■ Duties and responsibilities:

Expectations of physicians in practice

Can intraoperative decisions be diagnostic errors?

Personal perspective of oxygen being administered in surgery.

Published: December 2020
The information in this article was correct at the time of publishing
20-18-E

Canadian medical-legal data suggest that most in-hospital, surgical patient safety incidents occur during the intraoperative phase.1 Peer experts2 reviewing CMPA surgical cases have criticized surgeons’ intraoperative decisions, which are sometimes of a diagnostic nature. Research has shown that a surgeon’s cognitive and communication skills, and the operating room (OR) culture of safety, can contribute to these intraoperative decisions.

Case scenario: Is there an intraoperative diagnostic error?

3

A 75-year-old man consents to a laparoscopic cholecystectomy to treat worsening symptoms from the presence of cholelithiasis. On the day of the procedure, the general surgeon is on call and running late. He informs the anaesthetist to expect a routine, quick case (his second-last one for the day). When he learns that his preferred 30 degree laparoscope is unavailable, he becomes frustrated and accepts a straight laparoscope instead.

During surgery, the surgeon attempts entry with a Veress needle multiple times without success and then switches to a Hasson technique, allowing access to the abdominal cavity. There he encounters multiple adhesions, with bowel adherent to the gallbladder, resulting in a difficult dissection. When the surgeon detects bilious fluid in the operative field, he attributes it to a gallbladder perforation. After extensive irrigation and observing no further spill, he completes the surgery.

The next day, the patient exhibits fever, confusion, and respiratory distress requiring ICU admission and ventilation. The surgeon discusses the possibility of a bile leak with the patient’s family and obtains their informed consent for the patient to undergo a second, exploratory surgery. A laparotomy reveals a laceration of the jejunum, which the surgeon repairs. The patient continues to deteriorate and dies later that week.

The patient’s family initiates legal action. Peer experts in the case opine that the surgeon did not adequately investigate the source of the intraoperative spill during the first surgery. For this reason, he failed to promptly diagnosis the bowel injury. The CMPA provides a settlement on behalf of the general surgeon.

Intraoperative decisions as diagnostic errors

  • Intraoperative clinical decisions are diagnostic if you make them in an effort to explain your intraoperative findings.
  • Problems with diagnostic decisions are diagnostic errors when they directly contribute to a wrong, missed, or delayed explanation of the patient’s health problem.

In the case scenario, the surgeon’s intraoperative diagnosis of a gallbladder injury (rather than a bowel injury) was the wrong diagnosis.

Medical-legal cases at the CMPA

Although diagnostic errors can occur throughout surgical care, the CMPA specifically analyzed the intraoperative phase in medical-legal cases. Between 2014 and 2018, the CMPA closed 44 medical-legal matters (civil legal, medical regulatory authority, and hospital) with intraoperative diagnostic issues in a hospital OR. All of the cases involved a surgeon. The most commonly named specialties were general surgery, and obstetrics and gynecology.

Of the 44 cases, all involved a harmful incident or a patient’s healthcare-related death, except for one case with no criticism of the surgeon’s care. The decisions on the matters—made by courts, peer experts, regulatory authorities, or hospitals—reflected criticism of the surgeon in 37 of 44 cases (84.1%), a relatively high proportion. (During the same period of case closure, 52.7% of all CMPA cases had this outcome).4 Among the 44 cases, the most frequent diagnostic error was a surgeon’s failure to diagnose an intraoperative injury in a timely manner. In many of those cases, the surgeon received criticism for a deficient intraoperative assessment of the patient.

Risk mitigation: What surgeons should know

  • Cognition plays a role

Situational awareness

Situational awareness is the ability to gather information, understand information, and project and anticipate a future state.10 Seeking a second opinion and fostering open communication within the OR team can enhance this awareness.

While the causes of diagnostic error can be multifactorial, they often involve cognitive errors by a physician. In the case scenario, the surgeon may have experienced a cognitive bias called “premature closure,” which involves uncritically accepting an initial diagnosis without sufficiently considering other possibilities.

