçant. Ces rencontres peuvent être déplaisantes, stressantes, contre-productives, voire dangereuses. Les médecins ont besoin d’un éventail d’habiletés et de stratégies pour gérer efficacement les comportements agressifs ou exigeants afin que les relations avec les patients soient fructueuses, efficaces et sécuritaires.

Rencontres difficiles avec les patients

Chaque médecin a son propre point de vue sur la question des rencontres difficiles généralement caractérisées par des attentes irréalistes sur le plan des soins ou de l’état de santé, des demandes pressantes pour des traitements non indiqués sur le plan clinique, une insatisfaction quant aux soins reçus, la non-adhésion aux conseils médicaux ou encore de la violence verbale.1 Ces rencontres difficiles peuvent avoir des conséquences durables sur les médecins et générer des sentiments négatifs, du mécontentement et même des doutes sur leur compétence clinique.

Chaque rencontre entre un médecin et un patient fait intervenir plusieurs facteurs qu’il convient de garder à l’esprit pour atténuer les risques de conflit et d’agression. Les médecins devraient prendre conscience de leur style de communication et des émotions suscitées : les leurs et celles de leurs patients.2 Les facteurs de stress situationnels tels que les contraintes de temps lors des consultations, les biais négatifs à l’égard de certains problèmes de santé et les soucis personnels peuvent avoir une incidence sur la rencontre. Les facteurs liés au patient (p. ex. barrière linguistique, symptômes mal décrits, non-respect des conseils médicaux, modes de vie malsains, problèmes de santé sous-jacents, troubles de la personnalité) peuvent également jouer un rôle.

Tout repose sur la communication

De solides compétences en communication sont nécessaires pour prodiguer des soins efficaces, et la communication se trouve au cœur de la gestion des conflits ou de l’agressivité dans les interactions avec les patients. Les médecins peuvent mieux comprendre et aborder les motivations, les émotions et les attentes des patients en cherchant à établir un lien avec eux, en faisant preuve d’écoute active et d’empathie, et en communiquant clairement.

Il existe plusieurs outils pour aider les médecins confrontés à des rencontres difficiles. Dans le modèle ACE,3 le « A » fait référence à l’autorité ou au pouvoir. Les patients exercent leur autorité en choisissant les renseignements qu’ils décident de communiquer à leur médecin, en déterminant leur niveau d’engagement dans les soins de santé, et en adhérant ou non au plan de traitement. Quant à eux, les médecins exercent leur autorité en dirigeant la conversation avec les patients et en proposant un diagnostic et des choix de traitement. Cette autorité devrait être exercée de façon pertinente et efficace. Le « C » est pour la collaboration qui se produit lorsque médecins et patients cernent les problèmes, poursuivent les investigations et entreprennent le traitement. Même si tous les patients ne collaborent pas avec leur médecin, il importe que ce dernier dispose de compétences pour accroître la coopération et favoriser le partenariat avec les patients. Le « E » signifie l’empathie, pierre angulaire de la relation médecin-patient. Exprimer de l’empathie en ciblant les émotions du patient, tout en étant ferme mais compatissant, peut mener à bon terme une rencontre initialement difficile avec un patient.

Un des principaux aspects du modèle ACE est l’application proportionnelle de chaque élément (A, C et E) selon le scénario clinique et le patient.

Lors d’interactions conflictuelles avec un patient, les médecins devraient éviter d’argumenter, de couper la parole ou de porter des jugements. Il est recommandé d’adopter un ton naturel. Verbaliser le problème peut également aider à le circonscrire. Vous pouvez par exemple dire : « Nous avons des vues très différentes sur la manière dont vos symptômes devraient être évalués et cela nous cause des problèmes. Qu’en pensez-vous? » Cette approche identifie le problème sans désigner de coupable. Soutenir les patients, trouver un terrain d’entente et cibler les solutions peut accroître les chances de trouver un moyen de travailler ensemble plus efficacement.4

Le modèle FIFE (de l’acronyme anglais pour feelings, ideas, function, expectations [sentiments, idées, fonctionnement, attentes]) est une autre approche à la gestion des conflits et de l’agressivité. Ce modèle explore les émotions des patients, leurs idées sur l’origine du problème, les effets de la maladie ou du problème sur le plan fonctionnel et relationnel, et leurs attentes en termes de soins actuels et futurs.5 Chercher à connaître les attentes des patients favorise la confiance et aide les médecins et les patients à comprendre pourquoi ils doivent travailler ensemble, et ce qu’ils espèrent réaliser. Lorsque les patients semblent avoir fini de parler de leurs attentes, il peut être pertinent de demander « Y a-t-il autre chose » ou « Est-ce que vous vous attendiez à cela aujourd’hui? », ce qui leur fournit l’occasion de bien exprimer leurs besoins et sentiments.6 Ce genre de question permet également de déterminer ce qui peut être discuté lors de la consultation et ce qu’il convient de reporter à une prochaine rencontre. Lorsqu’un médecin ne peut pas satisfaire les attentes d’un patient, il est préférable de le dire. Il vaudrait mieux exprimer les choses de façon directe : « Selon mon évaluation clinique, les opioïdes ne sont pas indiqués dans votre cas » ou encore « Je ne peux pas parler des soins de votre ami, car cela irait à l’encontre de mon obligation de confidentialité ».6

Lorsque le patient insiste ou devient agressif, il est aussi important pour le médecin d’être cohérent et de suivre ses propres règles de pratique. Ainsi, le médecin qui a pour principe d’éviter de fournir des conseils médicaux par téléphone ou par courriel ne devrait pas y déroger, en dépit de l’insistance du patient. Le médecin doit conserver un point de vue professionnel même si le patient souligne que le médecin est la cause du problème.7 Il est essentiel de garder le contrôle de la situation sans être excessivement autoritaire.

Gérer les plaintes des patients

Les médecins devraient tenter d’aborder sans détour la plainte qu’un patient exprime ouvertement au sujet d’un aspect des soins ou de la pratique médicale. Quelle que soit la plainte, il importe de répondre calmement et respectueusement au patient insatisfait. Une discussion en personne contribue souvent à résoudre le problème ou du moins permet de clarifier le problème ou la préoccupation, et de discuter des prochaines étapes. Cette discussion représente également une occasion d’apprentissage dans la mesure où les médecins peuvent en profiter, si cela s’avère pertinent, pour informer les patients de toute modification ou de toute démarche particulière entreprise pour résoudre le problème.8 Le dossier médical du patient devrait généralement faire état de telles discussions.

Restez calme et professionnel lorsque vous parlez aux patients et à leur famille, même lorsque le patient est en colère ou que vous faites l’objet de critiques injustifiées. Le fait de garder contenance et ne pas élever la voix pourrait désamorcer une situation tendue.

Conserver un environnement sécuritaire

Les patients agressifs peuvent représenter une menace pour les médecins et leur personnel. Généralement, les rencontres avec les patients se font en en privé, loin des autres patients et du personnel. Toutefois, les médecins doivent être conscients de leur propre sécurité; ils peuvent alors demander à un employé ou un collègue d’être présent. Les médecins devraient garder une distance physique par rapport aux patients agressifs et essayer de ne pas les interrompre ou de ne pas parler en même temps qu’eux. Les médecins et les employés du cabinet médical devraient également savoir comment communiquer rapidement avec les agents de sécurité ou les policiers.7 Les discussions sur la façon d’aborder les patients dont le comportement pose problème et les débreffages avec l’équipe après un incident contribuent à une culture de travail positive pour le médecin et son personnel. Par ailleurs, les médecins peuvent gérer les attentes de leurs patients en créant une politique sur la façon dont ils répondent à un comportement agressif ou à des propos offensants, et en apposant bien en évidence une note à ce sujet dans leur bureau.

Envisager de mettre un terme à la relation médecin-patient

Il arrive que des plaintes excessives, un conflit important ou une perte de confiance conduisent les médecins à envisager de mettre un terme à la relation médecin-patient. Même si cela s’avère parfois nécessaire, les médecins devraient y réfléchir sérieusement avant de le faire. Ils ont en effet le droit de mettre un terme à la relation médecin-patient pour des motifs autres qu’un départ à la retraite, un déménagement ou un congé, mais seulement à la condition que le patient ne nécessite aucun soin d’urgence ou d’extrême urgence. Le patient doit généralement recevoir un préavis adéquat pour lui permettre de trouver un autre médecin. Même si cela est important partout au Canada, les médecins au Québec doivent avoir un motif juste et raisonnable pour mettre fin à la relation.9 Les médecins devraient également être au courant de tout texte de loi concernant les droits de la personne, de toute politique d’un organisme de réglementation (Collège), de tout code de déontologie qui interdit la discrimination dans le cadre de la prestation de soins médicaux et qui peut exiger des motifs raisonnables pour mettre fin à la relation thérapeutique ou qui peut autrement avoir une incidence sur leur capacité de mettre fin à la relation médecin-patient.10 Il convient de documenter la cessation de cette relation dans le dossier médical du patient.