To manage cognitive biases, experts recommend strategies such as practising reflectively.5 For surgeons in the OR, this means recognizing when key intraoperative decisions are happening—especially decisions related to unexpected bleeding or variants of anatomy—and asking, “What else could this be?” Canadian surgeon and researcher Dr. Carol-Anne Moulton and colleagues describe these moments as “slowing down when you should” in order to regroup, refocus, and increase attention intraoperatively.6

Yet, this may be difficult with a high cognitive load. In the case scenario, the surgeon was receiving calls from the OR, he was running late, and he was frustrated about the factors impeding access to his preferred scope. There was unanticipated complexity related to a difficult entry, significant adhesions, and a difficult dissection. In many of the CMPA cases with criticism of intraoperative diagnostic decisions, the medical-legal record explicitly mentions a difficult or complicated procedure.

Research using OR Black Box® technology7 is delineating the effects of OR distractions on surgeons8and the impact of psychological stress on surgical performance.9 When cognitive load is high intraoperatively, surgeons may benefit from carefully assessing their diagnostic needs and even pausing, when possible, to seek more information or a second opinion. In multiple CMPA cases, surgeons received criticism for not consulting an appropriate colleague in a timely manner intraoperatively.

Opportunities for learning

Simulation exercises, TeamSTEPPS Canada™, the CMPA Theatre Arts program, and Saegis SafeOR™ (integrating OR Black Box® platform findings 7) are examples of formal educational initiatives that can be tailored to improve intraoperative communication, situational awareness, and decision-making to facilitate accurate and timely diagnoses.

  • Intraoperative communication facilitates diagnosis

Surgeons can strengthen their intraoperative assessments by encouraging communication within the surgical team. In the case scenario, for instance, there may have been an opportunity for a surgical team member to question whether the bile was not coming from somewhere else (a subsequent pathology report indicated that the gallbladder specimen was intact).

For teams to speak up, however, they must be in an environment of psychological safety, which flows from trust. Dr. Richard Mimeault, a surgeon and physician advisor at the CMPA, explains that, “When surgeons genuinely engage in behaviours such as surgical checklists, huddles, briefs, and debriefs, they are creating moments that demonstrate trust and openness to team members’ opinions and perceptions, even when they conflict with their own.”

  • Your workplace culture may impact patient outcomes

An OR culture in which team members feel trusted, respected, and comfortable speaking up may foster better intraoperative diagnostic decisions and in turn, safer care. Increasingly, research is supporting this connection. For example, a study published recently in JAMA Surgery showed that patients of surgeons with frequent coworker reports of the surgeon’s unprofessional behaviour (such as unclear or disrespectful communication) were at higher risk of postoperative complications.11

Dr. Fady Balaa, a surgeon and director at Saegis, believes that “surgeons play a key role in establishing a safe intraoperative culture” in part “through effective leadership behaviours.” These behaviours include effectively dealing with pressure, supporting surgical team members, and setting and maintaining standards for safety.9 When surgeons adopt these behaviours, says Dr. Balaa, “they can harness the collective input of the entire surgical team to inform diagnostic decision-making."

The bottom line

The CMPA’s medical-legal cases show that adverse patient outcomes can be associated with a surgeon’s intraoperative decisions. The cases show further that problems with intraoperative decisions can be diagnostic errors, which are sometimes preventable. To improve your intraoperative diagnostic decisions, strive to practise reflectively, recruit cognitive capacity from others when needed, and enhance information gathering by fostering an OR culture of safety.