Tout en préservant la confidentialité des renseignements personnels de leurs patients, les médecins pourraient discuter avec un collègue de confiance du fait qu’ils songent à mettre un terme à la relation thérapeutique avec un patient. Une autre perspective ou une suggestion avisée peut en effet aider à identifier les moyens d’apporter une assistance à un patient difficile ou en colère. Les membres peuvent également communiquer avec l’ACPM pour en discuter avec un médecin-conseil.

Autosoins des médecins

Les médecins qui font face à des problèmes persistants avec des patients ayant un comportement difficile ou agressif peuvent avoir besoin de plus de soutien, notamment pour éviter l’épuisement professionnel.11 Un collègue a peut-être déjà vécu une situation semblable et est en mesure d’offrir du soutien; toutefois, les membres de l’ACPM peuvent également communiquer avec l’Association pour discuter avec un médecin-conseil ayant une expertise sur le sujet. Les médecins devraient également prendre soin de leur santé physique et mentale, en particulier lorsque leur pratique médicale comporte des niveaux de stress élevés ou des conflits.

 
 

Références

  1. An PG, Rabatin JS, Manwell LB, Linzer M, Brown RL, Schwartz MD, Burden of difficult encounters in primary care: Data from the minimizing error, maximizing outcomes study. Arch Intern Med [En ligne]. 23 février 2009; [cité le 4 novembre 2016]; 169(4):410-4. http://archinte.jamanetwork.com/article.aspx?articleid=414793doi:10.1001/archinternmed.2008.549
  2. Goleman D. Emotional intelligence: why it can matter more than IQ. Toronto: Bantam Books; 1995, 384 p.
  3. Elder N, Ricer R, Tobias B. How respected family physicians manage difficult patient encounters. J Am Board Fam Med [En ligne]. Novembre-décembre 2006; [cité le 4 novembre 2016];19(6):533-41. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/17090786 doi: 10.3122/jabfm.19.6.533
  4. Davies M. Managing challenging interactions with patients. BMJ Careers [En ligne]. 31 juillet 2013 [cité le 4 novembre 2016]. http://careers.bmj.com/careers/advice/view-article.html?id=20013822
  5. Khalil T, Bhopal JS. The patient-centred interview and international medical graduates: A preliminary view. BCMJ [En ligne]. Juillet-août 2009 [cité le 4 novembre 2016]; 51(6):246-9. http://www.bcmj.org/article/patient-centred-interview-and-international-medical-graduates-preliminary-view
  6. Managing unrealistic patient expectations [En ligne]. Sydney (AU) : Avant Mutual Medical Defense Organization. [cité le 2 novembre 2016]. 3p. http://www.avant.org.au/uploadedFiles/Content/Resources/Member/Risk-201005-Managing-Unrealistic-Patient-Expectations.pdf
  7. Parrott S. Practice Pearls: Navigating difficult patient encounters. Physicians Practice [En ligne]. UMB Medica, LLC; Octobre 2011. http://www.physicianspractice.com/pearls/navigating-difficult-patient-encounters
  8. Dealing with patient complaints [En ligne]. Sydney (AU). Avant Mutual Medical Defense Organization [cité le 4 novembre 2016]. http://www.avant.org.au/uploadedFiles/Content/Resources/Member/Risk-200912-Dealing-With-Patient-Complaints.pdf
  9. Code de déontologie des médecins, Collège des médecins du Québec. RLRQ c M-9, r 17, a 19. http://www.cmq.org/publications-pdf/p-6-2015-01-07-fr-code-de-deontologie-des-medecins.pdf?t=1478542806901
  10. L'Association canadienne de protection médicale. [En ligne]. fin à la relation médecin-patient [En ligne]. Ottawa (ON): l’Association; juillet 2015 [cité le 4 novembre 2016]. https://www.cmpa-acpm.ca/fr/safety/-/asset_publisher/N6oEDMrzRbCC/content/ending-the-doctor-patient-relationship
  11. Bruener CC, Moreno MA. Approaches to the difficult patient/parent encounter. Pediatrics [En ligne]. Janvier 2011[cité le 4 novembre 2016]; 127(1):163-169. http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/pediatrics/127/1/163.full.pdf

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.