References

  1. The Canadian Medical Protective Association and the Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada. CMPA and HIROC; 2016 April. Surgical safety in Canada: A 10-year review of CMPA and HIROC medico-legal data: Detailed analysis [cited 2020May 15].
  2. Peer experts refer to physicians retained by the parties in a legal action to interpret and provide their opinion on clinical, scientific, or technical issues surrounding the care provided. They are typically of similar training and experience as the physicians whose care they are reviewing.
  3. While this case scenario is based on an actual medical-legal case at the CMPA, certain facts have been omitted, changed, and added for illustrative purposes and to ensure anonymity for the parties involved.
  4. This percentage was calculated from 15,190 cases that closed by the CMPA between 2014 and 2018 inclusive with information available for in-depth analysis of safe medical care.
  5. Graber ML, Sanchez JA, Barach P. Diagnostic error in surgery and surgical services. In: Sanchez JA, Barach P, Johnson JK, Jacobs JP, editors. Surgical Patient Care. Switzerland: Springer International Publishing; 2017. p. 397-412
  6. Moulton CA, Regehr G, Lingard L, et al. Slowing down to stay out of trouble in the operating room: remaining attentive in automaticity. Acad Med. 2010 Oct;85(10):1571-7
  7. Saegis, a subsidiary corporation and member of the CMPA family, has a business relationship with and interest in Surgical Safety Technologies, the company that owns and operates the Operating Room Black Box.
  8. Jung JJ, Elfassy J, Grantcharov T. Factors associated with surgeon's perception of distraction in the operating room. Surg Endosc. 2019 Aug 27. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/s00464-019-07088-z
  9. Grantcharov PD, Boillat T, Elkabany S, et al. Acute mental stress and surgical performance. BJS Open. 2018 Sep 27;3(1):119-25
  10. Yule S, Paterson-Brown S. Surgeons' non-technical skills. Surg Clin North Am. 2012 Feb;92(1):37-50
  11. Cooper WO, Spain DA, Guillamondegui O, et al. Association of coworker reports about unprofessional behavior by surgeons with surgical complications in their patients. JAMA Surg. 2019 Jun 19;154(9):828-34

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

■ Obligations et responsabilités :

Les attentes vis-à-vis des médecins

Les décisions peropératoires peuvent-elles être des erreurs de diagnostic?

Vue d’un masque d’oxygène de la perspective d’un patient le portant en salle d’opération.

Publié : décembre 2020
Les renseignements présentés dans cet article étaient exacts au moment de la publication
20-18-F

Selon les données médico-légales canadiennes, il semble que la plupart des incidents intrahospitaliers liés à la sécurité des patients en chirurgie surviennent en période peropératoire.1 Les experts2 qui ont passé en revue les dossiers médico-légaux de l’ACPM portant sur des interventions chirurgicales ont critiqué les décisions peropératoires des chirurgiens, qui sont parfois de nature diagnostique. La recherche a révélé que les capacités cognitives d’un chirurgien et son habileté à communiquer, de même que la culture de sécurité en salle d’opération, peuvent contribuer à ces décisions peropératoires.

Exemple de cas: Y a-t-il une erreur de diagnostic peropératoire?

3

Un homme de 75 ans consent à une cholécystectomie par voie laparoscopique pour soulager ses symptômes, liés à la présence d’une cholélithiase, qui s’aggravent. Le jour de l’intervention, le chirurgien général est de garde et a accumulé du retard. Il informe l’anesthésiologiste de s’attendre à une intervention de routine, un cas rapide (son avant-dernière intervention de la journée). Quand il apprend que son laparoscope 30 degrés préféré n’est pas disponible, il se sent frustré, mais accepte d’utiliser un laparoscope droit.

Pendant l’intervention, le chirurgien tente plusieurs fois sans succès l’entrée laparoscopique au moyen d’une aiguille de Veress, avant de passer à la technique de Hasson, qui lui donne accès à la cavité abdominale. Il constate alors de nombreuses adhérences; l’intestin est soudé à la vésicule biliaire, ce qui complique la dissection. Lorsque le chirurgien visualise de la bile dans le champ opératoire, il attribue sa présence à une perforation de la vésicule biliaire. Après avoir irrigué abondamment le champ sans constater d’autre épanchement, il termine l’intervention.

Le lendemain, le patient présente de la fièvre, de la confusion et une détresse respiratoire nécessitant son admission aux soins intensifs, où on l’installe sous respirateur. Le chirurgien discute avec la famille de la possibilité d’une fuite biliaire et obtient le consentement éclairé de celle-ci en vue d’une seconde chirurgie exploratoire. Une laparotomie révèle une lacération du jéjunum que le chirurgien répare. L’état du patient continue de se détériorer, entraînant la mort de celui ci plus tard dans la semaine.

La famille intente une action en justice. Les experts, dans ce dossier, sont d’avis que le chirurgien n’a pas cherché, de façon appropriée, la source de l’épanchement peropératoire lors de la première intervention. Pour cette raison, il n’a pas diagnostiqué promptement la lésion intestinale. L’ACPM a donc versé une compensation financière à la famille, au nom du chirurgien général.

Décisions peropératoires et erreurs de diagnostic

  • Les décisions cliniques peropératoires sont des diagnostics si le chirurgien les prend dans le but d’expliquer ses constatations peropératoires.
  • Les problèmes liés aux décisions diagnostiques sont des erreurs de diagnostic lorsqu’elles contribuent directement à une explication erronée, omise ou tardive du problème de santé du patient.

Dans l’exemple de cas, le diagnostic peropératoire de lésion de la vésicule biliaire (plutôt qu’une lésion de l’intestin), posé par le chirurgien, était un diagnostic erroné.

Dossiers médico-légaux de l’ACPM

Bien que des erreurs de diagnostic puissent survenir tout au long du continuum des soins chirurgicaux, l’ACPM a centré son analyse sur les dossiers médico-légaux mettant en cause des problèmes survenus en phase peropératoire. Entre 2014 et 2018, l’ACPM a conclu 44 dossiers médico-légaux (c’est-à-dire actions civiles, plaintes auprès d’un organisme de réglementation de la médecine et plaintes intrahospitalières) découlant de problèmes de diagnostic peropératoire dans les salles d’opération d’hôpitaux. Tous les dossiers impliquaient un chirurgien. Les spécialités les plus souvent mises en cause étaient la chirurgie générale ainsi que la gynécologie et l’obstétrique.

De ces 44 dossiers, tous incluaient un incident préjudiciable ou le décès d’un patient associé à des soins, à l’exception d’un dossier dans lequel les experts n’ont pas critiqué les soins prodigués par le chirurgien. Les décisions rendues (par les tribunaux, les experts, les organismes de réglementation ou les hôpitaux) ont reflété des critiques à l’égard du chirurgien dans 37 des 44 dossiers (84,1 %), ce qui représente une proportion relativement élevée. (Pendant la même période, un tel résultat a été obtenu dans 52,7 % de tous les dossiers de l’ACPM).4 Dans ces 44 dossiers, l’erreur de diagnostic la plus fréquente était l’incapacité du chirurgien à diagnostiquer une lésion peropératoire au moment opportun. Dans nombre de ces dossiers, le chirurgien a fait l’objet de critiques pour avoir mal évalué le patient en période peropératoire.

Atténuation des risques : Ce que les chirurgiens devraient savoir

  • Le rôle de la cognition

Conscience situationnelle

La conscience situationnelle est la capacité de recueillir et de comprendre de l’information, de l’extrapoler et de prévoir la situation qui en découlera.10 Il est possible de renforcer cette prise de conscience en obtenant une deuxième opinion et en privilégiant la transparence de la communication au sein de l’équipe.

Si les causes des erreurs de diagnostic peuvent être multifactorielles, elles sont souvent associées à des erreurs cognitives de la part d’un médecin. Dans cet exemple de cas, le chirurgien peut avoir été influencé par un biais cognitif appelé « fermeture prématurée », qui consiste à accepter sans recul critique un diagnostic initial avant même d’avoir suffisamment tenu compte d’autres possibilités.

Pour gérer les biais cognitifs, les experts recommandent des stratégies telle la pratique réflexive.5 Pour les chirurgiens en salle d’opération, cela signifie qu’il faut reconnaître quand des décisions peropératoires clés sont prises, en particulier celles qui concernent des saignements inattendus ou des variantes dans les structures anatomiques, et se demander : « Quel autre diagnostic pourrait-on envisager? » La Dre Carol Anne Moulton, chirurgienne et chercheuse canadienne, ainsi que ses collègues, décrivent ces moments comme des occasions de « ralentir lorsque cela semble nécessaire » pour permettre à l’équipe de se regrouper, de se recentrer et d’accroître l’attention sur ce qui se passe pendant l’intervention.6

Pourtant, cela peut être difficile lorsque la charge cognitive est lourde. Dans l’exemple de cas, le chirurgien recevait des appels du bloc opératoire, était en retard et se sentait frustré par des facteurs qui l’empêchaient d’utiliser son laparoscope préféré. La situation a également été compliquée de façon imprévue par l’insertion difficile du laparoscope, l’importance des adhérences et une dissection laborieuse. Dans de nombreuses causes où les décisions de diagnostic peropératoire ont été critiquées, le dossier médico-légal mentionne explicitement une intervention difficile ou compliquée.

La recherche à l’aide de la technologie de la boîte noire en salle d’opération (OR Black BoxMD)7 délimite les effets des distractions sur les chirurgiens en salle d’opération8 et les conséquences du stress psychologique sur le rendement en chirurgie.9 Lorsque la charge cognitive est lourde en période peropératoire, les chirurgiens ont tout intérêt à évaluer minutieusement ce qu’il leur manque pour poser un diagnostic, et même à faire une pause lorsque cela est possible, pour obtenir plus de renseignements ou une seconde opinion. Dans de nombreux dossiers médico-légaux de l’ACPM, les chirurgiens ont été critiqués pour ne pas avoir consulté un collègue approprié au moment opportun en période peropératoire.

  • La communication peropératoire facilite l’établissement d’un diagnostic

Occasions d’apprentissage

Les exercices de simulation,TeamSTEPPS CanadaMC, et le programme de Saegis SafeORMC (qui intègre les résultats de la plateforme OR Black BoxMD7) sont des exemples d’initiatives éducatives qui peuvent être adaptées pour améliorer la communication peropératoire, la conscience situationnelle et la prise de décision afin de faciliter l’établissement de diagnostics précis en temps opportun.

Les chirurgiens peuvent renforcer leurs évaluations peropératoires en encourageant la communication au sein de l’équipe chirurgicale. Dans l’exemple de cas, entre autres, un membre de l’équipe chirurgicale aurait pu avoir l’occasion de demander si l’épanchement de bile ne provenait pas d’une autre source (un rapport de pathologie a révélé que la vésicule biliaire était intacte).

Mais pour que les membres d’une équipe puissent s’exprimer, ils doivent se sentir en situation de sécurité psychologique, ce qui découle de la confiance. Selon le Dr Richard Mimeault, un chirurgien travaillant comme médecin-conseil à l’ACPM, « lorsque les chirurgiens changent réellement de comportement en adoptant de nouvelles pratiques (listes de vérification pour une chirurgie sécuritaire, caucus, réunions d’information et comptes rendus), ils créent des occasions qui témoignent de leur confiance envers les membres de l’équipe et de leur ouverture aux opinions et aux perceptions de ces membres, même lorsque celles-ci sont en conflit avec les leurs. »

  • La culture du lieu de travail peut avoir des conséquences sur les résultats chez les patients

En salle d’opération, une culture qui permet aux membres de l’équipe de se sentir en confiance, respectés et à l’aise de s’exprimer librement peut favoriser de meilleures décisions de diagnostic peropératoire et, par conséquent, des soins plus sécuritaires. De plus en plus, la recherche étaye ce lien. Par exemple, une étude publiée dans JAMA Surgery a démontré que les patients de chirurgiens chez lesquels les coéquipiers signalent fréquemment un manque de professionnalisme (comme une communication ambiguë ou irrespectueuse) courent un risque plus élevé de complications postopératoires.11

Le Dr Fady Balaa, un chirurgien qui est directeur chez Saegis, estime que « les chirurgiens jouent un rôle clé dans l’établissement d’une culture peropératoire sécuritaire » en partie grâce à des comportements de leader efficaces. Ces comportements comprennent la gestion efficace du stress, le soutien aux membres de l’équipe chirurgicale, ainsi que l’établissement et le maintien de normes de sécurité.10 Lorsque les chirurgiens adoptent ces comportements, explique le Dr Balaa, « ils peuvent mettre en valeur l’apport collectif de l’équipe chirurgicale pour éclairer la prise de décision diagnostique.»

En bref

Les dossiers médico-légaux de l’ACPM montrent que des résultats défavorables chez le patient peuvent être associés aux décisions peropératoires d’un chirurgien. Ces dossiers révèlent en outre que les problèmes liés aux décisions peropératoires peuvent être des erreurs de diagnostic qui sont parfois évitables. Pour prendre de meilleures décisions en matière de diagnostic peropératoire, livrez-vous à une pratique réflexive, tirez parti des capacités cognitives de vos coéquipiers au besoin et améliorez la collecte d’information en favorisant une culture de sécurité en salle d’opération.


Références

  1. Association canadienne de protection médicale et Healthcare Insurance Reciprocal of Canada. ACPM et HIROC; avril 2016. Sécurité des soins chirurgicaux au Canada : Examen sur 10 ans des dossiers médico-légaux de l’ACPM et de l’HIROC » Analyse détaillée [cité le 15 mai 2020].
  2. On entend par experts les médecins retenus par les parties dans une action en justice pour interpréter les problèmes cliniques, scientifiques ou techniques entourant les soins prodigués et émettre une opinion à leur égard. Ces médecins ont typiquement une formation et une expérience semblables à celles de leurs collègues ayant prodigué les soins qu’ils doivent évaluer.
  3. Bien que ce scénario soit fondé sur un dossier médico-légal de l’ACPM, certains faits ont été omis, modifiés et ajoutés à des fins d’exemple et pour assurer l’anonymat des parties concernées.
  4. Ce pourcentage a été calculé à partir de 15 190 dossiers de l’ACPM, conclus entre 2014 et 2018, contenant des données permettant l’analyse approfondie de la sécurité des soins médicaux.
  5. Graber ML, Sanchez JA, Barach P. Diagnostic error in surgery and surgical services. dans: Sanchez JA, Barach P, Johnson JK, Jacobs JP, editors. Surgical Patient Care. Suisse: Springer International Publishing; 2017. p. 397-412
  6. Moulton CA, Regehr G, Lingard L, et al. Slowing down to stay out of trouble in the operating room: remaining attentive in automaticity. Acad Med. 2010 Oct;85 (10):1571-7
  7. Saegis, une filiale en propriété exclusive et un membre de la famille de l’ACPM, a des relations d’affaires et des intérêts dans Surgical Safety Technologies, la société qui possède et exploite la boîte noire de la salle d’opération.
  8. Jung JJ, Elfassy J, Grantcharov T. Factors associated with surgeon's perception of distraction in the operating room. Surg Endosc. Epub 2019 Aug 27. DOI: 10.1007/s00464-019-07088-z
  9. Grantcharov PD, Boillat T, Elkabany S, et al. Acute mental stress and surgical performance. BJS Open. 2019 Feb;3(1):119-25
  10. Yule S, Paterson-Brown S. Surgeons' non-technical skills. Surg Clin North Am. 2012 Feb;92(1):37-50
  11. Cooper WO, Spain DA, Guillamondegui O, et al. Association of coworker reports about unprofessional behavior by surgeons with surgical complications in their patients. JAMA Surg. 2019 Sep;154 (9):828-34

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.